Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Living alongside degenerates - please advise

• 08-03-2011 2:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Like the thread title indicates, I'm in the unfortuante positon of living alongside a family of degenerate scum and I would deeply appreciate all the advice anyone could give.

I don't want to say too much that might identify me but basically the story is I've had threats and intimidation over the last couple of weeks like you wouldn't believe. I'm a single mother and all this sh!t is coming from a home near mine full of grown up kids (30's) half of whom are men.

I had a recent visit from a number of them (all men!) threatening me with everything you can think of. They had turned up in response to my complaining about another instance of anti-social behaviour. I told them to fcukoff away from my door and that I'd be calling the guards as soon as they left. They called me a rat this that and the other, all the type of gutter talk you'd expect - I guess in their view of the world calling the guards is the last thing you'd ever do, but I don't live on their mental wavelength, and thank Jesus for that.

I know there isnt much background information, but the question I'm asking is this: I've been in touch with the guards and they want me to follow official channels and have these fcukers served with a behaviour order, that's the Irish version of an ASBO I expect. I am undecided on this. They are behaving like animals for sure (and there is NO reason for it, I can promise you, except that they are all on drugs and like to think they're hard men) but if I do this, would it be likely to have any kind of positive outcome or would it be likely to be pouring water into boiling oil?

I've got teenaged kids to worry about. Please help me come to a decision on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Like the thread title indicates, I'm in the unfortuante positon of living alongside a family of degenerate scum and I would deeply appreciate all the advice anyone could give.

I don't want to say too much that might identify me but basically the story is I've had threats and intimidation over the last couple of weeks like you wouldn't believe. I'm a single mother and all this sh!t is coming from a home near mine full of grown up kids (30's) half of whom are men.

I had a recent visit from a number of them (all men!) threatening me with everything you can think of. They had turned up in response to my complaining about another instance of anti-social behaviour. I told them to fcukoff away from my door and that I'd be calling the guards as soon as they left. They called me a rat this that and the other, all the type of gutter talk you'd expect - I guess in their view of the world calling the guards is the last thing you'd ever do, but I don't live on their mental wavelength, and thank Jesus for that.

I know there isnt much background information, but the question I'm asking is this: I've been in touch with the guards and they want me to follow official channels and have these fcukers served with a behaviour order, that's the Irish version of an ASBO I expect. I am undecided on this. They are behaving like animals for sure (and there is NO reason for it, I can promise you, except that they are all on drugs and like to think they're hard men) but if I do this, would it be likely to have any kind of positive outcome or would it be likely to be pouring water into boiling oil?

I've got teenaged kids to worry about. Please help me come to a decision on this.

From my experience with siuations like this, it's best to not go down the official route. At times I've even been advised (unofficially) that it wouldn't put me or my family in a very safe position. People like this are capable of doing anything they can to keep people quiet.

I'd be really careful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭eddison

Hi OP,

First off, have you made a mistake?- you got personal when you told them to F*** off. When you make it personal, people take it personal. For some men, being told to F.off by a woman is like waving a red rag to a bull. They really really don't like this one bit. In the hardest prisons, its all about respect, and criminal guys have killed over being disrespected. Many guys feel being disrespected by a female is more humiliating.

You may have to eat a s**t sandwich and show them some respect. A tough man who is not only disrespected, but told to f*** off will not forget, or forgive.

Try to approach these guys with respect. Calling them degenerates is not on at all. They probably think you look down on them, before, and now you told them to f*** off. If they also think you look down on them, they will have a full on vendetta, with a mission to teach you a lesson. I wouldn't be surprised if they have it in for you more so for this, than telling the guards.

You see tough guys know if they do wrong, and someone calls the gards- many will say that's a fair cop. But when you get personal, and treat them like something you just stepped on, they will want to teach you to respect them, the hard way.

