Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

vitamins berocca and cod liver oil???

• 01-03-2011 8:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭

maybe someone can help? not a big fruit and veg man never was dont really eat anything unless it has a soul:eek: i know i know its bad so i got vitamins tonight i got myself centrum advanced, berocca and seven seas cod liver oil. so the thing is between them there is some stuff covered by all of them especially vitamin C and i mean a feck load of it between them all so how much is too much what would ye recommend cos i haven't the foggiest about all this craic never took them before???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Welcome to boards. :)

I don't think a multivitamin is a great replacement for proper nutrition. I'd urge you to try to get more fruit and / or veg in. Soup is a good one for that. It's also possible to get a lot of vitamins / minerals in by eating the right type of meat (liver is loaded with, well, loads of things as far as I know).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Id agree with Khannie, and also a point to remember that many mineral and vits compete in the body for absorption so it's not really a great solution for you, just think of inventive and easy and painless ways of incorporating more variety into your diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

For the water soluble ones like b and c your fine, anything surplus will be passed through and your wee will be darker than normal. Fat soluble vits like D can build up in the liver and become toxic , vit D will be in at least two of your supps and as the days get brighter your body will start to produce its own vit D from sunlight.

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭sparks24

small steps lads im trying anyway i'll try find something thats not doing the same job twice over for the vitamin D and i'll try some of the rabbit food when i can :D lived in a house with our shop attached to the side the bad habbits have always stuck with me ever since sorry to say :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭foreverandever

In Ireland we don't get anywhere near the right amount of Vit D so I would recommend taking alot of that (very good for your bones!) If you're looking for a cheaper berocca Tesco do a B-active vitamin supplement that is pretty much the same thing, if you don't mind supporting tesco