Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Rage

• 01-03-2011 6:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭

Just wanna get peoples opinons on this;

Today I was driving down a small country road at about 40mph, straight road following my girlfriend who was in front of me. A car came down its lane towards the road and stopped and I passed it. About 3 mile up the road i pulled into a garage while my girlfriend went on. Walking across the forecourt I heard someone shout at me to "come here".... it was the man in the car I passed earlier. He reckoned I was "bombing" down the road. He was seething with rage up in my face, spit coming from him he was that thick. At first I didnt know what to make of him. I laughed at him and walked off but he followed and kept shouthin so I told him to f.. off who was he to give out to me and I wasnt speeding. I asked him how come he didnt follow the car that was in front of me (my girlfriend). He told me he knows her and she doesnt speed. (Shes neva seen him b4 and was going the same speed as me). I neva said she was my girlfriend as i didnt want her involved. Slagging match ensued for next minutes with some choice words thrown in.

Jus wondering what other people would do in this situation. I basically told him to f.. off, he was just a thick little pr..k etc etc. Feel like going back 2 his house give him a proper piece of my mind but I wont as it would make things worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

'I'm sorry you feel that way.' and walk off. I've better things to be doing with my life than playing along with the issues of a random stranger, and i'd imagine you do too.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭holuc

Hard to walk off when he keeps following ya and keeps shouting!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

holuc wrote: »
    Hard to walk off when he keeps following ya and keeps shouting!!
    The point is that his issues are his problem, not yours. So what if he shouts and roars, it can only upset you as much as you let it. The fact that it's even crossed your mind to go back to his house shows that you've adopted this stranger's problem. And now you're trying to make it our problem! Let it go.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

Do you know him and are you likely to come across his path again? Sounds like he needs anger management course. I would have reacted the same way as you did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I always smile and wave in these situations which upsets them more and leaves me feeling like I didn't make a tit of myself.

Although i have to admit 18 months ago I got sick of a guy doing it in traffic so I wound down my window, opened a bottle of water took a sip and then threw the open bottle into the car and told him to cool off :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭X1R

Forget it. I had the same issue a few years ago but unfortunatly I have a short fuse. I planted the guy infront of his wife. She was an of duty garda :eek:. After much court and money spent inc anger management courses I would walk away and get home asap, spend 15-20 mins on the punch bag, issue resolved.

bmarley wrote: »
    Do you know him and are you likely to come across his path again? Sounds like he needs anger management course. I would have reacted the same way as you did.

The road he lives on is the road my parents live, I lived there up until 5 years ago. Neva seen him b4 tho. He moved from Dublin maybe 6 or 7 yrs ago id say. Will be passing his house now in about 40 mins so mite really "bomb" past it 4 d criac!!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I would have told him to go and see a head doctor that can deal with his raving insanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I would have quietly told him to get lost and then taken his reg number. Then later reported it to the gardaí. Let them deal with it (or not...:pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

The road he lives on is the road my parents live, I lived there up until 5 years ago. Neva seen him b4 tho. He moved from Dublin maybe 6 or 7 yrs ago id say. Will be passing his house now in about 40 mins so mite really "bomb" past it 4 d criac!!:P

Thats typical. Its always fellas that move down from Dublin and these places that cause trouble in country areas. You held yourself together well lad fairplay. I dont think I would have been as calm...:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

some people think they are a higher power on country roads.

i had a similar situation (as my girlfriend lives down an isolated country road). it was really only wide enough for one car, i was doing 20 or 30 and seen a car coming up the road towards me so i tucked tight into the edge and slowed to a stop planning to crawl past.

the guy in the other car kept going at 30 and threw his car up into the ditch and couldnt get it back out. he got out screaming and raving it was my fault.

i slowed to a stop and gave as much room as i could, i had done my bit.

once someone gets out after you, exactly tell them to get ****ed! if they dont leave and keep at you i reckon anything you after that could be called self defense. if he's willing to follow you for 3+ miles in a seething rage then that man is a danger!

i would have offered to ring the guards and see what they made of the situation, id say he would have left fairly sharpish that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I must be the only one, 65kph down a "small country lane" sounds pretty damn quick to me. If he was stationary, you would have absolutely bombed passed him and nearly clipped the front of his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Thats typical. Its always fellas that move down from Dublin and these places that cause trouble in country areas. You held yourself together well lad fairplay. I dont think I would have been as calm...:o

Aye, shure ya can never trust an outsider, specially them from over yonder hill, in ballynamucker...them strangers are not welcome, I tell ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

If his behaviour was aggressive or threatening or caused you to be in fear of personal injury then I believe this is considered an assault, even if he never physically touched you. Perhaps a discussion with someone in a certain blue uniform would help him reconsider his methods of complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

I guess it hasnt been copped that the guy had time to turn around and then chase and catch up with him. He must have been bombing it + 1.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Did he look anything like this?

Jack3.jpg

X1R wrote: »
    Forget it. I had the same issue a few years ago but unfortunatly I have a short fuse. I planted the guy infront of his wife. She was an of duty garda :eek:. After much court and money spent inc anger management courses I would walk away and get home asap, spend 15-20 mins on the punch bag, issue resolved.

