Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This.... annoys me soooo much

• 01-03-2011 10:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭

Every year, the Lord Mayor of Cork receives a brand new car. It is always granted the plate xx-c-1 ie the 1st registered car in PROC. This is all a bit sycophantic but I can live with it. However, THIS..ANNOYS THE SHIGHYTE out of me. There are 750 parking spaces within 50 metres of this spot...

IMG_1744.JPG

So anyway, I sent this email to the lord mayor, & cc'ed his party leader.

Lord Mayor, & Mr. Gilmore,
    Firstly, congratulations on a great performance in the general election. I sincerely hope that Labour will have a strong role in the 31st Dail, and that the influence of the Labour party will have a much needed positive effect on the economic & social betterment of Ireland as a whole.

I feel compelled to draw your attention to the enclosed photograph, which I took myself outside the Cork city hall at approx 10am Saturday last. This is the Lord Mayor's car parked on the footpath, and also on a double yellow line, on a busy street.

This is a minor enough transgression, to be sure. However this behaviour by the Lord Mayor sends a clear signal to all citizens that he feels he is above the law in some way - or that laws are laid down to be obeyed by citizens, but not by him. Quite frankly, this is the type of behaviour that I associate with Fianna Fail - not with the Labour Party.

I hope you understand why I am taking the trouble to write to you on this. As a voter and a taxpayer, I want and deserve to be represented by people who will respect the law and the citizens of the state.

Thank you,

I await developments with interest, as they say..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Oh the humanity... somebody think of the children!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

people using the term PROC or People's republic of Cork annoy me....but I'm not going to make a thread about it, instead I'm going to go to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

You should have sent a copy to the local Gardai and asked them to have a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

The nation is in a shíte state at the moment, and this is one of your complaints? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

cloneslad wrote: »
    people using the term PROC or People's republic of Cork annoy me....but I'm not going to make a thread about it, instead I'm going to go to sleep.

Theres that attitude that FF have benifited from all these years:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

The driver is in the car. Maybe he was just waiting?

Redlion wrote: »
    The nation is in a shíte state at the moment, and this is one of your complaints? :confused:

But isnt it in a ****e state because of the deference that irish sheep give to politivians which they have taken for granted and become used to.
    Fuc this sh1t. If i cant do it , you cant do it then they cant do it.
    Its a democratic republic not a monarchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

You sure it's the Lord Mayor of Corks car, this year in Dublin they went for 11-D-11 instead.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/lordmayor/5364252472/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

The guys in the Motoring forum, specifically the Obnoxious Parking thread would love this.

And why not give out, if he doesn't play by the rules, why would anyone else?

Pherekydes wrote: »
    The driver is in the car. Maybe he was just waiting?

Yeah. You hear that from people who just pop into wheel chair spaces 'for a minute'. Wait in a parking space...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

You sure it's the Lord Mayor of Corks car, this year in Dublin they went for 11-D-11 instead.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/lordmayor/5364252472/

Fairly sure it's because 11-D-1 is in use. But don't quote me on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

I'd say Gilmore will drop everything and look into this immediately!

Car with driver in it on footpath in the emptiest street in Ireland. Absolutely Outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Fair play OP for being so proactive, maybe cc the Examiner as well that might get some more attention....It's a fairly small example of a far more deep-rooted problem but a fair cop nonetheless.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

Yeah. You hear that from people who just pop into wheel chair spaces 'for a minute'. Wait in a parking space...

If the driver is in the car I don't see what the issue is. He can move the car if there's a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

But isnt it in a ****e state because of the deference that irish sheep give to politivians which they have taken for granted and become used to.
    Fuc this sh1t. If i cant do it , you cant do it then they cant do it.
    Its a democratic republic not a monarchy
    There's a significant difference between parking on double lines and accepting bribes, and taking the piss with expenses.If the OP is gonna get all worked up over one of these, it should at least be the more important issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

TDC 2.0 140 PS Titanium

Nice car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I have to say I have done this once or twice. I know it's wrong but once I'm not holding up any traffic & I'm in the car so that I can move it if I'm being a complete pain in the hole then it's not the worst I can do.

It would have been much worse if he was parked in a disabled parking spot in my opinion.

It could have been worse but it wasn't great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I guarantee that the old dude in the pic is actually staking out the city hall, and plans to kill some people shortly.

I guarantee it.

Actually OP, seeing as you probably disturbed him on his Saturday morning mission by taking snaps in front of him......he more than likely managed to implant a chip inside your face at that given moment.

I guarantee it.

There's a significant difference between parking on double lines and accepting bribes, and taking the piss with expenses.If the OP is gonna get all worked up over one of these, it should at least be the more important issues.

