Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can anyone tell me anything about any of these candidates?

• 09-02-2011 6:39pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hello all,

I've moved to this constituency in the last 12 months, so am completely unfamiliar with any of the candidates. According to our own Boards poll, Labour's Eric Byrne is topping the poll with Joan Collins from People Before Profit in second place. Now, I dunno about you, but anyone who puts a low light, poorly made video from a mobile phone up on their website as their actual campaign message gets a "are you for fnucking real?!?!?" from me.

Following that is a Sinn Féin rep and I will never vote for them because I remember who the IRA are. They can attempt to clean up their act all they like, doesn't change a thing as far as I'm concerned.

I'm of a staunchly Fine Gael background, but that's never concerned me and I feel party politics is nonsense (I'm sure my father is spinning in his grave hearing me say that). As a result, I have no idea who the 3 FG candidates are either.

Fianna Fail? LOL, not a chance, same for the Green candidate.

There's an independent in Gerry Kelly who's website hasn't exactly filled me with confidence and then there's the Christian Solidarity Party which is a concept that always makes me laugh.

Anyone know anything about these people in this area? I'm starting to read their websites and see what they have to say. Have had no sign of any canvassers, but I live in an apartment block so it would (thankfully) be difficult for the canvassers to get in and start annoying me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Wilser1

Kharn wrote: »
    Hello all,

I've moved to this constituency in the last 12 months, so am completely unfamiliar with any of the candidates. According to our own Boards poll, Labour's Eric Byrne is topping the poll with Joan Collins from People Before Profit in second place. Now, I dunno about you, but anyone who puts a low light, poorly made video from a mobile phone up on their website as their actual campaign message gets a "are you for fnucking real?!?!?" from me.

Following that is a Sinn Féin rep and I will never vote for them because I remember who the IRA are. They can attempt to clean up their act all they like, doesn't change a thing as far as I'm concerned.

I'm of a staunchly Fine Gael background, but that's never concerned me and I feel party politics is nonsense (I'm sure my father is spinning in his grave hearing me say that). As a result, I have no idea who the 3 FG candidates are either.

Fianna Fail? LOL, not a chance, same for the Green candidate.

There's an independent in Gerry Kelly who's website hasn't exactly filled me with confidence and then there's the Christian Solidarity Party which is a concept that always makes me laugh.

Anyone know anything about these people in this area? I'm starting to read their websites and see what they have to say. Have had no sign of any canvassers, but I live in an apartment block so it would (thankfully) be difficult for the canvassers to get in and start annoying me :)
    Joan Collins is a sitting Dublin City Councillor and is a person of integrity and honesty. Eric Byrne is also an honest and hardworking politician who has been in this constituency for years and Mary Uptons nephew Henry is also running for election here. There is also a big Fine Gael (Jim Mitchell) vote which will probably go to the two FG candidates. But the Fianna Fáil candidates I'd expect to really struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Weyhey

Wilser1 wrote: »
    Joan Collins is a sitting Dublin City Councillor and is a person of integrity and honesty.

I second this.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I don't know if Michael Conaghan (Labour candidate in this area) actually approved of this but there is a bizarre song in support of him -

http://soundcloud.com/maman-poulet/rest-outside-michael-conaghan

which is basically a cover of the Rubber Bandits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I'm in a similar situation to Kharn. New to the area and wanted to check them out. Wiki was the first place I looked because I didn't even know what constituency I was in (I'm on the border) and it was the best laid out site.

Anyway, I got to Aengus O Snodaigh, the Sinn Fein guy. Wiki had a section that said linked to some very dodgy stuff about him, and I checked it there and there's no mention of it! Obviously parties are cleaning up their wiki pages.

Here's the story anyway, worth a read if you want yet another reason to not vote in Sinn Fein, it gets worse the more you read:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/cs-gas-discovered-in-home-of-o-snodaigh-supporter-465028.html
    GARDAI have discovered yet more election posters for Aengus O Snodaigh along with an illegal CS gas spray at the home of a man suspected of involvement in the IRA murder of south Dublin criminal Seamus 'Shavo' Hogan.
    The posters and CS spray, which is potentially fatal and can cause respiratory failure and death in asthmatics, were found in a house in the Crumlin area belonging to an O Snodaigh supporter in the past month.

