Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ó Cuív's final act. Saving battalion in his own county.

• 08-03-2011 3:14pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

Ó Cuív’s final act as defence minister: saving the Irish-speaking battalion in his own constituency

http://www.thejournal.ie/o-cuivs-final-act-as-defence-minister-save-the-irish-speaking-battalion-2011-03/
    OUTGOING DEFENCE MINISTER Éamon Ó Cuív has announced one of his final acts in his brief tenure as Minister for Defence: saving the army’s only Irish-speaking battalion, based at a barracks in his home constituency.

Ó Cuív, who last week won re-election in his Galway West constituency, this afternoon said he had instructed the Department of Defence to specifically safeguard the status of An Chéad Chath, the Irish-speaking battalion, in spite of a reorganisation of the Defence Forces.
    The battalion is based at the Renmore Barracks just east of Galway city – where Ó Cuív is himself based, and firmly in his own constituency.

Ó Cuív, a native Irish speaker who only took control of the Department of Defence on January 20 when Tony Killeen stepped down, said that the order to safeguard the battalion was issued last Thursday.
    “As Minister for Defence, I believe it is fundamental to the whole character of the Irish Army that it would have an Irish speaking battalion,” Ó Cuív said in a statement issued this lunchtime.

He added: “It is logical that that Battalion would be based in the barracks nearest the largest Gaeltacht in the country.”
    The retention of the battalion, he said, was in line with the commitments given by the outgoing government in its 20-year strategy for the development of the Irish language, which included the continued and developed use of Irish in the Gardaí and defence forces.

Ó Cuív also said that the Defence Forces’ Equitation School would be retained under the review of the department’s spending, saying the investment in the school was “minimal compared to the promotion that the School gives to the Irish horse at home and abroad.”

Ó Cuív – the grandson of former Taoiseach and President Éamon de Valera – is one of the two ministers currently holding three briefs, carrying the social protection and environment briefs as well as the defence one.
    He is one of just three members of the outgoing cabinet who will take his seat as a TD when the new Dáil meets tomorrow.
    Personally I see it as a final act to look after his own seat for the near future.
    If it is, its typical of the same parish pump actions that needs to be stamped out in this country.
    ...I won't live in hope though that such actions will cease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

Biggins wrote:

Personally I see it as a final act to look after his own seat for the near future.
    If it is, its typical of the same parish pump actions that needs to be stamped out in this country.
    ...I won't live in hope though that such actions will cease.
    it's similar to how bits of the Department of Finance were moved to Tullamore when Cowan was Minister for Finance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

it's similar to how bits of the Department of Finance were moved to Tullamore when Cowan was Minister for Finance.
    Good coincidences?

I know... Silly question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I don't realy see an issue with it.
    Renmore is a very large barracks and it does make sense to keep them there. Or do we send them and their families to Athlone or Kildare?
    Also, the Department of Defense have been in Renmore when other departments were making a mess of decentralization.

Had a quick look at Bord Snip Nua
    In 2009, the McCarthy report recommended the Defence Forces should lose 500 personnel, close more Army barracks, cut back on overseas missions and that it close the world-famous Army Equitation School.

This has been largely achieved, the Dept of Defence can deliver savings while other departments get themselves into more trouble like FÁS
    Like all government departments they had a recruitment freeze and are losing senior members to retirement.
    Longford Barracks was closed and I believe there were closures in Donegal.

For me anyway, I don't agree with closing the Equitation School. Costs €1million per year to run and does a lot of good. Ireland has a great reputation for breeding around the world and the riders compete in many competitions building a profile.

Keep the battalion in Galway I say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

I dont really think keeping the the Battalion there will have much of an impact on his political future. Most soldiers are not stationed in their home area.

