Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do Gardai find address?

• 03-03-2011 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Someone i don't want in life or have no desire to see was able to just get my address from the gardai and turn up at my door...
    My question is how on earth did the gards know where i live considering i dont get in any trouble and havent even been living here that long... and is it not be illegal for them to just give out personal information like that for no good reason?
    Thanks in advance if i get any responses cos this has really been buggin me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

electoral register?

vehicle licencing records?

You might have better luck on the Emergency Services Forum, but then again I don't think anyone there would disclose garda operational details.

A request under the data protection act would probably result in the guards saying its exempted from disclosure under section 5 as the information is maintained for the purposes of preventing, detecting or investigating offences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭steloide

good question.....I'm sure that person told a big fat lie to get that info or knows somebody in the gardai, its also possible the gardai did in fact just give out that info. Try and do it yourself...go to the gardai to try and find out about this person or a friend ...c if they give u that info???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 pad11

Nope i amn't registered to vote and don't have a car and yup its almost certain that the person(my dad) lied or gave some bs story.
    Damn i really need to get to the bottom of this because i am planning to move soon and it would be an absolute disaster if this same thing were to happen again when i do. :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I would be very freaked if I thought the guards were handing out personal info (that is not publicly available) to people.

I don't care all that much that what the gards did may be have illegal (theres prolly nothing i could do about it even if i did) I just want to know how and why they have this information on me to begin with so i can avoid situations like this in the future...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

pad11 wrote: »
    I don't care all that much that what the gards did may be have illegal (theres prolly nothing i could do about it even if i did) I just want to know how and why they have this information on me to begin with so i can avoid situations like this in the future...

Your father is likely to have reported you missing to the gardai, he would be considered next of kin, its likely he did not tell them the full story and they cannot beat it out of him. If the garda didnt assit him I'm sure Joe duffy would love to have him on the radio telling the country how the gardai wouldnt help him locate his missing child. The ideal senario would have been that when they located your address that they would have called to you and established your position with your father. If they were enquiring into a missing person they would probally enquire with various government departments as part of the investigation to see what addresses are on file and if they were recent. If you want to prevent this again I would call to your Garda station and report that you do not want any futher contact from your parent in the event that he continues to try track you down. This would be available to all gardai who make enquires in future. You could also make a complaint of harrassment if you feel its relevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Just so we're clear. It's actually your uncle, who is a Garda, that you think they got the info from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭234

k_mac wrote: »
    Just so we're clear. It's actually your uncle, who is a Garda, that you think they got the info from.
    Where are you getting uncle from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

234 wrote: »
    Where are you getting uncle from?

His thread on ES forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Is a person not entitled to disappear and not be found anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Is a person not entitled to disappear and not be found anymore?

Yes they are once they are of the legal age, But fortunately or in some cases unfortunately by disappearing and not telling anyone tends to bring out the worst fears in worried family & close relatives,so they go looking & asking and eventually to the guards.

My uncle is a gard in wexford and he got onto the waterford crowd after my dad fed him some stupid story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

My uncle is a gard in wexford and he got onto the waterford crowd after my dad fed him some stupid story.

Sounds like you got a good family looking out for you to go to all that trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

if you want to go unnoticed you need to get off the grid ..... total blackout !!

/takes off After Hours Tin Foil Hat

Seriously though, report the matter to the Gardai if you wish to have no contact with your family - you should also mention that your uncle is a member.

if you wish to disappear don't use traceable stuff like mobile phones, credit cards, laser cards, bank accounts ..... cash is the key !! .... move in with friends for a while and don't leave a forwarding address....no bills in your name also.

(Honest I'm not one of these conspiracy theorists...really I'm not !)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

They could trace you using your PPS number which you need for income tax or social welfare (either that or get rich, starve or never get sick).

I'm fairly sure if you're declared a missing person the Gardaí can try to trace your whereabouts just to verify that you're not a victim of a crime, otherwise they're not meant to reveal your location without your consent. That's pretty hard secret to keep if you've got a Garda in the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Someone i don't want in life or have no desire to see was able to just get my address from the gardai and turn up at my door...
    My question is how on earth did the gards know where i live considering i dont get in any trouble and havent even been living here that long... and is it not be illegal for them to just give out personal information like that for no good reason?
    They use a similar IT system as the dole office and can search you by name and date of birth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭John C

When I visited County Cork I wished to meet an ex classmate. He is a Garda Sargeant in a town. I phoned his station, gave my name, his colleague described the exact location of his house.

It could be another story in Cork or Dublin.

Here in Germany it is even easier. In the city of Munich all 1 300 000 residents are registered in City Hall. Residents who are 18 years+ are listed in a large "book". It is has two parts.
    Part1: Residents of Munich listed alphabetically, showing their address.
    Part2: List of Steets and House No. with residents in each house.
    This book is displayed in the Underground stations and in every Munich city library. No bother to find someone who has not moved since this book was updated.

My town is smaller than Munich. The town hall compiles a similiar "Stadtbuch" = town book. Here it is updated every two years. It was distributed free of charge to any resident. Collection points: savings bank, health studio, book shops, newsagent, petrol stations.
    It has been useful to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

A stalkers wet dream.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Op, make a complaint to the garda ombudsman that your uncle gives a sh1t about you, chances are he wont afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

If you rent your place I think there is some sort of Landlords Register, which has your RSI number etc.

I assume the Gardai can access this.