Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Valve amps for bedroom use

• 18-02-2011 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if anyone could give any advice on a small valve amp. Using a fender highway 1 strat so trying to get the true sound from it (rock,blues,etc). Was looking at a fender Champion 600 but im not sure really. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

A friend of mine has a Champ 600 that I've used a lot. For what it is, it's quite nice! It's not versatile by any means but if you mess around with your guitar's volume and tone controls, you can vary the sounds a bit.

I reckon the Blackheart Little Giant is probably the best bedroom tube amp available from the clips I've listened to over the years. 3/5 watt switch, 3 band eq, available as a head or as a combo. The price is in and around €260 too, which is nice.

Others like Blackstar amps. They'll no doubt be commenting.

I should add that most of the time I've used the Champ 600 it's been with an American Standard Strat, which is more or less what you're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I would agree with Ravelleman. I have the Champion 600, and it's great for what it is, but it's not versatile in any way. It does a nice clean/slightly driven blues tone, but imo it doesn't sound all that good when you put pedals infront of it.
    Here's a vid of mine showing the kind of tone i get out of my modded version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭madcabbage

I would agree with Ravelleman. I have the Champion 600, and it's great for what it is, but it's not versatile in any way. It does a nice clean/slightly driven blues tone, but imo it doesn't sound all that good when you put pedals infront of it.
    Here's a vid of mine showing the kind of tone i get out of my modded version.

That mod sounds awesome. Problem is i wouldnt too keen on modding an amp as im not that technical when it comes to amps. Have been looking at a few other like the Vox Ac tv 4 and the Orange tiny terror, even though that feckin thing is a bit pricy for its size. Those blackheart amps sound pretty decent,im just being a picky fecker cause i used to have a marshall! :rolleyes:

madcabbage wrote: »
    That mod sounds awesome. Problem is i wouldnt too keen on modding an amp as im not that technical when it comes to amps. Have been looking at a few other like the Vox Ac tv 4 and the Orange tiny terror, even though that feckin thing is a bit pricy for its size. Those blackheart amps sound pretty decent,im just being a picky fecker cause i used to have a marshall! :rolleyes:

When i say mod, all i did was remove speaker (two cables, and a few screws, and unplug 2 valves and replace.) A monkey with a screw driver could do it!

A marshall class 5 might be of interest. I played on there a few months ago and it was pretty sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

and the Orange tiny terror, even though that feckin thing is a bit pricy for its size.

The tiny terror is NOT a bedroom amp at all, it's way too loud for any kind of bedroom playing. A lot of bands gig with them and even then they have to be turned down.

The blackheart is quite loud too, and even on the 3 watt, you can't really go past 4 or else it's in more of a competing with a drummer volume, and it's still clean.

Have a look at the 1 watt version, or the VHT Special 6 which is more peavey-ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

Blackstar HT5 combo is the bees knees.you cant really go wrong with this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

I'm using a ht-5 in our flat at the moment and haven't had any complaints. The drive comes through just fine at low volumes and my strat sounds sufficiently fender-y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

Have both the Blackheart and Blackstar, and they would be too loud to be pushed at bedroom volumes.. (even the 3w setting on the Blackheart)..

Great amps though :)

My next amp will likely be the 1w version "Killer Ant"
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/blackheart_killer_ant_head_bh1h.htm

Welease wrote: »
    Have both the Blackheart and Blackstar, and they would be too loud to be pushed at bedroom volumes.. (even the 3w setting on the Blackheart)..

I should just stop reading this forum all together at this stage...WANT!!!

Damn ye all,ye've won me over with those blackhearts :). Probably end gettin this: http://www.thomann.de/ie/blackheart_little_giant_bh5h_bundle.htm . Just wondering though whats it like with pedals put thru it,ive a boss me-50 (pile of crap that im gettin rid of! :rolleyes:) which ive been using for a good while now but im planning on investing in decent pedals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

Welease wrote: »

If you think the 5 watt HT5 combo is too loud for home use you should come to my place as ive the series one 200 watt head from blackstar in my practice room!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Hey OP, having moved from a 50W tube down to a 5W tube (and now back up again to 20w), I would advise you to stay away from the small tube amps if you can. Yes, you shouldn't have a 200W stack if you are only practising at home, but the tone from the smaller amps just seems a bit "weak". I picked up an epi valve junior for peanuts, and threw a lot of mods into it, and while it did turn out hugely better in the end, I'd still need to put a pedal in front of it to get any sort of usable gain. Plus, to overdrive the tubes into nice territory, it will still be pretty loud.