The trick is to rile the other guy till he attacks you, in that case it's self defence, he has the bills and you might get a bit of money out of him.
    Don't throw the first punch, just make sure you throw the last, but beware, lot of nutters out there and better not to fight in the first place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

I must be the only one, 65kph down a "small country lane" sounds pretty damn quick to me. If he was stationary, you would have absolutely bombed passed him and nearly clipped the front of his car.

Yes you're on your own. You are judging someone without knowing the exact circumstances, without picture or video and without knowing the road. I can't even determine the circumstances and yet your're willing to jump in and blame the OP for the other driver stopping and having a verbal at him.
    Today I was driving down a small country road at about 40mph, straight road following my girlfriend who was in front of me. A car came down its lane towards the road and stopped and I passed it. About 3 mile up the road i pulled into a garage while my girlfriend went on. Walking across the forecourt I heard someone shout at me to "come here".... it was the man in the car I passed earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

piss on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭pissed

-Corkie- wrote: »

Jesus bhoy ..... your some langer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I would have quietly told him to get lost and then taken his reg number. Then later reported it to the gardaí. Let them deal with it (or not...:pac:)

Probably the best way to deal with it alright, even without reporting it. He sounds like a bit of a nut case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Absurdum wrote: »
    piss on him

um,,, thats absurd, he would be more pissed off then:)

robbie7730 wrote: »
    um,,, thats absurd, he would be more pissed off then:)

Life's like being a pubic hair on the rim of a public urinal.
    Sooner or later you get pissed off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Yes you're on your own. You are judging someone without knowing the exact circumstances, without picture or video and without knowing the road. I can't even determine the circumstances and yet your're willing to jump in and blame the OP for the other driver stopping and having a verbal at him.

Two sides to every story mate, youre all making the assumption that the other driver had no right to be furious. No excuse for reacting the way he did, but he may have had good reason. The OP also doesn't sound like he gives to much of a damn what anyone thinks.

From what he said, it does sound like he could have been going too fast for a small road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I reckon I'd react similar to the op. I bet if you ask around everyone thinks yer man is a knob and he moans at every little thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

OP I notice you spell it 'neva' instead of 'never'.
    Had your attacker known this I reckon you wouldnt have gotten away so lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

Just wanna get peoples opinons on this;

Today I was driving down a small country road at about 40mph, straight road following my girlfriend who was in front of me. A car came down its lane towards the road and stopped and I passed it. About 3 mile up the road i pulled into a garage while my girlfriend went on. Walking across the forecourt I heard someone shout at me to "come here".... it was the man in the car I passed earlier. He reckoned I was "bombing" down the road. He was seething with rage up in my face, spit coming from him he was that thick. At first I didnt know what to make of him. I laughed at him and walked off but he followed and kept shouthin so I told him to f.. off who was he to give out to me and I wasnt speeding. I asked him how come he didnt follow the car that was in front of me (my girlfriend). He told me he knows her and she doesnt speed. (Shes neva seen him b4 and was going the same speed as me). I neva said she was my girlfriend as i didnt want her involved. Slagging match ensued for next minutes with some choice words thrown in.

Jus wondering what other people would do in this situation. I basically told him to f.. off, he was just a thick little pr..k etc etc. Feel like going back 2 his house give him a proper piece of my mind but I wont as it would make things worse.

Had one fella attempt to give me that much abuse a few years ago, I proceeded to open the boot of my car and show him the shiny chainsaw that was sitting there. He backed off!! :D

Will be passing his house now in about 40 mins so mite really "bomb" past it 4 d criac!!:P

As I passed his house last nite I had a proper look at the area. His house is on top of a hill leading down to the road.I reckon from the top of his lane he can see the road (traffic coming from his left) as you progress down the lane you wouldnt be able to see it anymore as there is a mound of soil blocking the view. I reckon he seen my gf coming down the road from the top of lane as he came down it. I came down the road as he was half way down (couldnt see me). I think he thought der was 1 car only and that he could just drive striaght out without stopping. I drove by and he **** his pants coz he neva seen me!!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

I think this guy reacted completely over the top when he followed the OP and got out of his car to him. 40mph down a country road doesnt sound that fast (I lived down a small country road for most of my life). Without seeing the road though it is hard to say for sure. Is it a really small country road (one lane) or just a two lane with no shoulders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Two sides to every story mate, youre all making the assumption that the other driver had no right to be furious. No excuse for reacting the way he did, but he may have had good reason. The OP also doesn't sound like he gives to much of a damn what anyone thinks.

From what he said, it does sound like he could have been going too fast for a small road.

Is there any reasoning or explaination for your thoughts on this, unless you are the other guy from the story I don't see how you'd know the other side of this story. But if we're just making sh*t up in here then clearly the OP was going way to fast...and then he nearly ran over some poor innocent guy who was transporting kidneys to a childrens hospital :rolleyes:.

it a normal country road (local road). in this area theres the road and then about 3 metres of hardcore stone back to the entrance of the houses.