Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The AH forum and illiterate posters.

• 04-03-2011 6:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

Is it just me or are many of the posters on AH and Boards.ie functional illiterates? Thread titles abound with spelling mistakes, the points put across by many posters are incomprehensible and I'm beginning to wonder if some posters have basic English language skills. Is it something to be worried about or am I just anally retentive about it :pac:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

hoorsmelt wrote: »
    Is it just me or are many of the posters on AH and Boards.ie functional illiterates? Thread titles abound with spelling mistakes, the points put across by many posters are incomprehensible and I'm beginning to wonder if some posters have basic English language skills. Is it something to be worried about or am I just anally retentive about it :pac:?
    2 Long; Cudn't Reed!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

alot of people post on this forum through their phones and its a pain in the tits to alternate caps and scroll back to correct a typo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Anal teehehehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Wot r u takling bout?

dOntt you spoke proper England?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

benwavner wrote: »
    Wot r u takling bout?

dOntt you spoke proper England?

Dude speak American!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭rachaelf750

Dyslexia is the root of my problem.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Many people now post on iPhones, Android phones etc, often from the toilet. So, it's not surprising that you see the odd mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

roflmao

Solair wrote: »
    Many people now post on iPhones, Android phones etc, often from the toilet. So, it's not surprising that you see the odd mistake.

I use my phone all the time on here. Tried posting from the jacks but it just felt weird. Thank fook I thought it might be a problem and brought a paper with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

Blast them with piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

look i have no excuses im too lazy to spell check

and the damn thing has American spelling anyway so i get realize instead of realise....

and when i see the red squiggle line i think it's trying to give me the american spelling so i ignore it, counterproductive i know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

i only use boards in work so i dont have the time to check spelling or caps or even full stops:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Most internet forums are informal, some people are dyslexic, some people have difficulty spelling (including my self), etc etc.

As long as a post is understandable, not littered with txt talk, not one big sentence or paragraph, it doesn't bother me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rest can be a total mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Fcuknig amzanig huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

HARR HARR Pacman trying eat Questioon mark in silly man's letter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Xivilai wrote: »
    Blast them with piss

this will never ever lose it's hilarity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

I get your points about posting on iPhones, etc. All the same, could it not be said about normal writing that it's too much hassle to spellcheck it as well? I always make sure when texting to spell everything correctly with apostrophes in the right places, so why should it be any different for using an iPhone? That's my two cents anyway, most of ye probably think I've a severe problem by now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Rolf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Do you believe OP that some posters who don't have a proper education or have literacy issues or learning difficulties shouldn't be allowed post? That I don't I agree with TBH.

But if it's laziness your talking about then yes it can be annoying.

And depending on the time of night, a lot of people are drunk to boot:).

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

I get your points about posting on iPhones, etc. All the same, could it not be said about normal writing that it's too much hassle to spellcheck it as well? I always make sure when texting to spell everything correctly with apostraphes in the right places, so why should it be any different for using an iPhone? That's my two cents anyway, most of ye probably think I've a severe problem by now :pac:
    you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

I get your points about posting on iPhones, etc. All the same, could it not be said about normal writing that it's too much hassle to spellcheck it as well? I always make sure when texting to spell everything correctly with apostraphes in the right places, so why should it be any different for using an iPhone? That's my two cents anyway, most of ye probably think I've a severe problem by now :pac:

Had to happen.

stevejr wrote: »
    Do you believe OP that some posters who don't have a proper education or have literacy issues or learning difficulties shouldn't be allowed post? That I don't I agree with TBH.

But if it's laziness your talking about then yes it can be annoying.

And depending on the time of night, a lot of people are drunk to boot:).

Not at all mate. Illiteracy from a lack of education or learning difficulties is not what I'm talking about, it's people who are too lazy to spell correctly, and in any case, it's reasonably correct to assume that most people who post here have basic literacy skills which is why they signed up to Boards.ie in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I'm on here in work most of the time, so while I do my best to type in fairly comprehensible English, I do it quite quickly so as to look like I'm doing something more productive and I have re-read some of my posts and thought 'wha?'
    Maybe its because I think without Ts now that I mention it, I'm not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I wouldn't worry about it Hoors.

You see most of cnunts here are semi illiterate.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

try typing on a touch screen. its really easy for a finger to slide and hit another character. also... on android anyway... you have to use a sub menu to get to commas apostrophes and other stuff.

thats why its annoying having to flick back and forward.

when im on a pc i make sure to use them.

as irish stew said himself. im not too fussed about the way a post is wrote as long as i can understand the point being puy forward.

also... some people can talk and you will never be able to shut them up... but saying something and thinking about how to write it down are 2 different things.

also gotta take into account the fourdinners with regards to that too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I wouldn't worry about it Hoors.

