Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eamon gilmore an atheist

• 18-02-2011 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

Eamon gilmore declares himself an atheist on pat kenny this morning......he has my vote..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Scous_tache

by that logic you would also vote for Stalin and Mao given a chance...

I'm an atheist myself but I think I look at a few more things such as party policy, etc. before decided what way I'm going to vote.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

because voting based on religious preference is only stupid when other people do it?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

del88 wrote: »
    Eamon gilmore declares himself an atheist on pat kenny this morning.

It's great to see someone public do this.
    If he had been an American politician he'd have signed his own political death warrant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Eamon gilmore declares himself an atheist on pat kenny this morning......he has my vote..
    Mao was an atheist.

That's right, I went there...

edit: Dammit, beaten to it!

But anyway, voting for someone because they're an atheist is pretty stupid tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭fred252

he's gone up in my estimation but as the others have said its no basis for voting labour. it seems the majority would clearly rather him as taoiseach over inda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The problem with Labour is that I like a lot of them as individuals, but I can't support the party's policies as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

I'm guessing del88 is more admiring that in "Catholic Ireland" Gilmore had the guts to declare himself an atheist, rather than him actually being an atheist.

I don't think that is a reason alone to vote for him either, but just saying it is an act I would admire someone for.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i assume you're in his constituency, so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

I wonder if he was elected taoiseach would he remove the child abusing catholic church from running our schools or even stop them discriminating against children who aren't catholic. I'd doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

The mad mary mediatrix shop in O'Connell street has gone on a complete offensive against Labour. I walked past there yesterday and there was big posters all around the shop window saying that Labour was the devil in disguise etc.
    If you want a good laugh , take a trip past their window before the election is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

To be honest, I dont find him confessing/admitting/declaring, whatever you want to call it, at this point in time encouraging whatsoever. To me it shows desperation, as Labour are still well behind FG, and desperation in a politician is like desperation in a blind date, something to be avoided.

I do like Eamonn Gilmore from a personal point of view, but I don't like his politics, and therefore I wont be voting for him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

syklops wrote: »
    To be honest, I dont find him confessing/admitting/declaring, whatever you want to call it, at this point in time encouraging whatsoever.
    it's not in the news because he just outed himself:
    “10.38 Asked on Today with Pat Kenny if Ireland is ready for an atheist Taoiseach Labour leader Eamonn Gilmore says it should not be an issue as it is, essentially, a private matter.“
    it wasn't a secret that he's an atheist, and labour peddle an essentially secular line. so there's no whiff of desperation whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

No Morals so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

No Morals so.

Because we all know Catholic politicians have such high moral standards..Bertie Ahern, Tony Blair etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

it's not in the news because he just outed himself:
    “10.38 Asked on Today with Pat Kenny if Ireland is ready for an atheist Taoiseach Labour leader Eamonn Gilmore says it should not be an issue as it is, essentially, a private matter.“
    it wasn't a secret that he's an atheist, and labour peddle an essentially secular line. so there's no whiff of desperation whatsoever.

Well then I apologise for my comment, but it is news to me, because I did not know he was an atheist. Also, the OP said he had declared himself an aetheist, which suggested to me he had just done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

No Morals so.

He'll fit right in with the government so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭fred252

No Morals so.

yep and if the church didn't tell me otherwise i'd be marauding around the streets murdering and raping.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

i assume you're in his constituency, so?
    I am. :pac:

Still very much undecided, though I'll probably give him a nod.
    Not because I just heard he was atheist, mind, that would be daft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

fred252 wrote: »
    yep and if the church didn't tell me otherwise i'd be marauding around the streets murdering and raping.

Now, thanks to the church, you do it in schools :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

But anyway, voting for someone because they're an atheist is pretty stupid tbh.

When you live in a country where all previous (and current) governments have allowed their own church to run our schools using taxpayers money, it is worth taking onto account - especially when that church is a de-facto pedophile ring, answerable only to a foreign head of state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Tbh, I never considered voting for Gilmore/Labour and as bizarre as it may appear I'm actually a wee little more bit more tempted now. Regardless of how bad Labour's policies are the economy will recover and when it does an Atheist can take the credit.

Shallow I know, but it would help drive a nail in the coffin of atheist leadership's being detrimental, wouldn't it? Wouldn't it?

