Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

who should we as the farmers be voting for in the election

• 08-02-2011 10:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭

well who will bring us the best for the farmers. what td actually knows anything a bout agriculture. i always thought mairead mcguinness was very clued in but not sure if she is running in this election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭seanmacc

Sinn Féin's economic policy is geared to actually having our economy producing stuff as opposed to becoming "competitive" which will get us a couple of thousand call center jobs. Give it look.

Stay clear of the greens they'd tax you on the methane emissions on your cows if they could. FG, Labour and FF are trying to let each other hoot themselves in the foot and are not giving a crap about the rural voter at the moment.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Might be easier if you asked who should we not vote for in this election?

Sinn fein/labour = possible property/land tax
    Fine failure = been there done that
    greens= even more useless
    Fine gael: enda factor, imagine him in Brussels

That leaves indo/ local hospital candidate:pac:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

blue5000 wrote: »

That leaves indo/ local hospital candidate:pac:

Yeah, I'd love to live in a country run by Jackie Healy-Rae types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

As they say, Wexican first irish second. Ignored in the good times, so who ever does the buisness for me localy gets my vote. mind there's a few off my list starting off. Tis a sad state of affairs realy this parish pump mentality.

Come to WEXICO, we aaah have(aaah one or two) nice beaches and not much else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

LostCovey wrote: »

You have been! Bertie buying votes from every parish pump prat and every union in the country. He should be held in the same high esteem in this country as Cromwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭funny man

As they say, Wexican first irish second. Ignored in the good times, so who ever does the buisness for me localy gets my vote. mind there's a few off my list starting off. Tis a sad state of affairs realy this parish pump mentality.

Come to WEXICO, we aaah have(aaah one or two) nice beaches and not much else

Is there not a contradiction in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

LostCovey wrote: »

jackie is not running but his son michael is :D:D:D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVRYzqvRtww&feature=player_embedded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭funny man

I'm not affiliated to any party but there is no easy way of saying this but i think the country is crying out for a real alternative, i've read through all parties policy documents and there all full of details on how many jobs they will create and how much money they will save but to my mind there is very little between them, e.g. all are commited to 40%-50% renewables with little or no knowledge on what excess power is really worth!. I deffinety won't be voting FF or SF but i cant see any difference only changing faces, and voting independant is destroying our democratic system, major decisions being held ransom to demands of the few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

funny man wrote: »
    Is there not a contradiction in there?

Ye kind thats kind of what i was hinting too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

FG for me.

FF don't deserve the time of day after ploughing the country headfirst into where we are, never saw it coming my arse. Anyone who'd put that moron Smith in charge of Ag is a disaster anyway.

SF policy is daft, use the 19bn pension reserve fund to pay for a what, 40-50bn cost economy, then no plan for the next four years, tell the EU to piss off, burn the bond holders and not be able borrow money at reasonable rates, yeah right.

Labour? nope. Too cosy with the Unions.

Greens........................................................................................................................................................................................................ :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

not alot of choice here , gerry adams:eek: will make sure i go out to vote just to try to make sure he doesnt get in, fergus o dowd(fg) is the best of a bad lot, peter fitzpatrick (fg) and louth gaa manager is there too , but i dont feel he is really a politician. At least dermot ahern is gone , i hated him with a passion:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

funny man wrote: »
    I'm not affiliated to any party but there is no easy way of saying this but i think the country is crying out for a real alternative, i've read through all parties policy documents and there all full of details on how many jobs they will create and how much money they will save but to my mind there is very little between them, e.g. all are commited to 40%-50% renewables with little or no knowledge on what excess power is really worth!. I deffinety won't be voting FF or SF but i cant see any difference only changing faces, and voting independant is destroying our democratic system, major decisions being held ransom to demands of the few.

My thinking is along the same lines. I loathe FF for what they have done to this country and cannot wait to see the back of them. If Fg had a different leader I'd support them - Kenny is such a dope and has proved that this week. How can he expect to be the next leader of the country when he's afraid to defend his policies and ideas against other party leaders???

On top of that FG have failed to run a candidate in our County (Leitrim) for the second election running. I think its bad form for them to run 2 candidates from Roscommon and expect us to vote for them. Will these candidates, if elected, not be more favourable to their own local people, parishes, towns and county??? If they are being lobbied fors omething by a group of people from leitrim and another group from Roscommon, will they not choose the county that they live in.

