Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Holidays

• 14-02-2011 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

Lads,

Thinking of going away with the missus for the first time this summer....
    We are both in our early twenties so money is not that flush.
    Would like some advise on somewhere to go for maybe 1 week to 10 days...
    Our preference is somewhere warm but not crazy hot that you can't do anything in and some place that has more to it than just a beach resort....
    Have heard Bulgaria is a nice place to go but really I have no idea of where to go....

Any advice will appreciated....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Bray.

Fish and chips, ice-cream cone and a walk on the stones. What more could you want?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

southern france, spain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

prague.
    cheap but still very nice.
    hot but not boilin.
    loads to do but not cluttered.
    strip clubs everywhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tramore!

Never mind the weather anyway, ye should be shacked up ridin' for the duration of the holiday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Croatia. Dalmation Coast is beautiful. Nice food too. Not too pricey.
    Package holiday to Spain? They are usually the best deals because if you book a holiday yourself you wind up paying top whack for hotel, flight, food etc. The package holiday is all inclusive ...some even include beer.

Get your ass into the travel agent and get some brochures. Much nicer to flick through brochures than trawl the internet for ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

canaries-not as hot as the mainland but still very warm, ryanair fly there, hotels for nothing on alpharooms and similar sites. cheap drink, nice beaches, lots to do.

(Can you tell I used to live in Tenerife!?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Minorca is a beautiful little island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 scrapmetal

Ya don't think I will be staying in Ireland for it....
    The missus has been to dubrovnik in croatia before so don't think she would want to go back, she said it was very nice and would recommend it....
    Ya have no preference really about where to go, would probably want to stay away from places like salou, santa ponsa and places that are more for lads/lasses holidays but don't want to go somewhere that is too quiet and more for families like minorca.....
    To be honest I am more likely to go down the travel agent way as I want a holiday and dont want to be fussed with all the planning and organising that would go with doing it yourself....just would like to leave it in the hands of someone else to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

southern france, spain?
    I'm pretty sure southern France is in France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Mr "Im going on holidays"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Curracloe ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

How much are you willing to spend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Inishmore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I hear Playa del Inglés is a great spot*

*if you are a thug.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I'm in a similar boat. Off to Vegas in May but the missus wants a holiday with just the 2 of us. Was thinking about Tampere, Finland. Looks lovely. Then again, I dont know what kind of holiday you want.

My missus doesn't drink and is into nature/wildlife so something like this would suit us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

biko wrote: »
    Inishmore

I was thinking the same actually. Cheap to get to (25e ferry), private room in the hostel is not too expensive and the beach is just outside the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

Go try lastminute.com for sun holidays or long haul holidays. One year we went to Jamaica for 2 weeks for 1100eur all inclusive. You would be paying about 700 for any of the canaries or anything similar. Would totally recommend trying last minute just to see.

Can imagine Egypt & Tunisia would have some brilliant offers at the moment too!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭swarm.of.bees

Could do worse than Maderia island. Far enough south that it gets good weather, and if you pick your time of year its not too hot. There are only two beaches on the entire island and lots to see and do. Its pretty cheap when you're there too. I'd think having a car would def help to see the place, but add to the cost. On top of all that, the landing in on the plane is stupendous :D

http://vnexpress.net/Files/Subject/3B/A2/1C/53/9.jpg

(How do I embed an image?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

Egypt...oh wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Stop making me dream about things I cant afford :(

Anyway - Malta and Sicily look lovely, they are next on the list for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 scrapmetal

I am not sure how much we are willing to spend because it be the first holiday by ourselves we don't really know how much it costs...
    Don't want to go to somewhere just because we got it for cheap or just go somewhere where because its expensive and then we can't afford anything. The both of us enjoy a drink or two so would like somewhere kinda lively but also has activities to do during the day because its not a drinking holiday we're going on....

Anyone have experience with last minute holidays, do they work out and what is the deal with them.....
    Do people cancel them and then the company resell them for cheaper, we would not be really picky with where we go so that could be ideal....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

scrapmetal wrote: »
    To be honest I am more likely to go down the travel agent way as I want a holiday and dont want to be fussed with all the planning and organising that would go with doing it yourself....just would like to leave it in the hands of someone else to be honest

While that is the easy route it also costs a lot more!

scrapmetal wrote: »
    I am not sure how much we are willing to spend because it be the first holiday by ourselves we don't really know how much it costs...
    Don't want to go to somewhere just because we got it for cheap or just go somewhere where because its expensive and then we can't afford anything. The both of us enjoy a drink or two so would like somewhere kinda lively but also has activities to do during the day because its not a drinking holiday we're going on....

