Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ran The Fianna Failer from the Door...hope he's not elected.

• 10-02-2011 11:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭

Since all this election business started I've been adamant that I would never vote Fianna Fail ever again...also because I did not want to hear from any of their candidates I put a large sign up on my front door saying:

NO Fianna Fail Candidates or election material welcome

Had this young Fianna Fail candidate come to door earlier...I pointed to the sign and told him to fuck off and closed the door....Fingers crossed he's not elected. Anyone else give them some well-deserved feedback.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

stevejr wrote: »
    Since all this election business started I've been adamant that I would never vote Fianna Fail ever again...also because I did not want to hear from any of their candidates I put a large sign up on my front door saying:

Had this young Fianna Fail candidate come to door earlier...I pointed to the sign and told him to fuck off and closed the door....Fingers crossed he's not elected. Anyone else give them some well-deserved feedback.

I'd hardly call that feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

That's the spirit. Attack the young ones sure. They're the ones to blame after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Fizman wrote: »
    That's the spirit. Attack the young ones sure. They're the ones to blame after all.

They will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭Simi

They will be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Fair play. You sound like a real big man. Guess which one of you has guts... The young FF canvasser or the anyone but FF high -horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Stupid thread is stupid. I'm hard I told the fianna fail candidate to **** off... No wonder this country is ****ed *rollyeyes*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Since all this election business started I've been adamant

You've been a dandy highwayman?

Simi wrote: »
    They will be?

It was a quip. I was quipping. I'm a quipping man.

I'm glad that youngsters are politically engaged and I'd only give TD's a bollocking on the door, assuming I could have the nerve to deliver said bollocking. I'm sad that youngsters are politically engaged with an endemically corrupt party, but then most are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Ogra Fianna Fail - Dragging the past into the Future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

what a wankerish thing to do op. you could have just said you didn't want to speak to him. pity he didn't tell you to shove your vote up the high end of your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

A big man right here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Fianna Fáil supporters tolerate, justify and downplay corruption. They're probably in the game just to be the next Haughey or Ahern. If they had any conscience, they wouldn't support that party. OP, you were correct to do what you did. Personally, if I get a canvasser, I'll ask why they are supporting that party and then I'll offer a history lesson if I get any "republican party" waffle. I won't use any bad language or anger but I'll inform that person that what he is supporting is rotten to the core.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

OP, how do you walk with such a large pair of balls??:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

If the OP had welcomed the canvasser in for tea then he'd be accused of supporting those country ruining gobsh1tes.

cant win.

krudler wrote: »
    If the OP had welcomed the canvasser in for tea then he'd be accused of supporting those country ruining gobsh1tes.

cant win.

whut? no one says he had to invite him in for tea, just speak to him in a civil manner :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

3DataModem wrote: »
    Fair play. You sound like a real big man. Guess which one of you has guts... The young FF canvasser or the anyone but FF high -horse?

FF canvassers don't have guts (not counting Cowen's beer gut).

They don't have any shame either.

They do have brass necks, thick skins and ducks backs though.

BTW, after Brian Lenihan's €10 billion postponed bank bailout stunt I have lost whatever reluctant respect I had for the man. Lenihan, Martin, and the last few bedraggled FF rats that haven't yet jumped ship (wearing their taxpayer-funded well-inflated pension life-jackets) can do us all a favour: FOAD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

whut? no one says he had to invite him in for tea, just speak to him in a civil manner :/

If only FF had extended you the same courtesy before they landed you in perpetual debt. No please, no thank you, just bail my mates in Anglo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

For months the majority of users were describing how they would react angrily to FF canvassers, describing all sorts of things they would say or do to them.

Someone actually does (in real life) what many said they would do, cue the majority of users berating and sneering at the act.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I've seen posts attacking anyone who voted FF getting loads of thanks here in the last year or so, makes you laugh.

I don't agree with what the OP did, but I certainly don't blame him.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

When he called to the door, he should have made him Stand and Deliver... eh... an apology on behalf of the party...?

It's late. I'm tired.

squod wrote: »
    If only FF had extended you the same courtesy before they landed you in perpetual debt. No please, no thank you, just bail my mates in Anglo.

meh, i'm just not one to speak to a stranger like a piece of sh!t so i can feel better about myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

OP, how do you walk with such a large pair of balls??:rolleyes:

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_IsulcWs2Wn4/TCDb9XKd5pI/AAAAAAAAAZk/1bA9Kto42YM/s1600/randy.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Sanjuro wrote: »
    When he called to the door, he should have made him Stand and Deliver... eh... an apology on behalf of the party...?

It's late. I'm tired.