This is not going away anytime soon in my view, and will escalate, until you make some sort of peace with them, or move. Find out who the leader is, and apologise to him for being disrespectful. Carefully wait for the right moment to do this. Put your pride on the shelf. You could even bring them some sort of peace offering, like a cake or something to apologise. This will take guts, But it will work, and if not, it will at least take the 'sting' out of them. Then if your quiet, they may move on to someone else. You probably baulk at these ideas, but you do not have many options left now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Personally, I'd go the official garda route. They're bullies and are using threats they won't follow through on. If they did, they'd know they'd be rightly screwed. But if you feel that this will in anyway endanger you or your family, then you're best not doing anything. Either put up with it or move. They're your 3 choices, as I see it. Not the easiest situation to be in, I'm afraid.

First off, have you made a mistake?- you got personal when you told them to F*** off. When you make it personal, people take it personal.
    A group of men coming around to her house to threaten her is personal. She merely responded in kind. No offence to you Eddison, but the OP really shouldn't do what you say. She doesn't live it South Central LA.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

eddison wrote: »
    Hi OP,

First off, have you made a mistake?- you got personal when you told them to F*** off. When you make it personal, people take it personal. For some men, being told to F.off by a woman is like waving a red rag to a bull. .

The world according to Tony Soprano .........:rolleyes:

Men turning up on the doorstep of a woman living by herself, and threatening her, is like a red rag to a bull.

OP, report this people now. they can not be let away with it. If the police are asking to go down the offical route, i would think they already have a large number of complaints. the more complaints the better the case.

Are they in social housing by chance ? If so, this could be used to get them exvicted.

I would definately go back to local guards and explain your fears and see what advice or reassurances they can give you

Sorry Humanji, and Irishbird, I have lived in tough areas, which are much worse than L.A. They could easliy burn the house down. This is real life, and these things happen- regularly. Sometimes with the people still inside.

The gaurd? ha! unless they can give 24 hour round the clock protection, it sounds like these guys are not afraid of the guards at all- maybe the guards are afraid to them? Drive into ballymurphy of the falls road sometime, and you will get some idea :)

An apology is very cheap, even if you did nothing wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

irishbird wrote: »
    Men turning up on the doorstep of a woman living by herself, and threatening her, is like a red rag to a bull.

Spot on. Thanks Irishbird. No I don't know if theirs is social housing as it's a mixed estate but I'll consider looking into it.

Thanks everyone else for taking the time to respond, even you Eddison, though I have to say you wrote the biggest pile of tripe I've read in a while.

An apology will enable them and will have them continually walking all over her and making her life a misery. You're not the only one to live in rough areas. These guys aren't going to hurt her. They just want her to think that. It's pack mentality.

edit: oh and OP, are there other people in the estate you can talk to? If there's a big enough group of you complaining, then there would be a greater likelyhood of something being done.

Didn't say that Irishbird, I said telling these guys to F*** off is like a red rag to a bull. Being disrespectful to men is the fashion now I suppose.

Ok OP, you think its tripe, that's fine. I was sincerely trying to help, as you seemed to be in trouble. You have to play it the way you feel it. I really hope it works out for you, at least you know what you are doing.
    I tried and failed :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

Hi OP,

First off, have you made a mistake?- you got personal when you told them to F*** off. When you make it personal, people take it personal. For some men, being told to F.off by a woman is like waving a red rag to a bull. They really really don't like this one bit. In the hardest prisons, its all about respect, and criminal guys have killed over being disrespected. Many guys feel being disrespected by a female is more humiliating.

You may have to eat a s**t sandwich and show them some respect. A tough man who is not only disrespected, but told to f*** off will not forget, or forgive.

Try to approach these guys with respect. Calling them degenerates is not on at all. They probably think you look down on them, before, and now you told them to f*** off. If they also think you look down on them, they will have a full on vendetta, with a mission to teach you a lesson. I wouldn't be surprised if they have it in for you more so for this, than telling the guards.

You see tough guys know if they do wrong, and someone calls the gards- many will say that's a fair cop. But when you get personal, and treat them like something you just stepped on, they will want to teach you to respect them, the hard way.

