Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weekend car + daily banger. How do you make it work?

• 28-02-2011 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads, i wount be original here. Driving skyline to work alone starts to pysh my wallet more then ever. With prices of petrol rising so fast i will be working only for fuel alone...

So how do you get sorted you weekend toys with daily bangers? Are you getting 2 insurances? Or could i keep skyline insurance, andput temporary car instead as my daily driver? Or there is a limit how long cam i use temporary car?
    As i dont mind paying skyline insurance on some small engine banger.

I might put skyline for storage for awile. And use something economical, get skyline sorted meamwhile, do some work on it as it would be off the road.

Problem us i dont want to cancel skyline insurance, as later they can refuse insuring it. I heard a good few horror stories allright.

So to sum it up.. If you own 2 cars. Weekend and daily, what way you got it set up?

I dont care much about mazda. As misses drives it daily, and i got all of discs on it up to date. And i wount get wrid of that even if my life will depend on it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I have a Fiat Seicento as my runabout (it rarely gets used) and a 1980 Porsche 924 as my fun car. It costs 48e a year to tax and about 200e for classic insurance. That said due to the rising costs I have barely driven either car and I have started to cycle to work.

Well if you did, then its scary future for me :(. I know its bad excuse, but i wake up at 5 for work allready, if i cycle to work i can not go home from work at all lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I have barely driven either car and I have started to cycle to work.

I thought you worked in Mondello dude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭4odh4n

i am in similar situation to the OP, i have 01 toyota yaris for work, its doing 60odd miles a day and whatever running about i do in the evenings. I have an EvoIII for the weekends. It is a money pit though, this country is a b*lls as it costs an absolute fortune to have more than one car on the road, especailly if one of them is any sort of performance car at all, once you own one of them you are automatically branded a danger on the roads.
    (1) there is no option of mulit-car policies so the evo costs approx 1700 a year to insure (did get quotes up to 2700!) I am 29, 9years NCB, no points etc. no option of insuring the car as a second car or limited milage. yaris had to be insured on a new policy (although i did manage to find a company that will mirror the full NCB on the evo so cost hasn't worked out too bad), but still 500 odd.
    (2) 600 a year to tax a car that might be used twice a month :mad:
    (3) 50 a week for petrol in the yaris and could put the same again in the evo if ya go any sort of distance.
    (4) cost of an NCT every year now

its crazy money, probably not worth it at the end of the day, but its the cost of owning a performance car in this country...

4odh4n wrote: »
    i am in similar situation to the OP, i have 01 toyota yaris for work, its doing 60odd miles a day and whatever running about i do in the evenings. I have an EvoIII for the weekends. It is a money pit though, this country is a b*lls as it costs an absolute fortune to have more than one car on the road, especailly if one of them is any sort of performance car at all, once you own one of them you are automatically branded a danger on the roads.
    (1) there is no option of mulit-car policies so the evo costs approx 1700 a year to insure (did get quotes up to 2700!) I am 29, 9years NCB, no points etc. no option of insuring the car as a second car or limited milage. yaris had to be insured on a new policy (although i did manage to find a company that will mirror the full NCB on the evo so cost hasn't worked out too bad), but still 500 odd.
    (2) 600 a year to tax a car that might be used twice a month :mad:
    (3) 50 a week for petrol in the yaris and could put the same again in the evo if ya go any sort of distance.
    (4) cost of an NCT every year now

its crazy money, probably not worth it at the end of the day, but its the cost of owning a performance car in this country...

so i guess it looks really grim... i will talk to misses today, i might put skylibne in storage for some time, all the money i save i might put in to car, while it is off the road. get all bits sorted, not modding lol.

i do really low millage and it works out 50 quid a week. tax 950eu, insurance 1000eu, which is really not too bad for 24 yearold...

so if i got skyline of the road, it will work out: 500eu less on tax+ 400eu less on insurance, saving on petrol, which would go down to 30eu per weak i guess.

but if ill get second car, and will have to get second policy, extra tax. So it will save me 20 eu a week, but it will hammer me on extra expence.

so the only way is to give skyline some rest, untill better times...

no way i am selling it, as i wount find anather 4 door one like this... i will better do a track car in the end, if i will see that i cant bring it back on road :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I have my skyline for weekend use and a micra as a daily. The insurance on the micra is €300 extra on top of the €900 for the skyline but with the difference in fuel useage the micra paid for itself after about 3 weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

so i guess it looks really grim... i will talk to misses today, i might put skylibne in storage for some time, all the money i save i might put in to car, while it is off the road. get all bits sorted, not modding lol.

i do really low millage and it works out 50 quid a week. tax 950eu, insurance 1000eu, which is really not too bad for 24 yearold...

