Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jarmet Sprayer

• 20-02-2011 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭

I recently saw an ad for the above sprayers, anyone have 1...what are they like and whats size do people have? I wouldnt be using it too often just for silage, burning off grass for re seeding etc. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭dasheriff

I have one its a 600L version it does the job perfect for me, just the silage ground and a few rushes and docs and things..It probably isnt as good as some of the more expensive ones but im very happy with it for thr price..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I have a 600l Jarmet as well. It has a good bit or work done as we would put on at least 100 tank fulls for neighbours every year too. Nozzles are the only thing that will go and they are easy to get. Spend the fer euro extra on the galvanised booms as its the life of them. Also if I was buying again I'd look for something with a pump that can fill the tank - its slow to fill with a hose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭omu

Thanks dasheriff/reilig...appreciate it will go for it i rekon, might just go for the 400l as we ony have a small bit to do but wil def go galvenised....cheers:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Same here lads. got it off Whites in portadown delivered a good bit cheaper than anywhere round here.
    I asked them self fill and they sent me a submersible pump:D

Works great and like Reilig said, only thing that gives bother is the nozzles. i worked mine fairly hard last year and never had any hassle.
    I would imagine they would not hold value like a hardi etc but they are a great machine.

TUBBY wrote: »
    Same here lads. got it off Whites in portadown delivered a good bit cheaper than anywhere round here.
    I asked them self fill and they sent me a submersible pump:D

Works great and like Reilig said, only thing that gives bother is the nozzles. i worked mine fairly hard last year and never had any hassle.
    I would imagine they would not hold value like a hardi etc but they are a great machine.

1000l IBC tank is what I have on top of a stand - 2 inch hose fills the tank in less than 5 minutes. Tank is filled with the hose while I'm off sparying.

that sound like the job reilig. Most of my evening goes standing looking at the side of the tank as it fills (very slowly)

I got the 400L one of whites for less than 1K if i remember rightly. Also, had a hand lance which I find a great job for under the wire with your Graze-on 90. Bye bye earthing fence:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

yep i bought one from whites of portadown also. Bought it in November at winter price and was delivered as well. Went for the galvanized booms as well. Looks good, havent had a chance to try it out yet but looking forward to having it for the year ahead as I have plenty of jobs for it.

Like another poster said, it might hold its value as well as a Hardi but if its just for yourself it should be fine.

Good idea on the IBC tank Rellig. Looking for one of those at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

+1 from whites also :)
    jesus they must have sold a heap of them
    only used mine once there last autumn, whats the best way to build up pressure on them, is it to turn of the big knob and wait a min or turn off the individual little knobs??

God...theya re more popular than i thought!! rang ur man in whites today...1150 for a 400lt and he said he wud throw in the hand lance also, its the galvenised option...guess its prob the wrong time of year to but this but it has to be done

Reilig...where did u get the connect for the 2 inch hose on the ibc...i have half inch fitting and its a balls...slow as hell

cheers

I also started a thread on disc harrows...ye might have come experience on this too!! thanks

omu wrote: »
    Reilig...where did u get the connect for the 2 inch hose on the ibc...i have half inch fitting and its a balls...slow as hell

cheers

there's a spout that comes with the IBC so I just trimmed off the downward part of it and fixed a 2 inch lay flat hose to it with a Jubuilee clip. Great job for washing out the cattle trailer also. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Also have a Jarmet, 400l, galvanised boom. Good tidy sprayer, but I've very little work done with it, just silage ground and a bit of weed spraying, no crop work. Very good for it's price, got it off White's 4 years ago or so, and no problems yet. Could never get the hand lance to work properly however, the pressure on the pump would just build up and blow off the outlet pipe to the lance after a minute or two.

Same here. the hand lance is s**t itself but i got a metal one to fit it for a few quid and no hassle since. one that fits a knapsack will do the trick.

hey reilig, where did u get your 2 inch lay flat hose...hard to find a stockist in galway. Thanks

Ebay.

Its hard to find it at a reasonable price in this country.
    omu wrote: »
    hey reilig, where did u get your 2 inch lay flat hose...hard to find a stockist in galway. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭laurence997

Whites in Portadown, 600L galvanised booms, got it last year and its done a fair bit of work over the summer, they do seem to be popular alrite :P
    A neighbour also has a 400L one, I'd personally go with a 600L one atleast tho, it sprays out fast enough as it is, only making a lot of work for yourself filling it and mixing the solution once you go below that size.

I bought mine last year as well. Havent used it yet though and got no manual with it.

Would some one mind giving me the correct steps to using it as I have never used one before and don't want to damage it before i even get working on it.

