Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you give money to Beggars?

• 19-02-2011 1:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭

I do but never to Romas as I think that's just a business. But if I feel that if someone really is genuine I'll give whatever change I have...thing is I find it hard to differentiate between what's genuine and what's not.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I just about have enough money for myself at the best of times, so no i don't.
    Charity begins at home as they say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

stevejr wrote: »
    I do but never to Romas as I think that's just a business. But if I feel that if someone really is genuine I'll give whatever change I have...thing is I find it hard to differentiate between what's genuine and what's not.

Like David Begg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I do if I have change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

What annoys me most is they blatently empty their full cup/cap in front of everyone and leave a few coppers to make it look like thats all there being thrown, i presume they get the same benefit as anyone else so why cant they live off that?

It beggers belief

I sometimes get a soft drink and snack for them. If they really need money for something worthy, they can then save whatever they would have spent on food and put it towards a more medium to long-term good. It's only two euro or so, in any case, and I feel better doing that than cash-in-hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Khyra24

It depends on how sad they look. The sadder, the more likely I am to give. I am genuinely a nice person. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I only give them money if someone is there to witness my act of kindness. Whats that old saying...charity makes you look good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I have done but not any more. It's seeing those people carrying around babies in the cold and then seeing them eating in a fancy place the next day! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

99% no but one guy asked me for a euro to buy a mixer for his vodka so i gave it to him -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I used to, when I was a kid. Used to feel so sorry for them, living on the street, nowhere would take them in, they had no choice but to live where they could because they had no other choice.

Then I turned ten.

I'm not that naive anymore. Giving anyone money that is begging, regardless of the reason they are begging, does not help them. Please stop doing it right now. Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

No not as a rule.

I tell them to get a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Violafy

Nah. I'd give to homeless charities but not to people on the street, as I don't want the money to be spent on drugs or something. Not saying that all homeless people would do this, but some obviously do... Buying them some food is probably a better option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭brokenhinge

Nope. I'm in enough debt as it is.

Plus by giving them money you're encouraging the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Pocketfizz wrote: »
    I have done but not any more. It's seeing those people carrying around babies in the cold and then seeing them eating in a fancy place the next day! :mad:

Yeah that's really bad form alright...It goes against every instinct I have, but I never give money to women with infants...because I think that they are using thier child as a prop and as a parent myself I find that behaviour abhorrent.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Usually I just write them a cheque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Yes

Irish adult beggars I give money and paper money dependent on circumstance

child beggars I nip into the nearest food place and give them sandwiches, burgers or similar

Romas - I throw in pebbles, buttons and northern coppers - always tempted if I saw a euro or paper money to reach in and take it - f_ck romas begging on our streets - bast_rds

Pocketfizz wrote: »
    It's seeing those people carrying around babies in the cold and then seeing them eating in a fancy place the next day! :mad:

Did that ever even once happen? Or are you just playing to the gallery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

strobe wrote: »

I've never seen that but i have seen Romas pretending to be missing limbs - I've also seen irish beggars change into rags before doing their "shift" then afterwards throw on some top clobber!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Yes for the past week, there is a woman on the quay in waterford, beside the car park payment machine.

The baby boy is about 10 mts.

And this woman is probably getting the children's allowance.

Really sickened me, so when i got to the other side of the quay i tried to take a photo but she scarpered behind the machine hut.

so no i dont give to beggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Yes I do because usually they buy a suit....of drugs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

No I don't.

I also tend to look at them with utter disdain as well, despite trying not to. That half a paper coffee cup thing is really old,, put some effort into your display.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

No. I don't think people should as it's just encouraging them. There's far too many beggars around. If they really are homeless then there's help out there for them.

wmpdd3 wrote: »
    Yes for the past week, there is a woman on the quay in waterford, beside the car park payment machine.

The baby boy is about 10 mts.

And this woman is probably getting the children's allowance.

Really sickened me, so when i got to the other side of the quay i tried to take a photo but she scarpered behind the machine hut.

so no i dont give to beggers.

I meant about her eating in a fancy place? If you are saying something that is what you presume happened it would be more honest to say so than to try and say something happened that probably didn't.

Having said that, I agree with you, you should not give anyone like this money. But don't exaggerate, don't say "probably getting the children's allowance". don't imply they are eating lobster in the Ritz with their takings. It makes the things you say unreliable and people will just think you are a daily mailer.

Or whatever.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Never given money, gave a young guy a packet of smokes once and on one occasion I gave a guy a wagon wheel chocolate bar, I explained I had no money on me but I did have a wagon wheel if he wanted it. He was delighted with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I have in the past and will again in the future. I wouldn't give a beggar in Dublin / Ireland money as most of them are professional beggars who don't need to beg. I've seen what a real beggar looks like in other countries and let me tell you this - they don't have close haircuts; they're not clean shaven and don't wear new runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

Ricardo G wrote: »
    What annoys me most is they blatently empty their full cup/cap in front of everyone and leave a few coppers to make it look like thats all there being thrown, i presume they get the same benefit as anyone else so why cant they live off that?

It beggers belief

I don't think genuine homeless people can claim any kind of benefits because they don't have an address, very vicious cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Roma, not never.. Not a hope.

Homeless yes, I'd know a lot of Dublin's homeless and I take the view 'there but for the grace of God go I'.

I don't care if their poison is smack, cheap cider and whatever the fvck, I'm not going to sit in judgement over them - if thats what brings a little comfort into their lives well so be it.

God bless them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

I let one of the beggars from central bank stay in my gaff last monday.\Nothing stolen and noting broken.

