Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

building a block shed!!! might need some advice along the way!!

• 06-03-2011 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭

i have reciently decided to build a block shed at the end of my back yard ..jan 2011..step1 ..ripped up deck behind shed, took down wooden shed also i had a collection of timbers from past jobs i had to dump and other bits n bobs a few van loads later , got it cleared ..step2.. got a med size skip , started knocking down wall to the dogs run and concrete slab.. step3.. another skip to dump loose stones and any other bits around the yard... last skip to get all the rubble n rubbish out! ..step4 THE MINI DIGGER ARRIVES barly makes it tur side gate (had to take off blade extensions to get it in) digger was free borrowed from cousin , after he gave me a days worth of digging i was left on my own to use machine seemed like ther was no end to the soil and muck i dug up.. 5 loads in a med size pick up , maybe 10 loads in a 8x10?? trailor and im at the ""nearly ready for foundations stage"" digger gone thank god !! still need to tidy up trenches will do that by hand get too carried away with digger and its hard to position it to did trench accurate
    at this point im not 100% sure how to go about the foundations & building end of it tho im learning as i go via internet so along the way i may need advice
    TRYING TO PUT PICS UP HAVING PROBLEMS!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

:eek: you ripped up that Deck.. Jasus.... tell me that is a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭kitchens decks

the deck i ripped up behind wooden shed, it was fitted originaly at the back door of house but the dog chewed most of the handrails so i moved it to behind shed to add to dog run... seen as how the dog wrecked it , i thought he may as well keep it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

gsxr1 wrote: »
    :eek: you ripped up that Deck.. Jasus.... tell me that is a joke!

I see he deleted his post and also the pic of the back garden.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭eskimoparty

Not sure if have heard about this guy http://www.bricky.ie/html/index.html but I have shown the DVD to students (construction teacher) and it seems fairly good. I'm in no way linked to him but from what I remember I was well laid out easy to follow.

Videos also on Youtube I think!!

i deleted it because i want to put up before and during digging for new shed but i attach pic and u need to click on it to see it ??? i wanted the pic to be below the text in the post ,, do ye guys know how i can do this as i think ppl mite not bother to click to open pic ?????help????

Not sure if have heard about this guy http://www.bricky.ie/html/index.html but I have shown the DVD to students (construction teacher) and it seems fairly good. I'm in no way linked to him but from what I remember I was well laid out easy to follow.

Videos also on Youtube I think!!

i had planned to block myself as i did a small wall in yard before worked out fine , but i want to do this once and right so i will prob get an out of work bricky to lay blocks for me ,,, takin no chances!!!

ad58c1e5.jpg?t=1299497011
    2.jpg?t=1299497010
    4.jpg?t=1299497010
    7.jpg?t=1299497010
    12.jpg?t=1299497011
    202.jpg?t=1299497011
    231.jpg?t=1299497011
    PICTURES ALL TAKEN DURING DIGGING,

i got - borrowed this drawing from another post on here was wondering if this plan would be ok for a 23ft x 13ft shed , im using cavitys on the front (23ft) and 4inch block on sides and back (12ft) ???????????
    Capture.jpg?t=1299514559

What size and height is the shed,also what type of roof consctuction?

I hope this is all legal and legit and you dont get any neighbours complaining?

Also,you have to have at least 25 meters squared of private garden land between the shed/garage and the existing house,thats to the best of my knowladge anyway.

Stick some rebar into your foundations and slab,if you want a really propper and strong base.

Thats what I did.;)

paddy147 wrote: »
    What size and height is the shed,also what type of roof consctuction?

I hope this is all legal and legit and you dont get any neighbours complaining?

Also,you have to have at least 25 meters squared of private garden land between the shed/garage and the existing house,thats to the best of my knowladge anyway.

Stick some rebar into your foundations and slab,if you want a really propper and strong base.

