Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you surprised that Luke 'Ming' Flanagan has been elected?

• 02-03-2011 1:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭

Obviously he is a big improvement on the Fianna Fail fools that were in the dail before.

But are you surprised that he is elected ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭wellboy76

lucozader wrote: »
    Obviously he is a big improvement on the Fianna Fail fools that were in the dail before.

I'm more surprised that Cowens brother got elected tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

wellboy76 wrote: »
    I'm more surprised that Cowens brother got elected tbh

I'd have been more surprised if he hadn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

He speaks an awful lot of sense..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I remember reading somewhere that over 50% of irish school kids had smoked pot, that was back around 1999, those kids now have votes, it's no surprise at all he got elected.

I'm going to assume that he does not buy imported cannabis.

I'd say he either grows his own or is given it by friends and therefore is not funding criminal gangs.

Hopefully between himself and Boyd Barret they'll force a change in the law that's currently actively funds criminal gangs by prohibition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Fender76

No I'm not... he's actually a very bright guy and could potentially bring a lot of fresh idea's to the table.... trouble is he probably won't get a chance.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Even a stoner can see the baiout fraud for what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Once I saw a developer getting elected, I knew anything was possible in this election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Better than Biffo the Pisshead.

Surprised? No. Just a shame I couldn't vote for him, he makes a lot more sense than a lot of the "straight" laced ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Why do you say obviously?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Which part of his agenda do you have an issue with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Not in the slightest. Appears to have been doing well as a councillor/Mayor.

Edit: Agree with some of his policies, don't agree with others. There are plenty worse than him out there so fair play to Luke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

No. But that's probably because I don't go around calling him "Ming the pothead" in a vain attempt to make him appear thoughtless when he's really quite thoughtful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

He doesn't want to pray before meetigns and only took half his mayoral allowance He gets my vote for those two. Why do people STILL think he's all about pot?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Not a bit surprised given that younger people are voting in greater numbers these days. It's not as if he's known solely for being a pot-head anyway, he's honest and not afraid to stand by his beliefs.

You should watch the documentary about him - http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=the+life+and+crimes+of+citizen+ming&aq=f

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

It's not like he's some Rasta who goes around baked all day and whose every acton hinges around weed. He's somone who happens to smoke/have smoked grass and agrees with legalisation.

Maybe it's a sign Ireland's growing up a little that people can see past this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Nope. Fair play to him. Time to give a new breed of politician a chance. Not as if the traditional, straight-laced, parish pump variety have done us any favours in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Given the number of pissheads that have got in, I don' t think it will be much of an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Not surprised at all since he's been a popular elected politician for the past 7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭malcolmplex

Makes sense having a pothead in the Dail seeing as we're potless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Flash Gordon would have sh1t all over him if he were a candidate.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Why is it that if someone smokes a bit of grass, they're a pot head, but if you drink 10 pints a night, nobody bats an eye?

The man has gone from nothing to one success after another. Why? Because he actually cares about what he's doing, puts his money where his mouth is and has done a lot of good in his area.
    You don't get to be elected by sitting on your arse all day smoking 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Beruthiel wrote: »
    Why is it that if someone smokes a bit of grass, they're a pot head, but if you drink 10 pints a night, nobody bats an eye?

Because only one of those things is illegal.

(in before someone corrects me on a technicality)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    He doesn't want to pray before meetigns and only took half his mayoral allowance He gets my vote for those two. Why do people STILL think he's all about pot?

Because some people are just plain stupid/ignorant..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Not as surprised as the fact that you used the word "than" rather than "that" in the thread title. Let's hope he has some good points on education.

Given the number of pissheads that have got in, I don' t think it will be much of an issue.
    He was actually derided by members of his local council for declining to drink alcohol at a social event.

He was later refused a platform to speak at a local mob gathering/circle jerk about the issue of head shops because he hed alternative views on the issue.

ebixa82 wrote: »
    Not as surprised as the fact that you used the word "than" rather than "that" in the thread title. Let's hope he has some good points on education.
    That's a typo, lad. It happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

one of the few honest men/women in the dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

From After Hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

biko wrote: »
    From After Hours

Can the title be changed?

I doubt "Are you surprised Gerry Adams the drunk has been elected?" would be allowed.

As far as I know GA doesn't even drink anymore but seeing as Flanagan hasn't mentioned weed smoking in this election calling him a pothead is pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Lumen wrote: »
    Because only one of those things is illegal.

(in before someone corrects me on a technicality)

And you think he is the only member of Dail Eireann who uses illegals to unwind?