It follows the court casesin which seven men have been convicted of IRA charges,all of whom are associated with Sinn Fein in O Snodaigh's constituency.

The man arrested and questioned by gardai is suspected of being one of the gunmen who shot dead Hogan outside the Transport Club in Clogher Road, Crumlin, in July 2001. Hogan was one of at least half a dozen men shot by the IRA in Dublin since the 1997 IRA 'ceasefire'.

At the time gardai said they had an "open mind" on the murder and that it could have been a result of inter-gang rivalry. But they now firmly believe he was murdered by the IRA.

The man questioned about his murder is also suspected of having shot another south Dublin ex-criminal Jimmy Gantley around the same. Gantley survived despite being shot at almost point-blank range.

Gardai in Dublin say the murder of Shavo Hogan and a number of other criminal figures in the city was part of a campaign by the IRA to take over organised crime in the city. The IRA has allowed other gangs to continue trafficking drugs so long as they pay a percentage of profits into the republican organisation. According to gardai, this is still going on.

Last week five men, all believed to be Sinn Fein election workers, were convicted of IRA membership after they were caught by gardai while apparently preparing to hijack a lorry at Bray, Co Wicklow, in October 2002. While searching a car and van at the scene, gardai uncovered clubs, CS spray cans, fake Garda uniforms along with election posters for O Snodaigh.

Last November Niall Binead, a friend and election worker for O Snodaigh, was also convicted of IRA membership along with another man, as a result of the same Garda investigation in Bray. Binead was running a spying campaign on Government members and TDs as part of an IRA dirty tricks campaign to subvert the Republic's constitutional parties. He had details of the movements of several TDs, including three former ministers for justice, as well as details of almost 30 'ordinary' criminals in Dublin, the court heard.

In a remarkable twist in the cases, O Snodaigh has called on the Minister for Defence, Mr Willie O'Dea to tell the Dail if the Defence Forces has had "in its possession at any stage in the past 30 years stocks of the highly-poisonous CS gas".

He also asked for the "names of two current deputies currently monitored by military intelligence; and the names of the current deputies who are the subject of military intelligence files".

Yesterday, the Minister for Defence reacted angrily to the news of the second discovery of the illegal gas spray alongside more O Snodaigh posters.

He said: "This is the second time O Snodaigh's posters have been found side by side with CS gas. It is as if they have some irresistible attraction to each other. It is almost a metaphor for Sinn Fein's broad strategy: a little politics with a lot of menace and threat.

"Sinn Fein's Aengus O Snodaigh has indulged in blatant hypocrisy and sheer brass neck by tabling two written parliamentary questions to me on the keeping of military intelligence files and possession of CS gas by the Army.

"Deputy O Snodaigh is the last person in the Dail that should be asking who the subject of intelligence files is or whether the Irish Army possesses a lethal gas. Instead of asking questions, O Snodaigh should be putting his legendary intellect into answering a few.

"When will O Snodaigh ask his close associate, the convicted provo Niall Binead why he was keeping files on the movements of a number of TDs including three former Justice Ministers?

"When will O Snodaigh tell the Irish public why his election posters were found in a car alongside a canister of CS gas and a stun gun?

"When will O Snodaigh publicly denounce his friend Binead and tell us how Binead's thumbprint was found by Gardai on a roll of black tape in Bray in 2002 in a car with false number plates which also contained a canister of CS gas, two pick-axe handles, a sledgehammer, a black balaclava, a blue flashing beacon and a yellow fluorescent jacket with the word 'Garda' on it?

"We are at a critical juncture in the peace process. This is a time for everyonewho truly believes in the Good Friday Agreement to work hard to see it implementedin all its aspects. It is Sinn Fein's responsibility to provide clear and definitive answers on decommissioning, an end to para-militarism and criminality."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭andrewire

I'm voting for Byrne, Upton, Conaghan, the SF guy, Collins and the Green candidate. I personally know the three Labour candidates and they are honest, hard-working people. Same goes for Collins. Never met the others but they seem to have plenty of supporters around my area so I'll give them my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

Paparazzo wrote: »

Anyway, I got to Aengus O Snodaigh, the Sinn Fein guy. Wiki had a section that said linked to some very dodgy stuff about him, and I checked it there and there's no mention of it! Obviously parties are cleaning up their wiki pages.

