Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any midweek morning training spins going - (south west Dublin)?

• 09-02-2011 6:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭

This is probably a frickin' minefield :) but ah...

A bit of company to get me out in the mornings would be great! The quicker the better...(I'll be sorry I said that). I have 9 am ish to 12.45 ish. -I'm based around Firhouse/Knocklyon.

70 - 80 k sort of distance - At the moment I'm doing either laps of the Blessington small lake route, or I do the big lake.

...I also like candlelit dinners and walks by the beach... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Woah. Another tumbleweed thread... I'm on a roll today. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

I usually head out tuesdays or wednesdays mornings usually 20-30min race pace intervals with some sprints, leaving from woodstowm

Cool, sure I'm only across the road in Hunters Wood.

I've been trying to get regular a regular wednesday morning 2 and half hour spin going with two other lads, a Lucan LRC rider and another fella, but... yerra with the weather the way it's been and this and that, we haven't really gotten it together yet.

I'm going out tomorrow anyway, hell or high water. Blessington big lake. It's about a 2.5 hour round trip from here.

The rot stops here:)

Next week if your heading out gimme a shout, usually me and a mate head out hes coming from hunters wood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Are northsiders allowed. Assuming so, where would be best spot to meet.

I've nothing against northsiders, just don't nick any of my gear :D.
    levitronix wrote: »
    Next week if your heading out gimme a shout, usually me and a mate head out hes coming from hunters wood

Nice one, will do. Cheers. -Were ye out on tuesday (I think) morning by any chance? I saw two lads coming down the hill around midday and one peeled off left into Hunters wood. :)

I stuck to my guns this morning and big lake'd it. I went as hard as I could, and did it door to door in 3 minutes under the 2 and a half hours. :D
    Frickin' wrecked now...:o

Route's here http://ridewithgps.com/routes/new

Yeah thats was us coming home around 2 ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭jimm

Hi guys,

I have next Wed. free and wouldnt mind joining you for a hilly Wicklow spin. Coming from Clondalkin direction so can meet up anywhere that's convenient.

Cheers.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

fat bloke wrote: »

Wow, Vancouver and back in 2 hours, pretty damn impressive ;) (Little bit missing off your link maybe)

smacl wrote: »
    Wow, Vancouver and back in 2 hours, pretty damn impressive ;) (Little bit missing off your link maybe)

Whoops! Sorry.

Here it is :)

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/284029

Standard big lake route - out through Brittas, Manor Kilbride, Ballyknockan, Valleymount, Blessington, home.

jimm wrote: »
    Hi guys,

I have next Wed. free and wouldnt mind joining you for a hilly Wicklow spin. Coming from Clondalkin direction so can meet up anywhere that's convenient.

Cheers.

I can't invite other people along to Levitronix's morning spin, that's going to be up to him!

But I'd be up for trying to get a little group going alright. Try it once sure, and see how we go. :)

My usual meeting point with people is the Blue Gardenia pub in Brittas (I'd usually be there for about 10 o clock or 10 past 10), which is at the top of the embankment road, up from Tallaght. It's just at the crossroads, big carpark, can't miss it. Either that, or there's a Topaz petrol station near the corner of the Square in Tallaght, opposite the Maldron Hotel (I could be there about 9.30).

OK. I'm going to nail my colours to the mast on this, so to speak. :)

Wednesday morning 16th Feb.

Barring extenuating circumstances (e.g. a sick child or something who has to stay home from school) I'll be leaving Hunterswood at about 9.15 - 9.20. I'll stop at the Maldron Hotel on the Tallaght bypass between approx 9.30 to 9.40 (I'll be wearing Usher IRC club gear), and from there I'll be doing the Blessington big lake route - up the Embankment, through Brittas, into Manor Kilbride, around the Lake via Ballyknockan etc, then taking a right for Valleymount, onto the N81, back through Blessington, Brittas, Tallaght, home.

The pace (hopefully) will be decent enough - it's hard to say "no beginners" without sounding like a pr1ck:o, but the reality is I have a narrow enough window to get out, and I need to be back home to change and collect my kids from school, as well as factoring in a time buffer for potential mechanical difficulties or punctures etc.

Sure all we can do is give it a go, see if it works out. :)

might join you wednesday if i can but im heading out tomorrow morning at 9:30

What have you planned for tomorrow? I had a long one today so I should probably rest up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

Can't do weekday mornings but nice spin that, I do something similar sometimes in around three hours... http://ridewithgps.com/routes/286632 just under a km of climbing and nice finalale of a peak toward the end

Was just going to do the lakes

Chawlk me down for that so. Looking forward to it. That hotel is across from Shamrock Rovers stadium, am I right?

Job done big lake lap 2h41 door to door

Chawlk me down for that so. Looking forward to it. That hotel is across from Shamrock Rovers stadium, am I right?

