Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What will you miss about winter...

• 18-02-2011 1:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

... and what are you looking forward to about the summer?

I'll miss the incredible smell of turf burning but I'm looking forward to my brother ringing me and asking me if we could sneak in a quick 9 holes before work.

He's the one with the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

ill tell ye what i wont miss...having to look for me knob everytime i go the toilet:pac:

The snow for definate.....looking foward to the hot sun hopefully in may june and july and maybe a nice holiday in cyprus:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i'll miss a grand cup of tea to warm up. from now on it's just a cup of tea!

i'm looking forward to some more cracking hurling games this year! the AI final last year was one of the best in living memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

What day is Summer on this year?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Snow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Crisp winter nights. Especially around halloween time when theres a sinister feeling about the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Frothy the snowmanz ....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Fuck all tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Crisp winter nights. Especially around halloween time when theres a sinister feeling about the place.

its only really useful if u are gettin some hard yards in, n i've bn fúcking lazy this winter, otherwise, its a potential killer!!

i will miss the late nights. not willing to trade for early mornings :/ 3am the cock crows, alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

sneak in a quick 9 holes before work.

He's the one with the job.

That must be one hell of a job to pay for all them hookers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭FunkDrummer

Will (not) miss: driving from Limerick to Dublin on the glorified skating rink that was the M50/N7/M7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I live in Canada. I won't miss Winter. Roll on Summer and crazy 40c days. Drinking beer on my porch. Winter is shit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,162 ✭✭✭Kiva.D

The cool weather. Summer is dreadful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

ill be looking forward to going to my appartment in spain for the summer where the weather is hot all the time and ill be away from this kip of a banana republic and you certinally cant depand on the weather:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I'll miss the christmas tree (which I really should get around to taking down), and feck all else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

The early dark evenings and the rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

i'll miss the dark nights curled up on the couch with a duvet, movie and candles lighting,

im looking forward to teaching our daughter how to have a kick around with a ball in the park, how to peddle her bike, and watching her running around and climbing in the jungle gym's in general. taking her swimming at the beach, fota...etc

summer outings i guess you'd call it! :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Pretty much nothing. I don't see any value in Winter. Year-round summer FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Getting dark early, frosty mornings, rain (well thats still around but its that sh1tty humid rain that we class as a summer) and Halloween, love the feel of the place around then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Roaring fires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

There's absolutely nothing I'll miss about winter per se.Good times are had in winter but the warm months are far better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

I shall miss looking at the world from what seemed at times like the inside of an ice cube. No power, no phone, no heat. I shall also miss the near three weeks of bonding with all my family in the cold and the dark and the quiet. Not an whirr from an xbox,ps3 nothing. I shall miss feeling like a caged animal waiting for a council road scraper to emerge in the night and scrape me a path back to consumerism. But it was nature that came to my rescue and the snow left. In fact winter you can shove it up your bollix for free and fcuk off while your at it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Live in Amsterdam. Work in Germany.

What I'll miss about winter: Gluhwein at the Christmas markets.

To look forward to: Scantily-clad frauleins and topless sunbathers in the Vondelpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i am going to miss freezing my balls off evertime i drive to work and i am going to miss NOT being able to drive to work when it snows(motorbike).
    i am also really going to miss waking up when it is DARK, this shouldnt happen. its wrong i tell ya. WINTER HATES YOUR FACE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Hot whiskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

What will I miss about Winter.....fook all! Horrible time, short days, cold weather, rain, dreaded snow, racing being called off left, right & centre

Bring on the summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Is there any difference between winter and summer in this country? (Dec was an extreme event which we'll probably never see again in our lifetime)
    A typical winter day sees rain and temperatures of around 10-12 degrees under a blanket of cloud, a typical summer day sees rain and temperatures of around 15-16 degrees under a blanket of cloud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Is there any difference between winter and summer in this country? (Dec was an extreme event which we'll probably never see again in our lifetime)
    A typical winter day sees rain and temperatures of around 10-12 degrees under a blanket of cloud, a typical summer day sees rain and temperatures of around 15-16 degrees under a blanket of cloud.