As for the Army Equitation School, thats based in Kildare, not Galway East.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Thankfully he did not agree to closing the Equitation school. From a financial point of view, it did not make sense but for me there was always a sense of pride watching them compete in the RDS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Canvasser

ye all would have done for your own constituencies if given the chance.

there is a lack of honesty on these online forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

I dont see any problem with this. He justifies the reason for keeping the battalion and it seems fairly logical: keep the Irish speaking soldiers close to the Gaeltacht.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Thought MCKee barracks was in Dublin?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Manach wrote: »
    Thankfully he did not agree to closing the Equitation school. From a financial point of view, it did not make sense but for me there was always a sense of pride watching them compete in the RDS.
    It makes huge finanacial sense, they are promoting Irish Sports Horses all over the world, one of our major rural enterprises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

I dont see any problem with this. He justifies the reason for keeping the battalion and it seems fairly logical: keep the Irish speaking soldiers close to the Gaeltacht.

you see here on boards many posters can't get round the idea of politicians actually making decent decisions. they just assume every one is bad particularly if said politician happens to be a member of the super evil FF party

I dont really think keeping the the Battalion there will have much of an impact on his political future.
    Why Galway? Risk of invasion by an American flotilla? Or, the importance of Irish speaking soldiers to advance the new strategy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I dont really think keeping the the Battalion there will have much of an impact on his political future. Most soldiers are not stationed in their home area.

The Horsey School is in McKee Barracks, in Dublin.

It serves absolutely zero military purpose and merely uses up manpower that could be used in the understrength Units around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Poccington wrote: »
    The Horsey School is in McKee Barracks, in Dublin.

It serves absolutely zero military purpose and merely uses up manpower that could be used in the understrength Units around the country.

In the Israeli war vs Hezbollah a few years ago the Israeli army used pack animals (horses, llamas etc) to carry their gear around in the mountainous areas in southern Lebanon. Like it or not, there are still things that can be done more cheaply with greater efficiency by using animals than machines.

In the case of the equestrian unit, it's also good for the public image of the defense forces and raises the profile of the DF and Irish sports as a whole abroad. Most militaries around the world have sporting units.

Also, having a battalion that converses in Irish is good for operational security. In the military forum (I think) somebody was describing how the Israelis were scrambling to find ways to understand the language when they were listening in on comms, since that is the language orders were relayed in while the DF were peacekeeping in Lebanon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Why Galway? Risk of invasion by an American flotilla? Or, the importance of Irish speaking soldiers to advance the new strategy?

Visit the Galway City forum and read the rag week thread. That's why we need the army :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I don't particularly see the need for an Irish speaking batallion.

However, I am glad that somebody has caught on to how crucial the Equitation School has been to the promotion of the Irish horse over the past few decades, particularly since the 1970's. The Irish horse remains one of Ireland's finest and most renowned exports and closure of the school could have had a significant impact on the upcoming Olympics in 2012 and 2016 as well as on breeding more generally.

It is impossible to say how much in quantitative terms the ES has contributed to the Irish sport horse economy but I'm sure nobody would disagree that its contribution has been enormous. They are literally in on everything when it comes to international competitions and marketing. Consider that that Irish sport horse market is said to be worth around 400m and the ES costs about 1m. You do the maths.

In the Israeli war vs Hezbollah a few years ago the Israeli army used pack animals (horses, llamas etc) to carry their gear around in the mountainous areas in southern Lebanon. Like it or not, there are still things that can be done more cheaply with greater efficiency by using animals than machines.

I fully agree, you just have to look at when the Yanks SF first entered Afghanistan and linked up the the NA, they then spent a lot of their time on horseback.

However, such a situation would never, ever develop while using the horses from the Horsey School. Ever.
    In the case of the equestrian unit, it's also good for the public image of the defense forces and raises the profile of the DF and Irish sports as a whole abroad. Most militaries around the world have sporting units.

Well then give the Horsey School to the Department of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

It serves no purpose to the DF militarily, apart from using up manpower and space. We have troops working their bollocks off at home and Overseas to keep up the public image, we don't need a few horses using up our manpower for the sake of public image.
    Also, having a battalion that converses in Irish is good for operational security. In the military forum (I think) somebody was describing how the Israelis were scrambling to find ways to understand the language when they were listening in on comms, since that is the language orders were relayed in while the DF were peacekeeping in Lebanon.

It's great in theory, until the Israeli's merely brought in their own Irish speakers to deal with it.

