Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie PW forum "Hall of Fame" 2011 thread

• 19-02-2011 6:59pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The inaugural Boards.ie PW forum "Hall of Fame" thread
    So there you have it ladies and gentlemen, the Class of 2010 is now complete.

- Ric Flair
    - Hulk Hogan
    - Eddie Guerrero
    - Mitsurharu Misawa
    - Stone Cold Steve Austin
    - The Road Warriors (Hawk and Animal)
    - Vince McMahon Jr

So how about we do this again? Obviously it's D2D's to run if he wants but can anyone remember the rules/catagories for voting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Best left until after the draft no?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

flahavaj wrote: »
    Best left until after the draft no?

well i think this is when we did it last year, but maybe another week or two wouldent hurt. Needs to be voted on early enough that our own HOF can coincide with the real one though. Dont the draft will be fully finished long enough for a long enough voting period to be open to forum posters.

im guessing it was something like:

1 tag team
    1 non US wrestler
    1 non wrestling personality
    4 wrestlers worthy of the HOF

well i think this is when we did it last year, but maybe another week or two wouldent hurt. Needs to be voted on early enough that our own HOF can coincide with the real one though. Dont the draft will be fully finished long enough for a long enough voting period to be open to forum posters.

im guessing it was something like:

1 tag team
    1 non US wrestler
    1 non wrestling personality
    4 wrestlers worthy of the HOF

I think it was 1 tag team (Road Warriors), 2 in the international wing (Misawa and Eddie - there was to be a Japanese and a Mexican but the Mexican was shot down), 3 US wrestlers (Flair, Hogan, SCSA) and one non-wrestler (Vince). The Eddie one is a bit dodge as he's American himself but he had akready gotten a tonne of votes for the Mexican wing before it was changed, but sure what can you do.

I already know who I'd be nominating this year I think.:)

I think it was 1 tag team (Road Warriors), 2 in the international wing (Misawa and Eddie - there was to be a Japanese and a Mexican but the Mexican was shot down), 3 US wrestlers (Flair, Hogan, SCSA) and one non-wrestler (Vince). The Eddie one is a bit dodge as he's American himself but he had akready gotten a tonne of votes for the Mexican wing before it was changed, but sure what can you do.

I already know who I'd be nominating this year I think.:)

That sounds good to me, will see what D2D wants to do about running it then maybe lock this thread for a week or 2 then bump it to announce that voting is now open.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055834754

Here's the nominations thread. I appears D2D PM'd regular users and their votes were then sent to him to buld anticipation.

I would suggest this year maybe just one international nomination as Eddie was put in on a technicality. Theres not that much of an appetite for intermational wrestling on hereto justify including 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Been thinking about votes all week tbh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Spongey1975

Whats the rules for this? I missed out on it last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I helped D2D with this last year, from looking at some old pms, the format was
    The catorgaries are:
    2 Americans Singles wrestlers (1 must be pre-80's)
    1 American Tag team
    1 American non-wrestler(booker, commentator etc..)
    1 Japanese Singles/tag team
    1 Mexican singles/tag team

Edit:// i think it was probably changed to just one international wrestler.

^^^^^^^^

I saw that but then I wondered how Hogan, SCA and Flair all got in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Was just wondering that.... did Flair definately get in? Can't remeber him doing so. Maybe there was a tie, and two wrestlers were inducted or something?

Degag wrote: »
    Was just wondering that.... did Flair definately get in? Can't remeber him doing so. Maybe there was a tie, and two wrestlers were inducted or something?

Yeah he definitely did, I was reading the massive induction speech someone did for him earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

This is probably best left till after Mania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Ah cool, the thread has been started already. I was gonna run this again this year seeing as the response I got from last year was excellent.

The format for the PW HoF hit a bit of a snag last year with the whole Mexico/Japan/International category so for this year, the categories are:
    - 3 US wrestlers
    - 1 International wrestler
    - 1 Tag Team
    - 1 Non-Wrestler (commentator, booker etc....)

For those that don't know, the voting for this is all through PM's. You can send them to me but, more than likely, I'll send them out.

More than likely, I'll be sending out the PM's around the end of February/start of March and voting closes on the 27th of March (1 week before Mania). This way, I can count up all the votes and get to decide about speeches and get that sorted out.

The new inductees to the boards.ie Pro Wrestling Hall of Fame will be announced (more than likely) in this thread on Saturday, April 2nd (to coincide with WrestleMania 27)

If anyone wants to help, please let me know:):)

As posted already, the current PW Hall of Fame is....
    - Ric Flair
    - Hulk Hogan
    - Eddie Guerrero
    - Mitsurharu Misawa
    - Vince McMahon Jr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,028 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Just thinking about who I wanna see in and so far HBK and Bobby Heenan are tops for me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Mr Perfect & Jim Cornette

yep almost voting time id say, a lot of good names in the WWE hall of thread being suggested people could consider, though there are obviously a lot of names they already have in their hall of fame we havent but still worth a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

The Undertaker all the way, was watching some Raw from 1999 earlier on. Jesus like what an absolute hero of a man. Could very well be the greatest ever. When you take size and everything into consideration. 20 years this year. Wow. That will be a hole that will never be filled again, you couldnt even start to try and fill it. Nobody else could say that. There is no comparison to the Deadman.

