Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rats/mice

• 07-03-2011 10:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

Can't find the appropriate place to put this so mods please move to the relevant forum...!

Pretty sure I have mice / rats in my house. There's a decent size hole in the wall, I just heard pretty loud scratching noises coming from inside the walls in the kitchen. And I happen to live in the oldest part of the city.

Anyone know what the landlord should do about it? Should I move out till he sorts it?

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Get a big cat.

Or give Charlie Sheen a call and invite him round, he has tiger blood - should do the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

MT3 wrote: »
    I happen to live in the oldest part of the city.

!

King's Island ? Buy rob a cat OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

That would be me.

I fell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Could be a bird either.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

put one of those noise emitting things they hate in every socket, in fact buy extension cords and put them everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Buy some bait, traps or cat.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Once the mice are gone, introduce a crocodile to deal with the cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

then a t rex to deal with the croc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 MT3

Thanks for the advice so far.

Although the tiger sounds great, I think I'll go with something less drastic. Maybe the croc.

I duno about the traps / screeching plug in things - won't that just leave me with a pile of dead rats in the wall, smelling the place out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

And then an elephant to deal with the crocodile.

And then a mouse to deal with the elephant.

Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

I don't see how the fact that you have a glory-hole is an important detail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

" The City " ? Ye well out of my range then.

Get onto ye local council. They should have a Pest Control Dept.

Short answer? Get a professional in. Check ye smoke alarms while ye wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

then a t rex to deal with the croc

That would certainly deal with the most obvious problem

Xivilai wrote: »
    I don't see how the fact that you have a glory-hole is an important detail

It's just a game I play. Slow and subtle release of personal information, in random places. I then rejoice if someone picks up on it.

Sooo.... The rats are still scratching away. Noone on AH ever had to deal with this before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭blockedPaT

Gas them out of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Fill the hole in the wall with broken glass ,it will rip them to bits .

Ditch wrote: »
    " The City " ? Ye well out of my range then.

Get onto ye local council. They should have a Pest Control Dept.

Short answer? Get a professional in. Check ye smoke alarms while ye wait.

My responsbility? Or the landlord? I don't want to end up liable for some nonesense that could ensue from this.
    Perhaps slightly paranoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Get traps not poison ****ers die in walls etc.They will carry the blocks of poison away to their nest.
    If you are going the poison route add cement to the poison for a quicker death,grounded up poison of course to add the cement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭stephenmarr

plugs dont work they only annoy the rodents doesnt kill them and they can be expensive.
    get yourself a handful of traps and put a small amount of peanut butter on them
    place them under bath, around hot press, under sink and in your attic.
    should sort out the problem.
    also fill in any holes you find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Climb inside the wall in full gladiator attire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Storm is a good posion for dealing with rat bastards.

And mice bastards too.

Rat bastards.

MT3 wrote: »
    My responsbility? Or the landlord? I don't want to end up liable for some nonesense that could ensue from this.
    Perhaps slightly paranoid.

Speak to ye local council. I'm taking it ye live in Dublin? That's beyond my experience. But, different councils have differing rules. But, it's a health issue. Landlords tend not to give a toss about tenants health.

Fact that the/ir property stands to burn down? They'll expect insurance to cover them for that. Get it on the record that there are rats active. Tell him it's on the record.

Traps, bait, have a go heroism? Assuming ye not a professionally qualified Electrician? What would ye landlord expect ye to do if all the electrics blew? Buy yeself a screw driver and have at it?

Ditch wrote: »
    Traps, bait, have a go heroism? Assuming ye not a professionally qualified Electrician? What would ye landlord expect ye to do if all the electrics blew? Buy yeself a screw driver and have at it?

Fair point!

In Cork actually. Thanks for the heads up, will call the council tomorrow and hope they actually put it on record when they say they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Get a live rat / mouse trap

You can then off load them at your nearest Chinese restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭D.R Adams

Have you ever thought it might be the guy/gal on the other side of the gloryhole scratching to get out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭chri

Get a ferret it's like Ginny pig or even some of the ferrets used bedding the smell of it will drive any rats or mice out
    Mind you smell it

THIS WORKS 100%

D.R Adams wrote: »
    Have you ever thought it might be the guy/gal on the other side of the gloryhole scratching to get out?