Shound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I coulda been a bum. All it takes is the wrong girl, the wrong bar and the wrong friends - Bill Hicks.

I give them food, hot stuff if it's cold. the genuine ones will appreciate, the junkies and fakes will curse and whine..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

I recently parked up in dublin for work and was coming and going to my van for about 45 mins.
    There was a guy in a doorway begging.
    First thing I noticed was he had a superdry jacket on! (about 100 quid's worth)
    Next time I passed he was texting someone on a mobile (phone discreetly hidden under blanket)
    When I came back again he was negotiating when he'd swap his begging location with another "beggar"...."yeah, I'll do another hour here then you can have it"
    Because he was standing up I noticed his nice expensive trainers.
    I think it was then that I decided I'd never give money to a beggar again.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

If their Irish then more than likely, if i have change out, but foreigners nope! might sound racist but whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sometimes. Depends on random factors: if I'm in a rush, have change, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Rather give money to Simon community.

Even if they are genuine beggars, I've seen junkiees take the money of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭breadandjam

No never. I once queued behind a guy in Spar who was changing his days coin takings from begging into notes. He loudly told us all in the queue that we were mugs for working.
    5 minutes later I passed him on the street and he asked me for "Any odds"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I assumned the 'beggars' bit in the thread title, was referring to the incompetent b@stards running the banks. No doubt they'll be begging for more of our hard earned money soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

If they are Irish and have a dirty cute little dog with 'em i always throw them a few quid. Cant help myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

nope, never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Normally no. There was an Irish girl sitting on O'Connell bridge though one time, holding a very young baby. It was freezing out, & she looked like she had a drug problem (very good looking girl though all the same), & I felt bad thinking of baby being out in the rain. It didn't help that I'd just bought an expensive watch. I gave her €20 & told her to go and get the two of them something warm to drink. She smiled :) I smiled back :D

Nowadays it's me who needs the €20 :( Damned baby :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Hate giving money to beggars as they follow you around. Most of them have blankets over their new addidas track suits, and I've seen some romanian beggars get out of mercs in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭síofra

I say no to people at the Luas stops and Roma gypsies because I find them very intrusive and feel that they target someone like me (a girl, mid-twenties, often using public transport on my own). But if I think people are genuine, I usually buy them tea and a sandwich and some fruit because even if I have a bit of doubt, at least I know they will benefit from what I give them and not someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭nosey rosie

Last time I gave to a beggar... I handed them my change... maybe just under a euro... the girl looked at it and said "thats not enough" and she looked like she was about to hit me. Achh I got sick of the agression from them... best advice is just walk on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

The Galway Co Council rate collector begged me for money so i gave him a little. I didn't feel good about it though, i have no idea what practical use they will make of my hard earned money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

síofra wrote: »
    I say no to people at the Luas stops and Roma gypsies because I find them very intrusive and feel that they target someone like me (a girl, mid-twenties, often using public transport on my own). But if I think people are genuine, I usually buy them tea and a sandwich and some fruit because even if I have a bit of doubt, at least I know they will benefit from what I give them and not someone else.

I do the exact same. I stopped giving money a long time ago. I'd rather give food, or even a few cigarettes if I've no extra cash to buy soup/sambo. I don't give to Romas and working in the city center I'm getting a bit sick of being approached with the "my bag has been stolen, I just need €2 for the bus home" story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Squirm

Yes I regularly do. I have bought people food items, snacks, nappies, formula, pai for a guy's hostel one night too. If I can afford to go into town and have lunch or buy myself a little treat, it won't kill me to throw a euro into someone's cup and make their day a little easier. I have given away umbrellas and gloves before. Gave a woman my scarf one day.

I used to work for Focus Ireland and, while I accept that it doesn't address the issue of homelessness on a grand scale, it does help to keep someone warm, fed or a little less depressed for a few minutes. I will donate money to charities to tackle the root of the problem, but until that has been resolved, people need to eat and a place to sleep. A lot of the homeless shelters are HORRENDOUS and very unsafe. I know this from professional experience. Begging is not an easy thing to do for anyone. It is one of the most degrading, demoralising and depressing things one can be reduced to doing.

Yes I work hard for my money, yes times are hard and we're on a tight budget ourselves, yes lots of the homeless people you encounter begging in the city centre do have substance abuse problems... but they're human and it wont kill me or break the bank to lend a very small hand when I can.

I do not, all of this said however, give to the Romas, as I do believe that begging, for them, is a cultural pursuit that they take much more lightly and that is really a career choice for a lot of them. Which I do not respect or understand or condone. I have seen women positioning their children in town, with little cups, at bust intersections, in the hope of getting a few extra quid. Dispicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

I meant about her eating in a fancy place? If you are saying something that is what you presume happened it would be more honest to say so than to try and say something happened that probably didn't.

Having said that, I agree with you, you should not give anyone like this money. But don't exaggerate, don't say "probably getting the children's allowance". don't imply they are eating lobster in the Ritz with their takings. It makes the things you say unreliable and people will just think you are a daily mailer.

Or whatever.....

I agree with your point but I didn't make the original remark about eating out later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I've given a few homeless people sandwiches or McDonalds a few times. It's usually when I'm quite drunk though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Poshknacker

wild_cat wrote: »
    I explained I had no money on me but I did have a wagon wheel if he wanted it.

According to urbandictionary this means ''to spin one's genitilia in a wagon wheel' motion in order to entice onlookers.'' Don't you think these people have enough problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

Do you give money to Beggars?

Sometimes i do... sometimes i don't...