From what I've heard and been told, Irish was never used to relay all orders while the DF was in Lebanon. Most of the time when it was spoken over the radio it was merely 1 Bn lads having a chat.

The likes of Incident Reports etc. wouldn't have been transmitted in Irish. Although they did use a code to describe different vehicles etc.

later10 wrote: »

However, I am glad that somebody has caught on to how crucial the Equitation School has been to the promotion of the Irish horse over the past few decades, particularly since the 1970's. ....It is impossible to say how much in quantitative terms the ES has contributed to the Irish sport horse economy but I'm sure nobody would disagree that its contribution has been enormous.
    If its so successful, then privitise it and let the industry pay for it? it's only 1m, i'm sure the industry could come up with the money if they're making so much.

It is not a strategic asset, the state does not need to own it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I'm not sure, but I suspect they were never at risk of being moved. It sounds contrived and a way for FF "we saved this for Galway" "we are keeping more barracks open than are necessary, economic or conducive to military training".

Victor wrote: »
    I'm not sure, but I suspect they were never at risk of being moved. It sounds contrived and a way for FF "we saved this for Galway" "we are keeping more barracks open than are necessary, economic or conducive to military training".
    There was another rsason given:
    The retention of the battalion, he said, was in line with the commitments given by the outgoing government in its 20-year strategy for the development of the Irish language, which included the continued and developed use of Irish in the Gardaí and defence forces.
    Every strategy needs an army behind it.

If its so successful, then privitise it and let the industry pay for it? it's only 1m, i'm sure the industry could come up with the money if they're making so much.
    A large part of the Equitation centre's success is in its link with the military. Military horsemanship is widely regarded in sport horse breeding and many European schools are linked to their militaries. The Irish Army School's reputation via the military is well founded - breeding and training, in true military fashion, is done by the book. The status that an army school can hold is reflected in the calibre of their riding teams and the gravity of horsemanship they can produce and in the breeding programmes they can engage in. The Irish Army school builds on their status to breed specifically Irish horses and that has served the Irish sport horse well. By the way the Equitation school do also raise their own money privately in selling successful animals and offspring and through international competitions.

In short, given that its success is significantly linked to the military, it isn't really something that can be realistically be privatised. It is one of the very few (in my opinion) public service success stories.

A large part of the Equitation centre's success is in its link with the military.
    Other than the dapper official army uniforms, is there anything in particular that could not be done by non-military? Low wages? non-union labour? Methinks the horse industry has grown used to public largesse and is inventing reasons why the school had to be paid for by the taxpayer while the industry reaps the benefits.

A large part of the Equitation centre's success is in its link with the military. Military horsemanship is widely regarded in sport horse breeding and many European schools are linked to their militaries. The Irish Army School's reputation via the military is well founded - breeding and training, in true military fashion, is done by the book. The status that an army school can hold is reflected in the calibre of their riding teams and the gravity of horsemanship they can produce and in the breeding programmes they can engage in. The Irish Army school builds on their status to breed specifically Irish horses and that has served the Irish sport horse well. By the way the Equitation school do also raise their own money privately in selling successful animals and offspring and through international competitions.

In short, given that its success is significantly linked to the military, it isn't really something that can be realistically be privatised. It is one of the very few (in my opinion) public service success stories.

What exactly does the Horsey School contribute to the DF? What military function does it carry out apart from wearing the uniform?

Putting the DF in the public eye doesn't cut it, we have the DF Press Office to do that.

There's zero reason for the Horsey School to recieve any part of the Defence budget.

Other than the dapper official army uniforms, is there anything in particular that could not be done by non-military?
    Well firstly let us not forget that firstly this is a pretty small outfit.

Of course there are non military personnell working both in the yard and in administration for the school, but again its success and the success of its horses are largely down to the respect that people in the industry have for military horsemanship: You might buy a colt from Paddy in Ballinasloe or from Helen at Dublin Show and not really know what you're going to bring home, but it isn't quite the same with the equitation school. Military riding schools, tradtionally as well as in Dublin, apply the most rigourous tests and demands of horsemanship. It is in that light that the military school has such a strong international reputation since many other countries have abandoned theirs or are yet only re-awakening theirs.

