Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Allegation of Attempted Voter Fraud in Kerry South

• 19-02-2011 1:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭

So I wonder who this could be ? :rolleyes:

Not the first time I've heard allegations like this about this political faction but it is the first time I've heard of any officialdom being involved.
    18 Feb 2011
    Allegation of attempted voter fraud made to Castleisland Gardai

An allegation of attempted voter fraud has been made to Gardai in Castleisland.
    87-year-old Pat O'Mahony says a woman who claimed to be campaigning for a General Election candidate called to his house on Wednesday and said she was there to collect his postal vote.
    If you are registered as a postal voter, you may only vote by post only.
    Castleisland Gardai say they are aware an allegation has been made but have not yet received an official complaint in writing.
    Mr O'Mahony says the woman also asked whether he would vote for a particular candidate.
    County Registrar refers alleged attempt to interfere with postal vote to Gardai

The official who oversees elections in Kerry says he's referred a complaint alleging attempted voter fraud to the Gardai.
    The county registrar Padraig Burke says he's received a claim that there was an attempt to interfere with the postal voting process.
    87-year-old Pat O'Mahony from Castleisland says a woman who claimed to be campaigning for a General Election candidate called to his house and tried to collect his postal vote. The woman is NOT an election candidate.
    Fianna Fail candidate, Deputy John O'Donoghue, says it's vital the authorities investigate the matter thoroughly.

www.radiokerry.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Tell us more, who is responsible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Tell us more, who is responsible?

Well it's not John O'Donoghue given he's calling for an investigation.

I'm not sure if its legally ok to name the candidate her but the dogs in the streets in Kerry South all know.

Who out of the candidates below sounds like it might be something they would pull?

To be honest I'm surprised this hasnt been picked up by the national media given it was on Radio Kerry yesterday.

List of who is running in South Kerry

Brendan GRIFFIN Fine Gael
    Michael GLEESON South Kerry Independent Alliance
    Marie MOLONEY Labour
    Tom SHEAHAN Fine Gael
    Michael HEALY-RAEIndependent
    Tom FLEMING Independent
    Oonagh COMERFORD Green Party
    John O'DONOGHUE Fianna Fáil

Richard BEHAL Independent
    Dermot FINN Independent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

I dunno, you crossed out the name I wouldve guessed. My next guess would be the son of a gombeen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

One of the two FG candidates trying to do over their running mate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

One of the 2 lady candidates ;)

I dunno, you crossed out the name I wouldve guessed. My next guess would be the son of a gombeen.

"You might very well think that ; I couldn't possibly comment"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Who out of the candidates below sounds like it might be something they would pull?

To be brutally honest, and this only serves to expose my own prejudice, I was expecting to see some Sinn Féin candidate on the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

My next guess would be the son of a gombeen.

That's like going cap in hand and begging for a vote....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭eastbono

I think Castleisland is in Kerry North West Limerick constituency not Kerry South.

eastbono wrote: »
    I think Castleisland is in Kerry North West Limerick constituency not Kerry South.

Castleisland is in Kerry North/West Limerick but since the changes in the constituencies, once you come just a short ways south of Castleisland (a few miles) you're into Kerry South.

I think Castleisland would be the nearest Garda station to where the alleged crime took place but the alleged offence was by a alleged representative of an alleged Kerry South candidate and allegedly took place in the Kerry South constituency. Allegedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭RubyRoss

This is frustrating as I'm none the wiser.

It's a pretty low thing to do if true - there is no reason to ask for anyone's card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭The Brigadier

phutyle wrote: »
    To be brutally honest, and this only serves to expose my own prejudice, I was expecting to see some Sinn Féin candidate on the list.

I was thinking the same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

prejudice at its best!!

I would reckon it could be the work af an oul GOMBEEN, but I stand to be corrected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Common as...

The man with cap is back to his old tricks or should I say "trick a da lube"

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Castleisland is in Kerry North/West Limerick but since the changes in the constituencies, once you come just a short ways south of Castleisland (a few miles) you're into Kerry South.

I think Castleisland would be the nearest Garda station to where the alleged crime took place but the alleged offence was by a alleged representative of an alleged Kerry South candidate and allegedly took place in the Kerry South constituency. Allegedly.

Actually I was wrong on this - This used to be the situation but since the changes in the constituency Castleisland is actually in Kerry South.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭lottpaul

Since the constituency revision all of the town of Castleisland is in Kerry south. The "border" with KyN/LkW runs just to the north of the town so the district is split 50/50.

Remember at the opening of the by-pass - the picture of the men in caps climbing the steps over the barrier? :) It wasn't for the good of their health.

