Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So England Won The World Cup...

• 20-02-2011 2:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭

I've being playing Call Of Duty online tonight... Because I haven't got much in the way of a life. For anyone who hasn't played this online, the craic is, you can design a little logo for yourself that appears beside your name.
    I noticed this one guy that I've had a few matches with tonight had a logo displaying the English flag, a picture of a trophy, and the number 1966.

Now the first thing that hit me about this was that I thought it was kinda sad, considering the fact that it's just shy of 50 years ago and they are still banging on about it. Then it seemed sadder when I heard the player's voice over the headset. He sounded like his was in his 20s or so, which means this would have been waaaaaaaay before he was even born.

I guess what I'm trying to get at here is this- If Ireland were to win the world cup, would we still be boasting the best part of 50 years later? Or would we all just go "That's grand, lads. See yis in another four years for more of the same."?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

What's this world cup you speak of?