Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Punk band lookin for gigs

• 23-02-2011 1:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

hi folks, i was just wondering if anyone out there could help us with a gig or two, we are a new punk band in Dublin and we have played a couple of gigs and we are looking for more, the band are called S.F.U. and make a hell of a racket, sort of an AGNOSTIC FRONT kinda racket, so if anyone is lookin for a punk band please let us know... P.S. we have a Facebook page. Tanx...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

tantrum wrote: »
    hi folks, i was just wondering if anyone out there could help us with a gig or two, we are a new punk band in Dublin and we have played a couple of gigs and we are looking for more, the band are called S.F.U. and make a hell of a racket, sort of an AGNOSTIC FRONT kinda racket, so if anyone is lookin for a punk band please let us know... P.S. we have a Facebook page. Tanx...

Got any links for Facebook or Myspace?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭CityMan2010

Check out Poo Promotions website...a guy called Jasper runs punk gigs in Sligo....

tantrum wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Brunteaphile

Only seen guys once, they were top!

FB page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/SFU/162792490411583

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭NecroSteve

I wonder would ye be on for playing as part of a benefit in late March or early April in Sligo? Can't offer any payment, but I can give ye some feeding and a floor to sleep on if ye need it. I'm not Jasper by the way. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 tantrum

hell yeah steve, that would be sweet, wots it in aid of??? do you have any other bands lined up??? an can you find out the exact date, our singer is away for a few days around the end of march, but with a bit of luck it wont be the same day, thank you so much for the offer steve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭NecroSteve

It's for the Sathya Sai Sanctuary, amazing place - www.donkeys.ie for some info and heaps of photos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Nice one!! I'm on for that, the only thing is that I'm busy for the last week in March, as Tantrum said. But if it's on another date it will be cool! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Scythe

We're a punk band from Dublin. We're called Jobseekers. We've had gigs at least once a month since September and are always looking for new bands to play with.
    PM me your contact details and we'll get in touch with ye over the coming months about upcoming gigs, also inform us distances you're willing to travel.
    Thanks.

Hey mate,

Will do! Unfortunately, we've had a bit of a drummer malfunction :(... So were in the market for a new one at the moment. Once that's sorted out, which I hope won't be too long, we'll be back gigging! :) So I'll stay in touch with ya' though facebook (I see you have a page). :)

Cheers,

Rob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Howbad

Scythe,Baggio,we're a punk band from Cork,Honey Badger,happy to do gig swaps with both of you...back in business about a year,also doing about one gig a month,willing to travel.....be good to get some sort of Punk circuit going...
    Hope you get that drummer sorted soon SFU,best of luck...
    Steve,we'd be happy to travel to Sligo too,PM sent.....

Cheers H.B.

Think that's a deadly idea getting a Punk gig circuit going. We'd definitely be up for that when we get fixed up!

Do you have a facbook page out of interest? You can find us at our S.F.U. page to stay in touch with each other. :)

Cheers,

Rob.

Rob,I'll get Mos our drummer to link up from his Facebook with ye..we have a page alright but it was set up by a mate and we can't manage it properly at all.....
    There are a fair few Punk bands around but seems to be no real scene..a decent circuit of gigs would make sense for all...let us know as soon as ye're sorted and we'll take it from there....
    Rob(yeah,another one)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Howbad, The Rebel County Drunk Punx put on a fair few gigs down your way. Do ya know a band called Cruibín?

There's definitely a scene, but ya might just have to go look for it.... don't look at my thread on eirecore....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Howbad wrote: »
    Rob,I'll get Mos our drummer to link up from his Facebook with ye..we have a page alright but it was set up by a mate and we can't manage it properly at all.....
    There are a fair few Punk bands around but seems to be no real scene..a decent circuit of gigs would make sense for all...let us know as soon as ye're sorted and we'll take it from there....
    Rob(yeah,another one)
    Here is Honey Badger's page. They're a great band and a good bunch of lads too!

Thanks for that Malice! :)

Should be good when we get it going - lotsa' loud music coming everyones way!

Here's our SFU page in case anyone needs it for staying in contact.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/SFU/162792490411583

Thanks Malice,big help,Mos has hooked us up on Facebook now...I reckon he only took control of our site about 10mins before you linked it!
    Thanks for the thumbs up too!
    Good to see some Punks networking eh......
    Dregin,I heard of RCDPx alright but not come across any,will see if I can get in touch...will get signed up to eirecore too,thanks for the pointer....
    Have good links to Rob and SFU now so soon as they're sorted drumswise we'll look at a gig in Freds or summat.....

