Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disbudding issues

• 02-03-2011 9:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭

Hello All,

I am a bit concerned about 3 or 4 of my calves. I dehorned them about 3 weeks ago and over the last couple of days they have broken out around the bud of the horn. I de-horned them the same way as i done it last year with a gas de-horner. It doesnt seem to be bothering them and they are thriving away but i am a little worried it will get worse. I have attached a pic to show you what it looks like. Sorry about the bad quality I took it with my phone this evening, but it look fairly raw but is dry. It almost like they are scratching it with there feet? Strange how nearly all them have it.

Anyone ever see anything like this before. And if so what would you recommend I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭stanflt

id treat them with antibiotics just 2be on the safe side-prevention is better than cure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

RobinBanks wrote: »
    Hello All,

I am a bit concerned about 3 or 4 of my calves. I dehorned them about 3 weeks ago and over the last couple of days they have broken out around the bud of the horn. I de-horned them the same way as i done it last year with a gas de-horner. It doesnt seem to be bothering them and they are thriving away but i am a little worried it will get worse. I have attached a pic to show you what it looks like. Sorry about the bad quality I took it with my phone this evening, but it look fairly raw but is dry. It almost like they are scratching it with there feet? Strange how nearly all them have it.

Anyone ever see anything like this before. And if so what would you recommend I do.
    do you spray anything on them after doing them?
    i usually spray them with alu spray, seems to seal them up very well
    i would have said its infected but maybe not if its dry, better ask vet i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Well lads. I was just thinking after i wrote the msg that i didnt spray them. last year i sprayed them with that alymycin spray and had no issues. Although the neighbour never sprays his and hasnt seen anything like this before. I will ring the vet in the morn. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

what breeding are they?

BB, S659

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Seems a right good bull. Can't fathom the dehorning problem. Never had an issue. If you've a few, might be best to ask vet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

BB, S659

right good black calf that!!;)

I dont pop them out any more (last 2 years) i just give them 2/3 twists in a strong circular motion say 10 seconds in total leaving a good copper ring around the base and they scab up and fall out, no blood less chance of infection but always throw a bit of alamycin or iodine or something similar anyway

Bodacious wrote: »
    right good black calf that!!;)

I dont pop them out any more (last 2 years) i just give them 2/3 twists in a strong circular motion say 10 seconds in total leaving a good copper ring around the base and they scab up and fall out, no blood less chance of infection but always throw a bit of alamycin or iodine or something similar anyway

Would you believe that's exactly what I done! Except I had not spray to put on. Be a shame to loose a calf over something like that so better get it checked out.

Lads, would young calves get lice? I was thinking about it again this morning. Maybe that would explain the scratching? there is no bald spots in the coat of hair though, which is usually a sign of lice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Lads, would young calves get lice? I was thinking about it again this morning. Maybe that would explain the scratching? there is no bald spots in the coat of hair though, which is usually a sign of lice?

Probably Lice. Or if they are getting meal or near cattle getting meal there is a fungal infection being carried in meal this year which is causing cattle to scratch around the head. I had it on several cattle. Your pictures look as if the calves scratched.

Like bodacious I don't pop them anymore either and it works very well.

reilig wrote: »
    Probably Lice. Or if they are getting meal or near cattle getting meal there is a fungal infection being carried in meal this year which is causing cattle to scratch around the head. I had it on several cattle. Your pictures look as if the calves scratched.

Like bodacious I don't pop them anymore either and it works very well.

Well fair play to ya Reilig! my calves are eating nugget cooked calf crunch this past few weeks. That could be it. Should i stop feeding them or maybe use some other type of ration. I will treat them for lice anyway. I also noticed one calf kicking at herself last week. kicking her front leg with her back leg!

Thanks again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Well fair play to ya Reilig! my calves are eating nugget cooked calf crunch this past few weeks. That could be it. Should i stop feeding them or maybe use some other type of ration. I will treat them for lice anyway. I also noticed one calf kicking at herself last week. kicking her front leg with her back leg!

Thanks again!

Based on my vets advice, a weak iodine solution painted on with a paintbrush cured mine. I did them twice in 1 week. That was in mid january. i sold them last week and the hair had fully grown back. The iodine will act as an antiseptic around the place where you burned the horns too and will not do any harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I always sprayed Iodine onto the area after dis-budding. Someone on this forum (Can't remember who) said not to use iodine as it kept the area raw.
    I'll go back to using it, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I've dehorned a lot of calves and never put anything on them.
    I did notice on one last year that the gas flame exiting the dehorner singed a calf and I put sudocrem on it and it was fine. I only noticed it the next day after dehorning, it was red and sore looking.
    On the Iodine issue, I believe the way to go is a weak solution, as reilig said, otherwise Iodine is an irritant.

BTW: Thats a proper bull calf in the pic.

Bizzum wrote: »

BTW: Thats a proper bull calf in the pic.

Not sure if ye remember a thread i started sometime ago about selecting bulls for cows. I mentioned that my best cow was incalf to Giga S659 and that when she calved I thought he would be a good one. Well that's him. He is extremely tall for a BB even though the pic may not show it and he has a big powerful frame. Not as muscly as i thought he would be based on my thoughts the day he was born, he was already quiet developed at that stage.

I never had great calves but this year i have 2! the other is a Landis bull calf. Probably more muscle than this fella

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Not sure if ye remember a thread i started sometime ago about selecting bulls for cows. I mentioned that my best cow was incalf to Giga S659 and that when she calved I thought he would be a good one. Well that's him. He is extremely tall for a BB even though the pic may not show it and he has a big powerful frame. Not as muscly as i thought he would be based on my thoughts the day he was born, he was already quiet developed at that stage.

I never had great calves but this year i have 2! the other is a Landis bull calf. Probably more muscle than this fella

Did he come okay or id you have a big pull on your hands.. the Giga calf?

no she calved herself but this cow would calf a bus. she was under a bit of pressure i'd say but i didnt have to leave a hand on her. If I had 9 more like her i would be laughing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

no she calved herself but this cow would calf a bus. she was under a bit of pressure i'd say but i didnt have to leave a hand on her. If I had 9 more like her i would be laughing!
    ah thats him nice suck, i have 2 giga heifers both spat out by cows but i am very disapointed with them, do you want to swap:rolleyes::rolleyes:.

leg wax wrote: »
    ah thats him nice suck, i have 2 giga heifers both spat out by cows but i am very disapointed with them, do you want to swap:rolleyes::rolleyes:.

Well He is good but not great. A man down the road has far better calves, but then again I am not surprised. Dovea bought a bull off him this year. Crossmolina Euro.

Still though like I said my calves are pretty average most years so it will be nice to sell a decent one for a change!

I dont think I will use giga again on this cow. Much prefer a bit of white through them, maybe i will give her DEP or RYP this time. I would swap the bull for you're two heifers though!