so if i got skyline of the road, it will work out: 500eu less on tax+ 400eu less on insurance, saving on petrol, which would go down to 30eu per weak i guess.

but if ill get second car, and will have to get second policy, extra tax. So it will save me 20 eu a week, but it will hammer me on extra expence.

so the only way is to give skyline some rest, untill better times...

no way i am selling it, as i wount find anather 4 door one like this... i will better do a track car in the end, if i will see that i cant bring it back on road :(
    TBH, I don't really see the figures adding up for you for a second everyday car. Also, older cars often don't like not being used. Paradoxically, I think the best way to run a weekend car is as an everyday car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

I took my 8er out of the garage last Friday after sitting in there for 2 months and she purred :D

@OP
    You'd need a second policy for the daily drive.

I got a dirt cheap starlet and insured it with insure.ie. Cost me 300 notes for the year and I now have a 5 NCB after one year relative hardship.

So that's 2 full NCB's (one is actually 7 but they usually only count 5) enabling me to run 2 'classics'

Group 1: -
    Daily = Landcruiser
    Classic = LS400 @ 300 Eur p/a (allowing for 4000 miles)

Group 2: -
    Daily = Corolla
    Classic = BMW 850i @ 80 Eur p/a (allowing for 4000 miles)

I use firstIreland these days (Thanks Alan ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I have a Mitsi Colt 1.3 as a daily driver, and a BMW 330ci as my 'nice' car. I'm driving the 330 under 3rd party extension with Quinn at the moment, but this isnt a good long term option and Id prefer to sort something a little better out, so that each car is insured properly at renewal.

Anyone any suggestions or ideas on what I can do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

ottostreet wrote: »
    I have a Mitsi Colt 1.3 as a daily driver, and a BMW 330ci as my 'nice' car. I'm driving the 330 under 3rd party extension with Quinn at the moment, but this isnt a good long term option and Id prefer to sort something a little better out, so that each car is insured properly at renewal.

Yeah. Insure both.

Sorry! Had to take the piss on this one.

I have my skyline for weekend use and a micra as a daily. The insurance on the micra is €300 extra on top of the €900 for the skyline but with the difference in fuel useage the micra paid for itself after about 3 weeks!

hmmm... do you do big millage in micra?

as i do about 200km per week in skyline atm. and it is costing me rougly 50 quid a week.

hmmm... do you do big millage in micra?

as i do about 200km per week in skyline atm. and it is costing me rougly 50 quid a week.

How many KMS do you get per tank? I used to get nearly 500kms to a tank in normal driving in my old R32.

I'm commuting 120kms per day. Aside from the fuel costs I just don't want to rack up that kind of mileage on the skyline. I put nearly 10k on it in 3 months alone before I got the micra!

Factor in fuel, servicing, 19" tyres etc and the micra(or any cheap reliable runaround) is a no-brainer IMO.

It wouldn't necessarily be worth it for 200kms a week though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

So the 330ci isn't in your name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

?

Doesnt the car have to be insured already before you can drive under 3rd party ?

voxpop wrote: »
    Doesnt the car have to be insured already before you can drive under 3rd party ?

That too, yes, as well as display a valid insurance disc

The car does not have to be otherwise insured for 3rd party extension to cover it. It is a bit messy if the car isn't though as not displaying a disc is an offence and also the car cannot be left unattended at any time either.

RoverJames wrote: »
    The car does not have to be otherwise insured for 3rd party extension to cover it. It is a bit messy if the car isn't though as not displaying a disc is an offence and also the car cannot be left unattended at any time either.

Show's you the intelligence behind the people who came up with these laws..

However, the car may not be registered in his name either!

Yep, or his spouse's I think. In fairness for what it's meant for it's quite handy, myself, my Dad and my sister would drive each others cars occassionally using the 3rd party extension thing. It's when folks try and use it to have use of a 2nd car that they own but is in someone else's name that it gets messy.

Ok so say I have a second car, that im fixing up and need to get it from A to B - I can just pop in my insurance disc from my daily driver and drive the other car on 3rd party ?

Nope - you own the second car, so you can't drive it on the same insurance.

That's how messed up this country is... :rolleyes:

Nope - you own the second car, so you can't drive it on the same insurance.

That's how messed up this country is... :rolleyes:

So if I didnt own the car - and it was sitting up with no insurance - I could drive it ?

It is a bit silly that you cant insure a second weekend car for a small amount.

So if I didnt own the car - and it was sitting up with no insurance - I could drive it ?

It is a bit silly that you cant insure a second weekend car for a small amount.

It's ridiculous.. if you didn't own it, you could legally drive it under your own insurance with the 3rd party extension, but the guards could do you for not displaying a valid insurance disc :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Interesting thread. I have a Supra and a Nissan Primera. Took the Supra off the road in late November with bad weather coming.