Thats what I did.;)
    icon14.gif
    my lines marked out shed will be just under 23ft wide x 13ft lookin at having maybe 7 1/2 or 8ft floor to ceiling inside so whatever height it works outside not sure yet, lean to roof falling to back of shed, area between house and shed is 28ft x 25ft im just cleaning up trenches and i have been told to put rebar in so i will prob pick some up soon
    3 1/2 ft access tru side of the house is killing me , slows everything down:mad: barrowing all the way!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

A little idea i saw only recently. Have your roof design so its facing east west and and a flat on the south. Then you can incorporate a store of hot water and run it to the house through solar. Lay the pipe now if your thinking of this.

btw... Budgets on the build would be nice. Its looking good so far

foundations112.jpg?t=1300564450
    foundations16.jpg?t=1300565490
    foundations12.jpg?t=1300565783
    253.jpg?t=1300565782
    have trenches dug out and looks like im ready to pour foundations:)

Maybe its just the pics,and maybe its just me,but those foundation trenches look a tad on the shallow side to me.

You usually do your actual foundation work,pour concrete and get your foundations walls built to 4 inch flat course 1st,then you prep your shed floor/slab floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

The link below sets out the area rules for no planning required for sheds in clause 7
    http://www.environ.ie/en/Publications/DevelopmentandHousing/Planning/FileDownLoad,1586,en.pdf

It seems to me that 23 by 13 is 299 sq feet or 27.8 sq metres
    http://www.onlineconversion.com/area.htm

the 25 sq m rules for size, depending on the LA, will be measured from the outside of the finished walls so u need to proceed with caution here.

I know the general understanding is that it is measured internally, however I have been there, done that on the external measurements.

If there is an objection u may find the 25 will be done externally so proceed with caution.

ps
    whats the plan for dealing with rainwater?

For the sake of your neighbours and over all impact I would consider an A roof with hips

pss

depending on the height of the decking, u may fall foul of clause 11 in the first link

Maybe its just the pics,and maybe its just me,but those foundation trenches look a tad on the shallow side to me.

You usually do your actual foundation work,pour concrete and get your foundations walls built to 4 inch flat course 1st,then you prep your shed floor/slab floor.

shedplanphoto001-1.jpg?t=1300640446
    this is a drawing with all the measurements for foundations
    does anyone know how much i would be paying per cubic mtr of concrete????

front trench 7.3mtrs x .530mtr x .470mtr (dept) 1.8 cubic mtrs
    back trench 7.3 mtrs x .610mtr x .470mtr (dept) 2.1 cubic mtrs
    left trench 3.3mtrs x .530mtr x .470mtr (dept) .9 cubic mtrs
    right trench 3.3mtrs x .530mtr x .470mtr (dept) .9 cubic mtrs
    total 5.7 cubic mtrs???????
    is this right??? i could be correct or else i could be way out !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 67 ✭✭jj build

Is your footings are deep enough? You do not need so much concrete most of the two story houses years ago where built on 9 inches of concrete and there all still there. The with of the foundations should be three times the with of the wall. Put some steel into it, make sure its not touching the soil about 50mm cover from the bottom and sides. Your calculating correctly but expensively ,add 10% to the final amount.

foundations112.jpg?t=1300564450
    foundations16.jpg?t=1300565490
    foundations12.jpg?t=1300565783
    253.jpg?t=1300565782
    have trenches dug out and looks like im ready to pour foundations:)
    261.jpg?t=1302369960
    foundations inicon7.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭wush06

Hi kitchens deck
    Fair play looks a good job. Great idea with the before and after photos. I'm sure this will help alot of people out. Keep us all updated.
    Will you be putting power in this.

wush06 wrote: »
    Hi kitchens deck
    Fair play looks a good job. Great idea with the before and after photos. I'm sure this will help alot of people out. Keep us all updated.
    Will you be putting power in this.

cheers, ya i will be putting in lights and sockets, will be used as small workshop, im sure the before and after pics will help others wanting to build themselves , very slow build because im not around much but pics will be updated as i go along

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

good job, I'm planning on doing the same in the summer.
    How did you get the concrete poured? and do you mind saying where and how much did it cost per metre cubed?

I was thinking of getting it delivered and then barrowing it in but I dont know anyone to help me do the barrowing so I will prob have to pay someone.