Not being affiliated to a party, how should I vote?? Should I give my no.1 to a local person that knows me and my family (regardless him/her being independent or in a political party) or should I vote for a Fg candidate that lives 40 miles away from me, knows nothing about me etc. ????

I don't think labour are a rural party. They have little or no agricultural policies and I don't see them putting Agriculture at the top of their priorities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

i know that feeling whelan1. We have SF spokesman on agriculture,who does know a bit about agriculture , but is an economic basket case. An ex GAA man whose sole ambition is to be minister of fun(tourism and sport). A FF man who believes in the ground war but spent most of the war underground. A labour candidate whose claim to fame is that he is related to an ex labour leader. Jackie may be(is?) a south kerry gombeen but he has done more for north kerry than the rest put together and multiplied by the budget defecit:D. I should vote FG but will vote labour to keep FF out:(. Now im depressed

5live wrote: »
    i know that feeling whelan1. We have SF spokesman on agriculture,who does know a bit about agriculture , but is an economic basket case. An ex GAA man whose sole ambition is to be minister of fun(tourism and sport). A FF man who believes in the ground war but spent most of the war underground. A labour candidate whose claim to fame is that he is related to an ex labour leader. Jackie may be(is?) a gombeen but he has done more for north kerry than the rest put together and multiplied by the budget defecit:D. I should vote FG but will vote labour to keep FF out:(

Im thinking like you, in that in this election the two important things are kick in the hole to FF, and keep Labour out or as low as possible.
    So the way I have calculated it is as follows.

1. FF, are going to get slaughtered. Good.
    2. Considering 1 above, the next most important thing for me to do is minimize Labours influence in the next government when they will likely be partners with FG.
    So I'm going to vote FG, even though I have no time for Kenny.
    Imagine Labour getting very strong vote, and getting their dirty taxing hands on Finance Minister portfolio. FFS:mad:

I will probably vote FF as second as third / fourth choice, as this would further help dimish the influence of parish pump independents

BeeDI wrote: »
    Im thinking like you, in that in this election the two important things are kick in the hole to FF, and keep Labour out or as low as possible.

2. Considering 1 above, the next most important thing for me to do is minimize Labours influence in the next government when they will likely be partners with FG.
    Imagine Labour getting very strong vote, and getting their dirty taxing hands on Finance Minister portfolio. FFS:mad:

I will probably vote FF as second as third / fourth choice, as this would further help dimish the influence of parish pump independents
    what about sf :confused:

Im not too worried about labour in power tbh. Gilmore is pandering to the undecided floating vote with his 'Im against that sort of economic stuff' but will change when he gets power. He has no choice. Our hands are tied for at least 4 years if things go according to plan. Probably longer if not. Just remember this folks. THESE ARE THE GOOD DAYS!!!!. E9 billion more in cuts and taxes coming whoever is in power:o

reilig wrote: »
    Not being affiliated to a party, how should I vote?? Should I give my no.1 to a local person that knows me and my family (regardless him/her being independent or in a political party) or should I vote for a Fg candidate that lives 40 miles away from me, knows nothing about me etc. ????

I don't agree that distance has any bearing. A vote in the constituency is a vote in the constituency. The nearest FG candidate to me is 35 miles away, and is doubtful to be elected, the two FG most likely to be elected are 50 miles from me, with the other of the four also in the city.

But, and this is my point, people have to make an effort to get out and meet their politicians as well as the effort the politician has to make to be at meetings, hold clinics and so forth.

johngalway wrote: »
    I don't agree that distance has any bearing. A vote in the constituency is a vote in the constituency. The nearest FG candidate to me is 35 miles away, and is doubtful to be elected, the two FG most likely to be elected are 50 miles from me, with the other of the four also in the city.

But, and this is my point, people have to make an effort to get out and meet their politicians as well as the effort the politician has to make to be at meetings, hold clinics and so forth.

But all of these are in the 1 county. What they do and get for Galway will go to Galway. If the FG TDs in my constituency have to make a decision on something to go to Roscommon or Leitrim, naturally they will choose Roscommon - because that is where they come from and they will choose to serve their local area best. Would you blame them??

