Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you look for ways to get compo??

• 18-02-2011 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭

Just wondering if anyone out there looks for opportunities to claim compo? are you one of these people that lives off claims?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭marbar

are there people that live off combo?

alot less 'lawyers for you' ads these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

'compo' lol

Reminds me of Uncle Albert falling down the cellar of the Nags head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Like anyones gonna own up to it ffs

Ouch, that fookin pothole.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I slipped on a beer bottle while rushing to my PC to read this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I slipped on a beer bottle while rushing to my PC to read this thread
    That's a few million from the beer bottling company, a few million from the OP and maybe a few million off boards for allowing you to experience such a painful happening. You may be able to triple your compensation if you can prove that the bottle is now traumatising your every living moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Used to know a lad who drove around with a broken wing mirror and he'd intentionally hit people with it so he can extort 20 pounds from them.

When he was doing this he was round 40 years old, his mother used to give back the 20 pounds if anyone told her about it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

No I don't, I'm not American

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Just wondering if anyone out there looks for opportunities to claim compo? are you one of these people that lives off claims?:mad:

I imagine you sitting at your computer shaking with rage for some reason. What brought you this low, friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Assassin saphir

Not shaking yet, just something i saw today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Not shaking yet, just something i saw today

What did you see? It might make for an interesting thread with some vague details. It's a bit Joe Duffy as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Assassin saphir

saw someone fall on a premises, wasn't hurt but person their companion told them to stay down to make it look bad.He should have got an oscar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Rat them up OP !!!

(Except if they resemble Uncle Albert of course)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

saw someone fall on a premises, wasn't hurt but person their companion told them to stay down to make it look bad.He should have got an oscar
    I stumbled over your first sentence because it wasn't properly signposted with a capital "S". I'm lodging a claim against you for 1 trillion internetz dollars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

If Compo adverts have taught me anything it's this:
    1. Pour water on ground to form a small puddle (without being seen)
    2. Slip on puddle (In full view of people, the more witnesses the better)
    3. Land awkwardly
    4. ??????
    5. Malibu House!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

No. Thats a scummy way to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Topper Harley01

I won't name names, but there was a fella down in Tralee who was barred from taking compo claims by the judge. He had 19 claims against the council at one stage, and won almost all of them. He even claimed to fall over the same hole twice. He lost that one thankfully....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Ex-business partner of my dad and his wife have 7 claims between them.

Guy in work had a minor prang in a car park just before Christmas. No damage done to either car, both parties agreed at the scene to leave it. After he left, the woman developed injuries so severe she required an ambulance :rolleyes:. Got her comp application from the PIAB and she has three previous claims.

You just have to tell yourself that karma will get these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

All of those personal injury ads that are on tv should be banned. They are a joke and they piss me off everytime I see them especially the one with the stupid cow walking across the office lobby and she slips in water and "badly" hurts her knee. "I recieved 10 thousand pounds and I was very happy". Can nobody these days be accountable for their own stupidity??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

dagdha wrote: »
    All of those personal injury ads that are on tv should be banned. They are a joke and they piss me off everytime I see them especially the one with the stupid cow walking across the office lobby and she slips in water and "badly" hurts her knee. "I recieved 10 thousand pounds and I was very happy". Can nobody these days be accountable for their own stupidity??

You'll notice that those ads are only on English tv. Irish solicitors are prohibited by law from advertising for personal injury claims. Not that it's made a blind of difference, we're still an extremely litigious society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

COMPOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

Honey-ec wrote: »
    You'll notice that those ads are only on English tv. Irish solicitors are prohibited by law from advertising for personal injury claims. Not that it's made a blind of difference, we're still an extremely litigious society.