Its that or maybe buy a mixer B&Q? (I think I would have it for too long to be worthwhile to rent) did you lay the blocks yourself?

Any pics you have along the way would be much appreciated, as I have no experience in this work, I usually do ok in DIY jobs, but it also takes me ages, for that reason I may pay someone to do some work, but I plan to keep costs down as much as possible.

261.jpg?t=1302369960
    foundations inicon7.gif
    Merch wrote: »
    good job, I'm planning on doing the same in the summer.
    How did you get the concrete poured? and do you mind saying where and how much did it cost per metre cubed?

I was thinking of getting it delivered and then barrowing it in but I dont know anyone to help me do the barrowing so I will prob have to pay someone.
    i had to barrow from front of the house around to the side and in to back yard i had 4 barrows with 3 other guys to help, took about an hour , cost 340e for 5 cubic mtrs local cemex supplied, better if you had 2 people and yourself doin it, if you cant get some1 as a favour to help im sure 2 out of work guys would be happy wit 40 or 50euro for less than 2 hrs work

Thats probably the better option, I was wondering what would be ok money for someone to help, 40 or 50 sounds ok alright, I dont think I could do it on my own, arms would be hanging off me :rolleyes: and I'd probably be too slow mixing it. For that money it doesnt seem worth me buying a mixer and the mixing is probably hard work.

I'll have to price around for materials, someone told me quarrys are better price for materials, not sure where I'll get rebar yet.
    I'll keep an eye on any updates or pics you put, to give me ideas :)

Thats probably the better option, I was wondering what would be ok money for someone to help, 40 or 50 sounds ok alright, I dont think I could do it on my own, arms would be hanging off me :rolleyes: and I'd probably be too slow mixing it. For that money it doesnt seem worth me buying a mixer and the mixing is probably hard work.

I'll have to price around for materials, someone told me quarrys are better price for materials, not sure where I'll get rebar yet.
    I'll keep an eye on any updates or pics you put, to give me ideas :)
    my advice is get ready mix for foundations, ready mix for floor slab, 2-4 ton sand 10 bags cement for block work, try not to clog up work area too much wit material, i didnt buy all my blocks but when i use wat i have i will get more because im tight on space , stick in the rebar 12mm will cost 60e for 48mtrs , from start of job to this point i spent 1300 inc 2 windows and door blocks sand cement and stone, think im keepin costs down well,
    most important piece of advice is THINK.. THINK.. THINK.. THEN ..DO
    my plans changed 5 or 6 times after i though about things dont rush ideas

Drake66 wrote: »
    You can hire a fella with a concrete pumper for €100-120. Makes a much better job out of pouring foundations/slab. It would be a sounder investment than hiring guys to barrow in my opinion.

I'd ruled concrete pumping out as I was told in the past it was expensive,
    100-120 sounds ok though, would any place that did ready mix pump or just specific guys? any company names or contacts?
    It certainly sounds like it would be easier. If there was any excess to get out of the hoses, I could barrow that myself, or do they pump a slug through the line to clear it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Drake66

I'm after giving you bad info there. It actually cost me €240 to get the pump in: I used him for the foundation and the slab so it cost €480 all together for pumping. I don't where I got 120 from, I must be going mad. Apologies about that.

302.jpg?t=1303654221
    picture update

302.jpg?t=1303654221
    picture update
    312.jpg?t=1305666754
    335-Copy.jpg?t=1305666754
    working on the roof ABOUT TIME!!!!

Thats some progress, did you say you're doing the blocks yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭ponddigger

hi, will a lot of water run into your neighbor off the roof.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The Falcon

ponddigger wrote: »
    hi, will a lot of water run into your neighbor off the roof.;)

Thought that myself - Any sheds I've seen in our area slope from back to front (with gutter at front and drain pipe at front side). Also looks like there could be a risk of poor drainage at back of shed and consequent problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

Hey KD... looks good... fair play to ya. Just wondering why the cavity block at front and standard on edge everywhere else.