The difference is we can have FESTIVALS in the summer and you can sleep in your tent at it and you'll be fine, even if it is raining/cloudy.

Try sleeping in a tent, in the middle of a field, in December or January and you'll get hypothermia!

Feck winter, roll on the festival season.........:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'll miss that crisp feeling on frosty mornings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

major bill wrote: »
    ill tell ye what i wont miss...having to look for me knob everytime i go the toilet:pac:

I know the feeling. I always leave mine in the medicine cabinet but some fecker keeps moving it. :mad:

Thick black tights and jumper dresses. Oh the comfiness :D

(but that is all!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

In a nutshell - nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

The nice walk in the snow
    The dark evenings
    Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

This has felt like the longest winter ever. I wont miss feeling under the weather every second week, the cold, the dark, the snow.

Roll on the long wet days of summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Fuck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭alandublin15

ill miss the sense of conversational superiority i got during the whole snow debacle, every time id see two local people meet, or pass by two strangers, theyd be pretty much repeating the same conversation over and over, day after day, about the snow cause theyre boring bastards.

hello dave what do you think of this snow we're havin? ah sure isnt the snow terrible jim. oh tis dave sure i havent seen weather like it. sure i cant remember a time we had such heavy snow can you. no god i cant, we had some snow back in 86 but nothing like this.

hello mary what do you think of this snow we're havin? ah sure isnt the snow terrible jim. oh tis mary sure i havent seen weather like it. sure i cant remember a time we had such heavy snow can you. no god i cant, we had some snow back in 86 but nothing like this.

hello maureen what do you think of this snow we're havin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Nothing, Roll on the Summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Happy W

Nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

I won't miss driving on ice, checking the water tank in the attic, paying out for MORE oil for central heating, being almost confined to the house the real bad days!

Roll on some sort of a summer and really and truly, I will NEVER give out about the rain again!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I really like winter actually. Miss the snow and miss chilling out in my house on days off cuddled up by the fire watching movies. Also gonna miss having bubble baths cuz theyre just not the same in summer!

That said, I cant wait for bbqs, summer dresses and long bright nights going for walks so I dont mind giving up the above :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Nothing at all, good riddance to it. I'll now be able to drive home without it taking 5 hours to do a 70 minute trip. I won't have to be wondering when the **** the pipes are going to unfreeze themselves. My car can now go faster than a bicycle thanks to unfrozen roads. And of course I won't lose any more money because I can't get to work , just because that bastard satan fluff decided to fall out of the sky and **** everything up.

It was a pain in the arse knowing you winter. Now get the **** out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

The beautiful blanket of snow.
    Lighting the fire for a nice warm night in.
    Not having to clean the bbq with a wire brush.
    Brisk towelling down after my daily dip in the sea.
    Driving the car with the heater on giving a nice warm feeling.
    Watching the birds at the garden feeders appreciating the food left out.
    The hot water bottle on my feet when I go to bed.
    Cuddles from my better half for a warm-up.
    Watching the watery sun gently melt the snow on the roof.

Shovelling the snow off the driveway.
    Cleaning out the fire next morning.
    Not being able to have a bbq.
    Freezing to death after coming out of the sea.
    Clearing the ice off the windscreen.
    Having to go out in the cold to feed the hungry birds.
    Filling the kettle for the hot water bottle.
    Feeling her freezing feet on mine.
    Having to get up on the ladder to fix the gutters after the snow wrecks them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

wimmins smuggling peanuts in their tops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Tuesday

I heard it was going to be a Monday, from 4 to 4:15, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

two seasons one word... nipples... there's a change, subtle though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I really love winter clothes, and I really hate all the skin you have to show in summer. So yeah, go winter.

I'm dying for it to be sunny and bright all the time though.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

The streets are quieter from skanger kids roaming about the place. They have actually started to reappear in the last week as if they were hibernating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I'll miss watching people fall on the ice, especially after a few drinks as they fall again while trying to get up.
    The words "Bambi on ice" come to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Mt Cranium knows!