As a Fiann Failer, he probably would have replied, "Your money, or your life". :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

treat him in a civil manner :/
    Like how FF are treating the nation?

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Like how FF are treating the nation?

Be fair, that was 2 weeks ago. Since Michael Martin took over, they're kinder gentler and have changed for the better.

As a Fiann Failer, he probably would have replied, "Your money, or your life". :p

Your money for the rest of your life. And your kids life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

Fianna Fáil supporters tolerate, justify and downplay corruption. They're probably in the game just to be the next Haughey or Ahern. If they had any conscience, they wouldn't support that party. OP, you were correct to do what you did. Personally, if I get a canvasser, I'll ask why they are supporting that party and then I'll offer a history lesson if I get any "republican party" waffle. I won't use any bad language or anger but I'll inform that person that what he is supporting is rotten to the core.

everybody missed the again in the OP's post.

everybody but me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

meh, i'm just not one to speak to a stranger like a piece of sh!t so i can feel better about myself

No I did not speak to him like that to feel better about myself. Please don't presume to know me on the basis of my OP...it's beneath you, who as a poster I previously respected.

The reason I reacted that way is that:

A) This person represents an organisation who have condemned this country to many years of hardship and deserves my disdain.

B) Its my property, when somebody has been told that there not welcome and knocks on my door, F*** OFF is a well measured response.

C) How a person treats another person is based on how they are treated by the other person, Fianna Fail have shat all over this country and I think my response will be one of the milder ones their candidates will receive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

I don't get the hate the OP is getting. He posted a clear sign saying no FFer's allowed on his property for campaigning purposes. This fella clearly chose to ignore it and therefore got a deserved bollocking over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

No I did not speak to him like that to feel better about myself. Please don't presume to know me on the basis of my OP...it's beneath you, who as a poster I previously respected.

A) This person represents an organisation who have condemned this country to many years of hardship and deserves my disdain.

B) Its my property, when somebody has been told that there not welcome and knocks on my door, F*** OFF is a well measured response.

C) How a person treats another person is based on how they are treated by the other person, Fianna Fail have shat all over this country and I think my response will be one of the milder ones their candidates will receive.

It appears you have difficulty separating the person from the organisation. Telling a canvasser to **** off says more about you really. What was wrong with politely telling the caller that you didn't want to be disturbed and you wouldn't be voting FF? It would have the same effect, but you wouldn't look like a gob****e.

I've no difficulty doing that at all...and if this chap had called to my door with his Joe-Citizen hat on to discuss...oh let's say the weather...then I would have been perfectly polite. But this person called to my door representing this party...therefore there is no distinction...do you understand now...or will I further dumb it down for you Oppenheimer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Why are so many people attacking the OP? He put a sign on his door telling Fianna Fail Candidates that they were not welcome. One knocked despite the sign and he told him to fuck off. If I put a sign on my door saying I specifically didn’t want someone to knock on my door and then they did then I would tell them the same.

i still vote wankerish behavior. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Agreed, on the part of the stupid canvasser who refused to heed the OP's clearly displayed warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Doc wrote: »
    Why are so many people attacking the OP? He put a sign on his door telling Fianna Fail Candidates that they were not welcome. One knocked despite the sign and he told him to fuck off. If I put a sing on my door saying I specifically didn’t want someone to knock on my door and then they did then I would tell them the same.

Hope you spell checked it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

theboss80 wrote: »
    Hope you spell checked it:D

I hate when I do that (and I do it a lot)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

So who will you vote for?

I tell all candidates I'll giv'em da No.1 for sure that way If ever I need a favour I can count on my local TD to help me out, seeing as I got them elected,Its great crack altogether.but really I only ever vote FF.

So I think the long term future is looking bright cos even if the next government lasts the full term, in about 3 years time, talk of another general election will be afoot.In this election I would be confident that FF will gain an overall majority and rule the country once again. Yaahooo.
    Not only this but the very people who are on here talking complete ****e night in night out about their hatred for FF will be the very people voting for FF next time round.
    Think about it, unless Enda has 15billion in his arse pocket, in six months time either FG or FG/Lab will be the worst in the world and what ya wonna do then!
    I'll tell ya what- VOTE FOR FF

I'll bump this post in about 12 months time so we can see how accurate my prediction is and you can tells us what kinda signs you're making then.

So your admitting to being a Fianna Fail voter

OP, it's likely there are over 50,000 voters in your constituency.
    Did you think the candidate even cares about your reaction?

It's 01:10am, do you think they are remembering you?
    No, they forgot you 5 seconds after they closed your gate and marked you down on their list.

