Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toddler suffering from post traumatic stress

• 07-03-2011 8:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭montane

http://uk.travel.yahoo.com/p-promo-3360855

I think that case is just awful and reminds me of the case of the bike falling near a toddler in Smyths toystore.

In this most recent case, a toddler was put in the overhead compartment for a full 10 seconds while the flight attendant and father were playing with the child.

The mother is devastated, the father is suffering from shock, the child is suffering from anxiety now. There should be a claim for tens of thousands in damages from the airline. It's an absolute disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭nomh

Hahahaha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Shh - don't tell Michael O'Leary, he'll have us all in them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

cash often solves anxiety issues i find. virgin on the ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I must say the thought of putting a crying toddler into the overhead apartment has crossed my mind on many a flight I was on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

nomh wrote: »
    Hahahaha!

What's funny about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

"I stood up and there were people laughing and then I said 'Get my son out of there now'", adding, "I was devastated. I was absolutely devastated. I was crying. My husband was in shock. For days on end I was crying."

Crying for days on end? That wasn't real tears love, that was the dollar signs in your eyes scratching your eyeballs and causing them to leak fluid!! Stupid bitch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Yes, 10 seconds in an enclosed is space is likely to scar the poor child for many years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Kind of an overreaction tbh. The mother crying for days is probably what caused the post traumatic stress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I blame the parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

However, according to Virgin Blue, the flight attendant put the young child in the compartment because he was taking part in a peek-a-boo game with him and Ms Williamson's estranged husband.
    Ms Williamson told the paper: "My husband, Shayne, was standing one metre behind my son, Riley, when the air steward picked him up and placed him in the overhead compartment.
    "I stood up and there were people laughing and then I said 'Get my son out of there now'", adding, "I was devastated. I was absolutely devastated. I was crying. My husband was in shock. For days on end I was crying."
    Riley, who was locked in the overhead compartment in complete darkness for a reported ten seconds, is said to have been suffering from anxiety since the incident took place.

Right... So the flight attendant and the child's father were playing a game with the toddler and put him in an overhead cabin as a joke.

Apparently the mother said " "I was devastated. I was absolutely devastated. I was crying. My husband was in shock. For days on end I was crying." "

You'd swear the flight attendant kidnapped the toddler and attempted to throw him out of an emergency exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I haven't read the thread but I think the stock AH response of "They should all be locked up and raped in prison." should at least be given a fair hearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

yes that child and parents clearly deserve at least 130 billion trillion dollars in compensation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ah, I thought this was something new to be brought in with some airlines to stop whining babies. One can only hope!

"Please, place your baby in the overhead compartment or underneath the seat in front of you".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭nix84

I'd have locked her in the overhead compartment. No wonder the husband is now estranged. She's easily devastated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

Nevore wrote: »
    I haven't read the thread but I think the stock AH response of "They should all be locked up and raped in prison." should at least be given a fair hearing.

Indeed... I was going to say I hate that bleating wench so much I'd put her in the overhead luggage compartment of an aircraft undergoing explosive decompression testing......but that, that's much much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Crimbouser

A toddler could develop ptsd if put under stress for a prolonged time. But ten seconds!? Sure when you're young you fall out of trees, burn your fingers etc... I mean ten seconds of distress is bearable even when you're still in nappies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

a bit OTT in my opinion, and pretty certain that the parents reactions cause that PTSD.

Poor mother having to deal with the child now. He probably just sits in his old chair drinking whiskey, staring into nothingness, smoking 60 a day, can't fly economy anymore because one look at the cabin gives him terrible flashbacks. The airline should send him to support groups full of war veterans. The kid could have elevator issues for the rest of his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Wow 10 fúcking seconds, I pray they get nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭blockedPaT

Bet the flight attendant is regretting that now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

hondasam wrote: »
    I blame the parents

No, was definitely the steward that put the kid in there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ca-ching!
    Did someone scream comp?

Once this case is settled we'll never hear of this family again. Claiming PTSD to get more money

They've been offered two return flights and that's seem pretty fair and reasonable.
    Are they looking for more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭noxqs

If the human psyche was so fragile, we wouldn't have evolved to our current state. We would have been sitting in our caves 'devastated, in tears' and died of starvation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

blockedPaT wrote: »
    Bet the flight attendant is regretting that now

fcuk it....if I was the flight attendant I'd be regretting not stuffing the mother in the overhead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

That flight attendant should be given a promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭marxcoo

For gods sake.. 10 seconds in an overhead locker, he was probably having a great laugh until his anally retentive parents ruined it for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭blockedPaT

I bet the toddler wasn't crying for days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

Ca-ching!

Did someone scream comp?

Are they looking for more?

Too damn right. This sort of thing seriously boils my piss. I happen to suffer chronic PTSD. It wasn't any fun getting it, I can tell ye. I don't like having it either.

