Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

270 or 308

• 25-02-2011 4:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭

well lads just looking for a bit of advice my mate is going
    changing his rifle for stalking next season and he does not
    know what calibre to get he has heard both good and bad
    things about the .270 and .308 i would be gratful for any
    comments,thanks :confused::confused::confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 184 ✭✭custom 7mm08

it really is up to your mate. each fella differs in relation to calibres ammo etc. if it were me i would go with the 308. they are a good round and with the right bullet could be lethal. there is also a good range of ammo for the 308. main thing is to find one he likes and stick with it

what kind of optics had he in mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭ballistic

The main difference is that the 270 win will shoot flatter. Have a look at how high the round needs to be for a 200 yard zero with both. I shoot a 270.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Both are superb rounds. Couldn't go wrong with either. .270 is louder though. I find a .308 alright to shoot without a mod but the .270 is a bit barky. Recoil is near identical, both kill game well, both have plenty of ammo available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Fitzy....go the .270..... Then you`lll never have to say to yourself "maybe I should of gone the .270" not much wrong the 308 though....

Me personally if I was to choose between the 2 it would be the .270 hands down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fallowbuck

270. my opinion like said b4 its flatter shooting , both have good characteristic just about which one twist your arm.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

I will have to disagree with Dwight for the crack.

.308 is the best round. More versatile more rounds more acceptable for shooting pigs. And so on.

Oh ya it's easier on the recoil and not as loud as the .270.

Having said that both are excellent cal's.

Okay, too much equivocation in that first post. If it were me, it'd definitely be a .270, but like I said, both are great. To me, the .270 is just the classic stalking round. Someday I'd love a classic mauser type mountain rifle, fixed scope and so on, in .270. Jack O'Connor style. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭stick shooter

As a dedicated stalking calibre the .270 is by far the best round . I am sure this tread will go off on a tangent about calibre selection . But the fact is you only need one weight , make of ammo for stalking . And as for people saying go for a certain calibre because of cheaper ammo .That is just rubbish ,A calibre for stalking should not come down to weather each shot costs 1.40 or 170. Lets face it how many shots will be fired on a days stalking. It should be picked because its the best calibre for the job in hand .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭meathshooter1

I shoot 308 and zero it 1.5 inch high @100yrds with 150 grain, find this set up the best for 308 gives me the best shooting scenario out from 100 to 200yrds,I personally very seldom would take a shot over 200 and find most shots would be 50 to 100yrds.friend shoots a .270 which is also a fine round its really down to personal preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭zeissman

If I couldnt decide between a 270 and 308 I would go 7mm08.

As a dedicated stalking calibre the .270 is by far the best round . I am sure this tread will go off on a tangent about calibre selection . But the fact is you only need one weight , make of ammo for stalking . And as for people saying go for a certain calibre because of cheaper ammo .That is just rubbish ,A calibre for stalking should not come down to weather each shot costs 1.40 or 170. Lets face it how many shots will be fired on a days stalking. It should be picked because its the best calibre for the job in hand .

Well for some who can afford expensive rounds for target practice.
    Any hunter worth their salt should practice as often as they can. Getting trigger time is all important and cheaper ammo lends it's self to this. It helps promote mussel memory and so on.
    Anyone that says they don't need to practice for stalking is full of dung if you ask me.
    So availability of cheap rounds is a consideration when choosing a round for hunting.

Just so you know I use premium ammo for hunting. As you said price shouldn't come into it when choosing a round for shooting any animal.

Was talking to a stalker from the IDS who shoots a 6.5x68. He was saying a box of ammo was about €100. :eek: Kinda puts squabbling over the difference between a .270 and a .308, or even a .300 Win Mag, into perspective, eh?

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    Well for some who can afford expensive rounds for target practice.
    Any hunter worth their salt should practice as often as they can. Getting trigger time is all important and cheaper ammo lends it's self to this. It helps promote mussel memory and so on.
    Anyone that says they don't need to practice for stalking is full of dung if you ask me.
    So availability of cheap rounds is a consideration when choosing a round for hunting.

Just so you know I use premium ammo for hunting. As you said price shouldn't come into it when choosing a round for shooting any animal.

This is what i said earlier about going off on a tangent .
    There was no mention from the op about target shoot .;)
    You want to practice buy a .22lr.
    How about we read all the post and keep on topic and not get personal .

This is what i said earlier about going off on a tangent .
    There was no mention from the op about target shoot .;)
    You want to practice buy a .22lr.
    How about we read all the post and keep on topic and not get personal .

I have a .22lr. And I practice .22lr shooting with that.
    Centre fire is different to shooting rimfire. But I'm sure you already knew that and you didn't mean to say that I should practice shooting a .308 with a .22 cos that would be silly. :rolleyes:

As for the op he asked about a cal .270 or .308 and the advantages of either and all comments welcome.
    I stated my reasons for choosing a .308 over another cal and they are valid.