We're up for that, and we'll manage to find ways to play whatever gigs we possibly can. We're mad to play Cork and Galway, so keep us in mind for anything going on down there within the next while and if we get anything, ye'll be the first to know.
    Punk gig circuit sounds good. We've kinda been keeping one going since December with a few bands, Slaughter Hill, Pimps And Gimps, Rural Savage, Nevernoodz, The Gakk and The Dirge, but we haven't had many returned so far, but we're always looking to broaden our scope, meet new bands and keep a great experience going.
    How Bad, i've got your contact details now and S.F.U. let us know as soon as ye are available to gig again also.
    And if anyone has any recordings i can listen to, send them on aswell. Love listening to the local sounds, and the diversity of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

Scythe wrote: »
    We're up for that, and we'll manage to find ways to play whatever gigs we possibly can. We're mad to play Cork and Galway, so keep us in mind for anything going on down there within the next while and if we get anything, ye'll be the first to know.
    Punk gig circuit sounds good. We've kinda been keeping one going since December with a few bands, Slaughter Hill, Pimps And Gimps, Rural Savage, Nevernoodz, The Gakk and The Dirge, but we haven't had many returned so far, but we're always looking to broaden our scope, meet new bands and keep a great experience going.
    How Bad, i've got your contact details now and S.F.U. let us know as soon as ye are available to gig again also.
    And if anyone has any recordings i can listen to, send them on aswell. Love listening to the local sounds, and the diversity of it all.

What is the name of your band?

@Scythe

Cool man will do... Were currently chatting to a drummer at the moment - so hopefully it will out. :) Be great getting this circuit going now!

Incidentally we played with Slaughter Hill at our first gig. Top band and a great bunch of guys!

Cheers,

Rob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 bitzy

howya, we're up for gigs as well, preferably in dublin at the minute. (THE LEE HARVEYS- have tunes on myspace)

cheers

bitzy

Cool, Dublin will be perfect for us as well. Looks like a lot of band who are interested - sweet!

@darrenw5094
    We're called Jobseekers.

@bitzy
    Added.

@bitzy....pm'd you with our contacts,the others have them....can set up something for Cork when all sorted....I'm going to PM an idea past all of ye later....
    Rob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Marzal

@bitzy

THE LEE HARVEYS - did u play with paranoid visions @ gypsy rose like 2 months ago? was deadly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 bitzy

Marzal wrote: »
    @bitzy

THE LEE HARVEYS - did u play with paranoid visions @ gypsy rose like 2 months ago? was deadly!

WE SURE DID BUDDY. THANX

BITZY.

ps. we open for SLF this friday at the academy

A few of the new tracks are up on myspace, so have a listen if you have time.
    http://www.myspace.com/jobseekersband/?pm_cmp=nav

...one gig coming up for us anyway,with Crashed Out,Tagada Jones and Hooligan this Fri in Cruiscin Lan...thanks to the Venue and Hooligan for adding us to the bill......unless its Aprils Fools on Honey Badger ha ha.....

SICK!!!
    Sounds like a good one man.

Had a listen to those - great stuff! :)

Thanks man.
    Hope to release the EP in May, but no promises....

Scythe wrote: »
    Thanks man.
    Hope to release the EP in May, but no promises....

Nice one mate - hope you do it! :)

Well, it looks like were sorted with a drummer! Had a session on Sat with him, and it went absolutely brilliant. He picked the stuff up instantly! So I think we'll be up and running pretty soon now. So gigs ahoy!

Oi!

Sweet!
    We're available for gigs again come May, so we'll probably organise something up here then to begin with, and then start moving around the country.

Good to hear that,came together pretty fast in the end!.......we'll try and arrange something down here,keep in touch......Fri night went great,great venue and staff,our first time there,the other bands were sound out......the French lads were easier to understand than the Geordies:P!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Daycentbill

WHERE ARE YE BASED? I ORGANISE GIGS IN DUBLIN, IF ANYONE is looking for gigs check us out at www.facebook.com/liveandunsigneddublin and email us at liveandunsigneddublin with you details, were doing punk nights soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Brunteaphile

"Live and Unsigned Dublin is battle of a bands with a difference, FRee entry for bands, decent prizes and good crowds and venues"
    "Only band to get a sound check is the first band on, the rest of the bands just get a line check before they go on."
    "You get 20 minutes to play"

Fu.ck that! Your 'Live & Unsigned' sounds like a right joke. Punk bands should be put on by punk promoters, screw the ****ers trying to make money.

spot on...had a look at the shams links....."Punk Nights":rolleyes:

We're organising an all-day punk-fest in Fibber's (Dublin City) at the start of July. If anyone's interested, let me know and we'll put you down for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Daycentbill

Hi Scythe, my own band ''24 Broken Amps'' would like to play at the punk-fest, check out www.facebook.com/24brokenamps , and heres one of our new tracks http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxvNerHPwG0

Scyth,I'm going to Pm you.....but yes,we'd be well interested .