Yeah, that's the one.
    Job done big lake lap 2h41 door to door

Nice going man. Lovely day for it too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭cosman9373

Is anyone going up that way thursday morn, I'm coming from citywest. Will be heading to brittas, manor kilbride, ballyknockan, right at t junction loop into hollywood and back through blessington to citywest. avg aroung 28kmph. any takers??

cosman9373 wrote: »
    Is anyone going up that way thursday morn, I'm coming from citywest. Will be heading to brittas, manor kilbride, ballyknockan, right at t junction loop into hollywood and back through blessington to citywest. avg aroung 28kmph. any takers??

Can you do wednesday instead?

I'll stop at the Maldron Hotel on the Tallaght bypass between approx 9.30 to 9.40

Barring v high winds like this mornings commute or overnight frost, I'll meet up with you there. Circuit of the lake sounds good.

Can you do wednesday instead?

I can't do Wednesday, I'm working. Wish I could. Maybe you'll need a recovery spin Thursday!!

jimm wrote: »
    Barring v high winds like this mornings commute or overnight frost, I'll meet up with you there. Circuit of the lake sounds good.

Sound. Yeah, this morning is pretty rotten alright. Levitronix got the holeshot with yesterday's weather! :)
    Maybe you'll need a recovery spin Thursday!!
    Not at 28kph avg I won't :)

I might head out Thursday also. Thinking of doing Slieve Mann 200 so need all the training I can get. PM you my number to arrange meeting place.

Am out for tomorrow, its daddy day care for me tomorrow so intervals tonight on the turbo:mad:

would you make thursday? meeting up at the topaz beside blessington road motors at 9.30.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Is there still something happening in the morning? I've to be in Dublin tomorrow, so I wouldn't mind an auld spin first. There wouldn't be any hassle leaving the car outside the cycle superstore, would there?

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

Sound. Yeah, this morning is pretty rotten alright. Levitronix got the holeshot with yesterday's weather! :)

Not at 28kph avg I won't :)

I was going to ask what your average speed was. I am relatively fit, but would not be up at 30kph yet.

Is there still something happening in the morning? I've to be in Dublin tomorrow, so I wouldn't mind an auld spin first. There wouldn't be any hassle leaving the car outside the cycle superstore, would there?

I'm definitely going out in the morning, barring very exceptional circumstances. Maldron hotel. 9.30 ish

DonalK1981 wrote: »
    I was going to ask what your average speed was. I am relatively fit, but would not be up at 30kph yet.

I did the big lake at a 28kph avg last week, but I was deliberately going hard. Should be easier with company though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I'll try to be there, depends on ability to get out of bed on time.

'm leaving Kilkenny now, if I'm not there by 9h45 shoot on.

Sorry lads, a touch surreal butjust opened my curtains and no car, it's been robbed:mad:

So I dunno now if I can do the spin, must report it to cops etc

Ffs

Sorry to hear that man. Sickener.

I'll be there but don't know route.

Fcuk it. No point missing out on me spin - I'll be there. 9.45 should be ok too

Sickener indeed, f***ing scumbags.
    See you at the Maldron so.

Good spin today. Thanks to everyone who showed up. Pprenderville took off like a scalded cat for home, and I had to keep him honest! Hope ye didn't mind us scuttling off :). I kinda had to be home anyway.

Nice to meet ye though, we'll have to do it again.

Bummer about your car. Thanks guys for waiting for me. Nice of that gard to stop and help me with the puncture, I wonder if he ever caught those 4 hoodlums? It was nice to see you, to see you nice. If I'm up in BAC again, we'll try and organise something as it's nice to cycle in different scenery and good company.

Thanks fb (can't bring myself to type your full name :rolleyes:), pprendeville & Captain Havoc for the spin and the company. Nice leg stretcher today and fine weather too. Couldn't ask for a better morning.

Nicely rounded off too with a bowl of Mrs. jimms homemade spinach and mushroom soup with crusty bread rolls.....yummmmmmmm :)

I had a car robbed from outside the house in woodstown, id say same fecking guys

Well did you nail a 30kph +

great spin today lads. first time out that direction. really nice scenery. hope to get out again with ye. gas about the cops stoping. you'd think they'd have something better to do like finding stolen cars.

jimm - what make did you say your mudguards are?

Hi pp, they are Crud Roadracer Mk2 http://www.crudproducts.com/products/roadracer/
    They have a longer tail piece on the rear one. Highly recommended.

Well did you nail a 30kph +

It ended up being a bit stop starty, but with pprenderville pushing the pace and mountain-goating up the hills we were travelling a lot faster than I would've been on my own.

With a bit of intent a, 30kph average is definitely on.

There's a Garmin-Gauntlet thrown for next week! :D

"mountain goating" - that's a new one.

here are my stats for the ride anyway. fairly all over the place in terms of consistency.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/68706207