But that is not how it benefits the Irish horse industry directly.

The benfit to the Irish Sport Horse is that the army has built up his strong reputation through its breeding programmes and by acting as a de facto ambassador for the breed.
    This directly benefits Irish sport horse producers both domestically and internationally. In short, the Equitation school is comparable to Bord Bia or Failte Ireland.
    the horse industry has grown used to public largesse and is inventing reasons why the school had to be paid for
    Public largesse? This saving is 1 million euro and it helps to significantly sustain a 400 million euro economy. I don't call that largesse, I call it common sense.

As has already been mentioned, the Equitation School do, of course, simultaneously raise funding themselves through their enterprise.

What exactly does the Horsey School contribute to the DF? What military function does it carry out apart from wearing the uniform?

Putting the DF in the public eye doesn't cut it, we have the DF Press Office to do that.
    Nothing to do with the public eye, it's to do with international breeders and competitors being encouraged to buy Irish stock as a direct result of the school's promotion of the ISH type.

So explain to me again why it should be paid for using the already ****e Defence budget? And a school kept open which uses troops in a completely non military function, when we've a whole Army that is woefully under strength?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

To be fair, I don't really see an issue with it, and I don't disagree that not only does an Irish speak batallion offer cultural value to the Irish army, but funnilly enough, having a dead language speaking batallion must have some functional tactical value to an army as they essentially have a specialised code communicating section!! :D The Irish language was used to pass on orders between prisoners in the north for successfull jail breaks by IRA members, so much so that they attempted to bring in a translator (and unsurpisingly couldn't find one) and was also used for hunger strikes to communicate.

It does hold military strategic merrit as well as cultural, and I'd be in favour of keeping it.

So explain to me again why it should be paid for using the already ****e Defence budget?

Because it's probably - no, undoubtedly, - the most profitable 1 million euro return on army spending into the indigenous irish economy, which is, after all, what we are trying to boost and whose image we are trying desperately to enhance. One could argue that most of the Irish defence budget is rather pointless, but not this.

I don't care who pays for it to be honest, Dept of Agriculture, Dept of defence, private companies or little girls and boys at Pony club - it must be kept because it does serve a very strategic function valued by the equestrian economy. The only issue there is that I don't think it is credible to suggest that such private citizens or companies contribute financially to what is, after all, an arm of the military outside of their role as citizens.

Because it's probably - no, undoubtedly, - the most profitable 1 million euro return on army spending into the indigenous irish economy, which is, after all, what we are trying to boost and whose image we are trying desperately to enhance. One could argue that most of the Irish defence budget is rather pointless, but not this.

I don't care who pays for it to be honest, Dept of Agriculture, Dept of defence, private companies or little girls and boys at Pony club - it must be kept because it does serve a very strategic function valued by the equestrian economy. The only issue there is that I don't think it is credible to suggest that such private citizens or companies contribute financially to what is, after all, an arm of the military outside of their role as citizens

Which provides no kind of strategic support to the DF and carries out no military tasking. It's a little kingdom within the DF that needs to disappear.

Public largesse? This saving is 1 million euro and it helps to significantly sustain a 400 million euro economy. I don't call that largesse, I call it common sense.
    So why does the industry not pay the government the 1m euro? if a private company wants publicity for its products, it has to pay an advertising agency. That is common sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I think you may have mixed up you're battalions here.

The article says that Renmore Barracks is located "just east of Galway city".

The east side of the city would be a more accurate description.

But its in the Galway West (O'Cuiv's) constituency.

There is no army barracs at all in the Galway East constituency.

We're all anarchists here. ;)

so why does the industry not pay the government the 1m euro?
    Lots of reasons, not least because there are constitutional legal impediments to private citizens controlling their own little armies.
    Furthermore, there is no unified 'industry'. many people who benefit from the Equitation schools promotion of the I.S. Horse breed on a part time basis for supplementary income and some only breed to break even and enjoy the success fo their efforts. The horse industry is a little strange like that, it's full of all sorts form travellers to hill farmers to doctors and barristers to full timers. Who pays?

if a private company wants publicity or its products, it has to pay an advertising agency. That is common sense.
    Like bord failte? or bord Bia?

