Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you going to vote Willie O'Dea number one?

• 10-02-2011 8:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

No man works harder for the people! (Or so his poster says).

Seriously though he must be the closest thing to a 'cool' politician this country has. He actually has some semblance of a personality/sense of humour. And he always speaks his mind, for better or for worse.

I met him today when he was out canvassing. Funny looking man. Lovely stretchy skin. I thought it was a fella strolling around in a Willie O'Dea mask at first.

Are you going to vote for him? (If you're from Limerick).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

No i think Willie is only out for Willie. Year in year out he will always ask for number one and never say to give the second vote to Peter Power. Even look at his posters , Willie only has vote me No 1, while peter has vote him number one and vote Willie no 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

No. He's a liar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Willie O' Dea represents everything that is wrong in Irish Politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Willie O' Dea represents everything that is wrong in Irish Politics.

He will help every tom, dick and harry get medical cards and the like. It drives me nuts he is elected as a representative at a national level. We need politicians who can think of the country and not getting more votes for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

He's a very smart politician when it comes to getting people on his side but has he really been as excellent for Limerick as has been made out. Anytime I have seen him he comes across as the type of person who will say something to please the people - sort of populist politics. He was smart to go on the Joe Duffy show with the RubberBandits, I'd imagine he will get a lot of votes from the first time young voters for that. The fact that he is being considered because he is a polititian with a sense of humour is a bit mad really. Policies and portfolio should count not sense of humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭alejandro1977

He's a very smart politician when it comes to getting people on his side but has he really been as excellent for Limerick as has been made out. Anytime I have seen him he comes across as the type of person who will say something to please the people - sort of populist politics. He was smart to go on the Joe Duffy show with the RubberBandits, I'd imagine he will get a lot of votes from the first time young voters for that. The fact that he is being considered because he is a polititian with a sense of humour is a bit mad really. Policies and portfolio should count not sense of humour

he put out a statement years ago criticizing "Navan Man" for lampooning politicians in sketches. Willie claimed that he undermined trust in politicians and was "undermining democracy".

He was a laughing stock and obviously learned it was to his advantage to be down with the kids re. Rubber Bandits... cynic

http://www.wiredwithwhelan.com/?p=244

he put out a statement years ago criticizing "Navan Man" for lampooning politicians in sketches. Willie claimed that he undermined trust in politicians and was "undermining democracy".

He was a laughing stock and obviously learned it was to his advantage to be down with the kids re. Rubber Bandits... cynic

http://www.wiredwithwhelan.com/?p=244

Thats exactly what I meant he is clearly very intelligent at turning around a bad situation. The Rubber Bandits were obviously mocking him but he managed to embrace it increasing his popularity. Smart man but not exactly what we need right now. Do people forget that he is part of the Government that brought down this country or is O'Dea similar to O'Cuiv in my constituancy in that he is practically untouchable and guaranteed a seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭ElasticMan

No i think Willie is only out for Willie. Year in year out he will always ask for number one and never say to give the second vote to Peter Power. Even look at his posters , Willie only has vote me No 1, while peter has vote him number one and vote Willie no 2.

I was looking at these posters today when I was walking downtown. Willie has two posters around, one of them says vote Willie O'Dea number one and the other is the 'No man works harder for the people' poster which also says 'Please continue your support by voting Peter Power no 2.'

To the person who said it's absurd to vote for someone based on them having a sense of humour, that's not why I'd vote for him. However he does seem like a regular guy with the ability to poke fun at himself. He's approachable and speaks his mind, unlike the majority of politicians. Also, he seems to genuinely care about his job and doing good for Limerick. You won't see him taking his pension and running off with his tail between his legs. He's one of us! He has mishaps (the gun and brothel incidents spring to mind), but who hasn't done or said something they regret?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

ElasticMan wrote: »
    He has mishaps (the gun and brothel incidents spring to mind), but who hasn't done or said something they regret?

Let's look at the facts for a minute:

1. The man insinuated that a rival politician was running a brothel.
    2. He made a sworn affidavit that he did no such thing.
    3. When evidence was presented that he did in fact say it he backtracked and said he didn't recall the incident.
    4. He resisted calls to stand down as minister and had to be forced to do so after the Dan Boyle famously tweeted that the Greens weren't happy about it.

To this day he still bitches and moans about the Green Party in his weekly Sunday Independent column. He's clearly got a massive chip on his shoulder over this. He blames them for him losing his cabinet position conveniently ignoring his own actions that led up to it.

He also seems to have purged the name Fianna Fail from the front page of his website.

I was looking at these posters today when I was walking downtown. Willie has two posters around, one of them says vote Willie O'Dea number one and the other is the 'No man works harder for the people' poster which also says 'Please continue your support by voting Peter Power no 2.'