He started out as a single issue candidate and has evolved into a shrewd, capable and popular politician. What is actually politically interesting is that people who fundamentally oppose his original single issue will vote for him. The fact he has won over the blue rinsers and conservative rural voters is testament to his abiilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

Ive no issues with what he smokes, and respect how he is standing up for turf cutting

but he came out as being obnoxious on primetime and focused on local issues only

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    Ive no issues with what he smokes, and respect how he is standing up for turf cutting

but he came out as being obnoxious on primetime and focused on local issues only

I fail to see the problem with focusing on issues related to your own constituency?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

well done and a big congratulations to our new overlord Ming, had a few "dealings" with him down through the years and have met him in some funny places, he's a true and honest gentleman imo

we're all the better for some of the newly elected and I look forward to reading all about it after I get outta here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Correct me if i'm wrong, but isn't Ming on the record saying he now has a few kids and between his political carreer and looking after his kids he doesn't have much time for the spliffs, therefore is not a pot head????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

Correct me if i'm wrong, but isn't Ming on the record saying he now has a few kids and between his political carreer and looking after his kids he doesn't have much time for the spliffs, therefore is not a pot head????

theres an element of truth in that, he did once claim to have given up and maybe he kept to it, if he did or not he's still championing cannabis legalisation afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

If you ever listen to him on the last word where he regularly contributes you'll realize that he is one of the most pragmatic/sensible politicians in the country.

FYI: All the new boys and girls going into the house are getting something like a 92K salary - this guy is already foregoing 50% of it has he thinks its a rediculous sum of money and is going to put half of it to some better use - fair play for a guy bringing up a family...

I've nothing but respect for that man - if half the jokers were anything like this guy we wouldn't be anywhere near the mess we are in today.

Anyway hes more active in policies like the plight of people like turfcutters than anything to do with 'pot' anymore - he's got his valid arguments still why it should be legalized (take the money out of what he refers to as scumbags and let the state get tax like it does with cig/alchol etc) but thats far from the definition of him anymore - jaysus open your minds a bit and read more than the sensational Sun/Star type stories..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

I am eagerly awaiting his 5 joint plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 RJGMovie

His big issue was defending the turf cutters in the West against the latest environmental/Green rule from Brussells. The EU wants all turf cutting to stop and instead pay them lots of tax payers money just for not cutting turf. At a time when oil prices are rising, we have a massive resource in our own country, which we should exploit to the full.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

karma_ wrote: »
    I fail to see the problem with focusing on issues related to your own constituency?

I hoped that the parish pump politics would be a thing of past, I was mistaken. The Mings and the Grealishes got elected, so it seems people do want to keep local politics ahead of national agenda.

aside he did run in elections here in Galway before from what I remember of his posters, before migrating to Roscommon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Well, as he says himself by focusing on national issues you are by extension looking after local issues. Perhaps to some that's just word playing;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Rochester

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I am delighted he got elected tbh. After hearing and seeing him interviewed over the last while the man talks a lot of sense and he certainly has passion and a sense of service which contrasts with a lot who occupy Leinster House.

I wish him well and look forward to his contribution in the years to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

That documentry is pretty epic. 5 years 3 elections, where he learned a huge amount about politics. He kept going and now got where he wanted to be. Delighted for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

All the pot must have brought on a psychosis.... i.m sure i seen him on national TV ranting about cutting turf!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

I have never met him and look forward to whenever I do.
    Any radio interviews I have heard him on he seemed quite sensible moral and intelligent. He does not seem to be greedy or in politics for himself either and he makes those that are look shameful. I doubt the cannabis issue is the major issue to him or the mass of those that voted for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Is he actual stone head,as i reckon boards should be careful what they allow posters to write if there is no actual evidence he is.As thats slander.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

caseyann wrote: »
    Is he actual stone head,as i reckon boards should be careful what they allow posters to write if there is no actual evidence he is.As thats slander.

i doubt the guy is so petty as to sue boards. But as it happens he did come out in favour of legalisation or decriminalisation. Was it not him sent a joint to every TD? Many may have laughed at him then but he in in the House now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

RJGMovie wrote: »
    His big issue was defending the turf cutters in the West against the latest environmental/Green rule from Brussells. The EU wants all turf cutting to stop and instead pay them lots of tax payers money just for not cutting turf. At a time when oil prices are rising, we have a massive resource in our own country, which we should exploit to the full.

Let's nuke the whales while we're at it.

caseyann wrote: »
    He has openly admitted he's smoked cannabis and he favours legalisation. I'd like to think that any right-minded person would not view the claim that they've smoked weed as defamation.

What you're referring to is libel, by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

Luke Ming Flanagan TD.
    I believe he is honest, passionate and is exactly the new forward thinking adaptable politician that Ireland needs to shake up and sweep away the self perpetuating self serving political class that has dominated and almost destroyed our country for so long.
    So
    No, I am not surprised he was elected, but I am delighted. It is testament to his integrity that his constituents (I'm not one btw) chose him to represent them.
    I wish him all the best and I look forward to him having a productive career and being a positive influence on our body politic.

Sadly the new blood and progressive minds entering the new Dail have to sup from the poison chalice filled by their sleeveen incompetent predecessors. They have been handed a wrecked economy and a demoralised public, blighted by debt, unemployment and emigration. A tough road lies ahead so we need as much honesty and integrity as we can get into our government.

As for labeling him 'Ming the Pothead' is that supposed to be somehow insulting? If I have a glass of wine with my dinner am I a Pisshead?
    Hopefully his election/presence might ignite (spark up!) a grown up debate on the fact of life that is drug use in this country and its horrendous cost to society by blanket prohibition.

Long Live Ming! :D