Looks like a nice neat job in fairness to you. Like the above two mentioned, whats the plan with run-off from the shed? Is there any infiltration behind there with the foundations from your new shed and the existing party wall?

Is there a DPM on the rising walls, think I can make it out on the left wall, but what about the front cavity?

Whats with the funny step down on the window on the RHS?

Is there any wall plate going on?

Any finally.... Nice chop saw and I love the 3 barrows!!!!

The Falcon wrote: »
    Thought that myself - Any sheds I've seen in our area slope from back to front (with gutter at front and drain pipe at front side). Also looks like there could be a risk of poor drainage at back of shed and consequent problems.

before any blocks were layed (footings and floor slab were in place) i got a 4inch pipe split it down the middle with the saw and concreted it in place at the back and both sides of the shed with a slight fall starting from the right side of shed along back and to the left side of the shed , this allows any rain water to flow along the pipe and will link up with eco-drain i will be putting in the area between shed and house
    SORTED! icon7.gif no photos of that yet mite put up later

hi kd, what is a eco drain well done with all the work:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

How are you going to waterproof the side and rear walls?
    They are 9" cavity block or solid by the looks of it.
    You can waterproof render plaster walls, but because your walls are tight against the boundaries, you won't be able to plaster....
    Wind will blow rainwater straight through these walls.

I admire your effort,but you havent thought it through at all,regarding the walls,the roof and also the actual construction of it.

harry21 wrote: »
    Hey KD... looks good... fair play to ya. Just wondering why the cavity block at front and standard on edge everywhere else.

Looks like a nice neat job in fairness to you. Like the above two mentioned, whats the plan with run-off from the shed? Is there any infiltration behind there with the foundations from your new shed and the existing party wall?

Is there a DPM on the rising walls, think I can make it out on the left wall, but what about the front cavity?

Whats with the funny step down on the window on the RHS?

Is there any wall plate going on?

Any finally.... Nice chop saw and I love the 3 barrows!!!!
    i have the run-off water sorted, i replied to a post explaining what i did there, have a lookicon7.gif. DPC was used above footings. "the step down" the block layer made mistake there the cavity that looks out of place will be knocked out same as left hand side. wall plate ?? as in timber support for joist?? if thats wat u mean ya i have them in place , roof pix to follow nearly have roof done. the barrows clocked up sum milage on this job mate!!!

hi kd, what is a eco drain well done with all the work:)
    cheers,eco-drain acts like a pipe flush with the ground , catches water and links up with a drain outside ur house , it has grilles at the top , sorry crap explaination icon11.gif, look it up on google images, there a neat job

I admire your effort,but you havent thought it through at all,regarding the walls,the roof and also the actual construction of it.
    paddy paddy paddy , im not gona start a little internet chat bust up here but i dunno why u think its ok for u to say i have not thought this through, in fairness if ur backround is building i wud think u know more than me i can admit that, im no builder and wont get everything right but for 7 or 8 months i planned i planned i thought planned and thought again and got stuck in , worked my ass off along with some gud friends and i didnt cut any corners that cud ruin the whole job and i think it looks gud and im sure most ppl who read over this thread wud agree.. so think about wat ur saying and , back up wat ur saying tooicon13.gificon13.gif

No wall plates (you dont even seem to know what a wall plate is by your previous posts),single 4 inch blocks of that span and height with no supports at all,then mixed and matched with 9 inch cavities to the front.Lean too/sloped roof going back towards neighbours.No way to externally plaster/render or waterproof 3 walls of the garage.
    Its also seems to be over 25 square meters by the looks of it too,so it needs Planning Permission and unless you have PP then should not be even building it.This was said to you by myself and also other members on page 1 of this thread.