You don't become a candidate unless you are tough skinned. And they've dismissed you as a crank

So why knock on the door in the first place, fellingstressed?

And why do you think that? Because of the language or the sentiment? And if you had read through my OP you would see that I was a fianna fail voter.

Why would I give a flying f*ck what this guy thought of me? What was important to me was to make it clear what I thought of him.

Fianna Fail will encounter a lot of cranks over the coming days I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

.same. wrote: »
    I tell all candidates I'll giv'em da No.1 for sure that way If ever I need a favour I can count on my local TD to help me out, seeing as I got them elected,Its great crack altogether

lol, pretty good but will they really remember you?

So I think the long term future is looking bright cos even if the next government lasts the full term, in about 3 years time, talk of another general election will be afoot.In this election I would be confident that FF will gain an overall majority and rule the country once again. Yaahooo.
    Not only this but the very people who are on here talking complete ****e night in night out about their hatred for FF will be the very people voting for FF next time round.
    Think about it, unless Enda has 15billion in his arse pocket, in six months time either FG or FG/Lab will be the worst in the world and what ya wonna do then!
    Unfortunatly I think you're right, people live in the here and now, when in 4-5 years time the economy has been fixed and is starting up again people will vote in FF again and FF will try to convince everyone that the healthy economy is their work.

Edit: of course if there is tighter fiscal and economic union in the EU by then, then at least it will be harder for FF to f**k it up next time.

So who will you vote for?

I tell all candidates I'll giv'em da No.1 for sure that way If ever I need a favour I can count on my local TD to help me out, seeing as I got them elected,Its great crack altogether.but really I only ever vote FF.

I'll tell ya what- VOTE FOR FF

I'll bump this post in about 12 months time so we can see how accurate my prediction is and you can tells us what kinda signs you're making then.

Spoken like a true apathetic sheep...By all means bump this post in a year and see how wrong you were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Don't we have that already?:p No doubt we'll have more after the election. Another wankerish government. From looking at the polls anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Debthree

Jaysus there's a ferocious amount of wusses on this thread. And that's with the security of anonymity that the internet offers. I can't imagine how pathetically humble and insanely inassertive ye are in real life. Chr*st no wonder the FF b*stards were able to screw us over so badly.

You did good OP. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

You voted for them for years, now you've changed your tune, told a young candidate to **** off, a party you supported before. And now decided to post your story on Ireland's busiest message board. What reaction exactly where you hoping for? You were a loyal party voter before and now you deserted your party, what does that make you?

Step1: Stop voting FF and chase them from your door
    Step2: post about acomplishments online
    Step3: ???
    Step4: profit

Not my username ;)

You voted for them for years, now you've changed your tune, told a young candidate to **** off, a party you supported before. And now decided to post your story on Ireland's busiest message board. What reaction exactly where you hoping for?

Quit being pedantic but apologies for the name mistake:o

Like so many others, i voted for them for years..yes of that I'm guilty. Why?

I voted for them because they were running the country and things were going well...

Roll on to 2008, the economy goes into freefall. Now, I always foolishly believed that Ireland did well because Fianna Fail was in power but all the scandals that surfaced then changed my mind to the extent that I believed that the country did well despite FF being in power.

So is it ok with you that I exercise my constitutional right to vote differently this time?

What reaction was I expecting?...you ask.

Precisely the one I've got...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Fair play OP. If he was ignorant enough to ignore your civil instructions you had posted on your door then he's an ignoramus anyway. Just like the f*cking party he represents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

its par of the course coming up to election day.

i fully expect the masters in montrose to unleash their monkeys soon enough to spread the maFFia apologist guff.

this thread is proof of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

The difference is, FF want your money AND your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Like so many others, i voted for them for years..yes of that I'm guilty. Why?

I voted for them because they were running the country and things were going well...

Roll on to 2008, the economy goes into freefall. Now, I always foolishly believed that Ireland did well because Fianna Fail was in power but all the scandals that surfaced then changed my mind to the extent that I believed that the country did well despite FF being in power.

In other words, you allowed yourself to fall for the typical FF tactics at throwing money at every problem and hoping they'd go away. Things weren't going well; there was a huge exercise in papering over the cracks, and buying off the electorate. No offence, but perhaps if people like you had paid a little bit more attention up to 2007, and been a little bit more discerning in what you actually expected from a government, then we wouldn;t be in such a mess.

Frankly, I wish I could tell everyone who voted for FF in 2002 and 2007 to F**k off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

We all know that the adult way to deal with this issue is to hear them out politely, then politely inform them you would almost certainly not be voting FF but are still weighing up your options (before cursing them behind their back), then voting FG on the 25th.

Well that's what I did anyway :P