Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish mammy's

• 23-02-2011 4:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭

hello all, got this as a mail today and can remember my own mother saying at least every one of them to me at some stage growing up.

which got me thinking what else could be added to them?

heres what i got;

WHAT I OWE MY IRISH MOTHER:

1. My mother taught me TO APPRECIATE A JOB WELL DONE

'If you're going to kill each other, do it outside. I just finished cleaning.'

2. My mother taught me RELIGION

'You better pray that this will come out of the carpet.'

3. My mother taught me about TIME TRAVEL

'If you don't straighten up, I'm going to knock you into the middle of next week!'

4. My mother taught me LOGIC

' Because I said so, that's why.'

5.My mother taught me MORE LOGIC

'If you fall out of that swing and break your neck, you're not going to the store with me.'

6. My mother taught me FORESIGHT

'Make sure you wear clean underwear, in case you're in an accident.'

7. My mother taught me IRONY

'Keep crying, and I'll give you something to cry about.'

8. My mother taught me about the science of OSMOSIS

'Shut your mouth and eat your supper.'

9. My mother taught me about CONTORTIONISM

'Will you look at that dirt on the back of your neck!'

10. My mother taught me about STAMINA

'You'll sit there until all that SOUP is gone.'

11. My mother taught me about WEATHER

'This room of yours looks as if a tornado went through it.'

12. My mother taught me about HYPOCRISY

'If I told you once, I've told you a million times. Don't exaggerate!'

13. My mother taught me the CIRCLE OF LIFE

'I brought you into this world, and I can take you out.'

14. My mother taught me about BEHAVIOUR MODIFICATION

'Stop acting like your father!'

15. My mother taught me about ENVY

'There are millions of less fortunate children in this world who don't have wonderful parents like you do..'

16. My mother taught me about ANTICIPATION

'Just wait until we get home.'

17. My mother taught me about RECEIVING

'You are going to get it when you get home!'

18. My mother taught me MEDICAL SCIENCE

'If you don't stop crossing your eyes, they are going to get stuck that way.'

19. My mother taught me ESP

'Put your sweater on; don't you think I know when you are cold?'

20. My mother taught me HUMOUR

'When that lawn mower cuts off your toes, don't come running to me..'

21. My mother taught me HOW TO BECOME AN ADULT

'If you don't eat your vegetables, you'll never grow up.'

22. My mother taught me GENETICS

'You're just like your father.'

;

23. My mother taught me about my ROOTS

'Shut that door behind you. Do you think you were born in a tent?'

24. My mother taught me WISDOM

'When you get to be my age, you'll understand.'

25. And my favourite:

My mother taught me about JUSTICE

'One day you'll have kids, and I hope they turn out just like you '

should be a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

You're Mother said Jumper.not Sweater :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

You are setting yourself up for the biggest yore ma taught me ____ of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

3. My mother taught me about TIME TRAVEL

And you went all the way to1998 and brought back an email

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Don't come running to me...

I think everybody knows the preceding sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭mayoman ngalway

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You are setting yourself up for the biggest yore ma taught me ____ of all time.

well i'll check back tomorrow night and see how many i get :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Irish mammy's what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

You'd give a disprin a headache.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The store? The store?

GTFO and bring your mommy and your sweater with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

If your mother knew you had posted that here you would be in big trouble.

She was just letting you know who's boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

So thats where Brendan Grace got his joke material from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

hello all, got this as a mail today and can remember my own mother saying at least every one of them to me at some stage growing up.

which got me thinking what else could be added to them?

heres what i got;

WHAT I OWE MY IRISH MOTHER:

1. My mother taught me TO APPRECIATE A JOB WELL DONE

'If you're goi

Yo Mayoman, Im really happy for you, I`mma let you finish but clived2`s mother had one of the best Mammy sayings of all time.

Get the fuck out of my house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Wow I was wondering where I left that forwarded email from the mid nineties. Thanks OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Irish Mammys = You can't spell "Smother" without "Mother"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Only black women in movies say this sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

Awhhhhh no-one replied to your forwarded email so you posted it here. Isn't that nice?

(Just so you know...I'm being sarcastic ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

you're not going to the store with me.'

Nobody goes to the store

You go to the shop to get the messages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Squirm

A real irish mammy tells you to "eat your meat" because it was the dearest part of your dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Squirm wrote: »
    A real irish mammy tells you to "eat your meat" because it was the dearest part of your dinner.

At least she doesn't tell you to "beat your meat" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Therefore we have black women in white skin saying this sh!t too. I witness plenty of white women saying it, including my own mother!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭dominiquecruz

23. My mother taught me about my ROOTS

'Shut that door behind you. Do you think you were born in a tent?'

:mad: I was born in a barn, actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Irish Mammys = Terminator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

THE SECOND COMING! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

It was a field for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

If its not one thing its your mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Jimmy the Wheel

Don't come running to me...

I think everybody knows the preceding sentence.

If you break your legs....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

Mam:"Don't let that child out without a vest"

Dad: " A vest is a garment that a child wears when his mammy is cold"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

The only time I leave door open is when the Door was already open before my arrival. or is to cool down the room especially when it is as hot as a sauna.