You may have put thought into it,but no propper thought has been put into it at all.

gman2k wrote: »
    How are you going to waterproof the side and rear walls?
    They are 9" cavity block or solid by the looks of it.
    You can waterproof render plaster walls, but because your walls are tight against the boundaries, you won't be able to plaster....
    Wind will blow rainwater straight through these walls.
    front 9" cavity , sides and back 6" solid, to make most out of space i did go as close as i cud to side fences ,before i built i discussed wit my nice neighbours taking down fence on both sides to allow for plastering which i will be doing shortly, so it was ok for me to go ahead and build close to fence, also left around 2+ ft of space at rear of shed between wall and build leaving plenty of room to get in and plaster there, shed will be fully plastered all aroundicon7.gif

hi kd what are you going to use to roof the building :)

No wall plates (you dont even seem to know that a wall plate is by your previous posts),single 4 inch blocks of that span and height with no supports at all,then mixed and matched with 9 inch cavities to the front.Lean too/sloped roof going back towards neighbours.No way to externally plaster/render or waterproof 3 walls of the garage.Its also seems to be over 25 square meters by the looks of it too,so it needs Planning Permission and unless you have PP then should not be even building it.

You may have put thought into it,but no propper thought has been put into it at all.
    ok im going to reply to your post one more time , wont bother again after this and explaining all the little issues u think i messed up on , after that i wud prefer u dont post in this thread again ur smart ass comments began on the first page of this thread.
    single SIX INCH BLOCK USED!!! NOT 4 INCH.
    NOT MIXED AND MATCHED simply 9 inch cavity at front 6 inch sides and back ur just makin it sound like i was playing lego with ur "mixed and matched" statement.
    lean to roof wont effect neighbours as 2 foot behind shed i have an 8ft wall between the housing estate behind me.
    plastering wont be a problem as fence will be removed both sides to allow plastering and as i said loads of room at back to plaster.
    planning permission ....ha ur some man to judge sizes just from a photo when building i made it so it fell within guidelines, but anyway get a grip mate rules and rules , go off and TRY and bully sum1 else every other person posting on this thread have been sound and i have replied ,im done replying to you so go away with ur negative crap icon13.gif

hi kd what are you going to use to roof the building :)
    6"x3" timber joist roof and finished off wit cladding ... well thats the plan anyway , need to get some prices on cladding not sure wat cost is on that

Thats some progress, did you say you're doing the blocks yourself?
    good progress .. but its taken a long time to get to this point but im happy to see it coming along now, i did get a block layer in and he has done a great job

ok im going to reply to your post one more time , wont bother again after this and explaining all the little issues u think i messed up on , after that i wud prefer u dont post in this thread again ur smart ass comments began on the first page of this thread.
    single SIX INCH BLOCK USED!!! NOT 4 INCH.
    NOT MIXED AND MATCHED simply 9 inch cavity at front 6 inch sides and back ur just makin it sound like i was playing lego with ur "mixed and matched" statement.
    lean to roof wont effect neighbours as 2 foot behind shed i have an 8ft wall between the housing estate behind me.
    plastering wont be a problem as fence will be removed both sides to allow plastering and as i said loads of room at back to plaster.
    planning permission ....ha ur some man to judge sizes just from a photo when building i made it so it fell within guidelines, but anyway get a grip mate rules and rules , go off and TRY and bully sum1 else every other person posting on this thread have been sound and i have replied ,im done replying to you so go away with ur negative crap icon13.gif

WOW,now Im bullying you (in your mind) because you dont like my straight to the point questions and my reply to yours.Good one.:rolleyes:

Maybe try reading the title of this thread of yours again.

And if you are not prepared to take any critisizm or be told where you may have gone wrong,then dont post or put up pics.

The way you have thought about and built the garage/shed is quite badly flawed,both in the design,layout and construction,and it has to be pointed out to you.You seem to be in denial and seem to think its all perfectly done,when its clearly not.

If you cant stand the heat,then get out of the kitchen.

It would also be nice if you could type a post/reply in normal english too,and not all this silly,stupid text style posting.

Also,what exact guidlines does your garage fall with in???

Please tell me,as on the 1st page it had to be pointed out to you and the fact that you are over the 25 square meters limitation,this means that Planing Permission is legally required.

icon14.gif
    my lines marked out shed will be 23ft wide x 13ft

23 feet x 13 feet = 27.778009 m2

Planning permission is needed/legally required for any permanant shed/garage over 25 square meters.

