Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford goes Pink - Wallace tops poll

• 26-02-2011 1:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭

Mick Wallace likely to top the poll - amazing result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 The_Wexican

Fair play to him!

Any news on how everyone else is doing in the polls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Crimbouser

They are saying that wallace and howlin are likely to be voted in in first count.

I reckon Twomey should get in aswell, not sure about the rest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY Wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

irish147 wrote: »
    Mick Wallace likely to top the poll - amazing result!

Why is this amazing? I don't know anything about him? Why pink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Hope people are going to be happy with their choice here, I didn't give him a look in.

Was listening to South East Radio when Wallace arrived in. He could barely talk as he was so emotional. Delighted for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭paul71

Queen-Mise wrote: »

Because he has no history in politics, he is famous for being a builder (not a developer). Big colourful guy, I remember in 90s seeing him working on Dublin Corporation contracts when I was taking bus to college, big colourful guy, long blonde curley hair and always wore pink teeshirts.

Declared he was running very late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

And lets no forget that he founded the Wexford youths soccer club and built the whole complex which is an unbielievable community resource and great for sport in wexford!

Looked at his videos during the week, doesnt promise anything, only to do his best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

timmywex wrote: »
    And lets no forget that he founded the Wexford youths soccer club and built the whole complex which is an unbielievable community resource and great for sport in wexford!

Yup, fair play to him...

Reckon he'll form his own party, Forza Wexford :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

timmywex wrote: »

Looked at his videos during the week, doesnt promise anything, only to do his best

He's always struck me as a decent down to earth bloke. I'm sure he'll do good things and if I'm honest I'm kind of jealous that there was no one like him in my own constituency.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭irish147

wexford people are very happy with wallace here today

nullzero wrote: »
    He's always struck me as a decent down to earth bloke. I'm sure he'll do good things and if I'm honest I'm kind of jealous that there was no one like him in my own constituency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Well done Mick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭yogidc26

That's great news I passed him the other day all ways has time to say hi to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

While I'm happy for him and wish him the best I don't know how long he will last as he is up to his eyeballs in debt. Apparently he owes €40 million and while he has the decency to stick around and own up to what he owes unlike a lot of other developers he may have to declare bankruptcy and thus must resign his seat (open to clarification on this).
    Best of luck to him though, he seems to be a man of integrity and in politics people like that are as rare as hens teeth.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0212/1224289636388.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Queen-Mise wrote: »

Maybe he's ghey ... I donno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭haron

true about him been up to his neck in debt. i expected him to get elected though.. but is it a protest kinda vote like we sent dustin to the eurovision?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

Honestly, what do people see in him???

I vaugely remember him being on the late show, but watched him properly on Vincent Browne where I thought he was a complete fool. He had no real policies, he did not present himself well (he could not communicate clearly), plus he is a failed banker. Why the people of Wexford voted for him is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

sounds like another local-yokel to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Maybe he's ghey ... I donno.

"I was always fond of the colour and it's a challenge to the sad macho element in Irish society. Sure isn't it nice to be different." - Mick Wallace.

Delighted he's been elected, Ireland needs more counterintuitive thinkers like him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

mgmt wrote: »
    Honestly, what do people see in him???

I vaugely remember him being on the late show, but watched him properly on Vincent Browne where I thought he was a complete fool. He had no real policies, he did not present himself well (he could not communicate clearly), plus he is a failed banker. Why the people of Wexford voted for him is beyond me.
    Firstly he was a developer, not a banker and secondly he is a man of principle. He stood up to the government against his own best interests and called them out on a lot of things. He could have easily played the game like the rest of the slimy feckers but he didn't and it cost him a lot of work and handy money. He has apparently done alot of good work in Wexford off his own bat, not because there was anything in it for him but because he genuinely wanted to help those around him. If that doesn't qualify him to be a public representative then I don't know what does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭irish147

http://www.rte.ie/news/election2011/results/wexford.html
    Firstly he was a developer, not a banker and secondly he is a man of principle. He stood up to the government against his own best interests and called them out on a lot of things. He could have easily played the game like the rest of the slimy feckers but he didn't and it cost him a lot of work and handy money. He has apparently done alot of good work in Wexford off his own bat, not because there was anything in it for him but because he genuinely wanted to help those around him. If that doesn't qualify him to be a public representative then I don't know what does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Seen him on Vincent.I'm delighted he got but is he a politician?I don't know seems a bit too normal.Can't see him lasting his intentions are good but he's mixing with a different breed of person in the Politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

he was against the Iraq and Afghanistan Wars also, he put signs up on some of his buildings.

38740_1.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭thunderthing

Fair play to Mick, I'm happy he got in.

Just wondering, what do you mean by that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

Fair play to Mick, I'm happy he got in.

Just wondering, what do you mean by that?

He lost a lot of government contracts because of his banners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭patff

Congratulations to Mick Wallace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Delighted Mick Wallace was elected. I think he's a decent honest man who will do his best in the Dail - what more can you ask