Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mad bull stirk

• 05-03-2011 8:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭

Bought this mad bull stirk you know the type that tries to jump the rails in the ring.

Now I need to settle him a little for dosing and testing, etc. in case he does himself or me harm in the crush.

Any tips are welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

pour on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i always wondered what type of a gob****e buys these animals:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

whelan1 wrote: »
    i always wondered what type of a gob****e buys these animals:rolleyes:

guilty:D, but he wasn't in a mart then.

pour on , good tip thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

if you can get him to eat a bit of meal in the yard for a few days it might help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

he eats nuts but approach him and he retreats . really nervous type.

would it help to run him through the crush with his mates once a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

factory(please!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Might sound stupid but try standing at the gate with him, try get him used to ya. Otherwise as someone else said he's only an accident waiting to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

Even if he doesn’t kill someone, do you want offspring from a bull with poor temperament/nervous disposition. Give him a chance to settle but not too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Even if he doesn’t kill someone, do you want offspring from a bull with poor temperament/nervous disposition. Give him a chance to settle but not too long.

Mad fcukr in a quiet bunch, makes the quiet ones nervous, not the other way round. I wouldn't keep a mad hoor, one day more than absolutely necessary. Factory. Good riddance. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Rub your hand up and down his back bone when in the crush. Keep the thumb on one side and the fingers on the other. It really quietens them. Saw a Vet do this years ago.

Give him a small bit of meal regularly aswell. It gets him used to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

Get rid of him. Animals like that are not worth the hassle or the risk to your health. Even if these animals never attack, they will cause an awful lot of stress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

PMU wrote: »
    factory(please!)

Definitely...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Kilmac1

have you a well fenced quite, rushey field?
    worked for us on a Fresein bull quitest and best behaved bull every since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Ashill5

Factory is the only way to go with wild animal!! God forbid he hurt you or one of the family ! Better off being safe than sorry!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

If you are finishing him, put him in a pen with a big strong older bull. Once the old bull tells him that he aint the boss of the group he will get manners. I often seen a cross animal get a few pucks of an king of the herd and they soon quiten. the above advice wont be practical to most though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Baralis1

I presume this isn't a breeding bull? You are letting yourself in for a whole heap of trouble if you plan breeding calves from a bull of this temperment.

Assuming that this is a young bull that you plan on castrating.
    It depends exactly how bad he is. I've seen animals who are craiced from being jobbed from one mart to another completely calm down once they get used to a place and their new owner. Make sure he sees you a lot and give him nuts as you say. Put him in with slightly bigger and calm cattle. Eventually he will might calm down. An experienced person should be able to inject him in a good cattle crush, where he is well packed in with calm animals in front and behind. Otherwise, pour-on is an option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

There is a difference between an animal being aggressive and being nervous. I have cows that are nervous, but no way aggressive and I have one physcho, mad, will charge at calving time bitch. She's earmarked for the factory. I wouldn't describe her as nervous though.
    If he shows signs of being aggressive, I'd get rid of him. If he's just nervous, then he may calm down in time.
    Either way, you're better rid of both types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

pakalasa wrote: »
    There is a difference between an animal being aggressive and being nervous. I have cows that are nervous, but no way aggressive and I have one physcho, mad, will charge at calving time bitch. She's earmarked for the factory. I wouldn't describe her as nervous though.
    If he shows signs of being aggressive, I'd get rid of him. If he's just nervous, then he may calm down in time.
    Either way, you're better rid of both types.

The saucey ones at calving can be lethal but they always a good cow/good rearer.

Thumbs up to you doing a very morally correct bthing and holding her back from the bull, i know plenty of lads that have sold them on on the point of calving which has serious safety implications.. fella has some can of whoop ass going home in the trailer:mad: what wonder if he has young family, happens to assist calving or walks into field unawares with dog/child.:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭haybob

ootbitb wrote: »
    Bought this mad bull stirk you know the type that tries to jump the rails in the ring.

Now I need to settle him a little for dosing and testing, etc. in case he does himself or me harm in the crush.

Any tips are welcome.

I'd suggest mixing him with a few old/quite cows that will know the ins and outs of your place let him into the crush with the cows too.

I have a few ''giddy'' heifers that I wouldn’t describe them as wild, but they were bucket fed and will puck each other and lep when I'm feeding them but I can rub them when I'm handling them ??