Supra tax is 365 every 3 months. The primera I bought has nct til 2012 and cost just over what the Supra costs for that 3 months tax.

I was putting 70 per week into the Supra before it went off the road, at todays crazy petrol prices I'm only putting 30-40 into the Primera with a lot more usage also.

I transferred the insurance to the Primera in November and come June I'll re-tax the Supra for the summer and transfer back the insurance.

I'll suffer the heavy petrol costs for the 12 weeks as there's nothing like a nice spin on a nice summers day to me. Once September, back off the road til next summer I'd imagine.

The price of the cars has also dropped so much I'd prefer to let it rot than sell it for what I'd get so I don't mind leaving it idle for so long.

Supraman wrote: »
    Interesting thread. I have a Supra and a Nissan Primera. Took the Supra off the road in late November with bad weather coming.

Supra tax is 365 every 3 months. The primera I bought has nct til 2012 and cost just over what the Supra costs for that 3 months tax.

I was putting 70 per week into the Supra before it went off the road, at todays crazy petrol prices I'm only putting 30-40 into the Primera with a lot more usage also.

I transferred the insurance to the Primera in November and come June I'll re-tax the Supra for the summer and transfer back the insurance.

I'll suffer the heavy petrol costs for the 12 weeks as there's nothing like a nice spin on a nice summers day to me. Once September, back off the road til next summer I'd imagine.

The price of the cars has also dropped so much I'd prefer to let it rot than sell it for what I'd get so I don't mind leaving it idle for so long.

i am thinking to do same. my nct is out on 7/11, so i will get some summer driving in it, and park her up when nct is out. ill get a cheap runaround for winter, meanwhile ill get skyline sorted for nct next year. Money saved will go to bring it up to standart it deserves.

Nissan doctor: MPG is briliant on motorways, but my owkr is only 15km from work. So heating her up, downheating her is killing me. Problem is i do low millage, but i do often short trips which involves heating it up.

Its really hard to stay off boosts, as now and then when you hear it, you just forget about mpg and let it go now and then.... :mad:

i agree with you that 200km per weak is not worth second car with all added insurance tax etc... so i guess, unfortunatly, one more skyline will go off the road for awile...

i wount be selling it, as there is really small chance i will be able to get anather 4 door r33 manual with that spec... I wount get much foo it, and as supraman said - i better let it rot, then sell it for buttons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

i agree with you that 200km per weak is not worth second car with all added insurance tax etc... so i guess, unfortunatly, one more skyline will go off the road for awile...

Of course I dont know your personal situation, but 200km a week is just such low mileage.. surely you only fill it once every 3 weeks? Thats like EUR140 a month even at todays prices.

Im doing over 700km a week and therefore Im (once again) looking at LPG conversion. Using my fuel calculator you can figure out the cost to fuel over long periods of upto 3 different cars/fuels: fuel.netcessible.com

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Of course I dont know your personal situation, but 200km a week is just such low mileage.. surely you only fill it once every 3 weeks? Thats like EUR140 a month even at todays prices.

He's throwing in €50/week, seems to get about 15/16mpg from it :)

indeed. moust of petrol is wasted warming damn thing up lol.

Its grand on big trips, costed me 80 quid to get to belfast and back to cork. ( for such a car) Small trips is the thing that kills me. :rolleyes:

indeed. moust of petrol is wasted warming damn thing up lol.

Its grand on big trips, costed me 80 quid to get to belfast and back to cork. ( for such a car) Small trips is the thing that kills me. :rolleyes:

You should try using it on track!:D My r32 could get nearly 500kms to a tank of normal road driving but could also near on empty the tank in less then 30kms at Mondello!:eek:

Haha sounds like skylines allright :). My skyline got omly 400hp and mpg is really not great, I think problem is that mixture is wee bit too rich too, but i presume its better have it a bit too rich then be on the edge of being to lean... Newer have problems with detonation thought. Properly heating her up too.. So it all adds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mantaraver

How many KMS do you get per tank? I used to get nearly 500kms to a tank in normal driving in my old r32 skyline

How the hell do you manage that? Is it turbo or n/a. I'm lucky to get 300-350km to a tank :eek:

mantaraver wrote: »
    How the hell do you manage that? Is it turbo or n/a. I'm lucky to get 300-350km to a tank :eek:

Long ish spins at a guess :)
    I'm commuting 120kms per day. .........I put nearly 10k on it in 3 months alone before I got the micra!

That is the thing. Long spins down effect me at all. Long trips are cheap, but wjen it comes to traffic amd small trips, am fudged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

The idea is good one, at least on paper but in real life, can you really manage driving micra, polo etc as a daily driver, especially after getting used to power and handling.

