Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mubarak has resigned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

So this party. It's your gaff right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I heard that he walked.

Like an Egyptian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Cheerio o/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I didn't really care but the Egyptian guy in our office bought everyone chocolates so now I'm happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I didn't really care but the Egyptian guy in our office bought everyone chocolates so now I'm happy.

Toblerone?

chin_grin wrote: »
    Toblerone?

I think I see what you did there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-12307698

Live now from Egypt.

I'm ecstatic but I can't help but worry about what is to follow once people calm down.

Or who is to follow once Mubarack's regime is out.

“Allah is our objective; the Quran is our constitution, the Prophet is our leader; Jihad is our way; and death for the sake of Allah is the highest of our aspirations.” Is their motto.

They sound delightful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

If he sphinx about it too much he will depress himself.

*runs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

My favourite bit was when he stepped down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I'm not quite sure why but it seems to be a fairly big deal to the people there, so good for them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

And good riddance. But who or what will replace him? Well at least it's not likely to be and hard-line Islamist. The people of Egypt are nearly as fed up with them as they are with Mubarrak

With any luck ElBaradei will take the reigns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

" Thank god !!! another Fianna Fail man has stepped down "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

prinz wrote: »
    With any luck ElBaradei will take the reigns.
    He'll be needing a lot of luck then.

He's only mentioned so often in western media due to his former position as UN atomic energy head. He's nowhere near as popular as they are making him out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I can't help but worry about what is to follow once people calm down.

Think it'd be wise to lower the Star of David on the Israeli embassy for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Beverly Hills ....here he comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭seanob43

Called it...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,640 ✭✭✭cml387

Suppose he said he was gone, and after everyone had gone home, he popped back and said "Hah fooled ye" or it's equivalent in Egyptian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

what is to follow once people calm down.
    See: Iran, Islamic Republic of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Coming soon - the Muslin Botherhood v the Army

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

strobe wrote: »
    Or who is to follow once Mubarack's regime is out.

“Allah is our objective; the Quran is our constitution, the Prophet is our leader; Jihad is our way; and death for the sake of Allah is the highest of our aspirations.” Is their motto.

They sound delightful.
    The Muslim Brotherhood is currently outlawed in Egypt and hopefully that won't change. They do have political representation though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

Mubarak O'Bama?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

gg Mubarack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Jaysus there's a lot of fear mongering in here. Elections will be held in the Autumn and the Egyptian people will decide who will take the reigns of power. I have every faith in their ability, to competently decide for themselves who shall govern them. In keeping with the concept of free, fair, democratic elections, I hope the Muslim Brotherhood are allowed to participate. Egypt certainly will not become the new Iranian revolution. Anyway well done Egypt, because our apathetic excuse for a sovereign nation, could learn a thing or two from you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

mike65 wrote: »
    Coming soon - the Muslin Botherhood v the Army

http://www.juancole.com/2011/02/why-egypt-2011-is-not-iran-1979.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

He ran out of quarters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

And people say protesting is pointless :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Mubarak? I didn't even know he was a mod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭NeedaNewName

In fairness he looks in good health so I'd say he will enjoy all that gold that he shipped out of the country in the last few weeks for a good few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

anyone get an email tonight asking for money to help the demonstators in Egypt? I'm afraid it might be a pryamid scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

And people say protesting is pointless :P

Indeed. I recall the great irish intellectual John Waters making this point recently on the Eamon Dunphy radio show. He said he wasn't into public protests because they didn't affect change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

In fairness he looks in good health so I'd say he will enjoy all that gold that he shipped out of the country in the last few weeks for a good few years.
    That's Ben Ali of Tunisia that you're thinking of.

Mubarak didn't do much bad as a President. It isn't so much what he did than what he didn't do that fueled the revolution. In any case as a leader he was no worse than Mohammed Naguib, Abdel Nasser or Anwar El Sadat and certainly not worse than King Farouk in terms of the state of Egypt during their respective rule. People's opinion of him has softened in Egypt somewhat. Some people are even taking pity on him. He went from being a war hero and military commander to being reviled and insulted by the entire world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

I'll give it a month or so before the whole country turns to shiite