I suppose we never thought it through when we created the gloryhole in the kitchen wall, behind the microwave, cupboard and other appliances.

I've been waiting for the "glory" from the hole ever since. He must still be in there.

All is well so, we can close the thread as the problem is solved!

chri wrote: »
    Get a ferret it's like Ginny pig or even some of the ferrets used bedding the smell of it will drive any rats or mice out
    Mind you smell it

THIS WORKS 100%

I'd rather go the cat/tiger - crocodile - elephant - trex - mouse route. But your advice is appreciated, thanks.

chri wrote: »
    Mind you smell it

THIS WORKS 100%

:) Sorry, Chri, but I just can't allow That to go unchallenged.

Only, I've personally had to eradicate rats from directly beneath a garden shed, in which ferrets lived on the wooden floor.

We're talking genuine, wild Rattus norvegicus, actively choosing to nest and attempt to rear young within just a half inch board of an active cluster of ferrets.

I Was There. I don't talk from Hear Say ..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Sub-let your flat to the rodents and spend the proceeds on the Michael Jackson single "Ben"....then create a montage of yourself becoming king of the rats...then sell that video for billions......always remembering my 28%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

plugs dont work they only annoy the rodents doesnt kill them and they can be expensive.
    get yourself a handful of traps and put a small amount of peanut butter on them
    place them under bath, around hot press, under sink and in your attic.
    should sort out the problem.
    also fill in any holes you find.

Never, ever,ever,ever,ever.ever going back into the toilet.... ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Get some semtex & blow the fucking house to kingdom come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭stephenmarr

I work for an Irish based professional pest control company.
    For the home owner traps are your best bet.

Poison can be a God send but if the rodents die inside your walls the smell will drive you out of the house (rats smell can last a few months, mice only a few weeks)

Also you will have bluebottles breeding on the carcass :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭clouds

It's the landlords responsibility I'd say.

Ring him and tell him to look up this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Get some semtex & blow the fucking house to kingdom come.

Always a good idea. Don't contact me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

clouds wrote: »
    It's the landlords responsibility I'd say.

Ring him and tell him to look up this thread.
    You can also get on to the Council, they are supposed to take this problem serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

Get one of these:

http://www.press1.de/wrapper.cgi/www.press1.de/files/1157120958kmgaf138.jpg

It's called the Supercat.
    When I had a mouse problem I got a pack of two for 8 euro in my local store. They're pre-baited and can be re-used. First night I used it I caught my mouse and it was 'easy' to dispose of.

Personally I hated having to do it, I nearly died when I saw it's little body I felt so cruel. But it was getting in to where I kept my pans and pots which was extremely unhygienic.

Poor little guy :(, still feel guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭clouds

You can also get on to the Council, they are supposed to take this problem serious.

I was just trying to nudge the landlord into tracking down t-rexes and crocs. He can probably claim back the VAT unlike OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Get a cat or some traps. The ultrasonic plugin things only keep rodents out. Once they're inside, it doesn't work.

I wouldn't worry too much about mice, but if you have a rat you may also have four adolescent turtles to contend with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I remember hearing pretty loud scratching noises from inside my walls too. Though for a while that it might be mice... Then I remembered that it's probably just the hostages trying to escape again.

Well guys, thanks for all the advice.

I did try call the council this morning, but the poor lads must have been just overwhelmed with all their work and after the 5th time calling with no response I decided to leave them to it.

Eventually got onto the landlord and was asked did I have any "evidence". Silly of me not to have thought of recording the scratching noise.

Anyway, rentokil are coming tomorrow which is awful for the poor creatures but I suppose Darwinism and all that.

Ewww I just heard them again there.

Again, thanks for the input - a lot of the random nonesense helped me to see the funny side to it!