Many Thanks

Um, nothing to it really. Put 60-70 litres water in it first before spraying properly and let it run through to see if any of the nozzles are blocked (a dry run if you'll pardon the pun!) There's a grip handle on the front that you turn one way or another to adjust spraying pressure. 4 stop levers also that allow you to stop any or all of the 3 separate stages on the boom plus the bit for the hand lance, (though as I said earlier I could never get that yoke to work). The boom can be lifted and lowered manually throw loosening and tightening the handles at the rear. Rinse it out again after spraying and drain it as fully as you again prior to leaving it up for the winter. When opening out the boom at the rear, you first have to drop the centre section which is on a spring - don't forget to raise this again before you start working or you'll be wondering why the bottom of the sprayer seems to be dripping profusely when driving along!

MfMan wrote: »
    Um, nothing to it really. Put 60-70 litres water in it first before spraying properly and let it run through to see if any of the nozzles are blocked (a dry run if you'll pardon the pun!) There's a grip handle on the front that you turn one way or another to adjust spraying pressure. 4 stop levers also that allow you to stop any or all of the 3 separate stages on the boom plus the bit for the hand lance, (though as I said earlier I could never get that yoke to work). The boom can be lifted and lowered manually throw loosening and tightening the handles at the rear. Rinse it out again after spraying and drain it as fully as you again prior to leaving it up for the winter. When opening out the boom at the rear, you first have to drop the centre section which is on a spring - don't forget to raise this again before you start working or you'll be wondering why the bottom of the sprayer seems to be dripping profusely when driving along!

should you build up pressue first, in other words turn off the big lever initially and build up pressure and then open it?

No, not necessary I think. PTO will do that.

right, only got to use mine once last autumn and i didnt think the pressure was great but will play around with it with water next time before i spray anything..mine came from whites like so many others but whoever put it together had left a seal out where the hose connects to the pump at the bottom, only noticed when out in the field as tank was emptying like mad, a bit annoyed over it but in fairness they send me spare nozzles etc after telling them about it

Thjat must be why you had poor pressure as well. Mine has good pressure when the pto comes on. Takes it less than 10 seconds to build to a good working pressure.

reilig wrote: »
    Thjat must be why you had poor pressure as well. Mine has good pressure when the pto comes on. Takes it less than 10 seconds to build to a good working pressure.[/QUOTE
    hmm maybe but i fixed it and still didnt think it great but will check it out better this year

Thanks for the info MFman. Will try it probably at the weekend.

Went to Try it out for the first time today as have been too busy the last few weeks.

Was intending to spray off a field with round up to reseed but when I started to fill it up I noticed the Pump was cracked and the water was leaking out.
    I put it into the shed last winter wjen I got it and never put a drop of water into it incase there would be fost damage and yet the frost still damaged it.
    I rang whites and in fairness he said they would send down a new pump to me next week but its very annoying. The whole reason I got it was so that I could do these jobs when I needed to do them and not to be waiting on some contractor to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 mickpbarry

My pump went last year in the frost (winter 2009/10). So last winter, before the fost came, I took the pump off and put it beside the central heating burner. It only takes about 5 mins to take the pump off, just unscrew the pipe from the main filter underneath, then remove the pipe from the valve chest (when you remove the pto shaft, you'll notice two bolts holding in the pto guard, removde that and it will make unscrewing the pipe from the valve chest way easier), losen the four nuts holding the pump in place, then just lift it out. Only weighs about 7/8 kilos.

I've had a 600l one since 2007, and the pump damage is the only trouble i've had. I have 35 acres of tillage every year, and she covers the lot. The book will tell you how to relate speed to pressure and the amount of water used. This is significant, as for sprays to be effective, you need to use enough water to deliver them to the plants. About 80-100 litres water per acre is about right.

I have a number for a lad in Limerick who supplies them also, and he has all the parts you need if you're in the area.

Mick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 cathalmac

Lads,

The needle in the pressure guage on my sprayer will not hold steady anymore. Used it for the first time this year recently and I can't remember if this was the case last year. Seems to spraying ok....

Is the pressure guage damaged?

Thanks,

Only got the pump delivered today after 10 days
    and after several phonecalls. Customer service not their strongest point!
    Very annoyed, actually got the contractor to spray it off last week after as the year is moving on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭westlander

sea12 wrote: »
    Thanks,

Only got the pump delivered today after 10 days
    and after several phonecalls. Customer service not their strongest point!
    Very annoyed, actually got the contractor to spray it off last week after as the year is moving on.

Hello lads,
    I was looking into getting one of these sprayers as well. I rang another dealer who is closer to me who was saying that they put the green tank and a stronger Italian pump on the jarmet frame. He told me the yellow tank leaks after a few yrs. (Could be a load of tosh now I dont know).

So can I ask are ye're tanks the yellow tank or a green one?

westlander wrote: »
    Hello lads,
    I was looking into getting one of these sprayers as well. I rang another dealer who is closer to me who was saying that they put the green tank and a stronger Italian pump on the jarmet frame. He told me the yellow tank leaks after a few yrs. (Could be a load of tosh now I dont know).