And I will state again practice makes pourfect.
    You may not need to but I do as a mear mortal

My I add I appolagise if you took me up the wrong way I was not getting personal to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Have you considered the 30-06?

zeissman wrote: »

noble choice:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭GixxerThou

.270 with 130g balistic tip will not be beaten for putting sika down. Works better than some magnum calibers too.

poor choice of ammo in this country, very droopy with 140s.

GixxerThou wrote: »
    .270 with 130g balistic tip will not be beaten for putting sika down. Works better than some magnum calibers too.

Hows it for gut shots Gixxer?

ballistic wrote: »
    Hows it for gut shots Gixxer?

Now now ,play nice do you gut shoot ???

I consider the rumen and reticulum as my vitals! Only joking. I dont think there is any caliber that will kill instantly with a gut shot?

poor choice of ammo in this country, very droopy with 140s.

droopier than the 270 but not the 308......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

fitzy700 wrote: »
    well lads just looking for a bit of advice my mate is going
    changing his rifle for stalking next season and he does not
    know what calibre to get he has heard both good and bad
    things about the .270 and .308 i would be gratful for any
    comments,thanks :confused::confused::confused:

308 308 308 :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Shame there is not more ammo available for 7mm-08

I'd like one for Varminting/stalking (in an ideal world)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭zeissman

In an ideal world we could reload our own ammo.
    Great choice of bullet heads in 7mm.

In an ideal world we could reload our own ammo.
    Great choice of bullet heads in 7mm.

I had considered it before buying the .308

I had looked at .25-06,7mm-08,.308 and .30-06

I went .308 and am Happy out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

Not picking on you now Tack i'm just making a relevant point and your post fits the bill to quote! ;)

I often see when people talking about calibres many of them say like above, i'd love a 7mm-08 but their isnt enough ammo available for it or some other good reason.

But when someone has a .270 and is shooting well with it they never seem to want for a different calibre! Yes a .308 has a wider range of ammo and cheaper ammo can be bought but for me going from a .270 to a .308 would be a step backwards as would be if I changed to a 7mm-08 or .243! Being honest I would love a .308 and intend on getting one in the future but that would be for target and not for hunting!

patsat wrote: »
    Not picking on you now Tack i'm just making a relevant point and your post fits the bill to quote! ;)

I often see when people talking about calibres many of them say like above, i'd love a 7mm-08 but their isnt enough ammo available for it or some other good reason.

But when someone has a .270 and is shooting well with it they never seem to want for a different calibre! Yes a .308 has a wider range of ammo and cheaper ammo can be bought but for me going from a .270 to a .308 would be a step backwards as would be if I changed to a 7mm-08 or .243! Being honest I would love a .308 and intend on getting one in the future but that would be for target and not for hunting!

7mm-08 as recoil is milder than .308 and almost the same knock down

I do not like .270 recoil mod on or off

7mm-08 as recoil is milder than .308 and almost the same knock down

I do not like .270 recoil mod on or off

For a stalking rifle with no mod then I'd go for the 7mm-08...I would not buy a .270 with the intention of using it without a mod.....but I do use a mod so .270 is king for me!:cool:

Most important thing is to choose the right rifle!Then match the caliber to it!

For a stalking rifle with no mod then I'd go for the 7mm-08...I would not buy a .270 with the intention of using it without a mod.....but I do use a mod so .270 is king for me!:cool:

Most important thing is to choose the right rifle!Then match the caliber to it!

Without doubt.

20" .308 handles like a dream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

...........Centre fire is different to shooting rimfire....................

How? All the principles of rifle shooting are constant no matter what equipment or calibre are being used.

For stalking only I'd go .270 for stalking & target I'd go .308 :D

How? All the principles of rifle shooting are constant no matter what equipment or calibre are being used.

For stalking only I'd go .270 for stalking & target I'd go .308 :D

sorry bunny you completely missed my point.
    you cant practice with one gun then pick up another one and expect to know its POI and drops at distance etc.
    i agree that principles are the same.

sorry bunny you completely missed my point.
    you cant practice with one gun then pick up another one and expect to know its POI and drops at distance etc.
    i agree that principles are the same.

When your working out your poi and drops tho you need to use the premium ammo that you use for hunting!

No point in working out the drop charts for .308 fmj and then scratch your head wondering what to do when a deer is at 300 yards and your using superformance! :eek:

Fmj ammo is great for a cheap way to practice a bit but I believe perfect practice makes perfect!

When your working out your poi and drops tho you need to use the premium ammo that you use for hunting!

No point in working out the drop charts for .308 fmj and then scratch your head wondering what to do when a deer is at 300 yards and your using superformance! :eek:

Fmj ammo is great for a cheap way to practice a bit but I believe perfect practice makes perfect!

ok this is obviously pick on poulo week.

i have practiced with superformance and i shoot them comfortably thanks. i bought 100 rounds of them and i have 25 left

i also enjoy triger time with cheaper rounds. practice makes perfect.

anyway talk is cheep. if you want to back up your argument for not practicing. then show me how not shooting makes you a better shot

Ahh now paulo we ain't picking on you atal! Sure it's not your fault you bought a .308! :P

I'd love the chance to have fmj or other cheap ammo for practice and improving my shooting, but weighing that up against the extra power and flatter trajectory I choose the .270!