I'll be voting Fine Gael all the way.
    FF had this country on auto pilot during the tiger and the minute they had to do something,they bolluxed up the country by showing themselves up as being incompetent.
    I know Kenny's not a good performer on TV but he's a good background guy and thats what you want and not someone that spends a 100k a year on make up.

Meanwhile...

The U.S. Department of Labor claimed a small Georgia farmer was not paying
    proper wages to his help and sent an agent out to investigate him.

Dept. of Labor employee: I need a list of your employees and how much you
    pay them.

Farmer: Well, there's my farm hand, who's been with me for 3 years. I pay
    him $200 a week plus free room and board.

Then there's the mentally challenged worker. He works about 18 hours every
    day and does about 90% of all the work around here. He makes about $10 per
    week, pays his own room and board, and I buy him a bottle of scotch every
    Saturday night so he can cope with life. He also sleeps with my wife
    occasionally.

Dept. of Labor employee: That's the guy I want to talk to.....the mentally
    challenged one.

Farmer: That would be me.

But all of these are in the 1 county. What they do and get for Galway will go to Galway. If the FG TDs in my constituency have to make a decision on something to go to Roscommon or Leitrim, naturally they will choose Roscommon - because that is where they come from and they will choose to serve their local area best. Would you blame them??

You are right. Take the greens for example. Minister Gormlely planned to approve the extension of Limerick city boundary, several miles into county Clare, to capture some of the more densly populated areas in Clare.
    Why? Because Greens will get a hell of a lot more votes in Limerick city than they will get in the whole of Clare.
    This dickhead, was thinking only about future green votes, not the actual good of either Limerick city or county Clare.
    Imaging having two of our best senior hurling clubs swallowed up by Moyross :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

The "parish pump" syndrome is the greatest Irish con job ever. Local TD's getting entitlements for people that they are already due but in most cases do not receive due to an ineffective public sector who are supposed to be run by the very Government that the local TD is a member of!
    Have no affiliations whatsoever and we all know about the evil of FF (some of us have known about their philishopy for years). The contradiction of them calling themselves the Republican Party is straight out of the D'Unbelievables.
    The mantra is to categorise Irish Citizens into Class A and Class B; those within and outside de party.
    Labour are now in the grip of the unions and the private sector (farmers included) will play second fiddle to the very powerful public sector under them if they are in power. Labour have lost their roots and that is a great pity.
    That leaves the rest... take your pick of a bad lot.

Not necessarily. Galway West is split between Connemara and Galway city pretty much. Now, how much in common do you think those two areas have? Might as well be separate counties. Both FG candidates most likely to be elected are from the city, Mervue for Walsh, and Oranmore for Healy Eames. It's up to the voters to press their elected representatives on issues that affect them. There ain't much oil about these days but the squeakiest wheel is still in first place to get it. A vote is still a vote and all votes are important to politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

Will not be voting for greens or labour, after that i have to make up my mind, there is a young independent, in our area thinking strongly about voting for him depending on what he promises, but mainly because he is young and not influnced by anyone nor in anyones pocket (well that i know of) maybe thats what we should be all doing voting in young driven people in our area what everside they lie with ? maybe its the only way we'll get real change! out with the old in with the new

Imaging having two of our best senior hurling clubs swallowed up by Moyross :mad::mad:

Shotguns instead of Hurly's. :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭theroad

John Dillon is running here as an independent. Would you vote for him? Otherwise it's a Limerick Collins for FF (no way), James Heffernan for Labour and 3 (three!) FG candidates. There must have been fur and feathers flying at that selection meeting. No SF or Green.

I am considering spoiling my vote. There should at least be an option for "none of the above".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

......Imaging having two of our best senior hurling clubs swallowed up by Moyross :mad::mad:
    Not too far from me, so.
    Funny, but true. The biggest opposition would be from GAA clubs.
    I'm just inside the Limerick border myself, in good old Clare. Try telling someone around here, they're in Limerick, and they'd shoot ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭dasheriff

Our electoral area has been changed this year we are now with north kerry..There is only one canditate from limerick as far as i know,the rest are kerry men,Iv no problem with this as my local TDs from before did feck all for us anyway..We have 2 fg, 1 labour,1 sf and 1 ff as far as i know,I think ill give the first 2 to FG 3 to SF (as he will get in anyway) and keep the other 2 as far back as i can, But to be honest i dont really care because i think they are all useless..