Yeah I noticed that but I'm sure the majority of people watch english tv like myself and are bound to see those ads which will then put the idea of making a claim into their head. Those ads annoy me though and I'm sure anybody with a legitimate claim are not going to go to some firm they see a crap ad on tv for but go to a more respected solicitor or firm. I would be suspicious of anybody using any of those firms that have tv ads who pretty much encourage you to make a claim for any minor incident you might have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭rescue16

I won't name names, but there was a fella down in Tralee who was barred from taking compo claims by the judge. He had 19 claims against the council at one stage, and won almost all of them. He even claimed to fall over the same hole twice. He lost that one thankfully....
    Lol i know this guy what a fool i remember the case were the same hole came in to it . The name joe comes to mind lol ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Apparently Cork is the compo capital of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Im a law student, I now look out in everyday life for ways I could claim compensation, or when I hear a story my reaction is "oh, you could/should sue!"

Nothing wrong with claiming compensation or suing people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Im a law student, I now look out in everyday life for ways I could claim compensation, or when I hear a story my reaction is "oh, you could/should sue!"

Yea, there is - everything.

Imo, you shouldn't be entitled to a cent of compensation unless you are seriously injured due to the blatant negligence of another party.

And even at that , the compensation should only cover the medical costs and costs of earnings.

Its the compensation culture that is stifling start up businesses with bull**** premiums for insurance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Well you would have a vested interest, or you're trolling

claiming compensation is one thing when it's valid, money for old rope is another

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭alandublin15

ja see yer'man in the independant?
    48,000 for comin off his bike that was badly repaired.
    he fractured his arm.
    i mean some compo is probably due....but 48,000

gimme a hammer, a drink and a contract for 48,000 and ill bust my own arm.

Merch wrote: »
    Well you would have a vested interest, or you're trolling

claiming compensation is one thing when it's valid, money for old rope is another
    Im not trolling, sure if you sue and you are awarded money then there is obviously a justification for getting the cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

never tried to claim compo although I could have a few times.

I was once chased across the road into another shop by a shop assistant who accused me of having robbed clothes up my jumper....I was 7 months pregnant at the time :eek:
    She said I wasn't pregnant when I came in to the shop :eek::eek:
    and literally harrassed me for around half an hour until I eventually lifted up my top to show my baby bump, the face on her was priceless.
    I got a letter of apology but didn't try to sue.

I know plenty of people who claim over anything and it's reallt ridiculous, I think past claims should definitely be taken into account when these cases get to court.

There was one in the paper a while ago for a woman who walked into a pole, like come on that's your own fault!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Dudess wrote: »
    Apparently Cork is the compo capital of Ireland.

People from cork deserve compensation for place of birth.

The state owes them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Compo is quite a catch alright, I don't know why that Nora Batty doesn't take him up on his offer!

I'm confused, is this thread about Last of the Summer Wine?

Im not trolling, sure if you sue and you are awarded money then there is obviously a justification for getting the cash

Its not that simple is it though, and in answer to your statement NO, just because someone was awarded money doesnt mean it was justified, it just means it was legal

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I used to know a family that had load of claims between them.

The mother "hurt her back" in work and got thousands,then off "on the sick" with her while i once watched her push a car into the drive of her house.

The father had something similar happen,he claimed for a whiplash injury in which teh car was hardly dented..he'd wear his coller when he left the house in case anybody was watching then take it off when he got into his car,went down the pub or spent the day fishing.

One of the brat kids had a one-inch scar on her knee where she fell on glass at a train station,again she got thousands for it.
    Another kid slipped whilst running in a supermarket and supposedly damaged himself so badly they got a load of money in a payout,despite the fact that i never even saw him limping.

The leeches got thier house done up,went on lots of holidays and always seemed to have new cars..all on a combination of the dole and compo payouts.

Merch wrote: »
    Its not that simple is it though, and in answer to your statement NO, just because someone was awarded money doesnt mean it was justified, it just means it was legal
    Take the american "coffee" case, woman spills McDonalds coffee onto herself, she sues. On the surface that sounds mad, dig a little deeper.....