I think this is an issue of fair play. Something this population is finally waking up to.
    You can be pretty dam sure that the mayor (who, apparently has a driver!!! Why?) thinks that he can flaunt the law because of who he is. That is the way of irish politics and irish politicians.
    Its the principal of the dam thing.:mad:

If the driver is in the car I don't see what the issue is. He can move the car if there's a problem.

Ask a cyclist why that is a problem.There is a reason for rules of the road, if I cycle along there I have to swing out into the road to go round that inconsiderate bast*rd.

Taking the piss with expenses doesnt put anyone in danger,taking bribes usually shouldnt hurt anyone physically.....Where do we draw the line,that is just inconsiderate,rude and disrespectful of the people who have to use both the road and footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

IMO all politicians in this country going forward should not just be angels but also be seen to be angels, considering their profession's relative unpopularity at present.

And if the lord mayor of Cork is perceived(rightly or not) to be not adhering to parking laws. It doesn't really send out the right message. Particularly in his shiny, tax-funded 11' car.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Have to disagree. Let the fukkers get away with the little stuff and they just get cheekier and cheekier, chance their arm further and further. They should be pulled up on absolutely everything they can be just to make a point. Just to let them know we are watching. After what had gone on in this country politicians should be terrified to walk out of the jacks without washing their hands just in case someone is secretly watching them.

By the reckoning by some here pedestrians can just stand in the road. "arrah sure what harm is it doing". We'll move eventually!:D

awaits the inevitable 'my car is my penis' response of
    "i'll just run the fukkers over, Ug ug ug!

You can be pretty dam sure that the mayor (who, apparently has a driver!!! Why?) thinks that he can flaunt the law because of who he is.

He isn't flouting the law. A driver may stop and wait on a double-yellow to set down or pick up passengers.
    Ronin247 wrote: »
    Ask a cyclist why that is a problem.There is a reason for rules of the road, if I cycle along there I have to swing out into the road to go round that inconsiderate bast*rd.

I'm a cyclist, and I never cycle so close to the kerb that I'm on the double yellow lines. If you look at the picture you'll see he's taking up the minimum amount of roadspace.

Edited to add: Plus, he may not be breaking the law at all, if he is, in fact, waiting.

He isn't flouting the law. A driver may stop and wait on a double-yellow to set down or pick up passengers.

I'm a cyclist, and I never cycle so close to the kerb that I'm on the double yellow lines. If you look at the picture you'll see he's taking up the minimum amount of roadspace.

Not on a foot path...

Lets be frank here. Its a politician being a c*nt and i think we have a duty to pull em up on absolutely everything!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And why does he have a driver again let alopne a free car?

Im paying for em so i think i can be pissy about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

Actually the difference is not significant - the only difference is the degree.

Of course this is not a nation-halting issue - but my problem is this... It is indicative of a rotten culture that politicians have. That is the basis of my complaint.

Edited to add: Plus, he may not be breaking the law at all, if he is, in fact, waiting.

Waiting on a footpath...... not familiar with that one .

The wing mirror is about a foot and a half into the roadway putting a cyclist well out into the (apparently) single carriageway.If you do not cycle near the kerb or yellow lines good for you,others find it safer.

Not on a foot path...

Lets be frank here. Its a politician being a c*nt and i think we have a duty to pull em up on absolutely everything!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And why does he have a driver again let alopne a free car?

Im paying for em so i think i can be pissy about it!

Have another look at the picture. There is an old chap behind and to the right. Look at where he is standing/walking. It is dished. This leads me to suspect that the car is parked across a gated entrance. In the foreground is what appears to be a retractable bollard as might be found in front of official residences.

The guy is waiting in front of a gate for his passenger to come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

The real question is, why the fúck are Lord Mayors getting a new car every year?

Crosáidí wrote: »
    The real question is, why the fúck are Lord Mayors getting a new car every year?
    ugh not this again :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

cloneslad wrote: »
    Theres that attitude that FF have benifited from all these years:rolleyes:

So making threads on Boards would have gotten them out sooner?

I'm pretty sure there was more than enough anti fianna fail / government/ greens threads throughout the past 2 years to hav done that.

Oh and :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: cos that's what the cool kids seem to be doing these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

FoxT wrote: »
    Every year, the Lord Mayor of Cork receives a brand new car. It is always granted the plate xx-c-1 ie the 1st registered car in PROC. This is all a bit sycophantic but I can live with it. However, THIS..ANNOYS THE SHIGHYTE out of me. There are 750 parking spaces within 50 metres of this spot...

IMG_1744.JPG

So anyway, I sent this email to the lord mayor, & cc'ed his party leader.

