Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seachtain na Gaeilge

• 24-02-2011 10:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭

Are you going to take part in Seachtain na Gaeilge? Go to any events? Use the few words?

SnaG 2011

Its the perfect time to dust down your Cupla Focal and give it a go again.

SnaG will be between the 5th and 17th of March.

Tá Gaeilge gnéasach, Úsáid do teanga.:D

SnaG Poster

*This thread has nothing to do with Irish in Schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Aon focal, dha focal, truir focal eile, i got no, no focal at all

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

It's snowing the Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Irish snow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

humberklog wrote: »
    It's snowing the Irish?

Nope, That would be Sneachta na Gaeilge.

Seachtain na Gaeilge, Irish week;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Are you going to take part in Seachtain na Gaeilge? Go to any events? Use the few words?

No

Dont really see the point either TBH

Either this is the sort of thing which floats your boat -in which case every week is Seachtain na Gaeilge

Or youre like me...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

And it'll be the last one ever, because the new FG majority govt will bring back the tally stick.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Nope, That would be Sneachta na Gaeilge.

Seachtain na Gaeilge, Irish week;)

I'm Irish weak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

orourkeda wrote: »

Is there a reason your trying to Troll this thread?

humberklog wrote: »
    I'm Irish weak.

Never to late to learn:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

It's tokenism imo deise.

I'd love to see the language reinvigorated but there's no real desire for it to happen on a popular or political level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Iarracht mé beagán gach lá. :o:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Cathaoirleach

Beidh mé ann!

Where are Kíla playing this year? I usually do that for SnaG.

It's tokenism imo deise.

I'd love to see the language reinvigorated but there's no real desire for it to happen on a popular or political level.

The week? Its a great Promotional oppertunity, as for the language its self, it happens to be quite popular with the young.

Beidh mé ann!

Where are Kíla playing this year? I usually do that for SnaG.

COncert with Liam Ó Maonlaí and Rónán Ó Snodaigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Some conversational irish for beginners:

I hate england Is fuath liom Sasana
    Where's the train to London áit a bhfuil an traein go Londain
    Where is my drink Cá bhfuil mo deoch
    Can I borrow 50 billion Euro An féidir liom a fháil ar iasacht beagán airgid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

no i say this event would be very boring and i have no interest in the language and its events like these that are keeping it alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Deánfaidh mé mo dhícheall!

(Tá súil agam go bhfuil an litriú ceart agam!)

The week? Its a great Promotional oppertunity, as for the language its self, it happens to be quite popular with the young.

I admire the enthusiasm for the language from those involved in its promotion but it's revival would require some bold initiatives and aforementioned popular support to take flight.

cml387 wrote: »
    Some conversational irish for beginners:

I hate england Is fuath liom Sasana
    Where's the train to London áit a bhfuil an traein go Londain
    Where is my drink Cá bhfuil mo deoch
    Can I borrow 50 billion Euro An féidir liom a fháil ar iasacht beagán airgid

Is brea liom Sasana, ach is fearr liom Éire,
    Cá bhfuil an trean go BÁC? Beidh ceolcoirm ar siúl amarach.
    Cá bhfuil mo bhean? Tá bradán ar mo duán.

Tá siad nios fearr, imt

I admire the enthusiasm for the language from those involved in its promotion but it's revival would require some bold initiatives and aforementioned popular support to take flight.

You only need to look at the growth of the Gaelscoil movement to see the potential for the language. As it is there are 40,000 kids outside the gaelthacht using Irish as their means of communication for all their subjects in School.

ricero wrote: »
    no i say this event would be very boring.

What makes you think that? We will be doing all sorts of stuff in Limerick.

Balloon Release, Speed dating as Gaeilge, Fireworks, Drinking excessivly....

We are getting these lads down to da a concert on the last night too.

Tá bradán ar mo duán.

Salmon is my kidney. ????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

I would make an effort alright, but if i saw any posters with Daithi O' Se on them promoting it, you would have lost me.

Tá bradán ar mo duán.

Salmon is my kidney. ????????

Literally 'Iv a salmon on my hook' It means - Iv a boner;)

rebel10 wrote: »
    I would make an effort alright, but if i saw any posters with Daithi O' Se on them promoting it, you would have lost me.

How about this one?

[Embedded Image Removed]

Speed dating as Gaeilge

Nothing speedy 'bout the way I speak it.

Ach ta me cuthail as gaeilge freisin.

Speed dating as Gaeilge

I've done that before, it's great craic! Just a bit of banter all round.

An raibh sin i Peig?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

How about this one?

[Embedded Image Removed]

An raibh sin i Peig?

Nope, This book.;)

Making Out in Irish

An raibh sin i Peig?

That's your 666th post. Peig is not sásta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭JayeL

And of course running before, during and after Seachtain na Gaeilge is Bliain na mBéarla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Id be interested, what cultural events are on?

Riamfada wrote: »
    Id be interested, what cultural events are on?
    http://www.snag.ie/events/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I need to get intae this Irish tae get on with the peace process..

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

An raibh sin i Peig?
    fnaaaar fnaar.

Peig has been the worst thing for the Irish language since the "Murder machine".
    Whiney, self-pitying auld bag. Could never undersatnd why An t-Oileánach wasn't used instead. Maidhc dainín's "A thigh ná tit orm" was def a move forward.

Beidh an-chraic anseo i gCeatharlach!

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I need to get intae this Irish tae get on with the peace process..

No Problem Keith, Here is something to get you started:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Hazys wrote: »
    Irish snow?
    Feár-Seachtain bán
    hata ar a cheann

Feár-Seachtain bán
    hata ar a cheann

Maith Thú, Thats the spirit, Use the cupla focal:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

I'm Irish, every week is Irish week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I'm confused, if Irish is supposedly our birth/main language......why do we need a week of speaking it? Surely, we are all speaking it everyday, seeing as we're all native Irish speakers, in Ireland?
    It's also really weird that here I am, a native Irish citizen, typing English, in an Irish forum, where the majority of people, who are Irish, understand what I am saying....weird!

My answer is no, I won't be pretending to speak Irish for a week. Just in case you were in doubt.

I'm confused, if Irish is supposedly our birth/main language......why do we need a week of speaking it? Surely, we are all speaking it everyday, seeing as we're all native Irish speakers, in Ireland?
    It's also really weird that here I am, a native Irish citizen, typing English, in an Irish forum, where the majority of people, who are Irish, understand what I am saying....weird!

My answer is no, I won't be pretending to speak Irish for a week. Just in case you were in doubt.

Good for you, Just in case you were in any doubt, I wont be pretending to speak Irish for the week either, I will actually be speaking it.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Taispeáin don rang é a Dheise, ná coinnigh i bhfolach é.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Hmmmm, I work amongst foreigners, could be a laugh.

snubbleste wrote: »
    Taispeáin don rang é a Dheise, ná coinnigh i bhfolach é.

Ach a mhuinteoir, táim cúthalach:o

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Hello folks.
    When you are posting in Irish please remember that this is an english language discussion board and provide a translation.
    PM me with any questions about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Cúpla focal eile

Gabh suas ort féin! - Go fúck yourself
    Gread leat - Clear off!
    Ar mhaith leat craiceann a bhualadh liom - Would you like a ride
    Tá mé ag iarraidh craicinn a bhualadh (leat) - I'm wanting a ride (of you)
    Diúl mo bhod - Suck my dick

I would never have thought Craig Doyle as being a Gaeilgeoir! Apparently he started going to classes when he came back from the UK. Well, there ye have it.