This is not going away anytime soon in my view, and will escalate, until you make some sort of peace with them, or move. Find out who the leader is, and apologise to him for being disrespectful. Carefully wait for the right moment to do this. Put your pride on the shelf. You could even bring them some sort of peace offering, like a cake or something to apologise. This will take guts, But it will work, and if not, it will at least take the 'sting' out of them. Then if your quiet, they may move on to someone else. You probably baulk at these ideas, but you do not have many options left now.

This is the biggest pile of crap I have ever read.

OP these men turned up on your doorstep and tried to intimidate you. The best thing you can do is go the Guards and explain that they have trespassed on your property and engaged in threatening behaviour towards you. Don't be scared into submission, these sort of people thrive on the fact that they frighten you. Stand your ground. Go down the official route and lodge complaints that way.

And whatever you do, do not bake a cake and go over there looking for the "leader" to beg for forgiveness. This isn't Compton ghetto ffs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

Didn't say that Irishbird, I said telling these guys to F*** off is like a red rag to a bull. Being disrespectful to men is the fashion now I suppose.

Yes and a big group of men going around to intimidate a woman on her own is all in style this season.

By the way OP I meant to say that you should install security cameras on your house, just in case they vandalise your property or anything like that.

Being disrespectful to men is the fashion now I suppose.

Are you insane? THEY were disrespectful to her. They came to her home and threatened her. And you think she's in the wrong? What planet are you living on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

humanji wrote: »
    Are you insane? THEY were disrespectful to her. They came to her home and threatened her. And you think she's in the wrong? What planet are you living on?

I think it's less of a case of what planet he's living on and more of a case of how old he is!

OP, I'd tend to keep pressure on the gaurds about this, especially if they're insistent on antagonising you. CCTV is a great idea and not that expensive. I know some people who keep a little canister of pepper spray close them too. Sorry to hear about your position, I hope it gets better soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Women don't automatically owe respect towards men because of their gender. These people act like as**holes and deserve to be treated as such.

OP the first advise I would offer to you is to consider moving if it's an option. I understand that its unfair but it really isn't worth feeling unsafe in your own home.

Other than that talk with the police, generally if people like this see that you won't be intimidated they will move unto an easier target. Ignoring them won't resolve anything and will just indicate that you are open for more harassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

OP , in your first post you mention an ASBO order against these people.

Just be aware that they don't exist in Republic of Ireland - legislation was introduced but the judiciary have refused to issue a single order , you have nil chance of securing an ASBO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

humanji wrote: »
    An apology will enable them and will have them continually walking all over her and making her life a misery. You're not the only one to live in rough areas. These guys aren't going to hurt her. They just want her to think that. It's pack mentality.

edit: oh and OP, are there other people in the estate you can talk to? If there's a big enough group of you complaining, then there would be a greater likelyhood of something being done.

Unless you've the ability to see into the future I don't think you should be telling her this. You've no idea what this guys are capable of, at the very least she should know if she goes down the road of an official complaint then things can escalate drastically from there and they could easily be capable of some very nasty things and making her life 100 times worse then it is now.

Ask your teenagers about this. It will affect them and you might be interested by their input.

Keep in touch with the gardai. Try your best to have a good relationship with them. You don't want to seem like the moaner who calls them round every time her neighbours look at her sideways. You want to come across as a genuinely frightened woman who is being harassed by scumbags. Calling them degenerates or getting really worked up to the gardai wont do you any favours. If they want to take a statement or talk to you in your house, remember to always offer tea, food, etc, be friendly, sound as reasonable as you can and try to put on a demeanour of calm but worried/hacked off, and stay away from aggressive or up yourself. Having the gardai on your side will not only be helpful, but also comforting. If possible keep a journal or evidence of any occurrences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Danniboo

OP, I'd be curious to know what was the initial incident that made you call the guards and are you sure they're on drugs? You might think this is irrelevant but i'd like to know before I offer you any advice what exactly you're dealing with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

What a very, very strange comment.
    I really hope it works out for you, at least you know what you are doing.
    I tried and failed :confused:

Well, doesn't that just tell you everything?

Yes OP I guess you could ignore these people's behaviour, suffer in silence, be totally miserable and be subjected to all sorts because they think they can get away with it. Or you could take the correct path and get it sorted out. In addition to the Guards route, I would be they don't own their house and have a landlord somewhere who could evict them (I bet they are trashing the house).

I totally agree that standing up to them is the way to go. These people are bullies and once you get them on their own or stand up to them, they don't like the idea of confrontation so much. I once had trouble with gypsies, stood up to them (I can be quite scary if provoked) and they left me alone (think they thought I was a nutter). Ditto some stalker I had. He didn't trouble me any more once I stood up to him.

Distorted wrote: »
    What a very, very strange comment.

Well, doesn't that just tell you everything?

Yes OP I guess you could ignore these people's behaviour, suffer in silence, be totally miserable and be subjected to all sorts because they think they can get away with it. Or you could take the correct path and get it sorted out. In addition to the Guards route, I would be they don't own their house and have a landlord somewhere who could evict them (I bet they are trashing the house).

I totally agree that standing up to them is the way to go. These people are bullies and once you get them on their own or stand up to them, they don't like the idea of confrontation so much. I once had trouble with gypsies, stood up to them (I can be quite scary if provoked) and they left me alone (think they thought I was a nutter). Ditto some stalker I had. He didn't trouble me any more once I stood up to him.

You cannot be serious. Distorted, i'm guessing your scenario is an isolated incident, they don't like confrontation? They thrive on it. Unfortunately it's a more likely situation that they will retaliate. That's terrible advice to give anyone. You were lucky Distorted that's the difference, too many people are not in these situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

Danniboo wrote: »
    You cannot be serious. Distorted, i'm guessing your scenario is an isolated incident, they don't like confrontation? They thrive on it. Unfortunately it's a more likely situation that they will retaliate. That's terrible advice to give anyone. You were lucky Distorted that's the difference, too many people are not in these situations.

No, I think if the OP stands up to them they will realise after initial bluster that confrontation is not as good fun as when someone is scared of them and backs down. Particularly if she can get them on their own, rather than in a group. Or search out a particular weakness.

No, the gypsies were my neighbours in a property I was renovating. Big extended family of them coming and going. Treat people the way you wish to be treated yourself. Likewise, stalker guy was getting increasingly violent and deliberately walked into me when he had followed me one day. I simply whacked him across the face with what I was carrying. He was about 5 feet 10 and big built, I am tiny but I was very, very enraged. He was really taken aback, blustered a bit and then stomped off. Never bothered me again. Not that I'm advocating violence OP, simply following it up with the guards and seeking out the landlord and supportive neighbours.

Shame on all the people who think humouring these people is the way forward. You'll end up living in a degenerate country run by these types if you are all too scared to stand up to them. They will only get worse if you don't.

Danniboo wrote: »
    OP, I'd be curious to know what was the initial incident that made you call the guards and are you sure they're on drugs? You might think this is irrelevant but i'd like to know before I offer you any advice what exactly you're dealing with?

I hope you'll understand that I don't want to get into the details of the incidents in case I'd risk identifying myself Danniboo, but lets just say it's hallmark antisocial behaviour that makes clear they have no respect for themselves never mind anyone else.

Yes they are certainly on drugs, they sell them also (surprise surprise) and when they turned up at my door they threatened to kill every living thing in the house, right down to the cats. That's what I'm dealing with. Scum. Pure and simple. And no, unfortunately, moving is not an option.

Oh and Eddison, you gave advice from your own point of view which I asked you to do so no hard feelings, but the only way I'd bake them bastards a cake was if I laced it with strychnine!