The horse industry is a little strange like that, it's full of all sorts form travellers to hill farmers to doctors and barristers to full timers. Who pays?
    So we're subsidsing the hobbies of Doctors and Barristers? have you a breakdown of how that 400m is generated?
    Like bord failte? or bord Bia?
    Or Guinness and McDonalds.

So we're subsidsing the hobbies of Doctors and Barristers? have you a breakdown of how that 400m is generated?
    No, I don't; like I said it is impossible to say how much exactly comes as a direct relationship with the status of the ISH and its promotion by the military.

However, it would be widely accepted that the Irish school of equitation are *the* world ambassador for the ISH breed. They breed it, they compete it and they sell it on a stage that they, through the calibre of the riders and horses they have the power to attract, have access to. Regular punters do not have the same sort of access to their clients, so they do bring an enormous boost to the domestic agri economy.

Go to any show worldwide where Irish domiciled riders are competing and you will almost certainly meet riders from the Irish rmy equitation school promoting this very well regarded breed in international eventing and showjumping.

Or Guinness and McDonalds.
    eh? explain the mcdonalds one in particular?

Slightly off topic but similar still: http://www.thejournal.ie/brian-lenihan-appoints-economic-advisor-to-central-bank-commission-2011-03/

Brian Lenihan appointing his economic advisor to the Central Bank commission for years to come - FF even to the last day, still looking after their own!

Between these two lads alone, they personify what Fianna Fail is much hated for.
    Michael Martin is either living in the land of disillusion or just don't want to see what everyone else is seeing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Biggins wrote: »

He got the second highest number of first preferences in the election in GW, was first elected and never ever in doubt to take a seat in the nationwide clearing out of FF. If he can do that, his seat is safe :pac:

I don't really see an issue with this.

c_man wrote: »
    He got the second highest number of first preferences in the election in GW, was first elected and never ever in doubt to take a seat in the nationwide clearing out of FF. If he can do that, his seat is safe :pac:

Not that safe and he knows it.

Well if we want to be accurate, it took EIGHT counts to get him into that seat.
    I watched the count and it was a tough one to win.
    Not that safe it seems!

http://www.galwaynews.ie/17943-galway-west-8th-count-%C3%B3-cu%C3%ADv-elected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Not that safe and he knows it.

Well if we want to be accurate, it took EIGHT counts to get him into that seat.
    I watched the count and it was a tough one to win.
    Not that safe it seems!

http://www.galwaynews.ie/17943-galway-west-8th-count-%C3%B3-cu%C3%ADv-elected

I really have to disagree. Tbh going by the number of counts here is pointless, we like to have a fair few :pac: His seat was never in danger, trust me. Ask anyone in the know about politics about Galway (e.g. Lockstep).

FF made a mistake in running three candidates and with that his first preference vote was down just over 2000 (quickly made up when fellow running mates were eliminated) from '07 and '02. He has a solid base in Conamara.

I really have to disagree. Tbh going by the number of counts here is pointless, we like to have a fair few :pac: His seat was never in danger, trust me. Ask anyone in the know about politics about Galway (e.g. Lockstep).

FF made a mistake in running three candidates and with that his first preference vote was down just over 2000 (quickly made up when fellow running mates were eliminated) from '07 and '02. He has a solid base in Conamara.
    The difference between he and his running mate was on first preferences:

Nolan (Lab) 7,502
    Cuív (FF) 7,467

It took eight counts for him to get enough transfers alone to eventually finally overtake for sure, opposition and get in.
    We will have to agree to disagree about how safe his seat is. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

So why does the industry not pay the government the 1m euro? if a private company wants publicity for its products, it has to pay an advertising agency. That is common sense.

I think you have answered your own question. They don't because they can't.

Its interesting to see a military man argue against the retention of the school, but I have a pain in my hole with every single public success being complained about because the private sector can't get their hands on it.