You see most of cnunts here are semi illiterate.

and the rest just talk shyte :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Not at all mate. Illiteracy from a lack of education or learning difficulties is not what I'm talking about, it's people who are too lazy to spell correctly, and in any case, it's reasonably correct to assume that most people who post here have basic literacy skills which is why they signed up to Boards.ie in the first place.

That's a big assumption to make hoorsmelt, and probably incorrect IMHO.

Why would having basic literacy skills be the why for people signing up to Boards.ie?

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

You guys can post here from yr iphone?? How? Mine won't let me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

You think AH is bad? Try going to a shop and asking for a €42 quick pick with no lotto plus for the euromillions.
    Sounds easy..right? Only if you're Polish as Irish youngsters today apparently know shít about maths.
    Tried explaining that each euromillions ticket holds €12 which means I need 3 of these and 1 x €6...even still the dumbfúcks don't get it till about half way in and you then see the "eureka" look on their dumb face.
    Yet I can walk into any shop with a Polish assistant and they know instantly how to do it...
    I blame the public sector...apparently teachers only know how to add ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I had to sack my last secretary, she couldn't keep up with my dictation.
    The latest recruit, typing this as I speak is much sexier.

P.P.
    He really is an illiterate prat. Pay is good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

+1.

There's lots of them.

Dem hoorsmelt me head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

irish-stew wrote: »
    Most internet forums are informal, some people are dyslexic, some people have difficulty spelling (including my self), etc etc.

As long as a post is understandable, not littered with txt talk, not one big sentence or paragraph, it doesn't bother me.
    Something the grammar monkeys in this forum should take into account and let sink in

irish-stew wrote: »

Sometimes they're not understandable, and then people get all antsy at you for asking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Boards.ie is, in general, typed communication in English.

I like all communication to be correct and precise so therefore I like communication here to be the same.

This does not make me a grammar monkey/NAZI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Admit it,you double checked to see that you spelled everything correctly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    You think AH is bad? Try going to a shop and asking for a €42 quick pick with no lotto plus for the euromillions.
    Sounds easy..right? Only if you're Polish as Irish youngsters today apparently know shít about maths.
    Tried explaining that each euromillions ticket holds €12 which means I need 3 of these and 1 x €6...even still the dumbfúcks don't get it till about half way in and you then see the "eureka" look on their dumb face.
    Yet I can walk into any shop with a Polish assistant and they know instantly how to do it...

Innumeracy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Holy jaysus, so now the criterium for education is an ability to diffuse a quik-pik.

Is it any wonder the country is fcuked.

You spent 42 euro on the lotto and you're calling other people thick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

...apparently teachers only know how to add ;)

All arithmetic is adding. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Is it just me or are many of the posters on AH and Boards.ie functional illiterates?

But how can this be ?

Are the Government not always telling us we have a highly educated workforce (TM) and one of the best education systems in the World :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Dyslexia is the root of my problem.;)

Excuses escuses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Bet you had to spell check those words - far too big for AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Racist

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Option 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Fcuk how do you endure the magnitude of such a problem? It places everything in perspective for us Boardsie's really. Members who worry about job hunting, mortgage repayments and holding on to their job ect. Must now realise how small their worries really are in comparison to yours.

It's not like we dont have eyes in our heads and dont notice spelling and typing errors but correcting posters who are not as articulate in their style of posting can be a boring and time consuming pastime .

Latchy wrote: »
    It's not like we dont have eyes in our heads and dont notice spelling and typing errors but correcting posters who are not as articulate in their style of posting can be a boring and time consuming pastime .

For something as important as this, time and effort should not be an issue. I am willing to offer my services to the adminstrators to act as the After Hours spelling moderator, with special responsibility for correcting poor spelling/ typos, and handing out punishments for repeat infractions, starting with a warning and leading up to a permanent ban. This should quickly rid us of the scourge of bad spelling.

For something as important as this, time and effort should not be an issue. I am willing to offer my services to the adminstrators to act as the After Hours spelling moderator, with special responsibility for correcting poor spelling/ typos, and handing out punishments for repeat infractions, starting with a warning and leading up to a premanent ban. This should quickly rid us of the scourge of bad spelling.
    You're here nearly 12 months now with 92 posts , like in between lurking were you going to find the time ?