Anyone have experience with last minute holidays, do they work out and what is the deal with them.....
    Do people cancel them and then the company resell them for cheaper, we would not be really picky with where we go so that could be ideal....
    Well i have gone on loads of them and have never had a problem. They usually sell package hols from tour operators, the same as you would be booking with a travel agent, but i would imagine the reason they are so cheap is because you are avoiding travel agent charges and all that. The last time i went to Morocco, we booked through them, but Sunway were the tour operators, so we had to do nothing as we were transferred to and from the airport, same as any package deal.

Have a look anyway, although if its your first maybe you might like to have a person to talk to about it when you are booking. Hope you find somewhere nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Vilamoura in the Algarve Portugal.
    Lots to do and see.
    Is normally busy but not mobbed.
    Beautiful location and beaches.
    Lots of pubs and restaurants around the marina.

My girlfriend is Italian so she's all beachy and sun. Me, I'm your typical lily-white Paddy so I prefer to stay in the shade. I get a tan but usually burn quite spectacularly for the first few days. If we're going for a week to some hot climate I don't see the sense in spending 4 or 5 days in pain because I'm lobster-red. I live in Amsterdam and the Dutchies, being the cheap feckers that they are, always go on these all inclusive holidays to Turkey. 2 weeks in Ishmir or Alanya in a hotel with a pool by the beach with food and booze included only costs a few hundred notes.

Might as well do something like that. Bring a few books and just vegetate and eat and get pissed. Most places in the Med have some ancient ruins to explore and mellow laid back people. Also the food is ace. If you wind up getting pissed everyday you can still offset the damage by eating loads of fruit and salads and olive oil and fish everyday. When the missus is lounging by the pool getting roasted I tend to piss off and just find little backstreet bars full of old fogeys playing cards and drinking port. I also just hop from one little eatery to the next where you can get fresh lamb kebabs or roasted chicken dishes for tuppence then waddle back to the hotel and get sloshed, haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Sicily is a class spot. Or consider you're in your early 20's hit Florence and Rome and stay in hostels, get the train between the cities. Ryanair fly to Rome and Pisa.

Sergeant wrote: »
    Sicily is a class spot. Or consider you're in your early 20's hit Florence and Rome and stay in hostels, get the train between the cities. Ryanair fly to Rome and Pisa.

Hear Hear! Florence is smashing. All that lovely food and awesome art are right up my street. You can just laze in the sun on some piazza drinking wine and eating the freshest, tastiest nosh and watching the smooth Italian bastards stroll by. Definitely La Dolce Vita! You've got Verona right there too.

FCUK!!! I need a holiday. Tangiers in May. Deffo!

OP, how long do you plan on going for? If it's only one week then you're probably confined to Europe. Don't want to be pissing around with an 8 hour flight to The Carribbean or Far East where it's cheap but the flight is pricey and you lose 2 days of travel. I would recommend Greece, Turkey, Italy, Spain, Cyprus....even Lebanon (but your missus might get a bit angry with you ogling the Beirut girls...they're damn hot!). And in all these places you can rent a Vespa scooter for about 20 euros a day. Ideal for doing beer and water and grub runs to the local supermarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭MrSausage

Krakow... cheap, loads to do and great night life for both singles and couples.
    Then take the night train to L'viv Ukraine for a few days. Lovely city. And cheap.. 12 vodkas+4 juices in lovely bar for €4.60. Now can anyone direct me to the AA forum?

If you really want your children to learn from an early age, you need to read to them and supply the buggers with as much human-on-human interaction as possible, not park their adorable little butts in front of the ****ing television. TV programs and Infant Education videos use a series of rapidly changing scenes and constantly bombard your kids with new words. With time, their itsy bitsy minds start to filter out most of the information just to help manage the constant barrage, and voila! The kids develop shorter attention spans, and eventually the food service industry claims another life.
    Every frickin thread!!!:eek: