Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Patrick's Day

• 08-03-2011 10:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭

Are you a fan?

Anyone got special plans for the day other than getting gee-eyed drunk and losing your bollix on the nags at Cheltenham :D

Personally I love it, can't beat a load of lads in the pub having the 'craic'

Do you like St Patrick's Day 97 votes

Yes, I'll be decked out in Green and getting pissed
    0%
    No, I'll be avoiding people and pubs like the plague
    100%
    azezilDempseyBlistermanjimmycrackcormthe_barfly1Wompa1kelle[Deleted User]mjquinnoKorvanicaKierabikoAzureusParsleyWopTittyPopCacot1mmBigDuffmaninodegreenasgrass 97 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

So thats what a day off is like! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I am looking forward to working for it. I wont be found anywhere near a pub on St Patricks Day. There is always far too many heroes that cannot handle their drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

I enjoy it outside of Dublin.

Too many damn tourists... Yes, i'm looking at you Spain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Was never really ar*ed with it before, but this year is going to be different. I'm going to NY! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Don't worry lads, I'll drink yee all proud!

(may end up on the news.............hmm.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I f*ckin' hate paddys day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I'm off drink for lent...

... the one rule we always had when I was younger was that paddy's day was an exception for lent stuff.

So I shall be painting the town red green and getting buckled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I hate getting messy drunk these days. I prefer to enjoy the night at the time rather than have it relayed by others the next day as I laugh/cringe/cry at the group's post-mortem dissection of the preceding evening's festivities.

Paddy's Day is the exception, and I take great pleasure in knacker drinking at 11am, going on a 7-mile pub crawl and getting refused from half the establishments by early-to-mid afternoon before waking up with my head in a pitcher in some pub in the city centre with no recollection of how I got there, and generally doing my civic duty to act the bollox on our nation's annual day of shame.

This year, however, I'll be out clubbing on Paddy's Eve so I'm going to be very tender and asocial come the day. Avoiding people and pubs in the standard procedure in such circumstances and I'm not sure if it'll be any different on this occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Its my nephew/godchilds birthday so i love it. Go to his party and fill up on junk then off to the pub for a few :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

jeez, don't slate me for being a killjoy, but I had the best Paddy's last year in San Francisco - most folks made an effort to join in the celebrations without the drunken mayhem that inevitablty happens back homeI'll nip out for some of the local parades round Nth Dublin and sup a few sherberts at home later that evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Ill be working to make money and buy nice things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Riamfada wrote: »
    Ill be working to make money and buy nice things.

Fleshlight? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Eever

I'll be decked out in green, heading over to my mates house at midday for our traditional full Irish breakfast and then we head over to our favourite beer garden which is a bit out from town so not empty but not manic like most places on Paddys day where we'll chill out for the afternoon with a few drinks. Usually go for a wander into town later but I don't like that part so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

chin_grin wrote: »
    Was never really ar*ed with it before, but this year is going to be different. I'm going to NY! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Don't worry lads, I'll drink yee all proud!

(may end up on the news.............hmm.)

enjoy it, i was there for it a few years ago. went to see john duddy fighting some fella in madison square garden the night before. the other lad was nicknamed showtime. did a few somersaults in the ring after the walk in. duddy knocked him out in about 13 seconds.
    the parade is hijacked by the 'brits out' brigade though. full of shams that haven't been back in ireland for years.
    great few nights though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

i'll be playing druids glen in the morning, might wear a green jumper to mark the occasion. prob won't bother going drinking during the day i'm getting too old and impatient for that!! lol,

i'll head for a few that night but somewhere off the beaten track. i can't think of nothing worse than a pub full of 18-25 year olds downing pints and falling all over the place!!
    (manybe i'm jealous)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

Not sure what I'll do yet, might go out the night before or actually leave the drinking until the day itself this year and be socailable for once. :pac:

Might head to the city for the day, I'll see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Paddy's Day/Arthur's Day/Friday... Irish people will turn anything into a drinking day.

Not that that's necessarily a bad thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

My favourite day of the year, im working it this year but i don’t mind, im always in good form that day, il have a few pints later that night though, i know people moan about the Parade in Dublin but i love it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

kfallon wrote: »
    Are you a fan?

Anyone got special plans for the day other than getting gee-eyed drunk and losing your bollix on the nags at Cheltenham :D

Personally I love it, can't beat a load of lads in the pub having the 'craic'

I'll have a few, wouldn't be into getting rat-arsed. But Cheltenham is what it's about for me and the Daddy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Ill be in tenerife for it drinking with a load of english and scots! Ive always liked Paddys day, whether what goes on in pubs in dublin etc is right or wrong, at the end of the day this tiny little country is celebrated all over the world from japan to argentina...no other country that i know of has a day celebrated worldwide like it-something to be proud of.

Abi wrote: »
    I'll have a few, wouldn't be into getting rat-arsed. But Cheltenham is what it's about for me and the Daddy :)

That's the spirit....now give me a tip :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I love Paddy's Day. Roll out of the bed, shower and shower can, dressed, dirty fry-up, pub and bookies. :D

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I love Paddy's Day. Roll out of the bed, shower and shower can, dressed, dirty fry-up, pub and bookies. :D

Jesus wept, you aswell, will someone give me a tip ffs :D

Dont eat yellow snow?

Kiera wrote: »
    Dont eat yellow snow?

I knew there would be one smartarse :pac:
    No.....a tip for the nags next week!

Btw I think I'll die a bit inside if the 'No' voters are in the majority in the poll

I knew there would be one smartarse :pac:
    No.....a tip for the nags next week!

Btw I think I'll die a bit inside if the 'No' voters are in the majority in the poll

You'll be getting your tips live from the racecourse next week so relax, sparky!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Im going to be working on Saint Patricks day.

I do have the option of booking it off but I regard any one day public holiday which doesnt fall on a Monday or a Friday as a complete waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Not a fan of Paddy's day. It's like Amateur's day in all the pubs. Wouldn't see half of the fuckers in there normally. Nearly as bad as New Year's Eve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

In a bid to end all nationalistic pride the IMF/EU have cancelled the St. Patrick's Day parade in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭tishiewishie

Was out in Cork for it last year and had a great time, went out about 7 though and twas late so this year heading back to Cork and heading out about 3, woohoo!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭this is arse

don't play chicken with a double decker bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I'll be working, no point in a teetotaller going to a pub anyway watching people drink themselves stupid.

"Why aren't you drinking?!?!"
    "Ah go on have one"
    "What'll ya have?"

Go ta fuck! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I'll be remembering Kincsem, born 17/3/1874, died 17/3/1887.

Cant wait for it paddy's day is always great craic in town.

Will be in Galway from early in the day get the cheltenham bets on and then get a good spot in the pub for the racing and enjoy a days and nights drinking! A rake of pints will be had!!!

Watching racing and drinking one of lives great pleasures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I might check out the parade. Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh is the grand Marshall this year in Toronto.

I also might go out for one or two beers afterwards; that'd be it I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭snugglebear

I mite go watch the parade but i won't be going too mad, the thought of the sore head the next day puts me off, but it's always good fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Kiera wrote: »
    Dont eat yellow snow?

Never buy tights for a maremaid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I love Paddy's Day! Now my children are older, we go out to the parade and they enjoy it - we have dinner in the hotel then nip into the local for an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Don't like it. Too many fools in town*

*The only town that matters.

That's the spirit....now give me a tip :p

ha! :D I shall be studying form and hopping in and out of the racing forum for a while before hand ;)

Now... where is my ole buddy X-pyro :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I've the first Paddys Day of in YEARS so Ill defo be going into town :)
    Usually I end up playing catch up @ bout 7 / getting phone calls from everybody having the craic all day and feeling jealous so cant wait.

Wake up, fry up, head into town for the parade, cans and a ceili, then back to the locals just in time to avoid town getting messy and continue it all there. WIN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭George83

I'm gonna be working.

ha! :D I shall be studying form and hopping in and out of the racing forum for a while before hand ;)

Now... where is my ole buddy X-pyro :pac:

You won't get much in the racing forum :pac:

Anyway the Thursday is always the worst day, quality wise!!!

You won't get much in the racing forum :pac:

Anyway the Thursday is always the worst day, quality wise!!!

Yeah yeah... I seen ya snooping over there :D

Ah I love the buzz of it all. My Dad always loses his fúcking shirt, which is hilarious to watch =D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Like a big silly eejit, I'll be wearing a bit of green down the local, with the missus and a few mates. But it'll be very subdued compared to the madness of yesteryear :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I'll be going into town for Paddy's Day for perhaps the first time since the Millennium. It's 10 years anyway since I last bothered.

Yeah yeah... I seen ya snooping over there :D

Ah I love the buzz of it all. My Dad always loses his fúcking shirt, which is hilarious to watch =D

I know there's not much in it cos I post there sometimes and I haven't a fooking clue :pac:

It's amazing how much we look forward to it even tho we know we're gonna lose. I won't be able to sleep next Monday night! :D

Think I'll dust off me Ireland tracksuit top for St Patrick's Day tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I'll be in Toronto. I've no idea what Paddys day is like over there but they do have a parade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I love it...it's my birthday that day too!
    Think I'll be heading to a gig that night.....won't be trad irish music but there will be alcohol and guitars so ya can't go wrong.
    Wish it was on Friday though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Paddy's day really brings out the third division drinkers, it's nearly as bad as Xmas/New years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Patricks Day is one time of the year I detest.

After the parades our national flags can bee seen trampled into the ground along routes across towns and cities covered in muck.

People would have more interest in picking up a 5c coin than a discarded tricolour.

You wouldn't see this in the UK or any other country. The same goes on at Football matches.

All cheap tacky plastic versions of the Irish Flag should be banned.