Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

farthest fox so far

• 22-02-2011 3:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

i shot a fox at 270 yards last night, a personal best. i know it's probably not much compared to what other guys are doing, but i was buzzin because of it so i had to tell ye.
    i ranged him to be about 250-275 with the hash marks on the night force scope, then i dialled up 1.5 moa, held about 1.5" below the top of his shoulder and squeezed. he dropped like a stone, and he was just twitching when i got up to him.
    feckin chuffed:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

declan1980 wrote: »
    i shot a fox at 270 yards last night, a personal best. i know it's probably not much compared to what other guys are doing, but i was buzzin because of it so i had to tell ye.
    i ranged him to be about 250-275 with the hash marks on the night force scope, then i dialled up 1.5 moa, held about 1.5" below the top of his shoulder and squeezed. he dropped like a stone, and he was just twitching when i got up to him.

nice one you deserve to be chuffed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

270 is a fair shot under a lamp
    some been shot at that distance alright but not to many

its a fair shot well done mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Nice shootin there bud, fair play - hope its one of many :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

270 is a great shot under a lamp!

My personal best is 275 with my .270, but haven't been lamping much to determine whether the shot was a fluke or I am capable of doing it again! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

270 is a ways out, well done :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Well done Declan it really gives your confidence a boost when you get a long shot like that.
    Did you notice the report taking a split second longer to reach you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    Well done Declan it really gives your confidence a boost when you get a long shot like that.
    ya, i did notice that alright. it was a bit like "crack" fox falls over ........... "thump"

ya, i did notice that alright. it was a bit like "crack" fox falls over ............. "thump". i was shooting under a mates lightforce 170, it's some piece of kit. it absolutely puts my ucaller lamp to shame. i could see the fox and the background perfectly. if i could spare the cash i'd buy one

ya, i did notice that alright. it was a bit like "crack" fox falls over ........... "thump"

That's it.
    Well done again.
    It's nice to know you can reach out and touch the lad that will sit out there thinking he is safe off in the distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭podge.243
    Paul Murphy

nice shootin declan1980, luk's like ur gettin confortable with the gun fair play to ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

270 is awesome at night.
    270 During the day is quite respectable with a .223

Did you lamp him yourself or did you have a Lamper?
    I'm trying to get Dev110 to be my apprentice lamper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

270 is awesome at night.

Maybe you should be my lamper with the way I'm going lately :D:p:D:p

dev110 wrote: »
    Maybe you should be my lamper with the way I'm going lately :D:p:D:p

Now tack. The apprentice has become the master. :D

He was not able to hit the broad side of a barn with that CZ until I sorted it ;)

I'm a good trainer!

He was not able to hit the broad side of a barn with that CZ until I sorted it ;)

I'm a good trainer!

It was only the mounts :p.
    Who shimmed the mounts and zeroed the rifle? :p:p

dev110 wrote: »
    It was only the mounts :p.
    Who shimmed the mounts and zeroed the rifle? :p:p

Who stopped you emptying a box off ammo chasing Zero?
    Who told you it was the mounts?

And who showed you your first deer up close!
    Youth of today!

Who stopped you emptying a box off ammo chasing Zero?
    Who told you it was the mounts?

And who showed you your first deer up close!
    Youth of today!

Who shot my first two foxes? :p:p

Elders of today :D:D

Although them deer up close was brilliant.

270 is awesome at night.

i was shooting with a guy who has about 30 years of experience lamping foxes, and who has probably shot over 5 thousand foxes in his lifetime. he used to do it for a living when people were paying for them, and he has basically taught me everything i know about shooting foxes, and how to work a lamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭murtdono

i dont tell a lot of people this and im not looking for a pat on the back , but i shot a fox @ 412 yards one calm night with a .220 swift 40 grain ballistic tip , haven't had the chance to try it again so i can't say if it was a fluke or not (prob was)

murtdono wrote: »
    i dont tell a lot of people this and im not looking for a pat on the back , but i shot a fox @ 412 yards one calm night with a .220 swift 40 grain ballistic tip , haven't had the chance to try it again so i can't say if it was a fluke or not (prob was)

I believe you. I had a 400 kill on a fox with a 55gr v-max .223
    So it is well within the ability of a .220 swift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭montydorito

he was just twitching when i got up to him.

What did you do with the fox afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

most likely he put it in the nearest ditch for nature to recycle

bazza888 wrote: »
    most likely he put it in the nearest ditch for nature to recycle
    100% correct