Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do/buy if you had bill gates'ssssss money?

• 20-02-2011 10:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭

So Mr. Microsoft is worth 500 bill, prob will be 600 by the time i finish typing this. Id like to know what mad, crazy ****e would you do or buy if you were that insanely rich?(After you finish sorting out the family,friends, charity etc.etc.)

Id do the following,

1. Buy an island

2. Id buy an F1 team

3. Id buy an Airtricity league team(prob Galway utd:D), build a big new bastard stadium that would make the aviva look like dalymount and would pump so much fcuking cash into the club, it would destroy the league as they win it every fcuking year!

4. Numerous. ridiculously overpriced cars, in which half of them il never end up driving.

5. A huge mansion

6. Various holiday homes around the world.

7. That small scale model of ireland that was built in dubai a few years back. Think it costs 25million or something.

8. Id buy chelsea fc, and make total **** of the club (twood be a million times worse than what ashley did to newcastle. example, sack ancelotti and put.....oh i dont know..... maybe the tea lady in charge) and then give it away for free.

9. build a golf course (a really nice one too)

10. Id fork out a few billion for one of those casinos in las vegas, and finish by throwing stupid amounts of cash from the top of it to the people below.

11. Heres another one! id book a seat on that virgin galatic yoke bransons setting up at the moment and buy it off him when i get back to earth!

Theres a load of other **** id love to do, but im tired of typing now. So people what would you do?
    p.s. Better get in quick before some mod locks the thread, thats been happening to me a bit lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Kelly Brooke and/or Cheryl Cole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

benwavner wrote: »
    Kelly Brooke and/or Cheryl Cole.
    Holy ****! yeah, them too!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Probably a MAC!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Travel the world in my own nuclear submarine. Only a cool 15bn

Also I'd use it to take over some island that belongs to a country already with the help of a missile or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Violafy

So Mr. Microsoft is worth 500 bill, prob will be 600 by the time i finish typing this. Id like to know what mad, crazy ****e would you do or buy if you were that insanely rich?(After you finish sorting out the family,friends, charity etc.etc.)

Id do the following,

1. Buy an island

2. Id buy an F1 team

3. Id buy an Airtricity league team(prob Galway utd:D), build a big new bastard stadium that would make the aviva look like dalymount and would pump so much fcuking cash into the club, it would destroy the league as they win it every fcuking year!

4. Numerous. ridiculously overpriced cars, in which half of them il never end up driving.

5. A huge mansion

7. That small scale model of ireland that was built in dubai a few years back. Think it costs 25million or something.

8. Id buy chelsea fc, and make total **** of the club (twood be a million times worse than what ashley did to newcastle. example, sack ancelotti and put.....oh i dont know..... maybe the tea lady in charge) and then give it away for free.

10. Id fork out a few billion for one of those casinos in las vegas, and finish by throwing stupid amounts of cash from the top of it to the people below.

Theres a load of other **** id love to do, but im tired of typing now. So people what would you do?
    p.s. Better get in quick before some mod locks the thread, thats been happening to me a bit lately.

I like the Chelsea idea :D, I'd also sell Torres on to Shamrock Rovers or something. Serve him right. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I'd build a fiendish contraption to block out the light from the Sun and hold the world to ransom for even more money.

Strip club and an Arthur Daley style 2nd hand motors gravelly yard with portocabin (fairly decent one). Happy out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I scratched a wing panel on my car during the bad weather, suppose i could afford to get it fixed.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Id do the following,

1. Buy an island

2. Id buy an F1 team

5. A huge mansion

All of the above, but for now, I'm happy that I can pay the bills....

....C'mon Euromillions!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Sergeant wrote: »
    I'd build a fiendish contraption to block out the light from the Sun and hold the world to ransom for even more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

id do absolutely fcuk all. id have one nice car a nice house and thats it - just live comfortably. sort out my family and donate a lot of it to charity. nobody needs that much money - in fact 1 billion is an obscene amount for one person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

lots and lots of shoes *drifts off*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Lots of drugs and midget porn stars. The midgets will be used to create my ewok village 2000.

The drugs are to keep them under control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

I feel such a thread requires the mention of coke and hookers.

Might look at trading her in against a better model. Or doing a bit of body work.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_Lo8n1_ejGIc/SLiscKvu5DI/AAAAAAAACvA/4mbX76Leht8/s320/Bill%2BGates%2Band%2Bwife,%2BMelinda%2BFrench%2BGates%2B(2002).jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

OP likes golf and soccer. OP should spend his fortune developing a cure for his gayness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Buy myself a nice car, house, decent clothes, start up some crappy business to give me something to do, impress the ladies with my cash, get jaded, leave country and find wife and live abroad, then come back in a box.

That sounds sh!t, doesnt it?

I imagine it would be like a game, the cheatcodes sound fun but they end up making the game sh!, you get fed up very quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

1) Mansion, something spectacular, jacuzzi/hot tub room, cinema, indoor basketball court, gym, MASSIVE bedroom, butler, helipad, underground carpark, marble everything, the absolute works.

2) get my teeth straightened (theyre bugging me)

3) Go to BT2 and ask for everything in my size

4) cars...lots of em...

