Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Drennan and on and on and on...

• 09-03-2011 4:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

I'm thinking of a new "watch" superthread! This guy makes Mammy look coy and reticent. Every flipping current affairs show is graced by the dull tones of Drennan. Definitely the hardest working man in "opinion/observation" right now. If you are reading you're not nearly as witty as you may think. Cut the lame gags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Johnny Whelan

He doesn't know who to blame, so he blames everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Nonsense, john drennan is possibly one of the most articulate, informed and intelligent political commentators in this country, he's a joy to listen to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I'd have to disagree Mike. I find John Drennan to be be a refreshing anecdote to much of the staid reporting that takes place when it comes to politics in Ireland. If he sounds cynical it's probably because he has to go to Dáil Éireann and listen to the same old horseshít year after year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Lets not get carried away folks and deify these lads .

All these fcukers do is comment 'after the event' and use hindsight to form their views.

If they comment on things to come, they couch their 'predictions' in such vague and viscous language they will always seem winners.

They never will have to, and this is important, 'implement' policy.

Treat them for what they are, posters-reporters.

Nothing else.

Don't get carried away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

I don't know, I can think of a good few more political and economic hacks that are more omnipresent than Drennan - Fionnan Sheahan being the most obvious one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

heybaby wrote: »
    Nonsense, john drennan is possibly one of the most articulate, informed and intelligent political commentators in this country, he's a joy to listen to.

In your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Cole

Each to their own.

For me, there's too much of the smug smart-arse about him, which ends up just taking away from a lot of his commentary......even if I actually agree with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Smug is exactly how I would describe him, I really can't listen to him. His overuse of metaphors is really annoying, it may look clever in his written columns but they are just clumsy and annoying when spoken on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

He's always trying too hard to be witty when all we want are the facts. Gets annoying after a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

He was on with Matt Cooper before the elections with Luke Flanagan and tried his usual smugfest and being a smart ass to him. Flanagan was having none of it and his facade broke and he got very ratty. The man doesn't like people thinking he's not all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

He's different. Which is good. The constant refrain of why cant everybody on radio be the same is tedious.

I don't think it's because people want everyone to be the same, once there's some form of substance they don't mind how it's delivered. I've enjoyed listening to him and still do, but in that interview I saw a nasty snide side to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I don't think it's because people want everyone to be the same, once there's some form of substance they don't mind how it's delivered. I've enjoyed listening to him and still do, but in that interview I saw a nasty snide side to him.

Well recalled. He snapped when Ming told him he wouldn't pay 50 cents to read the rubbish he wrote in the Sunday Independent.

Btw, watch out for the way Drennan pronounces "just". It happens on the rare occassions when his interviewers attempt to tie him down to making a factual statement. Comes out something like "juuuuu-ist".

He was on with Matt Cooper before the elections with Luke Flanagan and tried his usual smugfest and being a smart ass to him. Flanagan was having none of it and his facade broke and he got very ratty. The man doesn't like people thinking he's not all that.

Yeah I heard that too.Drennan came across as a right tosser. Ming had his number.Drennan is typical of Irish hacks,not much substance really.
    Smug just about describes him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Drennan, the political 'expert', who boldly stated that Gerry Adams wouldn't take a seat in Louth.

Don't take guys like him too seriously!

Drennan strikes me as a very bitter man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I used to think so too.

But for the past months he has been on the airwaves at every opportunity.

Not surprising given that politics (his bread & butter) has dominated the headlines recently.

Obviously current affairs radio programmes gravitate towards political hacks around election time for their input.

However, Drennan appears to have confused his increased appearances on radio with some notion of popularity and an element of smugness has crept into his contributions as a result.

Where he was once naturally witty, entertaining and informative, he now tries to hard to be all these things and simply comes across as cynical and sarcastic.

Other political commentators like Stephen Collins (Irish Times) and Fionnan Sheehan (Indo) also make regular contributions to radio programmes.

But it hasn't gone to their heads.

I'll repeat my advice on these pundits.

They comment after the event, they don't have to implement anything.

Very easy to be wise after the event, just remember that.

I'll repeat my advice on these pundits.

They comment after the event, they don't have to implement anything.

Very easy to be wise after the event, just remember that.

Whether they comment before, during or after the event, or implement policy or not is hardly the issue here.

The fact is - they comment. On radio.

Therefore we comment. On the radio forum.

It doesn't mean we believe them to be "wise" or that we are actually taken in by what they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

delaad wrote: »
    Well recalled. He snapped when Ming told him he wouldn't pay 50 cents to read the rubbish he wrote in the Sunday Independent.

Btw, watch out for the way Drennan pronounces "just". It happens on the rare occassions when his interviewers attempt to tie him down to making a factual statement. Comes out something like "juuuuu-ist".

I'd love to hear that - haha, fair play to Ming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭Poochie05

I thought he was really shown up by Harry McGee on Matt Cooper this evening, complete contrast- McGee was articulate and well informed, even though he was speculating about some things, he had bothered to find stuff out but Drennan couldn't answer anything Matt put to him. He just waffled and didn't answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

hes very drol indeed , love john

Lapin wrote: »
    Whether they comment before, during or after the event, or implement policy or not is hardly the issue here.

The fact is - they comment. On radio.

Therefore we comment. On the radio forum.

It doesn't mean we believe them to be "wise" or that we are actually taken in by what they say.

Good post there, however, I would opine there are some who do actually get taken in and believe that these guys know how to fix things.

They don't.

Just warning people to keep their eyes and ears open.