dasheriff wrote: »
    Our electoral area has been changed this year we are now with north kerry..There is only one canditate from limerick as far as i know,the rest are kerry men,Iv no problem with this as my local TDs from before did feck all for us anyway..We have 2 fg, 1 labour,1 sf and 1 ff as far as i know,I think ill give the first 2 to FG 3 to SF (as he will get in anyway) and keep the other 2 as far back as i can, But to be honest i dont really care because i think they are all useless..
    Welcome to kerry. Any good footballers/hurlers just drop a line:D. And yes they are ALL crap. Only 5 candidates and all barely able to walk AND talk. Can i join up with limerick county? Please? Please please please....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭hurling_lad

Haven't decided who I'll vote for yet, but I reckon a vote for an independent standing on local issues would be a wasted vote.
    The likely FG/Lab coalition will have over 100 TDs backing it and no money to splash around, so I doubt that any independent will be able to get anything delivered for his/her constituency (à la Healy-Rae/Lowry) in the next Dáil.

If the numbers of seats for FF (low thirties), SF (mid teens) and independents (mid teens) turns out as many commentators currently think they will, we could well end up with a very poor opposition in the next Dáil and very little prospect of a change of government at the election after this one.

In terms of choosing a government, the only question that, seemingly, remains to be answered is what will be the relative numbers of FG and Labour TDs in the next ruling coalition and, thus, what kind of bargaining power and influence they will have over the direction of the government and, crucially the balance between tax increases and spending cuts in the next few budgets. I believe that the policy that is of most importance to farmers in this election is taxation, so FG will probably get my vote on the grounds that they will leave me with the most money in my pocket.

If the numbers of seats for FF (low thirties), SF (mid teens) and independents (mid teens) turns out as many commentators currently think they will, we could well end up with a very poor opposition in the next Dáil and very little prospect of a change of government at the election after this one.

I don't honestly think that a FG + Labour Coalition will be strong and the opposition cannot be any weaker than the opposition that has been there for the last 14 years be it FF or a load of Independent candidates.

How will FG and Labour agree on things? FG's biggest election promise is a huge raft of redundancies in the Public Service. Labour are Pro Union and pro Public Sector. How will they agree on any cuts or reforms?? Will it be just a messy argueing government that doesn't get anything done.

I'm hopeful that this will be only a short term intermediary government that will only last a year or 2. Then hopefully 1 of the 2 parties (FG and Lab) will have got their act together with a proper Leader, proper policies and proper and fair plans that will benefit people that want to work and make this country great and make us want to vote for that party. As a farmer I'd like to see this being Fg as I feel that they are more representative of farmers and have a better understanding and vision for the future of Agriculture and the role that Agriculture can play in getting this country out of recession. But they'll need to get rid of that muppet first and replace him with someone credible and someone who is respected because right now Fg are failing to swing the non party voters because of him.

While I am aware of the need to get FF out, I feel that the most changes that this election will bring will be a change in faces rather than the economic fortunes of this country. While the election is important, it won't change an awful lot in the short term (4 - 5 years). We're still going to have high unemployment, a poor health system, high emigration, a banking system that's Fcuked up and tax system that penalises the middle class and takes little or nothing in comparison from the highest earners in this country.

But its what FG and Lab do over the next 2 or 3 years - be it actions or plans that will determine if or how we will get out of this mess. And this will ultimately determine if they will have good election results and hold power in the future . . .

. . . . OR NOT.

i might have to resort to marking the candidates as a beauty pagent , that will deffo have gerry adams last:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The country's broke and we cannot afford the IMF deal - only SF and a few independents(not the gombeen types!!) have levelled with the Irish electorate on this. Therefore I'll be voting for SF/Independent:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Birdnuts wrote: »
    The country's broke and we cannot afford the IMF deal - only SF and a few independents(not the gombeen types!!) have levelled with the Irish electorate on this. Therefore I'll be voting for SF/Independent:)

how do SF plan on paying the public servants, the dole, the pension, the childrens allowance in 2012 when the honey pot of the Pension Reserve Fund has been spent on it in 2011??