If the private sector could run a horse stable of the caliber of the Army, they would. There are thousands of them out there. But they can't. So the Army clearly have a forumula that works. We don't need to scrap it for some outdated and failed capitalisitc dogma.

I think you have answered your own question. They don't because they can't.
    but the industry is making lots of money right? Can't or won't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I have to agree with this. There was never any real question about Ó Cuív's seat. He mightn't have topped the poll but he was still a very safe seat. Even with FF running three candidates and being down in the polls, Ó Cuív is very well regarded in Conamara (and to a lesser extent, Connemara and rural Galway), even with the current FF wipeout. He's percieved as a hard worker and one who looks out for the usually-overlooked Conamara. I'm not a Fianna Fáil voter at all and I don't like Ó Cuív but I must admit that he's a popular man in his area.

He had to deal with a Gaeilgeoir/Conamara opponent in the shape of Ó Clochartaigh (Sinn Féin) who did extremely well and siphoned off votes from Ó Cuív heartland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

but the industry is making lots of money right? Can't or won't?

Tons. Largely because of tax breaks. Bet you don't want the government to but out of the industry in that case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Canvasser wrote: »
    ye all would have done for your own constituencies if given the chance.

there is a lack of honesty on these online forums.

You're a fianna failure supporter i take it?

Because thats the typical parish-pump gombeen answer I'd expect from one.

You're a fianna failure supporter i take it?

Because thats the typical parish-pump gombeen answer I'd expect from one.

If you don't do the work then you'll find it hard to get elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

If you don't do the work then you'll find it hard to get elected.

Again the typical gombeen type attitude that leads to the atrocious standard of politicians that we have in this country.

If politicians continue to prioritise the local over the national interest this country is never going to make any progress from the current feudal nature of politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

But that's something different and it's not realy similar at all

I still fail to see the issue with the Minister of Defense keeping the battalion in Galway where they have served for years.

What purpose would be served in moving them all and their families to Athlone or Dublin or Cork to another barracks?
    It's not like they are the only battalion there and they are keeping Renmore open just for them

And he justified the reasons in the article.
    But you reckon it's an attempt to get votes?
    His seat was safe, even if it was the eighth count he gets most votes from Connemara and doesn't have a lot of competition out there

What purpose would be served in moving them all and their families to Athlone or Dublin or Cork to another barracks?
    It's not like they are the only battalion there and they are keeping Renmore open just for them

And he justified the reasons in the article.
    But you reckon it's an attempt to get votes?
    His seat was safe, even if it was the eighth count he gets most votes from Connemara and doesn't have a lot of competition out there

The DF is currently in the middle of putting together a new CS4 Document, which is effectively a reorganisation of the DF as a whole.

It's going to result in new Units, new manpower levels for some Units, amalgamation of other Units etc.

Barracks closures will have to follow, otherwise you will end up with split Units, as in half a Unit being in one location with the other half in a different location. It's bad from a command & control point of view, as well as training point of view.

O Cuiv handing out the kind of guarantee he did is quite frankly, stupid and helps tie the hands of the General Staff currently trying to put the new CS4 together.

I'd put my house on the fact that it was a vote saving measure because in a military sense, it's a ridiculous call to make.

...His seat was safe, even if it was the eighth count he gets most votes from Connemara and doesn't have a lot of competition out there
    Well we will agree to differ for things are apparently hotting up enough out there that it took this time around, eight counts to get him in this time.
    Opposition is clearly there and possibly making it mark more so.

The point by myself and by many that have commented else where across the media (like The Journal for example) is in the way he has done this. The last thing he does is for his own constituency. There might be legit reason - but its yet again parish pump thinking and a continuation and indicative of has gone on before by such clowns.

Again the typical gombeen type attitude that leads to the atrocious standard of politicians that we have in this country.

If politicians continue to prioritise the local over the national interest this country is never going to make any progress from the current feudal nature of politics.

Is it the politician's fault that the people vote based on local issues? If national issues were what the majority of voters base their decisions in the polling booth, then that is what the candidates would campaign on.