I'll start sending out PM's tomorrow

Would like to see Sammartino, Santo or Kobashi getting recognised myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Gerard.C wrote: »
    The Undertaker all the way, was watching some Raw from 1999 earlier on. Jesus like what an absolute hero of a man. Could very well be the greatest ever. When you take size and everything into consideration. 20 years this year. Wow. That will be a hole that will never be filled again, you couldnt even start to try and fill it. Nobody else could say that. There is no comparison to the Deadman.

I could only imagine the sh!t Russo/HogOff would book for him if he went to TNA

I'm thinking it wouldent be surprising to see:

Sammartino, The Undetaker & The Rock
    The Dudleys
    JR
    Kenta Kobashi / Santo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

To be fair, the idea of Jim Ross having to go through any sort of vote is insulting. He should automatically be included in AND CALLING every hall of fame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Sammartino, Macho Man, HBK, Kobashi, The Steiner Brothers and JR are who I would like to see get in this year.

Forgot about this, sending PM's A.S.A.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

D2D, is there any conditions on the votes? Amount of years wrestled, pre-date debut/date of retirement etc?

CMpunked wrote: »
    D2D, is there any conditions on the votes? Amount of years wrestled, pre-date debut/date of retirement etc?

The only condition I can remember is that 1 of the 3 American wrestlers must have debuted pre-1980.

I've sent out around 20-25 PM's so far. I'll try to send out more when I can :)

I have to say thanks to all who have voted so far for this but since theres so many new faces here in PW, I'm opening up the voting so anyone can vote on who goes into the Boards.ie PW Hall of Fame:)

If you would like to vote, please send me a PM with votes for the following categories:

3 US Wrestlers (1 must have debuted pre-1980)
    -
    -
    -

1 International Wrestler
    -

1 Tag Team
    -

1 Non-Wrestler (comentator, booker etc..)
    -

The closing date has been pushed back to Monday so if you'd like to take part and vote for who goes into the PW Hall of Fame, please PM with your choices before Monday

1 more day to vote:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

can i vote?

can i vote?

Yep, anyone can vote. Just send me a PM with your choices before midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

Yep, anyone can vote. Just send me a PM with your choices before midnight

damn too late

i'd have voted for taker, heenan, roddy piper, andre the giant and british bulldogs

Seeing as you were the last person who sent a vote, I'll count it.

On that, I'm now beginning to count up the votes on who will be inducted into the Boards.ie PW Hall of Fame Class of 2011 on Saturday night. I'm really busy atm so I should have them counted by tomorrow. If anyone can help out with doing write up, I'd be more than grateful (thanks tbc for applying already:):)) but if all comes to all, I'll try to get some sort of a write up done in any spare time I have.

Votes have finally been counted and I now have the list on who will be inducted into the PW Hall of Fame tonight.

The thread should be started at around 8/9 tonight. More than likely, I've do a quick write up on inductees but any help would be greatly appriciated:):)

I dont mind doing a write up if you want.

Cheers man, I'm PM ya there:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Take your time lads. No rush :rolleyes:

The thread should be started at around 8/9 tonight. More than likely, I've do a quick write up on inductees but any help would be greatly appriciated:):)
    glenjamin wrote: »
    Take your time lads. No rush :rolleyes:

;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭glenjamin

;);)

fedora_cat_hat.jpg

:cool:

Done:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,028 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Great worlk and effort D2D, fair play to you.

I don't think anyone could argue with any of the selections this year. It should get very interesting as of next year now that all the real no-brainers have been inducted.

Well done again D2D, great stuff.

As a matter of interest how many people voted in the end?

Great worlk and effort D2D, fair play to you.

I don't think anyone could argue with any of the selections this year. It should get very interesting as of next year now that all the real no-brainers have been inducted.

Well done again D2D, great stuff.

As a matter of interest how many people voted in the end?

Cheers :)

At the end, I got around 20-25 votes

dunno if you wanna run this again D2D (new thread for this year obviously) but I thought it might be worth a bump to remind folk of this concept as I'd be in favour of doing this again this year.

Gotta get an assignment out've the way for college but I'll try to get this running by the weekend:)

good stuff and no rush man

btw as in the hot links sticky here is the current Boards.ie PW Hall of fame
    The Boards.ie PW Hall of Fame:

- Ric Flair
    - Hulk Hogan
    - Bruno Sammartino
    - The Undertaker
    - Shawn Michaels
    - Mitsurharu Misawa
    - Eddie Guerrero
    - Kenta Kobashi
    - The Dudleys
    - Vince McMahon Jr
    - Jim Ross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Time for Gerard C to be voted into the International wing methinks.