To the person who said it's absurd to vote for someone based on them having a sense of humour, that's not why I'd vote for him. However he does seem like a regular guy with the ability to poke fun at himself. He's approachable and speaks his mind, unlike the majority of politicians. Also, he seems to genuinely care about his job and doing good for Limerick. You won't see him taking his pension and running off with his tail between his legs. He's one of us! He has mishaps (the gun and brothel incidents spring to mind), but who hasn't done or said something they regret?
    This so called sense of humour is an act, look at http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=70581330&postcount=7 post to see that. He says what people want to hear so I don't think he is truly speaking honestly, look at him on the late late show and you will see what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I was actually disgusted when I realised that the new boundary changes mean that I can't actually vote against the little lying weasel! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 matluka

Did anyone see the muppet on primetime last night.....he was almost asleep, what is wrong with people when they would vote that muppet back in!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭watchingthepols

Also, he seems to genuinely care about his job and doing good for Limerick.

No way am I voting for him this time around. Enough is enough. It's time to elect people who are actually interested in doing something for Limerick.

He has been a TD here in Limerick for the last 27 years and a government minister or junior minister for 13 years before he was caught out last year.

And we have nothing to show for it other than reports of fights in pubs, saying things about political opponents & his high court evidence scandal. A great man for doing things to publicise himself Willie O'Dea but thats about it.

Here is what the parish priest of Southill had to say about Willie O'Dea when the Pat Kenny Show came to Limerick last week. Just one more example of how Willie O'Dea does f*** all for the people of Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭takun

I'm sorry and it's trivial, but every time I come back to this post one thing leaps out to me:
    Funny looking man. Lovely stretchy skin.

What IS 'lovely stretchy skin'? What does it look like? I am intrigued, I'm on the point of getting in my car and driving to Limerick just to find Willie O'Dea and have a look at his skin. :D

takun wrote: »
    I'm sorry and it's trivial, but every time I come back to this post one thing leaps out to me:

What IS 'lovely stretchy skin'? What does it look like? I am intrigued, I'm on the point of getting in my car and driving to Limerick just to find Willie O'Dea and have a look at his skin. :D

Does this help?

willie005663_display.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭takun

Does this help?

Oh. It means wrinkly then? That's disappointing. Lately I'm finding all I have to do to see that is look in a mirror.

A minute or two of this video tells me all I need to know about Willie O'Dea's style of politics.

No thanks Willie :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭unit 1

I don't live in Limerick but there's no way I'd vote for GROUCHO MARX, even if he pointed his gun at me.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 musicman1983

out of all the politians in the country, he is prob the only one who actually listens to the people, i have a 9 yr old girl and she is not in school, she only came to live with me in september, i applied to 6 schools and one sent a reply saying they recognised the application. I have had about 7 politicians knock on my door in recent weeks and when I explained my situation they didnt seem to care, all but one. Willie O' Dea took my name, address, phone number and details of the schools we have applied to. She starts school tomorrow week in the school most convenient for us. A politicians job is to run his constituency, and look after his constituents. If Willie O'Dea was and independent td he would have been getting my vote anyway, but the fact that he is fianna fail was holding me back. Not anymore he listened and he cared and that is the type of person we need representing our city on Kildare St.
    He is a very personable guy, knew my dad years ago. Hasnt met him in over 25 years and he paid his respects at my mams funeral last year. Whether or not he goes to all funerals in his constituency, I do not know. But it means something when your td shows up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

I may put a 1 beside the great man's name although I might also follow it with a 0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

A politicians job is to run his constituency, and look after his constituents.

Wrong.

A TD's job is to form legislation in the NATIONAL interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

out of all the politians in the country, he is prob the only one who actually listens to the people, i have a 9 yr old girl and she is not in school, she only came to live with me in september, i applied to 6 schools and one sent a reply saying they recognised the application. I have had about 7 politicians knock on my door in recent weeks and when I explained my situation they didnt seem to care, all but one. Willie O' Dea took my name, address, phone number and details of the schools we have applied to. She starts school tomorrow week in the school most convenient for us. A politicians job is to run his constituency, and look after his constituents. If Willie O'Dea was and independent td he would have been getting my vote anyway, but the fact that he is fianna fail was holding me back. Not anymore he listened and he cared and that is the type of person we need representing our city on Kildare St.
    He is a very personable guy, knew my dad years ago. Hasnt met him in over 25 years and he paid his respects at my mams funeral last year. Whether or not he goes to all funerals in his constituency, I do not know. But it means something when your td shows up.