She was an OAP and got 3rd degree burns on her genitals and surrounding area. MDonalds had paid out a load of people because of this before and knew this was a problem(super hot coffee and no warning, so hot it gives really bad 3rd degree burns in like 2 seconds, even 5 degrees cooler it takes longer to inflict the same damage) and didnt care and set aside a certain amount to pay these people off and shut them up, McDs make millions a day just from coffee and decided to just pay them off and they were making too much cash to reevaluate their policy.

The woman offered to settle for medical bills and earnings, 20 grand or so, McDonalds refused, courts ruled in the womans favour, now how much to award? 2.6 million it was initially(a days takings I believe) this forced them to change policy, 20 grand wouldnt have.

Was that a stupid case?

Take the american "coffee" case, woman spills McDonalds coffee onto herself, she sues. On the surface that sounds mad, dig a little deeper.....

She was an OAP and got 3rd degree burns on her genitals and surrounding area. MDonalds had paid out a load of people because of this before and knew this was a problem(super hot coffee and no warning, so hot it gives really bad 3rd degree burns in like 2 seconds, even 5 degrees cooler it takes longer to inflict the same damage) and didnt care and set aside a certain amount to pay these people off and shut them up, McDs make millions a day just from coffee and decided to just pay them off and they were making too much cash to reevaluate their policy.

The woman offered to settle for medical bills and earnings, 20 grand or so, McDonalds refused, courts ruled in the womans favour, now how much to award? 2.6 million it was initially(a days takings I believe) this forced them to change policy, 20 grand wouldnt have.

Was that a stupid case?

Yes it was,
    First you say she was an OAP then she was willing to settle for earnings, then McD set aside a certain amount for this but wont pay up so sued, sounds made up to me. whether this is true or hypothetical, in m y mind she has some responsibility and thats the problem with people that sue on a whim, they shirk their own responsibility

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

She was an OAP and got 3rd degree burns on her genitals

So what? Its not like she needed them for anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Degsy wrote: »
    So what? Its not like she needed them for anything.

Wayne Rooney begs to differ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Was that a stupid case?

A warning? You really think I'm going to be less likely to spill coffee on my nads because there's a warning? That's a stupid bloody thing to sue over in any case. Coffee is hot. It's not difficult to take one look at it or feel the cup to ascertain whether it's too hot to drink/pour on your nads. If you subsequently trip and spill it on yourself and get burnt, the primary reason is that you tripped, not that the coffee was hot. People need to start taking responsibility for themselves. If I'm climbing a tree and fall and hurt myself, should I sue the landowner for not making it more difficult to climb the tree? Or for not removing the hard things I fell on from around the bottom of the tree which did the damage? Maybe the tree needs a warning label?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

My favourite one is the woman who passed out in Disneyland. Someone in a mickey mouse costume save her life as they, like all staff were trained in CPR. Woman sues Disneyworld for shattering her fantasy that Mickey Mouse was real. Her horror at coming back to life and finding out that it was just someone in a costume deserved millions it seems.

No I have never sued for compo. It would take a lot for me to think it justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Topper Harley01

And yet you'd argue to the death that you are some sort of patriot. You can never give out about the actions of Fianna Fail after that post... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭breadmonster

i used to know one girl that claims for sexual harassment at work in nearly every job she worked in. She usually gets paid off from the company and a non disclosure agreement put in place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

The key to compo is in your psychological report. "I cant sleep" "I have nightmares" "I am more withdrawn" etc etc. Arbitrary, intangible and unquantifiable. Guaranteed money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

i used to know one girl that claims for sexual harassment at work in nearly every job she worked in. She usually gets paid off from the company and a non disclosure agreement put in place.

that bitch, there was uproar amongst the Leeson st pimps when she started demanding her plan B VHI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I know one young one who got knocked down as a child. Got a big claim outta that and spent it all once she got it at 18. She has since jumped down nearly every stairs in town.

And yet you'd argue to the death that you are some sort of patriot. You can never give out about the actions of Fianna Fail after that post... :rolleyes:
    Me?, no Im some insignificant lad who likes to write on forums, nothing more at all.