I'd call it trying to cover up their true colours. Must root out the article about O'Snodaigh's wife (off her face drunk iirc) harassing Gardai on Abbey St as they went about their duties from a few years ago and add it on to the page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

and here it is...

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/sinn-fein-tds-wife-fined-after-row-outside-nightclub-278094.html

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/drink-scuffles-broken-glass-and-catcalls-278096.html
    Sinn Fein TD's wife fined after row outside nightclub

By Tim Healy

Thursday January 13 2005

THE wife of the Sinn Fein justice spokesman was fined €250 yesterday for being what a judge said was "the most culpable" person in an incident outside a Dublin nightclub. Aisling Ni Dhalaigh, wife of Aengus O'Snodaigh TD, denied being drunk and breaching the peace outside Spirit nightclub on Abbey Street early on May 22 last.
    Her sister, Niamh Ni Dhalaigh and a friend, Martin Farrell were also fined €150 and €100 respectively for obstructing gardai during the incident, which occurred after a Sinn Fein function in the nearby Abbey Hotel.
    Dublin District Court heard that a passer-by saw Ms Ni Dhalaigh, Decies Road, Ballyfermot, Dublin throw a beer glass at a Garda car which was parked while gardai helped a person who needed an ambulance. The passer-by identified Ms Ni Dhalaigh to gardai, who arrested her.
    Some of Ms Ni Dhalaigh's friends, who had been with her at the function, intervened and told gardai they would be in trouble because she was the wife of a TD.
    Her sister and Mr Farrell were arrested when they opened the doors of the van after she was placed inside it.
    Ms Ni Dhalaigh, said she was standing on Abbey Street talking and smoking when a garda turned her around and handcuffed her. She was a mother of three and never used foul language.
    A charge against Aisling Ni Dhalaigh that she damaged the Garda car when she threw the glass was struck out when the State could not produce evidence of damage.
    None of the three had any previous convictions.
    Judge William Early said he "scarcely believed a word" of evidence given by Aisling Ni Dhalaigh who, he said, was "the most culpable" in the incident.
    - Tim Healy

Drink, scuffles broken glass and catcalls

By Martha Kearns
    Thursday January 13 2005

DRUNKEN scuffles, smashed pint glasses and republican abuse thrown at gardai outside a nightclub - sounds like a typical Saturday night out in Dublin. Except this time, one of the people involved was the wife of a politician. A Dail deputy, in fact and his party's justice spokesperson to boot.
    Sinn Fein's Aengus O Snodaigh was not on the scene the night his "extremely drunk" wife smashed a pint glass over the bonnet of a squad car.
    He was not there when a group - including his wife, Aisling Ni Dhalaigh and her sister, Niamh Ni Dhalaigh - threatened gardai that Aengus would have their jobs.
    He couldn't join in the little sing-song in the back of the garda van after Aisling, Niamh and the third accused, Martin Farrell delighted the arresting gardai with their rendition of 'A Nation Once Again'.
    Yet his name was always going to be linked to the events of the early hours of the morning of May 22 last when gardai claimed they were subjected to republican abuse and profanities ("F--- Garda Siochana") as well as chants of "Up the IRA" from the group, who were coming from a Sinn Fein function on Dublin's Middle Abbey Street.
    A string of gardai as well as an independent witness yesterday outlined the events of the night to Dublin District Court, where Aisling Ni Dhalaigh was convicted of a breach of the peace and both Niamh Ni Dhalaigh and Martin Farrell were convicted of obstructing gardai.
    All three denied all charges and claimed they were not drunk or abusive.
    Despite none of the accused having a previous conviction, Judge William Early would not apply the Probation Act, as he said "people who invoke political parties and other organisations to threaten gardai" did not deserve it.
    According to the Garda Bernard Mullins, after the glass was smashed on the car (which the judge had "no doubt" was done by Aisling Ni Dhalaigh) the group chanted "republican rhetoric" associated with Sinn Fein and the IRA.
    "Niamh called me a f---ing scumbag, a free state bastard. She said the husband of one of the people was a Sinn Fein politician and I'd lose my job and be in trouble," added Garda Garrett Kane.
    - Martha Kearns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 round robin

Well I don't know how anyone could vote for Sinn Fein after reading those articles - you'd want to be into gangland yourself!!