When she or others says "Were you born in a barn?"

"Was I? I cannot remember"

or

"When I was born ("as you know well" <- To mother), the Doors were open before me and closed behind me without my intervention".

She and others have never used that line since to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

.Lies have no legs
    .Show me your friend's and I'll tell ya who you are
    .I'm gonna get that telly cut out if ye don't stop fighting over the stations!
    .Get off the phone!! [house phone- "I'm getting that cut out too!"]
    .If you're not home in half an hour, I'm coming to get you myself/ringing the guards![I think she honestly believed that guards would arrest me for not listening to her.:pac:]

What did I learn?
    .Honesty, .how to keep good company, .sharing, .financial prudence, and how to evade being brought home by the guards I suppose!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Irish mammy in laws are great. Despite the fact I am putting on about a stone every year, mine is convinced I am wasting away and need to be fed as much food as is humanly possible.

When I first started staying there, I thought toast was actually Irish for something completely different, because that is what I would ask for but I would get two sausages, pudding, eggs and Bacon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The door was left open in my barn! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

My mum taught me about CONCEALING MISTAKES:

"If I find out that YOU made this mess, there'll be war"
    Right so, I won't be admitting to that then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭LambsEye

I can't believe no one's mentioned this:

Me: Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaam can I not just stay up til 10 pleeeeease? Beetlejuice is on.

Mam: I'll Beetlejuice you now in a minute if you don't get up to bed.

Me: Mam that doesn't even make any sense.

Or is that just our family?

But whhhhhhhhhhhhhhyyyyyyy? :(

Thats "the why"

:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

Therefore we have black women in white skin saying this sh!t too. I witness plenty of white women saying it, including my own mother!!

My mother said it too - and if she turns out to be black then it's gona a set up a whole store of unresolved issues for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

The store? The store?

GTFO and bring your mommy and your sweater with you.

LMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

flyton5 wrote: »
    Awhhhhh no-one replied to your forwarded email so you posted it here. Isn't that nice?

(Just so you know...I'm being sarcastic ;) )

You're mother sounds terrible.
    Tech-savvy... but terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

hello all, got this as a mail today and can remember my own mother saying at least every one of them to me at some stage growing up

What Irish mother says 'store'? It's a shop...a shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

22. My mother taught me GENETICS

'You're just like your father.'

I get this EVERY time I go home. Just because I have his temperament and his frown.....oh god :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

That when I was 'smotherin' a 'cup of tae will crown ya!'

Hi everyone (:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

LambsEye wrote: »
    I can't believe no one's mentioned this:

Me: Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaam can I not just stay up til 10 pleeeeease? Beetlejuice is on.

Mam: I'll Beetlejuice you now in a minute if you don't get up to bed.

Me: Mam that doesn't even make any sense.

Or is that just our family?

Nope that was a favourite of my parents too! "I'll plate you," "I'll teaspoon you," "I'll lego you" etc etc :o

HoneyRyder wrote: »
    That when I was 'smotherin' a 'cup of tae will crown ya!'

Hi everyone (:

WELCOME!

Also, my mammy thinks sudocream will cure everything.

"Throw a drop of sudocream on it and it'll be grand in the morning."

OR, my mam LOVED to say to us when we were young, and we'd run inside bawling because we fell or something:

"Is there blood?"............"No..." "Then get back outside."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Me at a neighbours house 'Your house smells lovely'
    Neighbour 'Oh thanks, I have dinner in the oven, that must be it'.
    Me 'We never have a smell like that at home, it's always bacon & cabbage, smelly'.
    Neighbour laughs, mother throws daggers & says out of the side of her mouth 'When I get you home I'll reddin your arse'.

*runs to corner & cries*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

/cry

"I'll give you something to cry for in a minute"

LambsEye wrote: »
    WELCOME!

Also, my mammy thinks sudocream will cure everything.

"Throw a drop of sudocream on it and it'll be grand in the morning."

OR, my mam LOVED to say to us when we were young, and we'd run inside bawling because we fell or something:

"Is there blood?"............"No..." "Then get back outside."

7-up (fizz removed) was the elixir of life. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

ya dirtylookinupallnighter

If cop-on was feathers,you wouldn't have enough for a waistcoat for a Budgie
    (why the fúck would a budgie need a waistcoat???)

if you get knocked down,I'll murder you

your *insert dead relatives name* is up in Holy God's house

get up them stairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sarah88

Where's that wooden spoon! WHERE IS IT! *legs it up the stairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Somebody has been using stumbleupon I see....

sarah88 wrote: »
    Where's that wooden spoon! WHERE IS IT! *legs it up the stairs

My ma used to rattle the drawers, and we were pretty poor back then, so we didn't have a wooden spoon, a silver spatula would do. We still lived in fear of mam getting the "wooden spoon."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

My Mammy said it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭mayoman ngalway

What Irish mother says 'store'? It's a shop...a shop!

my mother is an Irish mother but grow up in the states, got married and moved to Ireland in the early 70's.