Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday Morning Northside Spin

• 10-03-2011 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭

Anyone interested in a 80km spin Sunday morning , planning on leaving from Portmarnock and maybe heading to Drogheda and back , but open to suggestions on route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

Bumpty Bump !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Dario,

I was planning on heading out on the Swords CC spin in the morning (sat) but I might cry off if the brutal weather continues. If I do, I might be free for a spin on Sunday morning and Drogheda and back would be just the job (maybe head up through Ballyboughil, Naul, Snowtown etc and back the N1?). It would have to be fairly early though to fit in with family stuff later in the day - would leaving at 8am be OK with you?

I will pm you tomorrow and let you know whether I'm free.

Hey

Yeah early would be good alright and yeah through naul up the quiet roads would be perfect

Talk to ya tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

What sort of speeds would you be thinking of? Not sure if I would have 80km in the legs yet but I might join you for the first bit...

cdaly_ wrote: »
    What sort of speeds would you be thinking of? Not sure if I would have 80km in the legs yet but I might join you for the first bit...

Prob between 28 and 30 kmph

I will definitely make this now, weather permitting. I will pm you my mobile - say meet at the malahide road/drynam road roundabout on the N1 at 8am?

@cdaly, I have seen you in action and you'll be grand. Come on out and see lovely Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

dario28 wrote: »
    Prob between 28 and 30 kmph
    I ll give you a tenner if you go by ballyboughal,naul and snowtown and manage 30km/ph for the 80k:D

kennyb3 wrote: »
    I ll give you a tenner if you go by ballyboughal,naul and snowtown and manage 30km/ph for the 80k:D

Sounds like a challenge !!!!

That's grand 8 at the roundabout- see ya then

I will definitely make this now, weather permitting. I will pm you my mobile - say meet at the malahide road/drynam road roundabout on the N1 at 8am?

@cdaly, I have seen you in action and you'll be grand. Come on out and see lovely Drogheda.

Will you be coming up the Malahide road? I can meet you around the Hilton.

I will indeed. Let's say 7:40 at the Hilton/Clarehall Shopping Centre junction - I'll pm you my mobile too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

kenny has a point,30km avg on that route will be very hard going,lots of hills and rough dragging tarmac!!

Looks like being an ok morning in the east tomorrow. Pretty darned cold though, may be a frost first thing and not getting much above 5 or 6 degrees...

Wel, that was... long. Nearly twice as far as I've been this season so far. Very chilly start, I was back in glove liners, two baselayers and overshoes. It warmed up a bit but never got above cold.

A nice cruising pace out throught Ballyboughal, Naul, somewhere else and Drogheda. Hills killed me, much more climbing training required (or maybe just flatter spins) but the descents were pretty fast...

A quick coffee stop in drogheda before pushing on down the N1 for home. Picked up the pace a bit there though I had no legs for even short climbs by then. Got towed a good bit by the other lads (thank you) who I reckon could have set a fair faster pace by themselves.

93km, avg 2.4kph, max 55.5kph.

Good oul spin today lads , thanks for the company

Big durty fry now to compensate the healthiness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭blobbie

93km, avg 2.4kph, max 55.5kph.

When did ye set off :P

Enjoyed that - lovely morning for it. Thanks for the chat and company.

blobbie wrote: »
    When did ye set off :P

Left home at 07.30. 3h50 rolling time, about 4h20 door to door.