Yes, if you buy yourself a classic 30 or something, you are not going to be able to crank it up without doing some damage to your ears, but it will still sound better at lower volumes than a 5W played at the same volume. It's just how it is (I think it may be due to the bigger amps having more tubes, but am not fully sure, bigger amps tend to have more complicated circuits, more work go into them, more controls on the amp too, also small amps tend to not be too versatile).

Plus you can buy attenuators for your amp, which are basically big resistors you put between the amp and speaker, so you can crank your amp to your heart's delight, then use the attenuator to bring it down to manageable levels (Weber make some nice ones, they're not too expensive on ebay, have one myself).

What kind of speaker were you playing through hidinginthebush?

Hey Alanstrainor, I'm using a Hughes & Kettner Edition Tube 20W, 1X12" stock speaker (Celestion G12T-100, 8ohm fwiw), with a Weber Mini Mass (you can switch between 4, 8, and 16 ohm on it if you're interested). I just couldn't take the boxiness of the valve junior's 10" (or is it 8"?, not to mention the one channel, fizzy OD, no eq controls) any more.

I've also read that you if fully attenuate by switching your attenuator to line out mode, then use a power amp to bring the signal back up before the speaker (or cab, if you're that way inclined), there's supposed to be no tone loss whatsoever, so that's next on my GAS list :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

I've heard good things about the blackstar Ht-1. I have a 5 watt Dr Z mini that I love but is too loud in the gaff when the family are in....but perfect when they're out hence my justification for possibly a new amp soon. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

It kills me when people say "bedroom amp".
    The amp I use in my bedroom is the same one I use in large venues.
    120w Peavey head into a Marshall 1960a.

Amps can be turned down, they may not sound as pristine as they do when they're cranked but for practice, do you need it to?

Fair enough if some one wants to buy something smaller for home use but GOD I hate the term, bedroom amp.

ANYway...
    This has been in my watch list for quite a while and I haven't bought it yet, if I don't have the money soon, you should take it instead.
    http://www.adverts.ie/amps/fender-blues-junior/448820

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I picked up a Weber Minimass for my 3W~ 1962 Harmony H303A recently and it's awesome. Even at 3W it was over bedroom volume when maxed out.

Hey OP, having moved from a 50W tube down to a 5W tube (and now back up again to 20w), I would advise you to stay away from the small tube amps if you can. Yes, you shouldn't have a 200W stack if you are only practising at home, but the tone from the smaller amps just seems a bit "weak". I picked up an epi valve junior for peanuts, and threw a lot of mods into it, and while it did turn out hugely better in the end, I'd still need to put a pedal in front of it to get any sort of usable gain. Plus, to overdrive the tubes into nice territory, it will still be pretty loud.

Yes, if you buy yourself a classic 30 or something, you are not going to be able to crank it up without doing some damage to your ears, but it will still sound better at lower volumes than a 5W played at the same volume. It's just how it is (I think it may be due to the bigger amps having more tubes, but am not fully sure, bigger amps tend to have more complicated circuits, more work go into them, more controls on the amp too, also small amps tend to not be too versatile).

Plus you can buy attenuators for your amp, which are basically big resistors you put between the amp and speaker, so you can crank your amp to your heart's delight, then use the attenuator to bring it down to manageable levels (Weber make some nice ones, they're not too expensive on ebay, have one myself).

Thanks for the post but I've already ordered the Blackheart Little giant head and cab from musicstore. I used to have a Marshall 150 AVT combo which was kinda silly as i couldnt go past 2-3 on volume. Was tempted to go bigger on the new amp but im not forking out more than what i have already. If i need to add something i can cause i got the head and cab separate

Cool man, I've heard good things about the blackhearts. What size did you go for? 1X12 cab with a 5W head? It will still be loud though!

Looking forward to hearing your impressions once it arrives. I'm tempted to pick one up for myself.

Went for the Little giant head which is 5 watt and got the 1x12 cab. From all the research ive done on em,they're fecking loud for 5 watts but sure how bad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

Went for the Little giant head which is 5 watt and got the 1x12 cab. From all the research ive done on em,they're fecking loud for 5 watts but sure how bad :D

VERY loud :) I have one.. Even on the 3w setting its damn loud.. and I play in a large room...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Paolo_M

Remember that 5 watts is just let less than half as loud as a 100 watt amp, all else being equal.
    Half as loud as a 100 Watt valve amp is still earth shatteringly loud!!