I would thread carefully OP. It's very easy for people to say that they won't do anything to harm you, and whilst yes unlikely ,it is still not totally beyond the realms of possibility considering the type of people they are.
    They have threatened every living thing in your house, and aside from the cats that is also a threat on your child.
    Now I don't for a second believe that they would actually kill you or your child, but they could make life very unpleasant for the two of you, and begin to threaten your child on the street.
    It is highly likely that your house and property would become a target for vandalism.
    My home has had our windows smashed over 20 times, fireworks put in the door, mothers car smashed up, along with eggs aswell being thrown regularly, bikes stolen, coal stolen [we can't leave ANYTHING outside], and broken into and robbed whilst we were asleep in our beds. The guards said that it was probably for the best that we hadn't woken and confronted them.
    We can't put up any Christmas lights at the windows at christmas because it catches their eye and they find it even more fun to smash that window then.
    I am afraid to sit near any of the windows in my home, as I just missed shattered glass in the face, when I looked out at them once before.

There was never any altercation between any of my family and these scumbags to start all this off.We were country people who moved into town to a ****ty area. My father died years ago, so we were always an easy target with just a mother and her young kids. They never go near the neighbors who have men that will batter them, or the neighbor who boxed the head of one of them before.

My mother started to confront them, like going out screaming at them if they had just smashed a window. Most will run away laughing, but about 4 will just stand there laughing and sticking up their fingers saying "go on then, ring the fckin guards!" Over some time, we got to learn who they were and what families they were from. We would give their names, our neighbors would agree as witnesses and STILL the guards can do nothing.
    They went to their houses once questioning them, and that very evening mum had 8 massive skanky knacker women on our doorstep screaming at her for "accusin our sons". My mum would be quite fearless like you and screamed at them to get the fcuk off her property, she was ringing the guards etc., that was the night her car got smashed up..........

The guards are sympathetic, they even tell us that they know the culprits, that they cause trouble all over the town, but that there is nothing they can do unless they catch them in the act, which is of course impossible as they are hardly going to smash a window infront of a guard. It is one word against the other.
    It is so disheartening and infuriating.:mad:

My mum is not afraid of them. She rings the guards whenever they start throwing stones. Our neighbors tell us that they regularly ring the guards on them too.
    It doesn't seem to solve anything though, as this has been ongoing for many, many years.

The thing is our local scumbags are young teenagers, and bad and all as we have it, none of us have ever been physically threatened by any of them, and they don't roar abuse in the street or anything like that.
    I dread to think what they will be like in their 30's like the men you are dealing with!

Sometimes dealing with it directly can help. My mum went up to the local settled traveller's house and complained to their father that they were throwing eggs at our houses[his son's didn't throw stones]. He belted them around the head right infront of her, made them apologize, and the next evening they came back down again alone with a more formal apology!
    We didn't have trouble with them again, and are even on fairly friendly "hello in the street" type of terms.
    It is actually the non travelling families parent's who are the biggest scumbags. When my mum told them about their sons, they just took their son's side and smashed her car up....

I believe that society does need to stand up to these type of people, but from my experience they are not afraid of the guards or lone women and live a law of their own. It is all very well and good to be brave, but some are more dangerous than others, and when you have your child's and your own family's safety and happiness of everyday life to think about, it is easier said than done to be brave.

As I said, some are more dangerous than others. Some are all hard man talk, but there are others like the thugs who set fire to the car with the little kids in it, there are some who petrol bomb or set alight houses with people inside them, there are some who physically beat up people.
    I don't know what type you are dealing with, so that is why I said to thread carefully and think of your future. You are the one who will still have to live beside them at the end of the day.

If you do decide to talk to one of them directly then I would recommend the following.
    As cheesy and stupid as it sounds, there usually is a "leader" who the others either fear or respect. This could even be someone who is not actually involved in any criminality but could be a father, mother, grandparent, uncle, cousin etc., someone who the rest will listen to even if they don't particularly want to. It could also be a member of the group themselves.
    If you speak to any of the above, do not approach in stereotypically "distraught woman" type of way, do not approach in an apologetic fearful type of way, and do not approach in an aggravated "ringing the guards" type of way either.
    Speak in a neutral, very direct, no bull**** type of way. Say that you know you have had your differences in the past, but that at this stage it has gotten ridiculous and you want a stop put to the friction. Say that you don't want to be ringing the guards on people, but that you are left with little choice when you are being threatened by a group of grown men on your doorstep.
    Emphasize the fact that you are both neighbors and that as you are living so close, it would be in all your interest's if you agreed to let the past be forgotten and for ye to shake on it and just move on.
    Basically let them think that if they don't bother you, you won't bother them.