But as to who the complaint might be about? The elderly man in question said he was a life time FG supporter so we could probably rule out the 2 FG candidates on the grounds that he would hardly be making a complaint against them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 dohronan

It was an opportunistic canvaser rather than a candidate. What candidate in their right mind would try and vote rig for one or two votes. Or the person was just trying to do a favour for an old man in a remote area by offering to post his vote for him. If your looking for poor ethics and corruption you dont really have to look any further that yer man in the limosine or the gombeen with all the state and local authority plant hire contracts. Who's makin the profits out of all them great south kerry roads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

dohronan wrote: »
    It was an opportunistic canvaser rather than a candidate. What candidate in their right mind would try and vote rig for one or two votes. Or the person was just trying to do a favour for an old man in a remote area by offering to post his vote for him. If your looking for poor ethics and corruption you dont really have to look any further that yer man in the limosine or the gombeen with all the state and local authority plant hire contracts. Who's makin the profits out of all them great south kerry roads?

You have never had a close involvement with politics then have you, there is the attempt to rig one or two votes in every election. Tends to always be focused on the elderly or infirm as well which is disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 paperbag

For gods sake! this moran and his family have being doing this for years!! a certain polling booth in Kenmare had one of them standing in there with a mobile phone last year calling someone to ensure that MR X Y and Z came into vote!!

Reminds me of the red ink of Zimbabwe elections!!

Every dog on the street knows who is doing this on a regular basis!

paperbag wrote: »
    For gods sake! this moran and his family have being doing this for years!! a certain polling booth in Kenmare had one of them standing in there with a mobile phone last year calling someone to ensure that MR X Y and Z came into vote!!

Reminds me of the red ink of Zimbabwe elections!!

Every dog on the street knows who is doing this on a regular basis!

If this was true then you should have pointed out the electoral law to the presiding officer rather than saving it for boards a year later. Mobile phones are not allowed in polling booths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Auctionmcd

Well this kind of carry on is not restricted to Kerry, I remember working in a polling station in Wicklow and seeing a FG canvasser coming in with the elderly from the Local day care centre and being allowed to assist them with their votes (Standing in the booth and ticking the boxes for them). Surely just because this lady worked in the day care centre she shouldnt have been allowed to do this. I stated it to the Garda that was present and he did absolutely nothing. I would suggest that the Gardai should be there to assist but not an individual person, should be a minimum of 2 people assisting to allow for transparency and fairness and ensure no undue influence. I am also certain this is not exclusive to FG as it seems that scruples are lacking during elections in all parties.

There have been a lot (and I mean a lot) of stories about this particular faction over the years - whats unusual about this occasion is that it's the first time someone has complained them to the authorities.

As to your statement
    What candidate in their right mind would try and vote rig for one or two votes

if that's what you expect from your political representatives that's what you are going to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Davypat

No it's in South Kerry. Where have you been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 paperbag

If this was true then you should have pointed out the electoral law to the presiding officer rather than saving it for boards a year later. Mobile phones are not allowed in polling booths.

Thanks for your advice and this was done!! Also the Registrar is aware of such antics and has informed officers re same.

Auctionmcd wrote: »
    Well this kind of carry on is not restricted to Kerry, I remember working in a polling station in Wicklow and seeing a FG canvasser coming in with the elderly from the Local day care centre and being allowed to assist them with their votes (Standing in the booth and ticking the boxes for them). Surely just because this lady worked in the day care centre she shouldnt have been allowed to do this. I stated it to the Garda that was present and he did absolutely nothing. I would suggest that the Gardai should be there to assist but not an individual person, should be a minimum of 2 people assisting to allow for transparency and fairness and ensure no undue influence. I am also certain this is not exclusive to FG as it seems that scruples are lacking during elections in all parties.

Under electoral law someone can declare their vote if incapacitated ( which calls for the the booth to be emptied of other voters to allow them to do so as closely to secret as possible or they can ask for someone to go behind the screen with them to vote for them. Nothing in the least bit illegal once the person is considered of sound mind to know what they are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 thegreyman

Under electoral law someone can declare their vote if incapacitated ( which calls for the the booth to be emptied of other voters to allow them to do so as closely to secret as possible or they can ask for someone to go behind the screen with them to vote for them. Nothing in the least bit illegal once the person is considered of sound mind to know what they are doing.

i think the presiding officer is supposed to record the name of the person assisting, and this person cannot assist more than 2 people. how this works in practice across multiple booths and stations i have no idea - anybody have any experience of this?

regarding the alleged attempted fraud, i did hear a suggestion that this happened quite a few times in the area, successfully, but i can well imagine that none of the victims will bother to do anything about it, and it'll be the last we'll ever hear of it. anyone have any news?

thegreyman wrote: »
    i think the presiding officer is supposed to record the name of the person assisting, and this person cannot assist more than 2 people. how this works in practice across multiple booths and stations i have no idea - anybody have any experience of this?

regarding the alleged attempted fraud, i did hear a suggestion that this happened quite a few times in the area, successfully, but i can well imagine that none of the victims will bother to do anything about it, and it'll be the last we'll ever hear of it. anyone have any news?

I do it every election for a neighbour who asks me to do it due to his inherent distrust of anyone whose politics he is unsure of. Never causes a problem because both the presiding officer and polling clerk know me for years.