Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mid life percussion crisis in Drogheda

• 20-02-2011 11:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

bored middle aged (38) drummer with wife,3 kids and stressful job seeks to meet other similarly situationed musicians to jam for musical pleasure in someone's barn/shed/spare room once a week (if my wife lets me). must be drogheda area as too busy/tired to travel any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭kimnjess

I might be interested in this if you get a few bodies together. I'm in Stamullen not too far from Drogheda, 42, and play guitar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

Another guitarist here...just down the road from you in Bettystown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭grymreepor

im in oldcastle co meath bit far but have a big studio(art) play guitar and harmonica (not very well) bored also with wife and 3 kids.
    give me a shout back
    brendan

should say i sing as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bionicgerbil

It is a bit far. Would you come to Drogheda?

It is a bit far. Would you come to Drogheda, and do you know any bassists that might be interested?

ahh i'd come to drogheda if you guys would spin down to me the odd time. my cousin is a bass player he lives in balbriggan he might be interested i'll be talkin to him in a few days

That could work. Its just for the craic and there'll be no perssure. Let me know about bassist and I'll let the other lads know.

sound, i'll get in touch with my cousin and let ye know the story. when are you thinking about starting?

Not sure. Have 2 guitarists interested already so we'll have a supergroup. Didnt really think about when. Suppose whenever suits all of us if we go ahead. I work days and do a bit mon to thurs nights, so for me it'd have to be either fri evenings or sometime on saturdays. One of the other lads mentioned Barlow House in Drogheda as a venue to play. Let me know about the bassist as we could try and get together some fri evening soon.

Any chance we could do Sundays? I'm on Saturdays up until the Summer :)
    BTW here is the setlist from my last band...I know there's a few cheesy numbers in there but they were honed over the years and seemed to be real crowd pleasers .........

Dancing in the Moonlight
    Long Train Running
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Roll with it
    Smile like you mean it
    Johnny Be Goode
    Old Time Rock N Roll (Key Of E)
    Best of You
    Keep on Rockin in the Freeworld
    Dakota
    Jump
    Boys are Back in Town
    Sex on Fire
    Vertigo
    Take Me Out
    Gimme All Your Loving
    Sweet Child O Mine
    Valerie
    When you were young
    Whole Lotta Rosie
    Proud Mary
    Walk this way
    Hotel California
    Lose Yourself
    Shook me all nite long
    Don't Stop Beleivin
    Tush
    All Right Now
    Summer of 69
    Hurts so Good
    Don't Look back in Anger
    Galway Girl
    Whiskey in the Jar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 shanestallion

Not sure. Have 2 guitarists interested already so we'll have a supergroup. Didnt really think about when. Suppose whenever suits all of us if we go ahead. I work days and do a bit mon to thurs nights, so for me it'd have to be either fri evenings or sometime on saturdays. One of the other lads mentioned Barlow House in Drogheda as a venue to play. Let me know about the bassist as we could try and get together some fri evening soon.

Just a piece of advice, I live near Drogheda and have rehearsed in the room many times, and tho it is central its such an awful room, really bad equipment and its just basically a rectangle prefab, Im actually not affiliated with this but if your looking for a great place to play go to

http://www.slanestudios.com/

purely from the aspect of one musician to another

Still keeping my eye on this. Any news on the bass player?

Bass player with vocals preferably :) I could sing some of the tunes but we'd need a main singer.

grymreepor says he sings

duly noted....I think I might be off Saturdays...My shift pattern may be changing. What say ye...we pick 5 songs for a jam and see if there's any chemistry there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 OscaRacsO

Hi Bionicgerbil,
    I am also in your same position. I am too in Stamullen and could drive down to Drogheda. It looks like I am the fourth guitarist to reply to this post. If you dont' think its too many I would be interested.

Bionicgerbil have you given up on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

kimnjess wrote: »
    Bionicgerbil have you given up on this?
    According to his profile he hasn't been active on the site since March 3rd. Maybe the rest of you could get something organised in his absence?

That would be good if there was anything other than guitarists that replied Malice. Can you play drums? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

kimnjess wrote: »
    That would be good if there was anything other than guitarists that replied Malice. Can you play drums? :-)
    Fair enough, I'm not following the thread that closely. I can play the drums to a beginner level but I don't own a kit or live anywhere near Drogheda so I won't be much use ;).

What a pity ...ah well back to the drawing board :(