I do know most of the candidates - some have done nothing for the area others have worked for many yrs on local issues.

Michael Conaghan - labour candidate and former lord mayor of Dublin, should poll strong in ballyfermot/inchicore and perhaps pick up in drimnagh (new to area but working a lot here as well) - has topped the poll on 4 occasions and if I'm not mistaken I think the only councillor to achieve this? A worthy candidate that has a lot to offer in terms of education (former lecturer) and the Arts. Should push for last seat with Vincent Jackson giving him his suppport as well.

Michael Mulcahy - FF candidate - total waste of space to be honest only time I saw him in Ballyfermot was last 2 wks at the shops - he has some neck and has done nothing for the people and couldn't answer this question when asked? A waste of space.

Henry Upton - Labour candidate - from the political heavyweight family of the Uptons, good history in the crumlin/kimmage area with his mother Mary stepping aside perhaps to let him get in this time around? Dad Pat was a great politician and honest man. A good family history and should be a worthy candidate also. I expect he'll be elected.

Joan Collins - PBP alliance - Still living off the whole bin tax which is gone out with the dinosaurs at this stage - but will probably have a base vote in crumlin drimnagh were people were opposed to bin tax - however this is an old issue and doesnt seem to have come up with any real policies of her own for the area? Is well respected by many but far too little to offer in my opinion. Maybe pushing for last seat as well though!

Catherine Byrne - Fine Gael - Is helped by the Mitchell vote in Inchicore area and is seen by many as a friend of the older people in this area? Worked a lot with local groups, member of the local church choirs etc so Catherine was always locally involved in community issues and capitalised on the Mitchell vote - dont think she is too happy with the 3 candidates in the area would probably have preferred just 2 in order to secure her seat by a margin and with Peter O'Neill (former FG Candidate) running also he may take away some of the FG vote! Should be the FG seat of the area either way.

Ruairi McGinley/Colm Brophy - I am not too familiar with these candidates - brophy is only new on the scene and dont expet much form him but Gay Mitchell has been seen around trying to canvass votes for Ruairi so it remains to be seen if McGinley can get the 2nd seat for FG?

Eric Byrne - Labour Candidate - been working for many yrs as TD/Cllr for the crumlin/kimmage area - has polled strong in these areas previously and is expected to do well again - can come across like the typical politican promising you everything, seen at the funerals but I think he ahs improved recently and he'll do well and has done a lot for the crumlin area.

Aengus O'Snodaigh - Sinn Fein Candidate - will pick up the usual SF vote and is a current TD in the area. Some things have dinted his campaign and I think they are mentioned here between lads postering for him with guns and CS gas in their vans and his wifes antics and run ins with the guards all of this doesn't bode well with the true voter! Hasn't ever really made an impression for me so unless you're an IRA supporter I can't see the genuine voter giving him a preference? Will probably be pushing for a seat no doubt as the only SF candidate.

Others not really gonna make an impact and not known:
    Colm Callanan
    Neville Bradley
    Sean Connolly Farrell
    Gerry Kelly
    Paul King
    Dominic Mooney
    Oisin O hAlmhain

Thats a summary on Dublin South Central :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Pimlico

I think FG are doing themselves no favour by putting up 3 candidates here in DSC, Catherine Byrne is imo a dead cert and they would have had a strong chance at getting a second seat if they had one other candidate but with the inclusion of both Colm Brophy and Ruari McGinley, the votes will be too split, I'm not a FG supporter but thats just my view.

In regards to the candidates;

Catherine Byrne: She does a lot for her local area (Bulfin/Inchicore/Kilmainham) and not much else where in DSC

Colm Brophy: I've met a couple of times and seems a genuinely nice decent guy and very knowledgeable on policys and his consituency. If I was a FG voter I would probably vote for him

Ruari McGinley: met him once when he was canvassing, he didnt seem to be really that bothered and was very unconvincing.