5) The Tony Stark lifestyle (stripper airhostesses ect)

6) personal trainer and chef

7) Back to college indefinitely (because life cant be all fun and games)

Im sure i can think of others....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Serioulsy, i could see mrs galwayrush looking for an immediate divorce....

squod wrote: »
    OP likes golf and soccer. OP should spend his fortune developing a cure for his gayness.
    hey look its a BIG MAN! its one of those secretly gay lads who goes around pulling out the gay card on people for absolutely no reason. weird! Also one of those lads who'l be sucking his boyfriend off down some ****hole back alley after a night out, while the rest of us are going home with our girlfriends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

squod wrote: »

Don't be a dick and stopped being ghey. Nothing wrong with Football and Golf.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Build a house
    Get loads of pets
    Travel the world
    Buy a few houses around the world
    Buy lots of clothes make up.
    Set up my own salon
    Books for life
    Give some to my parents

and so much more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Buy apartments across the world.
    Build a mansion for myself up here in Dublin and down at home (sher t'would get the neighbours talking!)
    Give money to my parents, siblings and a few of my close friends.
    Live lavishly for the rest of my life :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭no scope

Buy the biggest bag of sh1te i could and drop it on brian cowen :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

world peace

oh and a nice house in the country and some shoes!

foxinsox wrote: »
    world peace

oh and a nice house in the country and some shoes!

can world peace be bought?!

sonic85 wrote: »

depends on how many nuclear icbm's you can buy?

if there is nobody around the world is at peace, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Daegerty wrote: »

ha ha - true! though with nobody around who would build your ferrari?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Daegerty wrote: »

There's surely be an easier more efficient way of killing the worlds population, no???

ha ha - true! though with nobody around who would build your ferrari?

you wouldn't need a ferrari, sure there'd be nobody to show it off to either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I'd say that with all that money and a bit of 'wheeling and dealing' the world could certainly be on its way to peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I'd buy a beautiful house by the sea, or on a lake, somewhere warm. the house would have a huge indoor pool, a cinema and a bar. definitely a bar.

Buy a nice car, but not some flashy monstrosity.

Put a good portion into a high yielding savings account and invest in property.

Make sure my family would never need to work again.

Send the children to the best school in the area (but still make sure they know the value of money)

Buy a yacht and learn how to sail.

Would also love to open some sort of foundation that invests in young people from disadvantaged areas - business start-up training, art, music and drama schools, a midwifery/nursing college...something along those lines. Give them something to aspire to. May go somewhere to helping them break out of the welfare trap (hopefully)

A good portion to deserving charities.

Oh, and a tiger for the back yard. Sure, why not?? If it's good enough for Tony Montana, it's good enough for me....

foxinsox wrote: »
    I'd say that with all that money and a bit of 'wheeling and dealing' the world could certainly be on its way to peace.

well have to get harry redknapp on the case then so :pac:

A private jet! sur how did i forget that!:D

There's surely be an easier more efficient way of killing the worlds population, no???

There is but I'm worried about that fecker Bond throwing a spanner in the works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Follow the Plan

I'd buy Tayto so that i could have bikers crisps on demand cos i can't get them around me.

Oh Eva Longoria too.

Oh and I'd build a mansion, bring the neighbours round to see it and then knock it to the ground.

Oh and a Massey Ferguson 35 x.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I'd buy a beautiful house by the sea, or on a lake, somewhere warm. the house would have a huge indoor pool, a cinema and a bar. definitely a bar.

Buy a nice car, but not some flashy monstrosity.

Put a good portion into a high yielding savings account and invest in property.

Make sure my family would never need to work again.

Send the children to the best school in the area (but still make sure they know the value of money)

Buy a yacht and learn how to sail.

Would also love to open some sort of foundation that invests in young people from disadvantaged areas - business start-up training, art, music and drama schools, a midwifery/nursing college...something along those lines. Give them something to aspire to. May go somewhere to helping them break out of the welfare trap (hopefully)

A good portion to deserving charities.

Oh, and a tiger for the back yard. Sure, why not?? If it's good enough for Tony Montana, it's good enough for me....

I guess somebody hasn't learned anything from the previous 10 years!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Bobjims

I'd pay the Russians to take me up to space :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

I'd buy all of Ireland, and turn the whole thing into a leprechaun themed theme-park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

I 'd pay for loads of vaccines and have them prepped to stunt population growth

and then invest in monsanto to force sterile GM crops on the worlds poorest to make them work harder for less

whoops - bill gates already has - face palm :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I guess somebody hasn't learned anything from the previous 10 years!!!

Lol, I'd take better financial advice than FF or the banks took, that's for sure ;)

Property is still a good investment, if you buy at the right time in the right places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

If I had 500 billion I would keep 100 billion for myself and my family, parents, brothers and sisters and the inlaws (although some dont deserve it but Im not bitter). Then I would split the rest with every citizen in Ireland, I think the population is about 6 million at the moment so I reckon (my maths are not great) but everyone would get about 60000. There would be a few conditions of course no politicians, bankers or property developers well the bad ones anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Follow the Plan

I'd pay the producers of the Reality TV shows to go way and die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

hey look its a BIG MAN! its one of those secretly gay lads who goes around pulling out the gay card on people for absolutely no reason. weird! Also one of those lads who'l be sucking his boyfriend off down some ****hole back alley after a night out, while the rest of us are going home with our girlfriends!

And you wonder why the Mods lock your threads?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

OP, hes ONLY worth 50 billion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Fund my own evil organisation for world domination like that of Cobra. :pac:

And I doubt it's 500b, more like 50 or so.

OP, hes ONLY worth 50 billion

ah fcuk it - id wipe my ass with 50 billion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I'd buy two nuclear weapons and fire them at each other in space, for no apparent reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

If I had Bill Gates fortune I would spend the money to either end world hunger, or take over the Call Of Duty games franchise to get rid of second chance.