The very same honey pot they are going to raid to spend billions creating jobs - it must be some honey pot

am amazed that anybody with any property/land/anything of any value can even consider voting SF - pure madness IMO

Tipp Man wrote: »
    how do SF plan on paying the public servants, the dole, the pension, the childrens allowance in 2012 when the honey pot of the Pension Reserve Fund has been spent on it in 2011??

The very same honey pot they are going to raid to spend billions creating jobs - it must be some honey pot

am amazed that anybody with any property/land/anything of any value can even consider voting SF - pure madness IMO

They want to separate sovereign from private banking debt to lower our bond yields to sustainable levels - exactly what Iceland has done and they are now recovering much quicker then us and enjoy much lower bond yields. Under the current IMF deal the Pension Reserve fund will disappear into dud banks, never to be seen again - same with any cuts to social welfare and the likes.

The rest of your post is just scaremongering based on propaganda from our corporate right-wing mainstream media:rolleyes:

They want to separate sovereign from private banking debt to lower our bond yields to sustainable levels - exactly what Iceland has done and they are now recovering much quicker then us and enjoy much lower bond yields. Under the current IMF deal the Pension Reserve fund will disappear into dud banks, never to be seen again - same with any cuts to social welfare and the likes.

The rest of your post is just scaremongering based on propaganda from our corporate right-wing mainstream media:rolleyes:

You might want to check out just how well Iceland is recovering before you use them as an example - particularly on a micro level. And where exactly did they get the money from - I believe the IMF have visited Reykjavik in recent times also

Also I most certainly am not scaremongering - It is one of SF's main policies to introduce a wealth tax - i haven't dreamt it up you know - along with other significant tax increases. They're shouting about it to anybody who'll listen.

also for clarification burning the bondholders of banks results in a 20 billion write off out of a total of 150 billion (or higher) . Its a great soundbite but it's only a small fraction of the debt that would be written off - less than 20%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Pharaoh1

What about farm issues - I haven't heard much in the way of specifics
    A few examples
    FF introduced the Food Harvest 2020 document and all parties seem to be broadly agreed it is a great idea but where has it been challenged.
    How will a basically unprofitable beef sector expand without a profit motive.

The gradual removal of REPS will have obviously have a massive impact on farming and remove hundreds of millions of agri related spend. Not a word from FG despite the reaction on the link below less than a year ago.

http://www.roscommonherald.com/news/story/?trs=kfaumheyoj&cat=farming

Also why should I pay 4% of my income to the govt in PRSI but not be entitled to the same benefits as my PAYE neighbour who also pays 4%.

These are just some of the questions I'll be asking.

Pharaoh1 wrote: »
    Also why should I pay 4% of my income to the govt in PRSI but not be entitled to the same benefits as my PAYE neighbour who also pays 4%.

This is one of the biggest disgraces in Ireland and something needs to be done about this - immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Pharaoh1

This is one of the biggest disgraces in Ireland and something needs to be done about this - immediately

Yes of course it is unfair but the only politician I have heard saying he wants it addressed is Luke Ming Flanagan.

You might want to check out just how well Iceland is recovering before you use them as an example - particularly on a micro level. And where exactly did they get the money from - I believe the IMF have visited Reykjavik in recent times also

Also I most certainly am not scaremongering - It is one of SF's main policies to introduce a wealth tax - i haven't dreamt it up you know - along with other significant tax increases. They're shouting about it to anybody who'll listen.

also for clarification burning the bondholders of banks results in a 20 billion write off out of a total of 150 billion (or higher) . Its a great soundbite but it's only a small fraction of the debt that would be written off - less than 20%.

The IMF deal for countries like Iceland and Latvia had much lower interest rates then the ones foisted on us and by every parameter you care to mention they are recovering quicker then us - The ECB is financing most of the toxic cr%p in Irish banks on behalf of German/French banks and wants to dump all this on the Irish taxpayer despite the fact that these banks were private institutions. The revelation this week alone that Anglo on its own could need an extra 15billion highlights the absurdity of what the main parties wants to tie us too - the vast majority of any credible economists out there know the game is up for this deal and that is why some are running in the election!!

