Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Enda Kenny is Taoiseach...

• 09-03-2011 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭

Well, i dont think its best but sure what harm eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

What would have happened if the motion was failed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Meh, we're swapping Aldi own-brand vanillia ice-cream for Lidl own-brand vanillia ice-cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

irish-stew wrote: »

next nomination...same stuff again?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

i'll see how it goes over the next few years before chalking it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

No, Michael Martin is Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Meh, we're swapping Aldi own-brand vanillia ice-cream for Lidl own-brand vanillia ice-cream.

But the Aldi one was full fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Deutschlandfürimmer7 ?!

I don't know what's more worryig your username or the fact that 7 people got there before you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Other people could have tried to nominate a new Taoiseach (e.g. Eamon Gilmore) but if a clear winner was not going to happen then Cowen (as the outgoing Taoiseach) could have gone back to the Áras to request another dissolution of the Dáil and a new election would be held.

So thank fnck it passed, if only to avoid another 3 weeks of canvassing and arguing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Exactly! It's like we're swapping a rough street corner prostitute for super_furry's mother, there's no difference :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Here's a question for ye - he's heading off to the Aras now to get signed into office by El Presidente, but what happens if she refuses to sign? (obviously I know she wouldn't, but it's possible).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Christ, look at all the old people trying to touch him.
    He's like a bingo hall Justin Bieber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Here's a question for ye - he's heading off to the Aras now to get signed into office by El Presidente, but what happens if she refuses to sign? (obviously I know she wouldn't, but it's possible).

The only time she won't sign something is when it goes against the constituition.

So she won't be able to object to this based on her opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Brian Cowen is still Taoiseach until the President appoints Enda!

The Dail has simply nominated him.

As Mark above says, there's continuity in Taoisigh. The only time the country is without a Taoiseach is when one dies in office.

So Cowen is the Taoiseach until Enda receives his seal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

seamus wrote: »
    As Mark above says, there's continuity in Taoisigh. The only time the country is without a Taoiseach is when one dies in office.

So Cowen is the Taoiseach until Enda receives his seal.

The last 10 days have been the first time that the current Taoiseach has not been a democratically elected member of the Dail. It's been like living in Libya really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

The last 10 days have been the first time that the current Taoiseach has not been a democratically elected member of the Dail. It's been like living in Libya really.

Why only the last ten days? Surely it should be from when Cowen was first given the job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭shrewd

he was lucky...,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

Well you all voted for it and slagged off FF for month... don't tell me your gonna start doing the same to FG now? You just voted them in!

Copper23 wrote: »
    Well you all voted for it and slagged off FF for month... don't tell me your gonna start doing the same to FG now? You just voted them in!

i didnt personally vote them in. i voted for Sinn Fein thank you very much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Why only the last ten days? Surely it should be from when Cowen was first given the job?
    Has was elected until he resigned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Copper23 wrote: »
    Us all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

i didnt personally vote them in. i voted for Sinn Fein thank you very much

Let's just say, the thanks is not reciprocal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Awww.. I was really hoping at the last minute Lab, FF, SF and the independents would form a coalition, just to see Kenny's response/descent into psychosis

enda1 wrote: »
    Let's just say, the thanks is not reciprocal.

to be honest i dont care. i voted for who i think is best. and over 10% of the voters in this country agree with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Is Enda Kenny a robot??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Awww.. I was really hoping at the last minute Lab, FF, SF and the independents would form a coalition, just to see Kenny's response/descent into psychosis

Was hoping this as well, they defnitely had the numbers if only they had the will.
    Gerry Adams as Taoiseach with Brian Lenihan and Joe Higgins co-sharing the Department of Finance was my dream.
    Then a cabinet bench of Joan Burton, Pierse Doherty, Mick Wallace, Eamon Gilmore, Ming, Willy O'Dea, Michael HealyRae, Ruari Quinn, Shane Ross, and Richard Boyd Barrett.
    Would have been beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Is Enda Kenny a robot??

He has no willy. His real name is Eoin McLove...

flyton5 wrote: »

and by god does he have a happy face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

flyton5 wrote: »

My lovely Mayo mammy.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

and by god does he have a happy face

And he's a great dancer too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Does this mean Ray D'arcy is emigrating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

bleg wrote: »
    Does this mean Ray D'arcy is emigrating?

He's being deported and taking his foreign name with him, the feckin blow in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

No. The people elect TDs and the TDs elect a Taoiseach, which they did for both Bertie and Cowen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Any idea where he is now? RTE have been caught on the hop trying to fill space reserved for the Dail debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Johnny Whelan

All this talk of what a marvellous achievement it is that FG and Lab have done so well in the election is nauseating. How is it an achievement of theirs that FF effed up so badly? If FF had been doing well this would not have happened. They are in Govt by default. They lucked out.

Any idea where he is now? RTE have been caught on the hop trying to fill space reserved for the Dail debate.
    He's in a back room somewhere in Leinster house talking to various TDs. They reckon he's "preparing" his new cabinet and talking to them before presenting them to the Dáil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

Jim wrote: »
    Us all?

Yes, you all.

For months here its been nothing but slag slag slag for FF. Rightly so I suppose but now you've voted in FG and Enda Kenny and the first thing we hear is more slagging it off.

The collective vote of Ireland has voted for this, if you (who are part of that vote) had voted differently it would have been different. You can't have it every way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Felim Uallachain

I'm delighted it's Enda.I voted for him.