Rgds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Is he the one always on with Hook on Newstalk? Or is that Jim Glennan? Either way both are quite annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

SB-08 wrote: »
    Is he the one always on with Hook on Newstalk? Or is that Jim Glennan? Either way both are quite annoying.

That's Jim Glennon, he is on for the whole show every Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

On with PK again as his panel lookback at the week.

Pat obviously rates him. :(

He's just been praising Luke Flanagan on PK's show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

John Drennan is one of the most annoying "political experts" on radio. He continually speaks in metaphors and similes. He's as it again as I write this, spouting some drivel about choosing a Cabinet being like a visit to Battersea Dogs' Home. Is this guy capable of uttering a single sentence without throwing in a metaphor? He's so damn annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Hmmm I knew I'd hit a nerve on radio forum, he really is omnipresent these days. This also points up something that has been discussed here and elsewhere - that the ranks of the Chatteratti are apparently very thin so the same voices and views are heard time and again.

He continually speaks in metaphors and similes. He's as it again as I write this, spouting some drivel about choosing a Cabinet being like a visit to Battersea Dogs' Home.

......and Pat and the panel were lapping it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Is this guy capable of uttering a single sentence without throwing in a metaphor? He's so damn annoying.
    It's a horribly tedious trait. That guy Roy Curtis who 'writes' for the Sunday World is a master at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Aidric wrote: »
    It's a horribly tedious trait. That guy Roy Curtis who 'writes' for the Sunday World is a master at it.

I gave up reading Curtis's Sunday World column because of it! I reckon they probably think it's really clever and funny of them to come up with their stupid metaphors and similes but for the reader or listener it's like trying to swim through a sea of golden syrup. (Sorry for the simile) ;)

Cole wrote: »
    He's just been praising Luke Flanagan on PK's show.

Eating humble pie over the fact that he got elected. We can now add two faced to his list of his impressive traits.

I gave up reading Curtis's Sunday World column because of it! I reckon they probably think it's really clever and funny of them to come up with their stupid metaphors and similes but for the reader or listener it's like trying to swim through a sea of golden syrup. (Sorry for the simile) ;)

I think he probably has a book of quotations and all that. He memorises them and then pretends they are just off the cuff. Oh John you're so witty! A veritable Oscar Wilde in our midst.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,551 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

mike65 wrote: »
    I'm thinking of a new "watch" superthread! This guy makes Mammy look coy and reticent. Every flipping current affairs show is graced by the dull tones of Drennan. Definitely the hardest working man in "opinion/observation" right now. If you are reading you're not nearly as witty as you may think. Cut the lame gags.

Can't stand Drennan. He obviously feels he's this great wit but comes out with one lousy gag after another. Also fond of terrible puns. I remember when he was on The Panel. Christ he was painful.

Just give people the facts John and forget about the comedy because you are not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

mike65 wrote: »
    Hmmm I knew I'd hit a nerve on radio forum, he really is omnipresent these days. This also points up something that has been discussed here and elsewhere - that the ranks of the Chatteratti are apparently very thin so the same voices and views are heard time and again.

i think they breed the feckers somewhere.

marie lousie o donnel is a classic example. who the hell is she and why the hell should i care whats obviously some journos old school/college teachers opinion is on anything?

she's been popping up all over the place too.

the media in this country DESPERATLY need new voices, but just like the RTE new tallent department it seems to rely on "who do we know and who are we related to " school of employment.

i'll give vinnie brown credit for getting some new characters out there but he's still nabbing em from the indo/times. if were too bloody small as a country get some foreigners in cos right now its like watching a D4 neighborhood love in.

Just because Pat rates him doesn't make him good. Remember on Friday when Pat was talking about the Earthquake and Tsunami in Japan? He asked his guest how much energy had been expended by the natural disaster. Pat is a total dilettante. So am I for using the word "dilettante"!

Ok John boy ,I'll bite.

What is your point?

Eh, I don't know. I just heard Pat's name and flipped. I think he's strange. But that should be a different thread.

Drennan is in full cynic jacket mode on PK this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 mulphisto

Bit of a slip up just now on Today Fm. He use the "Bobby Ewing\Dallas\shower" methphor (again) when describing someone in the Dail but when asked to explain it, he got it all wrong and started talking about Bobby being shot.
    Stick to the Father Ted metaphors John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

he mentioned sonny knowels aswell. joe duffy wont be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,986 ✭✭✭squonk

He's alway annoyed me. My first impression was that he was a right wind bag. Loves the sound of his own voice and thinks he's clever. I always cringe when I hear him throw out a metaphor or a pun because it sounds so contrived you can almost hear his brain going 'Now is the time for that line we rehearsed last night on situation x".

I love wit and it's always added to political discussion. The banter between John Bowman and the other presenters during RTE's election coverage was wit. What Drennan throws out I'd describe as Wit, only with the W taken away and SH prepended.

Yep heard that - couldn't believe there are people listening who do not know about Bobby Ewing stepping out of the shower :pac:

Lapin wrote: »
    Drennan is in full cynic jacket mode on PK this morning.

From the bits I heard of it, you had some of the Seanad candidates trying to justify themselves to Pat, with Drennan and Neil Delamere:confused: there to take the p*ss out of them at every opportunity....a bit of slagging between Drennan and an ex TUI fella.

Pretty poor stuff.

Bump, he's really doing my tits! The worst sort of condescending nonsense this morning on Newstalk when describing a female FG TD as fragrant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

JD is the '2012 Irelands biggest dickhead' winner