Pharaoh1 wrote: »

This is the tip of the Iceberg - be prepared for much worse over the coming budgets/years to feed the IMF/banking monster created by the outgoing government:(

Jebus,mary and joseph,have you gone stone mad?
    Look.Even I agree with Sinn Féin on the bank debt issue.
    It's an utter,utter disgrace of the worst order.
    But Real politik means that the way out of the FF created un holy mess is to get a strong government in there with a mandate to kick ass in Europe regarding the irish taxpayer being asked to bankroll German banks at a time when we are at a recession level thats the worst anyone can remember.
    Right up untill recently,our economy merited net inflows of structural funds from Europe and now they want it all back.
    They won't and can't get it.
    It's just that FF are gone so stupid,that they seem to me to have been living in their own laa laa land for the past 3 years not knowing what to do and certainly not knowing how to handle the EU.
    The imf interest rate isn't too bad actually compared to the EU rate.

Anyhow long story short, heres what I said in the never ending wagon circle sinn fein thread.
    It about sums up what their policy is.It's as bad as FF,in fact worse,it would reverse us back to the burn everything british except their coal days of the 1930's....and you want to vote for them???
    We can't be insular like that.

Jebus,mary and joseph,have you gone stone mad?
    Look.Even I agree with Sinn Féin on the bank debt issue.
    It's an utter,utter disgrace of the worst order.
    But Real politik means that the way out of the FF created un holy mess is to get a strong government in there with a mandate to kick ass in Europe regarding the irish taxpayer being asked to bankroll German banks at a time when we are at a recession level thats the worst anyone can remember.
    Right up untill recently,our economy merited net inflows of structural funds from Europe and now they want it all back.
    They won't and can't get it.
    It's just that FF are gone so stupid,that they seem to me to have been living in their own laa laa land for the past 3 years not knowing what to do and certainly not knowing how to handle the EU.
    The imf interest rate isn't too bad actually compared to the EU rate.

Anyhow long story short, heres what I said in the never ending wagon circle sinn fein thread.
    It about sums up what their policy is.It's as bad as FF,in fact worse,it would reverse us back to the burn everything british except their coal days of the 1930's....and you want to vote for them???
    We can't be insular like that.

I believe i covered most of that in my previous posts;) - in any case I think were fupped whoever gets in given the number of landmines the previous shower has left behind, its just that SF are the only one that seem committed to fighting Irelands corner in Europe and tearing down the rotten edifice that is the crony capitalist establishment in this banana republic

SF are well accustomed to robbing banks. Now they want to rob the guys who lend money to the banks. Who will be next?:confused:

Have you just secured a position with Deutche Bank:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭defadman

simple as this:
    sinn fein: forget about it
    greens: Not for farmers!
    fianna fail: look what they did!
    labour: anti-farmers
    fine gael: our only hope

If I have the right fella who said it, vote in SF and we'll be back to the barter system, and it's not often - OK never - I agree with the man who said it.

this really drives me up the wall! sinn feins plan would work for 18 months then we would be broke. that means no teachers,guards.our health service,the dole,the pension. people going to the atm and no money coming out from the hole in the wall. its absolute complete rubbish. then how will they get money? tax the walthy.. fair enough they need to be taxed. but sinn fein want to tax excessivly. By the way the many employers are in the wealthy bracket, that would mean increased unemployment, so what do you make of that?

defadman wrote: »
    this really drives me up the wall! sinn feins plan would work for 18 months then we would be broke. that means no teachers,guards.our health service,the dole,the pension. people going to the atm and no money coming out from the hole in the wall. its absolute complete rubbish. then how will they get money? tax the walthy.. fair enough they need to be taxed. but sinn fein want to tax excessivly. By the way the many employers are in the wealthy bracket, that would mean increased unemployment, so what do you make of that?

Which part of "we can't afford this deal" do you not get:confused: - even FG's wonderboy Enda is coming around to the idea of cutting the banks loose according to his utterings today

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=70559209&postcount=35

Which part of "we can't afford this deal" do you not get:confused: - even FG's wonderboy Enda is coming around to the idea of cutting the banks loose according to his utterings today

the country would be in a famine if we did not. money on loan is not ideal but its better than starving!

defadman wrote: »

the country would be in a famine if we did not. money on loan is not ideal but its better than starving!

Really - Last time I checked Iceland hadn't run out of food:rolleyes:

PS: The vast majority of Independent economists have said this deal will bankrupt the country by 2014 or earlier - no doubt you will ignore this fact like you have my earlier posts that have pointed out the obvious flaws in your position:(