Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

As a follow on....

• 25-02-2011 2:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭

right lads, following on from my previous thread on the 1.8 mazda 6, ive now decided to branch out a bit. its very hard to get a reasonable mileage mazda 6 2004/5ish for under 5000, had the perfect one today after a long wait but just missed out. so now im thinking, maybe ill get a 1.8 vectra design? seems to be a nice one here http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1829460 no mention of a nct though?
    theres also this 2.0 cdi http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1786161. prob a bit slow and i dont do too many miles a year.(8k miles)

on the other end of the spectrum i have kind of grown partial to celicas,more so red ones like http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1913772
    being 19 i would prefer the 140bhp and not monumental mileage.

so basically to cut the crap. i have a 04 1.4 astra atm but want rid, something with similar mpg 36-40ish but a bit quicker preferably. comfort isnt a must being young but i like the extras and interior on the 6 and vectra.
    budget is 5000, but maybe 5300 with bargaining down.

thank you:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

5k miles a year you're not going to get the most out of a 36+mpg car unless its all motorway driving.

very strange choices for a 19 year old I must say, speaking as one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

5k miles a year you're not going to get the most out of a 36+mpg car unless its all motorway driving.

very strange choices for a 19 year old I must say, speaking as one :pac:

yeah well i likes my sophistication and being different.:D most of my buddies have 1.4 golfs/focuses and nasty nasty old civics. in fact its the interior thats putting me off the celica a bit!
    and i suppose 8k miles is more like it

Well diesel is completely pointless at such low miles... you'd want >30k for it to be beneficial

Seeing as you're looking at ~2L cars, how're you sorted for insurance?

edit: If you want somewhat sophisticated / comfy / extras, maybe look at a lexus is200? or even a Toyota altezza with beams engine? You might find it tricky getting insured, and there's no way you'll get 36mpg+, but they are very comfy, very nice cars with a bit of poke (and rwd)

Well diesel is completely pointless at such low miles... you'd want >30k for it to be beneficial

Seeing as you're looking at ~2L cars, how're you sorted for insurance?

yeah i know its kinda pointless especially with possible DPF etc etc problems (not that the vectra has them as much i dont think?) but it'd make me feel better not seeing the needle go down so bloody quick:D
    well i rang quinn for a quote on the mazda 6 and i got 1250 fully comp on my own. ive my full since aug 09. been under my ol man since then. no points or claims

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

*20 year old male enters the room, to show the 19 year olds how its done*

the pictures dont do the yawn factor of the vectras interior justice. i remember when dad was trading in his corsa i sat in a new vectra, i spent months in a coma. the doctor said it was boredom induced.*

celicas are nice, i looked into insurance on one, then looked again, then flinched and looked away, not cheap. though the 140bhp models are easier to insure than the 190's.

considered a corolla t-sport?

reliable, lots of spec, 1.9 vvtl-i goodness, easier to insure, reasonably spacious and respectable looking too.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1844235
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1878544
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1783066
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1893165
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1895456

*yarns may not be totally factual

thought about the lexus alright but just never really liked them too much. most are done up horribly anyway

See if you can get a drive in one, might change your opinion. And shouldn't be too hard to find a fairly standard is200

i have considered them alrite andy and they are a possibility but just something about them...

ill ring quinn again tomorrow CM but cant see it going well :D

andyseadog wrote: »
    though the 140bhp models are easier to insure than the 190's.

140bhp Celicas are a no no really, the oil drinking problem can get really really excessive.

I can see how a nicely specced Mazda 6 would appeal to a 19 year old, I couldn't see one returning the mpg you expect though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Around 5k - check
    Quick enough - check
    Reasonable to insure - check
    Can return 35mpg (at a push) - check
    High standard specification - check
    Boot big enough to carry the moon in - check

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1922547
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1733376
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1815761

R.O.R wrote: »
    Around 5k - check
    Quick enough - check
    Reasonable to insure - check
    Can return 35mpg (at a push) - check
    High standard specification - check
    Boot big enough to carry the moon in - check

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1922547
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1733376
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1815761

Insuring one at 19? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

RoverJames wrote: »
    Insuring one at 19? :pac:

No where near the cost of a GTI to insure, surprisingly reasonable.

