Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bushnell banner 6-18x50

• 15-02-2011 4:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭

http://www.scopesdirect.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=BL716185p

im gettin a .22lr cz 455 very soon and was wondering was this a good enough scope?

my intentions will be night time shooting of rabbits at no more than 90/100yards i guess?

i have a friend with a redfield 3-9x50 its a sweet scope really clear but it lacks magnification for lamping on his 22.swift he reckons and advised me towards something of 12-16 magnification!

so just wondering will this scope be good enough for my .22lr at night?

it is only a .22lr so dont wanna spend too much and have heard good things about this scope

thanks dave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

4-16 is a good set up for nite .22 work. Takes a really expensive scope to work well @nite. Zeiss 6-24x72* being one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

4-16 is a good set up for nite .22 work. Takes a really expensive scope to work well @nite. Zeiss 6-24x72* being one.

I'm SURE the OP will be rushing out to buy one of those for his .22lr Tack!!! :eek:;)

Glensman wrote: »
    I'm SURE the OP will be rushing out to buy one of those for his .22lr Tack!!! :eek:;)

As I said Glensman, you need to go expensive o be able to see well over 12 or 14 in low light conditions.

For a budget 4-14 is your best bet as you have as low as 4x for very low light, and up to 14 if you have a good lamp or wish to also use it during the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭mack_

Hi have a 4-16x40 bushnell banner dusk to dawn on my 17 hmr and find it great for nite work. only cost around 230. happy wit it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

I was just giving out about that scope, Im not liking it on my .220 swift for longer ranges. I had it on a .22 for a couple of months though and it was fairly good, i'd say it would be spot on for the ranges/job you have in mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

pugw wrote: »
    I was just giving out about that scope, Im not liking it on my .220 swift for longer ranges. I had it on a .22 for a couple of months though and it was fairly good, i'd say it would be spot on for the ranges/job you have in mind!

Looks like you have a buyer for your scope then Pugw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

redfield are a good scope if you could get one wigh more mag for your self but only if they were cheaper than the bushnell.

bushnell have a great rep and id never hesitate recommendin one

check ebay some good deals on there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Tack I cannot believe that you put the Zeiss 6-24x72 @€;2500+ forward as a scope for a 22lr rifle even more so when the OP was asking about a Bushnell 6-18x50. Please try to keep to some sort of sanity when posting replies.

http://www.scopesdirect.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=BL716185p

im gettin a .22lr cz 455 very soon and was wondering was this a good enough scope?

my intentions will be night time shooting of rabbits at no more than 90/100yards i guess?

i have a friend with a redfield 3-9x50 its a sweet scope really clear but it lacks magnification for lamping on his 22.swift he reckons and advised me towards something of 12-16 magnification!

so just wondering will this scope be good enough for my .22lr at night?

it is only a .22lr so dont wanna spend too much and have heard good things about this scope

thanks dave

12GD
    My son has that scope, bushnell banner 6-18x50, on his 223 and finds it good, including lamping the red lad. He has the Bushnell 4-12x40 elite 3200 on his 22lr and hits what he aims at with it.

I have a Bushnell 10x40 on my 22lr and can't fault it in any way.

clivej wrote: »
    Tack I cannot believe that you put the Zeiss 6-24x72 @€;2500+ forward as a scope for a 22lr rifle even more so when the OP was asking about a Bushnell 6-18x50. Please try to keep to some sort of sanity when posting replies.

I gave both end of the scales.
    The Op wanted a crystal clear high mag scope at night for small money.

It don't exist is all I was trying to point out.

And Hence recommended a Nikon or similar second hand. My Cousin bought one for €350 a while back

Hence recommended a Nikon or similar second hand

Where not on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

FFS Tack where did you get that

They wanted to know if the scope they linked to would be ok for shooting rabbits at night at 100 yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

i cant see it either

and just say some lads say there ****

but i have a hawk nite eye on my 22lr and i fi d it perfect at nite

it might need a sun sade thats it

also the other nite it was pissin rain hard on it was a bit hard to see some scopes make rain drops microsopic

my scope goes to 20 mag and i never use it that high only use it at 10 mag some times it could be hard to see a target if your mag is up very high

that what i find anyway

Vegeta wrote: »
    FFS Tack where did you get that

They wanted to know if the scope they linked to would be ok for shooting rabbits at night at 100 yards.

Ooops, two scope threads running at same time!
    I did mention the nikon on the other thread (my Bad)

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056180159&page=3

Ooops, two scope threads running at same time!
    I did mention the nikon on the other thread (my Bad)

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056180159&page=3

I knew that just giving you the wind up :p

wind-up-lamp01.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

thanks for replys guys il have a look arond a few places will let ye know my scope decision:)