So can I ask are ye're tanks the yellow tank or a green one?

yellow..think the price is gone up since last year as well, had a friend that bought one from whites recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭westlander

yellow..think the price is gone up since last year as well, had a friend that bought one from whites recently

Sound vander

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Nobbies

hi folks. does any 1 know if hardi are much dearer than ajarmet? say a400 or 600 litre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭signinlate

Mine is a yellow one.
    Last week I saw the same ones as the one I bought at a local contractor for 500euro dearer than I purchased mine from Whites.
    I did buy it at winter price now however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 mickpbarry

I have the yellow tank. I have mine since 2007, and there's no problem with the tank. Like anything plastic, you have to try to avoid leaving it out in direct strong sunlight. So leaving the sprayer outdoors for the summer wouldn't be the best idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

Anybody know anything about Cararro sprayers?
    See a 400 liter one at a local dealer for €1220.
    Made in Italy.
    I'm tempted!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭FixItAginTomora

Well lads, just wondering for any of you that got the Jarmet sprayer from Whytes, what was the handlance kit like you got with it, fittings, ease of changing etc. Anything like this?
    jan2012%20035-228x228.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Atilathehun

BeeDI wrote: »
    Made in Italy.
    I'm tempted!!

Great sprayers. Jarmet would be in the junior class by comparisson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Well lads, just wondering for any of you that got the Jarmet sprayer from Whytes, what was the handlance kit like you got with it, fittings, ease of changing etc. Anything like this?
    jan2012%20035-228x228.JPG

I got one from Mccords and it was the same Hand Lance as for Carraro sprayers yes jarmet are more basic but there is a large price difference as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

I purchased a 400ltr Jarmet sprayer last year and just wondering is it normal for the pump to make a 'tapping' noise when spraying. When the main lever is in the 'off' position with PTO on there is no sound from the pump but when you switch it on and increase the revs and the pressure builds the pump starts to make this 'tapping' or 'knocking' niose. The oil level is fine so just wondering is this normal or is there a problem with the pump ???
    Has anyone else experienced this with their sprayer ?
    Otherwise the sprayer is working fine.

Is the tank near empty when it does this? Noticed mine 'taps' a bit sometimes if I'm turning and the water level in the tank is low; no operational problems though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

Is the tank near empty when it does this? Noticed mine 'taps' a bit sometimes if I'm turning and the water level in the tank is low; no operational problems though.

No, it makes this noise no matter how much is in the tank.

Before I bought my new one I borrowed a relations, heard that tapping noise, thought it had all gone wrong! Think it's when you reach aprox 3 bar, seems like too much pressure. When i lower rev's it stopped. On the new sprayer i have 3 "switches" as well as the on & off lever. The one on right seems to adjust pressure and ease it off to almost nothing. Hoping to use my new one soon when weather picks up :cool: and will let you know! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 foreman450

BeeDI wrote: »
    Made in Italy.
    I'm tempted!!

Great sprayers. Jarmet would be in the junior class by comparisson.

Did you buy that sprayer?
    I have one myself. Great job.

I chanced doin some sprayin today, no rain till now thankfully! Sprayer worked grand, aprox 3 bar with little or no rev. No knocking noise either unless i reved high by mistake say pushing it over 4 bar. Only thing is it painfully slow filling, over 15 mins anyway id think, near be as quick with tap and buckets outta barrells :D On separate note (or is there another thread for this?) What speed would ye be travellin at roughly? Loads o different figures and ideas from lads, sprayin rushes and general weeds then in grassland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

I chanced doin some sprayin today, no rain till now thankfully! Sprayer worked grand, aprox 3 bar with little or no rev. No knocking noise either unless i reved high by mistake say pushing it over 4 bar. Only thing is it painfully slow filling, over 15 mins anyway id think, near be as quick with tap and buckets outta barrells :D On separate note (or is there another thread for this?) What speed would ye be travellin at roughly? Loads o different figures and ideas from lads, sprayin rushes and general weeds then in grassland.

I travel at 5.1mph (8.2km/hr) and thats gives 90-100l/acre but it really depends on what works for you

49801 wrote: »
    I travel at 5.1mph (8.2km/hr) and thats gives 90-100l/acre but it really depends on what works for you
    Jaysus, I was only goin at 2mph aprox, man told me about 4 acres in field so got about 180l / acre. Neighbour came in chattin me then, e was sayin 3/4 gallon (4litre aprox) Mortone to each 44gallon (200litres aprox.) and crawl around with it. That seems way more than the bottle suggests, but he swears by it, must call to see his sprayed fields! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

that sounds on the slow side alright!!! but hey if it works it works and I dont have to spray off rushs either:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭grange mac

Lads,

I have one of them Jarmet sprayers, any ideas on how to get the last 80l out of the tank as it is below the level of the pump it seems (other than open the tap)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

grange mac wrote: »
    Lads,

I have one of them Jarmet sprayers, any ideas on how to get the last 80l out of the tank as it is below the level of the pump it seems (other than open the tap)?
    I have a 400l one and it empties completly