This might work, or they might just laugh in your face and tell you to fcuk off. Either way, I don't think it would necessary make the situation worse.
    Whatever way it works out, don't keep telling them that you have reported them for their illegal activities or whatever, as this only infuriates them.

If their threats to you continue or escalate, then yes I think you should definitely make formal complaints about them, but I would think that this should be if all other attempts at putting an end to it have failed, such as speaking to them directly, or ignoring them for a little while to see if they back off. For the time being maybe a formal warning might work, and after that have the talk with one of them about moving on from the arguing.
    Best wishes OP.

Be Careful wrote: »
    I would thread carefully OP. It's very easy for people to say that they won't do anything to harm you, and whilst yes unlikely ,it is still not totally beyond the realms of possibility considering the type of people they are.
    They have threatened every living thing in your house, and aside from the cats that is also a threat on your child.
    Now I don't for a second believe that they would actually kill you or your child, but they could make life very unpleasant for the two of you, and begin to threaten your child on the street.
    It is highly likely that your house and property would become a target for vandalism.
    My home has had our windows smashed over 20 times, fireworks put in the door, mothers car smashed up, along with eggs aswell being thrown regularly, bikes stolen, coal stolen [we can't leave ANYTHING outside], and broken into and robbed whilst we were asleep in our beds. The guards said that it was probably for the best that we hadn't woken and confronted them.
    We can't put up any Christmas lights at the windows at christmas because it catches their eye and they find it even more fun to smash that window then.
    I am afraid to sit near any of the windows in my home, as I just missed shattered glass in the face, when I looked out at them once before.

There was never any altercation between any of my family and these scumbags to start all this off.We were country people who moved into town to a ****ty area. My father died years ago, so we were always an easy target with just a mother and her young kids. They never go near the neighbors who have men that will batter them, or the neighbor who boxed the head of one of them before.

My mother started to confront them, like going out screaming at them if they had just smashed a window. Most will run away laughing, but about 4 will just stand there laughing and sticking up their fingers saying "go on then, ring the fckin guards!" Over some time, we got to learn who they were and what families they were from. We would give their names, our neighbors would agree as witnesses and STILL the guards can do nothing.
    They went to their houses once questioning them, and that very evening mum had 8 massive skanky knacker women on our doorstep screaming at her for "accusin our sons". My mum would be quite fearless like you and screamed at them to get the fcuk off her property, she was ringing the guards etc., that was the night her car got smashed up..........

The guards are sympathetic, they even tell us that they know the culprits, that they cause trouble all over the town, but that there is nothing they can do unless they catch them in the act, which is of course impossible as they are hardly going to smash a window infront of a guard. It is one word against the other.
    It is so disheartening and infuriating.:mad:

My mum is not afraid of them. She rings the guards whenever they start throwing stones. Our neighbors tell us that they regularly ring the guards on them too.
    It doesn't seem to solve anything though, as this has been ongoing for many, many years.

The thing is our local scumbags are young teenagers, and bad and all as we have it, none of us have ever been physically threatened by any of them, and they don't roar abuse in the street or anything like that.
    I dread to think what they will be like in their 30's like the men you are dealing with!

Sometimes dealing with it directly can help. My mum went up to the local settled traveller's house and complained to their father that they were throwing eggs at our houses[his son's didn't throw stones]. He belted them around the head right infront of her, made them apologize, and the next evening they came back down again alone with a more formal apology!
    We didn't have trouble with them again, and are even on fairly friendly "hello in the street" type of terms.
    It is actually the non travelling families parent's who are the biggest scumbags. When my mum told them about their sons, they just took their son's side and smashed her car up....