Grab artists like this snivelling bitch ~ and her, doubtless, 'No Win, No Fee' solicitor ~ are like the shell suited 'Bad Back' merchants ye see virtually crawling into Welfare. Then swaggering down the road with their cans of lager an hour later.

Quite simply? The Lowest Denominator :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I think if that was me and it was one of my kids i would look for something in the region of 230 trillion euros....give or take a few hundred billion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

10 seconds....fast flight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Why was she working for an airline company with her hide and go seek skills.

Damn pro there waiting to be snapped up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

The mother should fvck off and die

Hate arseholes like her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

ah I don't know. I have a toddler who spends his day trying to squeeze into hiding places, under beds,in presses, in the laundry, even the tumble dryer-its a game to him. I can't see how 10 secs would make any impact, when they are so young, they forgot and move on to the next serious issue like picking their nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I don't think the story is strong enough for one of those true movies to be made.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Seriously, what weight was the child, don't they have such limits on the amount of stuff you can carry onboard and place in the overhead locker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Ten seconds doesn't sound like very long... which means it was probably only two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

cassid wrote: »
    ah I don't know. I have a toddler who spends his day trying to squeeze into hiding places, under beds,in presses, in the laundry, even the tumble dryer-its a game to him. I can't see how 10 secs would make any impact, when they are so young, they forgot and move on to the next serious issue like picking their nose.

Your young lad's going to make you a fortune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

That mothers hysteria would give anyone ptsd:eek:
    The kids should sue her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

This thread has gladdened my heart and has restored all faith I may have been losing in the greatness of people and all AHers in particular over the run up to the elections.

That flight attendant should be given a promotion.

No. He/She should keep their job. If they'd slapped the mother round the face with a quick admonition of, "Can you not see you're frightening the child?", then they would most certainly be due a promotion.
    blockedPaT wrote: »
    I bet the toddler wasn't crying for days

I'd say he was, when his mother's hysterics meant he couldn't have another go.

His father should be ashamed of himself. The only PTSD the child is likely to suffer is from his teammates on the u-5's football team for being such a sissy when he was 3.

Have to say, it's been a long time since I've viewed a thread in AH and both agreed with and laughed at every one of the first forty replies. Well done everyone and thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The mother seems like a cunt, and a money-grabbing one too, and it doesn't make sense that the kid would have PTSD when the "ordeal" lasted 10 seconds, but it was a bit idiotic of the air hostess to pull that stunt - closing the locker? Maybe the kid's forgotten about it, but it probably was scary for him at the time. Why didn't either of the "shocked" parents just dash over and take him out of the locker though instead of being rooted to the spot ffs?!

Yeah, it is indeed interesting how the husband is estranged - and the incident in question only three months ago... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Poor feckin kid will grow up to have no fun with a wench like that for a ma.

Crying for days? Maybe they should check her mental state instead and put the child into care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

My 17 month old tries to get in the washing machine and loves walking around with a blanket on his head he'd have great craic in an overhead:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

galwayrush wrote: »
    Seriously, what weight was the child, don't they have such limits on the amount of stuff you can carry onboard and place in the overhead locker?

Sorry madam, you're going to have to check that baby. He is a little on the chunky side. It have to go with the rest of the luggage below.

Dudess wrote: »
    The mother seems like a cunt, and a money-grabbing one too, and it doesn't make sense that the kid would have PTSD when the "ordeal" lasted 10 seconds, but it was a bit idiotic of the air hostess to pull that stunt - closing the locker? Maybe the kid's forgotten about it, but it probably was scary for him at the time. Why didn't either of the "shocked" parents just dash over and take him out of the locker though instead of being rooted to the spot ffs?!

Yeah, it is indeed interesting how the husband is estranged - and the incident in question only three months ago... :pac:

Couldn't be sure Dudess, but the impression I got was that the Dad, the Steward and the kid all thought it was a great game until the mother went berserk and then the Dad decided to take the over-reacting mother's side, rather than the steward's as he knew who he would have to deal with more often over the next twenty years.
    Also, if they were recently estranged, he may have been worrying that she might use it in a custody court to prove negligence. All supposition here, but I can't come up with any other rational explanation for a harmless game of hide and seek.

Hey, wouldn't it be great if the Airline issued a massive counter-lawsuit for the emotional damage caused to the other steward/ess on the flight when the toddler jumped out of his hiding place in the drinks trolley,when her back was turned, and went "Boo!". :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

She was probably just pissed off because her husband was using their kid as a flirting aid with a hot air stewardess. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

If I was the reporter I would have felt a strong urge to slap the woman. Maybe she should have been taking care of her own kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Was the kids name Rod or Todd? That sounds almost as traumatic as a ladybird attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

the dad is in shock because he just realised that he married a nutjob.