Was cheaper to insure than the Mondeo I traded in against a VRs in 05, and the insurance went up when I changed to the Accord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

140bhp Celicas are a no no really, the oil drinking problem can get really really excessive.

And people say the RX8 is bad :D

all reasonable suggestions guys, the vrs has always been in the back of mind and ive looked at those 3 links many times but im just not sure i would be happy once i bought it.
    a mazda 6, going on owners reviews, can get 36ish easily

And people say the RX8 is bad :D

do the 140bhp really drink a load of oil? i read into it and people seem to never have oil burning problems with it apart from a few?
    any previous owners?

ok rang quinn, anything above 125bhp and i have to be 21. they wouldnt even quote me on a 1.8 vectra even though it has the same power and top speed as a mazda 6?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

ok rang quinn, anything above 125bhp and i have to be 21. they wouldnt even quote me on a 1.8 vectra even though it has the same power and top speed as a mazda 6?:confused:

That's insurance companies for you.

What about a BMW 318? I'll have a better think later, but I got insured handy on one at 19.

ottostreet wrote: »
    That's insurance companies for you.

What about a BMW 318? I'll have a better think later, but I got insured handy on one at 19.

i just got a quote online for the vectra for 1300? and thats with 1yr full license and 1ncb even though i nearly have two of each. i heard 316/318/320s require alot of care when they get older?
    think away please:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

If you were looking at Vectra's would you consider a Saab 9-3, it would be a much nicer place to be than a Vectra though you might have to step back a year to get one within budget

The BHP/Literage limit on your insurance might be an issue too but it seems to fit with what you are looking for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

i just got a quote online for the vectra for 1300? and thats with 1yr full license and 1ncb even though i nearly have two of each. i heard 316/318/320s require alot of care when they get older?
    think away please:D

Depends. the 92-99 3 Series (E36) became affordable to anyone two-three years ago, and as a result, its more difficult to get a clean example.

The E46 (99-05) is still a little bit more expensive, and you don't see a huge amount of the coupes...gorgeous car too. I've had both (E36 318is and E46 330ci), and the E46 is just...fantastic. I loved the E36 and think I prefer its external looks, but to drive, the E46 is just great.

Links to both:
    E36 318is (looks pretty good)

E46 318ci...full leahter and NCT so not too bad

If you were looking at Vectra's would you consider a Saab 9-3, it would be a much nicer place to be than a Vectra though you might have to step back a year to get one within budget

The BHP/Literage limit on your insurance might be an issue too but it seems to fit with what you are looking for

there is a lovely red 93 on donedeal alright but quinn wont give me a quote online as its the 1.8t linear http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1917813
    if someone could find me a few examples of the 1.8 120bhp one please....

Thats just quinn talking through their hole again. If you buy it and ring them telling them you've bought it and want to transfer, they'll do it.

do the 140bhp really drink a load of oil? i read into it and people seem to never have oil burning problems with it apart from a few?
    any previous owners?

When I had my Celica I used to post a bit on the Celica forum on ToyotaOwnersClub.com, not all the 140bhp burn oil as loads of them have had new engines but lots and lots of them too. The repected folks on the forum used to advise people to be very very wary of buying one. It's not the sort of thing you can check easily prior to buying and was more or less a design/manufactured flaw so I wouldn't touch one for fear of being caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

When I had my Celica I used to post a bit on the Celica forum on ToyotaOwnersClub.com, not all the 140bhp burn oil as loads of them have had new engines but lots and lots of them too. The repected folks on the forum used to advise people to be very very wary of buying one. It's not the sort of thing you can check easily prior to buying and was more or less a design/manufactured flaw so I wouldn't touch one for fear of being caught.

Ya but those Celicas were a proper mans car. I would neraly get over the oil problem but it is the image the car gives of that I dont like....
    It all seems a bit girly to me or something a young hairdresser would drive. I think Toyota forgot the word Butch when they designed that Celica..

Yeah, I don't like the last model Celica either to be honest, the Gen7 I think it was, 99 on ones. Could see myself getting another Gen6 though or a Rev3 MR2 :D

The 2012 Celica looks the job, might get one of them in 2025 :pac:

i only like it in red really. its proving difficult to get a nice fastish sophisticated car at 19. its like they want me to get a ek civic:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

The 2012 Celica looks the job, might get one of them in 2025 :pac:

Are you referring to the FT-86? If they put that into production, I hope they call it the FT-86 and not Celica.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I can recommend a car. I had a 1.4 Astra (see sig) and like it but just fancied a change.