I believe that society does need to stand up to these type of people, but from my experience they are not afraid of the guards or lone women and live a law of their own. It is all very well and good to be brave, but some are more dangerous than others, and when you have your child's and your own family's safety and happiness of everyday life to think about, it is easier said than done to be brave.

As I said, some are more dangerous than others. Some are all hard man talk, but there are others like the thugs who set fire to the car with the little kids in it, there are some who petrol bomb or set alight houses with people inside them, there are some who physically beat up people.
    I don't know what type you are dealing with, so that is why I said to thread carefully and think of your future. You are the one who will still have to live beside them at the end of the day.

If you do decide to talk to one of them directly then I would recommend the following.
    As cheesy and stupid as it sounds, there usually is a "leader" who the others either fear or respect. This could even be someone who is not actually involved in any criminality but could be a father, mother, grandparent, uncle, cousin etc., someone who the rest will listen to even if they don't particularly want to. It could also be a member of the group themselves.
    If you speak to any of the above, do not approach in stereotypically "distraught woman" type of way, do not approach in an apologetic fearful type of way, and do not approach in an aggravated "ringing the guards" type of way either.
    Speak in a neutral, very direct, no bull**** type of way. Say that you know you have had your differences in the past, but that at this stage it has gotten ridiculous and you want a stop put to the friction. Say that you don't want to be ringing the guards on people, but that you are left with little choice when you are being threatened by a group of grown men on your doorstep.
    Emphasize the fact that you are both neighbors and that as you are living so close, it would be in all your interest's if you agreed to let the past be forgotten and for ye to shake on it and just move on.
    Basically let them think that if they don't bother you, you won't bother them.

This might work, or they might just laugh in your face and tell you to fcuk off. Either way, I don't think it would necessary make the situation worse.
    Whatever way it works out, don't keep telling them that you have reported them for their illegal activities or whatever, as this only infuriates them.

If their threats to you continue or escalate, then yes I think you should definitely make formal complaints about them, but I would think that this should be if all other attempts at putting an end to it have failed, such as speaking to them directly, or ignoring them for a little while to see if they back off. For the time being maybe a formal warning might work, and after that have the talk with one of them about moving on from the arguing.
    Best wishes OP.

Jeez girl get a security camera, if they're stupid enough to do it so often you won't be long about catching them. The guards can't turn a blind eye to this. A lot of the time the guards don't want to get involved when there's scum like this causing trouble.

Hi Danniboo,
    We have had a security camera. [The small home ones, not the large commercial cctv ones].My mum made the mistake of actually telling them, "I've got a camera so stay away".
    I guess they probably would have seen it anyways.
    They just started throwing rocks from a side angle further down the road where the camera did not reach. Now I don't know if they knew the camera couldn't reach them there, but they took precautions and guessed right, by just throwing further from the side, and having hats with their hoods up, and tracksuits zipped up to their noses covering their faces. They do this around town aswell, and seem confident that they will not be identified on any camera.
    We found our camera lens cracked and loosened from the wall, so they must have managed to hit that too. Tbh, the quality of the camera was pretty crap. It was very grainy and blurry, and probably wouldn't have picked them up anyways.
    I agree we do need a new camera, a really good probably expensive one. The only thing is that it would have to be hidden somehow, and I just don't know where on the front of my house I could have one that they wouldn't spot and try to destroy.
    Ideally I would like 2 hidden cameras at the front and 1 hidden camera at the back, and a really good home alarm system. I'm just a student at the minute,and my mum hasn't great health and only works tiny hours so all our money goes towards rent, esb, food, electricity etc.
    It would be money well spent though, if it caused us to have to stop forking out for new windows I guess!
    I think the thing that keeps putting us off though from getting a new one, is that the first one didn't help at all, and it just seems that they cover themselves so as not to be identified whenever there is a camera somewhere.
    There is an old really massive house with big driveway up the road nearby us that has at least 4 cameras, and they still smash that up regularly too.
    It is something that we probably will buy again though, and just don't tell them about it this time!