I do practice! :D But Hornady SSTs ain't cheap!! :eek:

ok this is obviously pick on poulo week.

i have practiced with superformance and i shoot them comfortably thanks. i bought 100 rounds of them and i have 25 left

i also enjoy triger time with cheaper rounds. practice makes perfect.

anyway talk is cheep. if you want to back up your argument for not practicing. then show me how not shooting makes you a better shot

Once again we go back to talking about target practice . Which is total crap . What is the size of the kill zone on a deer at a 100 yards . Dont really think its down to target accuracy ,more along the lines of cop on and knowing ware to shoot and no amount of target rounds will help with that .

are you for real
    you dont need to practice. wow
    so you can get a gun lock it into your gun case and never shoot it until you go out to shoot a deer. that ethical:rolleyes:

we are blessed to be in your presence, i suppose you can walk on water aswell.

i bought my rifle to shoot it. of an afternoon i can head of to one of several places i have to shoot and set op deer sized targets at different ranges and i practice.

350mtarget.jpg

i enjoy practicing with my rifle.

this group is at 430y. not that i shoot deer that far but i know i can if i have to because i practice

350m3082.jpg

i do the same thing with my .223

5d9ad02e.jpg

please bless me with your wisdom.

As already pointed out the average person isn't as gifted as you, we require practice to know how we are shooting, to know how our gun is shooting,to know how our ammo is shooting,and all at different distances...

But for u I suppose that's different :rolleyes:

Anyway did I mention to everyone else that a .270 is better than a .308! :D

This is what i ment when i said about going off in a tangent and going way off topic .And talking crap about cheat ammo and target shooting .If you want cheap shooting buy a .22 lr and if you want target practice go to a range .The op wanted to know the best stalking calibre .Dont think he wanted to listen to people trying to massage there own ego or look at pictures of shooting plate steel. The fact that i am making, is what the kill zone on a deer at 100 yards 4" or 5" well what is it . If you find it hard to group that, then there is not enough practice in the world going to help you .And as for that steel plate it wont mess with you again:rolleyes: So we are not talking .5 moa groups more like 3 moa groups not quiet target accuracy .

So a 5" kill zone with a rifle that can shoot .5 moa

And what happens if let's say the gun is firing 3 inches to the left?? That would put it outside this 5" inch killzone...

I wonder how we could make sure this doesn't happen :confused: hmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭mrbrianj

I understand and agree with you both. You need practice, andall shooting is good Craic. But you buy a stalking rifle to hunt not to practice, but you must practice to know how your rifle shoots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

obviously anyone who purchases a stalking rifle to shoot deer will practice with it, if you race a car you dont just park it up after each race. any way op, dont know which calibre is better,have no experience of either. dont think you will go wrong with either from what the lads are saying

In the off season I practice on long range varmints to keep me sharp

I use the same ammo for hunting as I do for practising (currently superperformance

No deer as yet with superperformance however quite a few head-shot bunnies.

Shot a bunny last night in fact whilst out foxing.

Monday will be my last hurrah

I know where there is a doe and calf, like to get a calf for the pot!

For stalking a small rifle is ideal with mild recoil in case a follow up shot is need for mammy deer!

Ahh now paulo we ain't picking on you atal! Sure it's not your fault you bought a .308! :P

I'd love the chance to have fmj or other cheap ammo for practice and improving my shooting, but weighing that up against the extra power and flatter trajectory I choose the .270!

I do practice! :D But Hornady SSTs ain't cheap!! :eek:
    I have sako 130g fmj for .270, Great for summer practice!

How much is that setting you back? Would be interesting if the .270 had cheap practice ammo.

ballistic wrote: »
    I consider the rumen and reticulum as my vitals! Only joking. I dont think there is any caliber that will kill instantly with a gut shot?

the super-dee-duper bullets worked ok on gut shots today! It's a goat you need to follow the grass trail not a deer hound!

How much is that setting you back? Would be interesting if the .270 had cheap practice ammo.

20 yo yo's a box

Cheers, that's excellent. Had just sent you a PM in case you didn't want to say i public or anything. That's a great price. Hmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

are you for real
    so you can get a gun lock it into your gun case and never shoot it until you go out to shoot a deer. that ethical:rolleyes:

i bought my rifle to shoot it. of an afternoon i can head of to one of several places i have to shoot and set op deer sized targets at different ranges and i practice.

350mtarget.jpg

poulo6.5 that is one sweet target:eek: you make it yourself?

Spunk84 wrote: »
    are you for real

350mtarget.jpg

poulo6.5 that is one sweet target:eek: you make it yourself?

Cheers.
    I wouldn't call it sweet. More like rough an ready.
    It's roughly the size of a deer.
    I picked up a sheet of 1/4" steel from a scrap yard and used there gass torch to cut out a load of shapes.
    I have deer, fox and bunny silhouett's