Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Government Fleet of Mercs

• 08-03-2011 6:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭

Anyone know anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I believe they are introducing a car pooling system, which could be why there are 9 new ones, not 16!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭billyboy01

Apparently A brand new Mercedes S Class 350 was seen being delivered to Leinster House Yesterday along with 4 11 D reg E class 220 Mercs, 2 Audi A6's, and 2 BMW 5 Series, All the new models :eek: WTF I thought the new gov would cut out the mercs and pers, shame on them :mad:

Shame on you, for thinking that!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

The new S350 is obviously for Enda since Cowen will keep his existing car as an ex-Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

they seems to be never had problems with money... out of our pocket :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭selfobsessed

billyboy01 wrote: »
    Shame on you, for thinking that!:)

Excuse me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭billyboy01

Excuse me?

"WTF I thought the new gov would cut out the mercs and pers!" Your words!

How long have you lived here? Things dont change in PaddyWhackeryLand, they just get harder and more expensive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

Considering we don't have a new government it would be the last shower of wasters that order the new fleet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Apparently A brand new Mercedes S Class 350 was seen being delivered to Leinster House Yesterday along with 4 11 D reg E class 220 Mercs, 2 Audi A6's, and 2 BMW 5 Series, All the new models :eek: WTF I thought the new gov would cut out the mercs and pers, shame on them :mad:

I call hogwash. They would never be delivered to Leinster House.

They get delivered to Garda HQ in the phoenix park before being taken to special contractors to get the garda lights and sirens fitted. Photo evidence or I call hogwash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There were none ordered or in the pipeline, Lenihan announced in the budget that they would be limited to cars of 2 litres or less in future, no orders either way have been placed. My guess is the current fleet will be sold off for 6.5 cent a piece and new 2 litre Superbs or similar will be bought to replace them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

There were none ordered or in the pipeline, Lenihan announced in the budget that they would be limited to cars of 2 litres or less in future, no orders either way have been placed. My guess is the current fleet will be sold off for 6.5 cent a piece and new 2 litre Superbs or similar will be bought to replace them.

id say e200s and 520d's more likely , goodbye S-classes :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I reckon a fleet of S80 1.6D DRIVe's would be just the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭selfobsessed

bit what will kenny and the new gov ministers use to go to aras on uactarain tomorrow then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

bit what will kenny and the new gov ministers use to go to aras on uactarain tomorrow then

All the current governments cars, they no longer have jobs as of tomorrow, cars come with job. Maybe some car manufacturer may want to sponsor our government, I think stretched Ladas would suit them perfect to match the state of the economy c9245c311864a58533a86760aca80845player.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

How about the cars the previous ministers had? They can't keep them you know! (except for Cowen)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Only Cowan gets to keep his car afaik, the rest of the fleet are available until they reach the end of their working life. At most only one new car needs to be ordered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

If Cowen keeps the car does he keep a driver?

What a crazy situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

What a crazy situation.
    Two drivers. For life. All retired taoisigh and presidents do. Pretty sure the ex-Ministers of Justice as well.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Esel wrote: »
    Two drivers. For life. All retired taoisigh and presidents do. Pretty sure the ex-Ministers of Justice as well.

Yep, think the drivers work on a week on, week off basis, alternating shifts between them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Esel wrote: »

Crazy.

What a waste of resources. Cowen should live for another 30 years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Crazy.

What a waste of resources. Cowen should live for another 30 years.
    what an easy job though. i mean them fleet cars are usually automatic and i wouldnt imagine he will be going many places now he is retired? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Former taoisigh, and afaik presidents and Ministers of Justice, also get a permanent Garda presence at their residence. That's 24/365. Again, for life.

This was instituted when there was a perceived threat due to the Troubles.

It is high time this protection, and the provision of a car and driver(s) for the lifetime of the former office holder, was rescinded.

Not your ornery onager

Do they keep the same car they left with till it dies or does it get repeatedly replaced along with the rest of the fleet?

I don't know why they'd even want or need this perk - arguably their earning potential is significantly higher once they've left office due to speaking tours, book deals, directorships/consultancy positions etc.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

-Chris- wrote: »
    I don't know why they'd even want or need this perk
    I think it goes back to the days of the IRA, etc.

Historically there was a need, but not anymore. Just like historically when you finished your service you'd serve on a few boards or something, but there wasn't the earning potential there is now with the speaking circuit etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

If people didn't spend the last year heckling/throwing stuff at ministers there might have been a chance of things changing, but thats definitely not going to happen.

Pretty sure some judges get drivers/minders 24/7 too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Wouldn't think judges get 24/7 protection.

Though they realy should for the Special Criminal Court. I doubt anyone would have a problem with using resources for this, they do important work with some of the worst in Ireland

The local circuit court judge lives near us, you'll see a squad car most every day, sometimes more and that's just when I see it

But a lot of that is getting warrants signed too (not a legal expert, could be wrong) , not just checking the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

-Chris- wrote: »
    Do they keep the same car they left with till it dies or does it get repeatedly replaced along with the rest of the fleet?

I remember garrett Fitz using a very old car at one stage so they probably keep them until its more economical to change them. Knowing bertie, he will be asking for a new one shortly.