I picked up a 1.8 Astra Bertone the other day in blue. Has a full black heated leather interior with the comfiest seats I've ever sat in. Has 125bhp (feels like a lot more however, a lot of torque), comes standard with close ratio gearbox can shift nicely. Has 36 mpg by the book by I assume thats motorway driving. If driven gently it isn't bad at all. Can move along grand without going over 2k revs.

I'm 20 and got onto FBD, with two years NCB and got insured for 950 tpft.

Not bad in my books :)

I can recommend a car. I had a 1.4 Astra (see sig) and like it but just fancied a change.

I picked up a 1.8 Astra Bertone the other day in blue. Has a full black heated leather interior with the comfiest seats I've ever sat in. Has 125bhp (feels like a lot more however, a lot of torque), comes standard with close ratio gearbox can shift nicely. Has 36 mpg by the book by I assume thats motorway driving. If driven gently it isn't bad at all. Can move along grand without going over 2k revs.

I'm 20 and got onto FBD, with two years NCB and got insured for 950 tpft.

Not bad in my books :)

they arent bad but the insides are the same as my current and are just dated imo. **** **** **** SAKE just saw this mazda 6 http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1930955 im on donedeal intermittently nearly all day most days and then this was put up bout 5mins after i left for work!

Im not being smart because at the end of the day this is your decision, but I think the Astra interior (as you say looks dated) is a lot more pleasing on the eye than the Mazda 6. Just my opinion. Mazda isn't a bad car at all though.

Astra interior:

IMG20110224_004.jpg

Mazda interior:

Full?id=5443950

Im not being smart because at the end of the day this is your decision, but I think the Astra interior (as you say looks dated) is a lot more pleasing on the eye than the Mazda 6. Just my opinion. Mazda isn't a bad car at all though.

Astra interior:

IMG20110224_004.jpg

Mazda interior:

Full?id=5443950
    i know your not being smart any comment is helpful:D yeah i see where your coming from, what year is yours and how many miles? how much was it too if you dont mind me asking. theres a red one in cork i like but no leather and its overpriced. most on donedeal have huge mileage or look horrible

No bother :) Mine is 2003 and has 86k with a full service history. If you were to pick one up get a 02 upwards one as they have the Z series engine which has 10bhp more and is less problematic.

I paid 3,400 for mine and came with a 2013 NCT in perfect condition.

I know the guy who used to own that red one, he sold it about 6 months ago and was very well looked after but don't know how the current owner has treated it, here is the build thread from it:

http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/showthread.php?t=151040

Also I may not be 100% on the dates when the X series engines were replaced by the Z. If unsure, have a look at the manifolds and if the Catalytic converter is on the manifold it is the better Z series engine.

feckin hell he is some man to do all that!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, how about a MG ZS? 105bhp from a 1.4 litre engine and this one is well within budget:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201045200177331

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

yeah well i likes my sophistication and being different.:D most of my buddies have 1.4 golfs/focuses and nasty nasty old civics. in fact its the interior thats putting me off the celica a bit!
    and i suppose 8k miles is more like it
    The Celica interior is putting you off and you're thinking about a Vectra? The Vectra interior is the worst of all time. And the rest of the car is no better. You'd do well to scratch it off your list and never think of it again.
    Ah, probably in a few abused ones. It's over rated that problem.
    -Corkie- wrote: »
    Ya but those Celicas were a proper mans car. I would neraly get over the oil problem but it is the image the car gives of that I dont like....
    It all seems a bit girly to me or something a young hairdresser would drive. I think Toyota forgot the word Butch when they designed that Celica..
    Not at all, it's just that the Irish don't like anything that doesn't look like a feckin Bora. The Gen 6 Celica's look dated now, where as a clean gen 7 in the right colour still looks better than many cars that came out in 99, and besides the Gen 7's are leagues ahead of them in every respect.

yeah but the celica is off the list anyway til im 21 :( it really does look like a mazda 6 is it for me. gonna ring this fella straight away in the morning http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1930955

All the best with it :)