My daily driver is ls400 and it would be really hard for me to get back driving small cars. I owned Matiz 3½ years and I much more prefer the Lexus :D

Altough I must admit that I do not drive that much, maybe 100-150km per week, so even with 18mpg fuel consumption it is ok.

It was a gts-t and if they are mapped properly you will have decent economy as well as power.

It would obviously only get near 500kms on long spins of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mantaraver

Mines a GTS-t as well and I'm averaging 18 mpg. Any recommendations for a good mapper as I'd say it's running a bit on the rich side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Haha sounds like skylines allright :). My skyline got omly 400hp and mpg is really not great, I think problem is that mixture is wee bit too rich too, but i presume its better have it a bit too rich then be on the edge of being to lean... Newer have problems with detonation thought. Properly heating her up too.. So it all adds up.

Try a block heater, cost you pence in electricity save you euros in fuel especially of you can plug it in work.

Preheats engine block, they originate in Canada and cold climates and are very common over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭tony l

with petrol on the increase again iv put the sti impreza into storage and bought myself a civic sir for my daily run about now...

saves me a bomb on everything.. tax/ins an petrol..

Mines a GTS-t as well and I'm averaging 18 mpg. Any recommendations for a good mapper as I'd say it's running a bit on the rich side?

www.tdp.ie is the best in the country...

Bigus wrote: »
    Try a block heater, cost you pence in electricity save you euros in fuel especially of you can plug it in work.

Preheats engine block, they originate in Canada and cold climates and are very common over there.

They would have no effect on fuel economy or any use here. The purpose of them in extreme cold is to prevent the engine from cooling to the extent that it contracts to a degree that effects the internal piston/cylinder, crank etc clearances, which in extreme cold can actually cause an engine to seize overnight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

18mpg? I'd say you're running lean :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

They would have no effect on fuel economy or any use here. The purpose of them in extreme cold is to prevent the engine from cooling to the extent that it contracts to a degree that effects the internal piston/cylinder, crank etc clearances, which in extreme cold can actually cause an engine to seize overnight!

I beg to differ.

You're saying that bringing the Engine from stone cold to something approaching operating temp, there by cutting out a lot of enrichment for the fuel injection cold start along with warmer engine and gearbox oil and all the benefits that this in turn brings in less friction will have no effect on overall fuel ecomomy ? !

All the hypermilers use them in temperate climates in the states.

Also the bigger the engine the more effective these Block heaters are.

Listen to the op, a lot of his fuel is used to warm up the car only for it to go cold 15km later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

Hey lads, i wount be original here. Driving skyline to work alone starts to pysh my wallet more then ever. With prices of petrol rising so fast i will be working only for fuel alone...

So how do you get sorted you weekend toys with daily bangers? Are you getting 2 insurances? Or could i keep skyline insurance, andput temporary car instead as my daily driver? Or there is a limit how long cam i use temporary car?
    As i dont mind paying skyline insurance on some small engine banger.

I might put skyline for storage for awile. And use something economical, get skyline sorted meamwhile, do some work on it as it would be off the road.

Problem us i dont want to cancel skyline insurance, as later they can refuse insuring it. I heard a good few horror stories allright.

So to sum it up.. If you own 2 cars. Weekend and daily, what way you got it set up?

I dont care much about mazda. As misses drives it daily, and i got all of discs on it up to date. And i wount get wrid of that even if my life will depend on it :)

Hi bud, i am in the same ship. Have skyline and small fiat punto for 100 euro.... Havent insured yet, cos need do some work on fiat.

Bigus wrote: »
    Listen to the op, a lot of his fuel is used to warm up the car only for it to go cold 15km later.

I am listening to the OP and know quite a bit about the type of car he has and when he is talking about warming it up he doesn't mean waiting for the coolant to reach operating temperature, he means running the engine so that the oil is up to temperature before he drives the car so as to give his high performance turbocharged engine optimal protection.

Hypermilers don't drive skylines and if you warm the block, thats great, but you haven't warmed the radiator so as soon as you start the engine, the thermostat will be open(due to the warmed block) and you will circulate the cold water from the rad into your block, which could, potentially cause issues with gaskets/flange seals etc.

I do warm her up all the time, but not to optimal temperature. Just atleast above the first mark.

In winter i wa her up more. Remote start makes it awesome in cold morning when i need to be at work at 6:00.

Warming is needed for all engine components. Turbo, block, manifold, liquids. So block warming yoke is not best idea.

I could not warm her up, but dot think turbo and block will last long. I allways warm up any car i own. Turbo or not... Maybe thats why my all motors newer had major engine problems.