Eric Byrne: Know him well, he is a hard working decent man, he has dedicated most of his life to working for the people in DSC either as a councillor or TD.

Henry Upton: Nephew of outgoing TD Mary, His Father Pat held the post before he passed away and then Mary was voted in in a subsequent by election in 1999, Pat was a gentleman and a very hard worker for the area. I know Mary well she is an absolute lady and a very very hard worker, anyone I know that has went to her with a complaint/query has been very happy with her regardless of their political leanings. all this still doesnt address Henry himself (but just giving you a bit of background) I actually know little about him, but the fact that he comes from a strong labour dynasty in DSC will surely give him a strong chance of snatching a 2nd seat for LAB.

Michael Conaghan: Don't really know much about him, have been hoping he would knock on the door canvassing so I could suss him out so to speak :), friends in Ballyfermot (where he is a cllr) say he is a decent guy and a good worker.

Aengus O'Snodaigh: While I would consider giving SF a vote as they (apart from Labour) are genuinely the only party that are seen to be actually doing things in my particular area of DSC all year round and not only during election time, however, I don't think I could bring myself to vote for Aengus.

Joan Collins: Met her a couple of times, she was out canvassing in Thomas Street two weekends ago and I actually had a good chat with her, she came across well and like a decent lady but some of her policys and views on things are way too left for me (and I would consider myself quite the Lefty!)

Michael Mulcahy: I have the extreme displeasure of actually knowing him, how in the name of God he ever actually got voted in in the first place still amazes me. He is so out of touch with the people here its genuinely unbelievable. cannot say anything nice about the man so I won't say anything further :)

Don't know anything about any of the other candidates.

I will vote for Eric Byrne no.1 after that I'm still undecided with Upton, Conaghan and Brophy in the running for my 2,3 and 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭mvt

Another candidate worth considering is Oisin o hAlmhain of the Green Party.
    He comes across as a reasonable guy and seems committed to making the city a better place to live
    I have never met the guy,just emailed him for some background on his policies,and I am not a Green Party member.
    Maybe,as a potential voter,if you were to think about what sort of society you would like to live in then maybe this guy would tick some of your boxes.
    And you could tick his in return :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

stop wrote: »

How is the drunken behaviour of the wife of a candidate 6 years ago relevant to the current election campaign?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 Eureka_Bg

Eric Byrne has previously held a Dail seat in this constituency for the Labour Party. His continued hard work on Dublin city council should see him safely returned to the Dail this time out, perhaps topping the poll.

Indeed, a second seat for Labour is in the bag, most likely for Henry Upton. The Upton name is held in very good stead here following on from the sterling work in DSC of Henry's Aunt, Mary Upton and before her, his father Pat Upton.

Catherine Byrne, the leading Fine Gael candidate should comfortably hold the seat she won here after the departure of Gay Mitchel to Europe. A Former Lord Mayor of Dublin, she has also represented the lower part of DSC, (Inchicore/Inner city area) on Dublin city council, so she will most likely secure the second or third of the 5 seats here.

However, this is where this constituency could be become crucial on the national stage come the count on Saturday. The final two seats will more than likely be fought out by three or even four candidates, the outcome of which could help decide the shape of the next government. With Two Labour seats and one FG seat safely secured, the battle for the final two seats should see the previously mentioned Sinn Fein TD Aongus O'Snodaigh with a fight on his hands to hold his seat here from fellow sitting deputy Michael Mulcahy of Fianna Fail and FG's Colm Brophy.

If Colm Brophy has managed to garner enough Number 1 Votes to stay ahead of either FF's Mulcahy or O'Snodaigh long enough to pick up the transfers of FG's Ruari McGinley among others, expect to see Dublin South Central make headline news (for the right reasons) as the count results come in on TV and the formation of our new government becomes clearer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Wilser1

What about Joan Collins? She'll get a seat here denying Mulcahy a seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Very happy to see Eric Byrne getting elected!
    Surprised that Upton has lost out, happy about it though... have talked to him and he is not a great politician.

We had a joke going last night about the polititian Neville Bradly. His slogan is "The party is over".
    We decided to chant "Now the party is definitely over!" over and over again when he was eliminated.