I don't even know where to begin with this post. This is exactly what is wrong with electing Willie O'Dea to the Dail. What you have outlined above is the perfect example of why politics in this country is completely banjaxed. Look I am glad you got help but that kind of thing is the ONLY thing that Willie O'Dea does well. He is utterly useless on the national stage. Name one thing the man has ever done for Limerick, or one significant national issue that he has ever implemented? The fact is that he does "favours" for people like you have outlined above, but when it comes to tackling the massive employment issues and crime issues that have blighted Limerick he is nowhere to be seen.

He would be better off sticking to local politics and helping people get medical cards and the like and leave national politics to someone else because on that stage the man has been an abysmal failure for the people of Limerick.

Also he resigned in disgrace last time round, which should have ended his political career if this country had any kind of standard set for our politicians.

LOL.

What a crock of s***.

You forgot the bit about O'Dea finding a cure for cancer & personally ending world hunger.

Two posts to your name....and the second one a sugar coated testimonial to Willie O'Dea...need I say more :)

Take this back to O'Dea when you are canvassing with him tomorrow.One of the printable things that myself & my friends call O'Dea is "the little coffin chaser".:)

O'Dea might also remember this article which explains how he operates.

"So, what is it about Willie that makes him so extraordinarily successful in Limerick? Here we get to the heart of the paradox that is Fianna Fáil. It is not the success of Willie O’Dea’s advocacy for Limerick that makes the city so dependent on him. It is its failure. The relationship between the ultimate clientelist politician and his clients depends on the continuation of powerlessness. Instead of being punished for Limerick’s underdevelopment, O’Dea has thrived on it. The worse the city’s problems, the greater its need of a supposed champion."

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2010/0223/1224265029998.html

harder.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Dubol

Hello Musicman. I see that you just joined boards.ie. I also see that Willie is now your friend and the other 6 politicians didnt care except the one who was a friend of your dad and they never met for 25 years. No he dos'nt go to all funerals in his area. You are indeed a very lucky man to have all these politicians around to your house. You mention "out of all the politicians in the country" Willie is prob the only one that listens to people. Well let me say that the country listened to him when he told lies about one of his own Limerick people and almost ruined that innocent persons reputation not to mention his family life. You make him out to be almost human. Well I was in FF and left because of people like Willie and Bertie. He is in it for himself. Go and vote for him but you will be voting for a proven perjurer. I have a suspecion that your post is so timed because of his falling popularity in the polls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Dubol

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    I may put a 1 beside the great man's name although I might also follow it with a 0.

+10
    He almost ruined a mans reputation and family life and carried on telling lies untill found out and why? He did'nt like the innocent mans popularity. He was expelled. Please! Please! Please! The people of Limerick help us clean up politics in our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Let's look at the facts for a minute:

1. The man insinuated that a rival politician was running a brothel.
    2. He made a sworn affidavit that he did no such thing.
    3. When evidence was presented that he did in fact say it he backtracked and said he didn't recall the incident.
    4. He resisted calls to stand down as minister and had to be forced to do so after the Dan Boyle famously tweeted that the Greens weren't happy about it.

To this day he still bitches and moans about the Green Party in his weekly Sunday Independent column. He's clearly got a massive chip on his shoulder over this. He blames them for him losing his cabinet position conveniently ignoring his own actions that led up to it.

He also seems to have purged the name Fianna Fail from the front page of his website.
    Evidence??

WTF has evidence got to do with anything?

explain 'evidence' to the people who voted for Bertie Ahern, Charlie Haughey, Beverly Cooper Flynn, Micheal Lowry, or 'the stroke Fahy' etc etc

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Willie O'Dea is not part of the solution, he is part of the problem.

This comes from todays Irish Independent report on Willie O'Dea's canvass.

In the article he also denies having got a slap from an angry voter.

The graffiti on the red door speaks for a lot of us here in Limerick.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/elections/comment-analysis/lise-hand-its-not-easy-being-the-uncrowned-king-of-limerick-2546336.html

RunsThroughTheTown.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

In the article he also denies having got a slap from an angry voter.

The graffiti on the red door speaks for a lot of us here in Limerick.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/elections/comment-analysis/lise-hand-its-not-easy-being-the-uncrowned-king-of-limerick-2546336.html

RunsThroughTheTown.jpg
    the condition of the street is testemony to what he has done for limerick, the indo piece instead of making him king,will crown him the disillousioned politician, hopefully the crown will be of thorns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Ahh shur its grand he helped mary get a medical card, and shure cant he poke fun at himself, why not vote for him no 1?

because he is a bare faced liar amongst many other huge personal and professional failings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I wonder what's with the "uncrowned king of Limerick" bull**** ? Or, for that matter "it's not easy...."

How about "you make life difficult for yourself by being a slandering lying useless hypocrite" as the headline ?
    Willie's watchwords are 'eternal vigilance'

Wonder how he got his slander and perjury oh so wrong, then ?