So did you apply for planning permission to build,and have you got full planning permission then to build this garage?

Or did you just go ahead and build it (and think sod them all I dont need PP),and that no one would notice???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Paul.C

Shed looks grand mate, also I find your English perfectly fine (4 de record):p. Just thinking, would it be possible to integrate a ply supported lead flashing around sides and back to deal a bit better with your rainwater situation. If so id plan for this before the plaster goes on.

Your design and layout are also fine. The fact that the roof is sloping away is not a problem as long as you get the drainage right.

Also a wall plate is a strip of wood (4x2) that sits horizontal across the top of your wall. Treat it or put DPC underneath it and your rafters sit ontop of it.

This is necessary so your roof wont rot. Untreated wood in direct contact with masonry is a very bad idea. Again that said, tis a fine job so far.

Ive read this whole thread and fair play to you for showing folks how to do this as im sure lots of people are looking for similar DIY projects. At least you took the time and effort of doing this for other peoples benefit.

As for the heckling...... @paddy147 "If you cant stand the heat,then get out of the kitchen.
    It would also be nice if you could type a post/reply in normal english too,and not all this silly,stupid text style posting."

Put the handbag away mate. Realistically all he forgot was a wall plate and your jumping on top of it:rolleyes:. Its easily fixed and again its structurally sound. I dont understand why your acting like a twat when you jumped in with the childish insults in the first place. GROW UP

Paul.C wrote: »
    Shed looks grand mate, also I find your English perfectly fine (4 de record):p. Just thinking, would it be possible to integrate a ply supported lead flashing around sides and back to deal a bit better with your rainwater situation. If so id plan for this before the plaster goes on.

Your design and layout are also fine. The fact that the roof is sloping away is not a problem as long as you get the drainage right.

Also a wall plate is a strip of wood (4x2) that sits horizontal across the top of your wall. Treat it or put DPC underneath it and your rafters sit ontop of it.

This is necessary so your roof wont rot. Untreated wood in direct contact with masonry is a very bad idea. Again that said, tis a fine job so far.

Ive read this whole thread and fair play to you for showing folks how to do this as im sure lots of people are looking for similar DIY projects. At least you took the time and effort of doing this for other peoples benefit.

As for the heckling...... @paddy147 "If you cant stand the heat,then get out of the kitchen.
    It would also be nice if you could type a post/reply in normal english too,and not all this silly,stupid text style posting."

Put the handbag away mate. Realistically all he forgot was a wall plate and your jumping on top of it:rolleyes:. Its easily fixed and again its structurally sound. I dont understand why your acting like a twat when you jumped in with the childish insults in the first place. GROW UP

cheers, im finishing off roof wit cladding finished at the sides with flashing, still doin the roof but will post pics when its done when its finished i will scud the blockwork for plaster, drainage will be fine as all rainwater falling at the back and sides will run to the front left corner of shed and link up with a drain.
    as for the IDIOT i dont mind people questioning wat i hav done and even picking up on a mistake i hav made i reply to every1, people who act childish and post negative comments just for the sake of sounding like they kno it all , i wont bother wit them people - i dont know much about building but im doin my best with the budget i have and dont think i took any chances and sum people wont agree with everything i have done i accept that but i have thought out this build so far nothing has gone wrong, and just on the wall plate - i fixed a 3x2 timber (not on top of the cavity at front of shed)on the back of the cavity flush with the top of the block as it would support more of the joist that way, 6x3 timbers are 4+ inches from front to allow another 4inch block and cappings ( not saying this was the correct way but i thought it works out to allow for cappings and 4 inch block finish on top of shed.. i tried my besticon11.gif
    cheers mate

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

kitchens decks and paddy147, it appears we have a conflict of opinion, and I would hope it could be discussed in a civil manner. kitchens decks, while this is a very good thread by you, you don't actually have ownership of it, and any user is free to post on it. paddy147, I don't think kitchens decks wants to engage with you on some of the issues, so if you find your not getting responses, then its best left as is I think.