TBH I feel the taoiseach should have a new S CLass. He should appear to be in a position above big business in every way. The cost of the car is nothing to the state given that much of the purchase price is tax anyway.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Whats wrong with last years fleet? Or are they too "mighty" and "powerfull" to be seeing in a '10 reg car? Might damage the reputation of the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Anyone know anything?
    Fcucking ladas they should get. Or buy their own bloody cars with their obscene wages.:mad::mad:

Yakult wrote: »
    Whats wrong with last years fleet? Or are they too "mighty" and "powerfull" to be seeing in a '10 reg car? Might damage the reputation of the country?
    Ya. They tell us to more or less drive suzuki swifts(or some other 1L ****box) while they swan around in 11-reg Mercs.I despise em. Our countrys bollixed coz of em. But inda took a 14G paycut. How noble of him.Their "safety cameras" help fund this extravogence. Which makes it even more galling.

What a crazy situation.
    To and from the local for an aul session of 20 pints.And the locals buyin him pints no doubt.Happy days for Mr."Goin Forward".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I noticed the government fleet had changed a couple of weeks back.

As you walk through the customs gate in Dublin airport there is about 4 or 5 government cars with garda lights fitted lined up behind the glass. One was a 530GT in black, the rest were s-classes.

No camera to take a pic however

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

johnos1984 wrote: »
    I noticed the government fleet had changed a couple of weeks back.

As you walk through the customs gate in Dublin airport there is about 4 or 5 government cars with garda lights fitted lined up behind the glass. One was a 530GT in black, the rest were s-classes.

No camera to take a pic however

Yeah I've seen those as well.

Anyone else see Skodas full page ad in todays papers offering 5 Superbs to the government to try out as state cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

They may not have been state cars. Certain depts, mainly foreign affairs use contractors to provide transport for visiting diplomats etc. A lot of them use s-class', 7 series etc. Most of these have blue strobes fitted to them to be used when authorised during escorts and so on. Easy enough to spot as most of them have flag carriers in the wings too

Can't say I spotted flag carriers but I would of thought that it was illegal for anything other than an emergency vehicle (and the like) to have blue strobes fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Anyone else see Skodas full page ad in todays papers offering 5 Superbs to the government to try out as state cars?
    Yeh...made me laugh

THEYD NEVER TAKE SKODAS. Suberb as the Skoda may be,theyll never have the superb overpriced quality of a merc. They deserve top of the range mercs anyway:mad:.Morons-all of em.The whole of Europe cant believe how inept they are, and theyre still treating themselves to top-of-the range Mercs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Can't say I spotted flag carriers but I would of thought that it was illegal for anything other than an emergency vehicle (and the like) to have blue strobes fitted.

Illegal for them to be used without authorisation, not illegal for them to be fitted. These cars would have a special dispensation. A lot of the drivers are retired gardai so would have the correct courses done

fletch wrote: »
    Yeh...made me laugh
    Why?

1796001.png

Illegal for them to be used without authorisation, not illegal for them to be fitted. These cars would have a special dispensation. A lot of the drivers are retired gardai so would have the correct courses done
    Jobs for the boys. Retired gardai............Jesus wept.

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Why?
    I just thought the ad was very smart. I drive a Skoda and have ordered a new one so I would be the last person to slag them

1796001.png
    Ok. My bad. Skoda Superb is a decent automobile though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭but43r

All the current governments cars, they no longer have jobs as of tomorrow, cars come with job. Maybe some car manufacturer may want to sponsor our government, I think stretched Ladas would suit them perfect to match the state of the economy c9245c311864a58533a86760aca80845player.jpg

That's not Lada. That's Volga.

What would every one of you do in their position? Would you seriously switch to Škoda if you had a chance to be driving a Merc?
    I would take Merc any day. It would be a different story if they had to pay for the cars from their own pockets but we know that that's not going to happen...

I just thought the ad was very smart. I drive a Skoda and have ordered a new one so I would be the last person to slag them
    Just seen the ad you posted there.New Skodas are decent machines.I just think the TDs should be paying for their own cars(from their obscene salaries).Why does everything have to be top-of-the-rang mercs for em? They sicken me to be honest. Hypocrites. Our country is destroyed because of their greed and stupidity.Me feiners is all they are.

Jobs for the boys. Retired gardai............Jesus wept.

What issue do you have with contractors hiring ex-Gardai to drive their cars? It seems natural that if you were in a hiring position you'd pick people who already have training and experience rather than taking on the cost and responsibility of training them yourself.

Am I taking you up wrong?

but43r wrote: »
    That's not Lada. That's Volga.

What would every one of you do in their position? Would you seriously switch to Škoda if you had a chance to be driving a Merc?
    I would take Merc any day. It would be a different story if they had to pay for the cars from their own pockets but we know that that's not going to happen...
    Heloooo buddy. Why should the taxpayer fund their mercs when there are very viable alternatives. We put up with too much ****e in this country. We really do.The last government we had would put mafia gangsters to shame. Fcuckin crooks. Same again this time Id say.;)

The Skoda would be a good choice as long as they get the TDI models :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

The Skoda would be a good choice as long as they get the TDI models :pac:

I didn't want to laugh but.... heh :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Just seen the ad you posted there.New Skodas are decent machines.I just think the TDs should be paying for their own cars(from their obscene salaries).Why does everything have to be top-of-the-rang mercs for em? They sicken me to be honest. Hypocrites. Our country is destroyed because of their greed and stupidity.Me feiners is all they are.

These 11-reg cars were ordered by the outgoing Fianna Failure administration, one of what I imagine will be a chain of landmines left behind for the incoming government.