Lord Mayor, & Mr. Gilmore,
    Firstly, congratulations on a great performance in the general election. I sincerely hope that Labour will have a strong role in the 31st Dail, and that the influence of the Labour party will have a much needed positive effect on the economic & social betterment of Ireland as a whole.

I feel compelled to draw your attention to the enclosed photograph, which I took myself outside the Cork city hall at approx 10am Saturday last. This is the Lord Mayor's car parked on the footpath, and also on a double yellow line, on a busy street.

This is a minor enough transgression, to be sure. However this behaviour by the Lord Mayor sends a clear signal to all citizens that he feels he is above the law in some way - or that laws are laid down to be obeyed by citizens, but not by him. Quite frankly, this is the type of behaviour that I associate with Fianna Fail - not with the Labour Party.

I hope you understand why I am taking the trouble to write to you on this. As a voter and a taxpayer, I want and deserve to be represented by people who will respect the law and the citizens of the state.

Thank you,

I await developments with interest, as they say..

fair play

parking in cork is a total f*******king joke as it is... i have thank god left the place... my parking permit might be framed for keep sakes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Oh the humanity... somebody think of the children!!!!

Huge problem in Ireland tbh, people think it's ok to save their own time and waste other peoples time by stopping wherever they want and just stick on their hazards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Ye have a Ford, we have a Merc.

Enough said tbh...

pithater1 wrote: »
    Ye have a Ford, we have a Merc.

Enough said tbh...

Interesting to see that some elements of deluded Celtic Tiger era snobbery live on.

Mercedes > Ford.

Not snobbery; fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

This is the Lord Mayor's car parked on the footpath, and also on a double yellow line, on a busy street.

Street doesn't look that busy...in fact I can't even see one other car in the photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Yes, there are much bigger issues at the moment.

Many of them are because the politicians thought they could do what they wanted, ignore the rules, ignore common sense even.

They thought they couldn't be held accountable.

The General Election (I hope) sent them a different message.

But it's a message which we have to keep sending, because politicians by nature are a thick-skinned bunch.

The OP is doing what she can based on what she witnessed, fair play to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I approve of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Savage looking number plate though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

OP - that sort of stuff annoys me too.

What else annoys me?
    All this crap from other posters not seeing an issue with this.
    It's a double yellow line and he's on the footpath. That's wrong.

Did you get any reply back from the mayor's office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I don't see the fact that there is a driver in the car as significant. That's his job and he could be there for hours. You should certainly send this picture to a local newspaper to name and shame him. It's this above the law attitude that needs to be clamped down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

As far as I know you are allowed to park on a double yellow line for up to 30 minutes for the purposes of loading/unloading, unless local signage/bylaws specifically permit it (which may be the case here).

Though parking on a footpath is not allowed of course. Then again there's someone in the car in the drivers seat so they are responsible, as the driver. Also they could move the car quickly if there's an obstruction.

Wouldn't get too worked up about it to be honest.

stoneill wrote: »
    All this crap from other posters not seeing an issue with this.
    It's a double yellow line and he's on the footpath. That's wrong.

It's not wrong if he's waiting.

The OP hasn't mentioned how long the car was there for. It might have been minutes or, as the previous poster mentioned, hours. It's not a trivial difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

NO reply received yet from his lordship. I dont know how long the car was there. I saw it there for 5-10 mins, but I did not see it arrive, and did not see it move off. The count was in progress in the hall, and so I expect the car may have been there for some time - but, as I said, I do not know this.

-FoxT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

OP might want to head up to the (Cork) courthouse any day and see all the judges/staff cars parked on the footpath - and being minded by a Garda!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

NO reply received yet from his lordship. I dont know how long the car was there. I saw it there for 5-10 mins, but I did not see it arrive, and did not see it move off. The count was in progress in the hall, and so I expect the car may have been there for some time - but, as I said, I do not know this.

-FoxT

I dont know if this has been told to you but Ford Ireland sponsor that car to the lord mayor every year so it does not cost anything to you.

Ronin247 wrote: »
    You should have sent a copy to the local Gardai and asked them to have a word.

Local Gardai are about 20 yards away from where the picture was taken, I really really doubt they would do anything.
    Crosáidí wrote: »

As Corkie said above, it's from Ford Ireland, no charge.
    parking in cork is a total f*******king joke as it is... i have thank god left the place.....

Christmas exams didn't go well for you, bummer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Talking about inappropriate parking, there is a really good photo in yesterdays UCD newspaper of a fu*king wa*ker of a NCPS van parked in a disabled spot in UCD:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

There is no bother parking in Cork at the moment because the place is deserted half the time.

I know the car is on a double yellow line but its blocking nobody. The road and footpath are totally clear.

Talking about a making a mountain out of a molehill!!!!