Personally I'd recommend buying valve amps based purely on tone.
    The is no such thing as a bedroom valve amps.

Small valve amps just sound different tonally, than big ones. Make your decisions based on that.

Modellers do a fine job of emulating "that tone" at bedroom volumes if that's what you're after.

I had the blackheart a while back.

It's grand for a clean tone, you can keep it down around 3 on the 3 watt setting and it sounds great.

Absolutely no chance of getting any kind of dirt tone on any setting unless you've got no neighbours and good ear protection

Feck,was on to musicstore about me order there today,turns out i'll be waiting end of april to start of may the earliest for the head and cab to be in. :mad: Mite get the refund and see if i can get something else. Found an Orange Tiny Terror head for a good price which has me tempted. :rolleyes: Worth the money or am i being stupid here?

I presume the orange costs a bit more? Its up to yourself if you want to shell out the extra cash, but remember: it costs more for a reason. It will sound better, so probably the better long term decision.

The orange is so loud though, like it genuinely isn't a bedroom amp.

Go into a local store and try it out for yourself first, you'll see that it can't really be brought down that low.

but remember: it costs more for a reason. It will sound better, so probably the better long term decision.

That's the least sound logic to be using in any kind of consumer situation, let alone buying gear.

---

If musicstore are out of them, the obvious option is to cancel your order with them and buy it from thomann.

But maybe they're suffering from the same shortage of Black Hearts. Maybe there's been a rush on them by global speculators. You should invest now. It's the only option left to you. :pac:

Okay, point taken. Though the orange is a better amp.

I actually think the TT is horrible.
    A mate of mine (2nd guitarist in my old band) has one and I was hugely underwhelmed by the yoke.
    I couldn't find a clean or broken up tone that I liked at all.
    It all just sounded very empty and shrill to me.
    I had it going through both his 2x12 Orange with C30's and my Marshall 1960 with C12T-75's.
    It did sound nicer with the matching cab but I wouldn't go so far as to say it sounded nice.

Overpriced and hugely over hyped amp, imo.

Was looking at thomann for them aswell,looks like most stores are out of em with either the head or cab being out of stock,till the end of april in most places. I was set on a tiny terror before the blackheart but im not sure now with what yere all saying. Ive researched the two of em to death at this stage

Just noticed this little number.
    Cheap to boot and sounds great.
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/blackstar_ht_1r_head.htm

OR the combo.
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/blackstar_ht_1r_combo.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

hey,
    I've got a HT1-R, love it to be honest. And my neighbours don't thump the walls anymore.

Here are some demo vids

Its also pretty tiny and cute. I keep mine in the kitchen so I can rock out
    while the mrs is cookin the sausages.
    Nice.

also the head is sweet too:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

welcome to the club. i loves mine too!!!!!!!

love that you can roll off the volume for clean then dial in the crunch, a bleedin revelation so twas!:D

Finally got my gear. Just to let ye know i went with the little giant head with a 10' killer cab. Lovin it so far! :D Cheers for all the advice by ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

ive tried loads of solutions for home recording , to get low volume , but BIG sounding guitars, like a 4 by 12 full blast hugeness.

ive tried , modellers , large amps , small amps , all manner of mics ,

even 1 watt is very loud, about 1/3 watt is ideal to be honest.

the best amp i use now is a blackstar ht1 into a large 2 by 12 cab , with a 10 band eq going in to the amp .

i do use a shure SM7B mic , and a top mic pre - and im getting massive tones - waayyy better than expected.

you can get nice power tube tone from this little fecker , and it dont blow the house down .

very well reccomended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

I just bought a volume pedal and put it in the effects loop so I can still drive the preamp but just limit the level going to the power amp. You can have it cranked to 12 and still keep it at bedroom volumes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭ciaranmac

I use my 100 watt Trace Elliot Super Tramp, with its tube preamp it can turn down almost inaudible while the gain is all the way up and still sounds great.

My OH has a sensitive ear and she never liked my using the previous amp (Line 6 Spider IV 15) because on anything other than the clean channel when you turn it down low it just cuts the sound altogether. I couldn't get it to go low enough to keep us both happy. I wouldn't have thought a 100w better for practicing at home than a 15w but there you go, hands down winner. The only catch is the spider has a headphone socket and the trace doesn't, but I haven't missed it tbh.

Trace Elliot don't make amps for electric guitars anymore though :(