On second thoughts, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

panda100 wrote: »
    The mad mary mediatrix shop in O'Connell street has gone on a complete offensive against Labour. I walked past there yesterday and there was big posters all around the shop window saying that Labour was the devil in disguise etc.
    If you want a good laugh , take a trip past their window before the election is over.
    Today it's "A vote for Labour is a vote for abortion"! Sounds good to me. :pac:
    Malty_T wrote: »
    Tbh, I never considered voting for Gilmore/Labour and as bizarre as it may appear I'm actually a wee little more bit more tempted now. Regardless of how bad Labour's policies are the economy will recover and when it does an Atheist can take the credit.

Shallow I know, but it would help drive a nail in the coffin of atheist leadership's being detrimental, wouldn't it? Wouldn't it?

On second thoughts, no.
    I know you're taking the piss but the country's economic future really could go either way, and I really, really don't want it to go the will it would with Labour in.

amacachi wrote: »
    Even more amusing since "labour" can put you in mind of childbirth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

amacachi wrote: »
    That was David Quinn's line recently. Today, his line was that Labour want to destroy the religious ethos of schools. It's like he's begging me to vote for them.

mikhail wrote: »
    That was David Quinn's line recently. Today, his line was that Labour want to destroy the religious ethos of schools. It's like he's begging me to vote for them.

Don't give into temptation! Remember what you were taught in school! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

To me it shows desperation, as Labour are still well behind FG, and desperation in a politician is like desperation in a blind date, something to be avoided.

Not really, if anything this will make him lose votes.

syklops wrote: »
    Well then I apologise for my comment, but it is news to me, because I did not know he was an atheist. Also, the OP said he had declared himself an aetheist, which suggested to me he had just done it.

He was in the Official Sinn Fein/Workers Party so pretty unlikely he'd be religious.

I thought I heard before thoguh he'd stated he was agnostic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

I was listening to Pat Kenny for that bit this morning - the issue of atheism came up in a Hot Press interview with Gilmore a little while back, and this is what the guy with the question refered to when he asked Gilmore if Ireland was ready for an atheist Taoiseach. I didn't know he was an atheist until this morning but I'm not exactly surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Undercover

No Morals so.

Good grief, so you have to be highly religious to have morals? The high horse mentality lives on.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

So who are Atheists voting for then? The invisible promises in the sky of FG? :)

mewso wrote: »
    So who are Atheists voting for then? The invisible promises in the sky of FG? :)

You made a mistake there, it's spelled "Labour".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I thought I heard before thoguh he'd stated he was agnostic.

Agnostic atheist most likely :p

Undercover wrote: »
    Good grief, so you have to be highly religious to have morals? The high horse mentality lives on.:rolleyes:
    i think you missed the intended humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Fair play to him, I'd imagine there's a few in every party.

I still won't be voting for him. Feckin communists. :mad::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 bardcel

I'm not interested in your BS. Wake up and smell the coffee. Nation of sheep. Playing the victim. We are being screwed. Hello people. Is their anyone out there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

Still,no morals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

bardcel wrote: »
    I'm not interested in your BS. Wake up and smell the coffee. Nation of sheep. Playing the victim. We are being screwed. Hello people. Is their anyone out there?

tinfoil-hat.jpg

random comment. you have eyes, but i can see. wanderly wagon. bovine spongiform encephalopathy. stairway to heaven. royal dublin society. death before dishonour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Can we make this thread into a competition to see who's the first one to find the thread this was supposed to have been posted on?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

*puts on judge hat*

I'd like to see where this is going... continue :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Can we make this thread into a competition to see who's the first one to find the thread this was supposed to have been posted on?

He's posted the exact same message in 5 threads so far, mostly about politics, but also one about cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I'm going to make that post my sig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Pygmalion wrote: »
    He's posted the exact same message in 5 threads so far, mostly about politics, but also one about cars.

The cars. Even when it was the politiks I knew it was the cars. Let the bears pay the bear tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

random comment. you have eyes, but i can see. wanderly wagon. bovine spongiform encephalopathy. stairway to heaven. royal dublin society. death before dishonour.

I want to have this embroidered on a pillow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭rccaulfield

Fair play Eamon-thats clinched it besides stopping FG from reversing the stag hunting legislation and various economic policies that has clinched it!
    Its a risky move though- atheist is a dirty word in the ordinary ignorant voters mind.