Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin to Portrush - which way to go when in NI?

• 07-02-2011 11:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭

As above, travelling up to Portrush in the next week or so.

Which is faster - going via Banbridge, Belfast and Ballymena, which is what the satnav tells me to do, or going via Armagh and Dungannon which is what the AA route planner tells me to do?

I recognise going via Belfast is 20 km longer, but looking at the map it seems that going via Belfast has better roads(more motorway).

What would anyone that has done this journey recommend?

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

Here's another option, via Belfast International Airport.

Bear in mind that in Belfast you'll have to deal with traffic, depending on the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Sulmac wrote: »

Bear in mind that in Belfast you'll have to deal with traffic, depending on the time.

I'd say it will be a Friday evening, so thanks for the tip!

While I know Belfast is bypassed, is the ring road around it as likely to get congested as say the M50 in Dublin or the South Ring Road in Cork?

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

While I know Belfast is bypassed, is the ring road around it as likely to get congested as say the M50 in Dublin or the South Ring Road in Cork?
    I imagine the M1-A12-M2 can be busier, as its right next to the city centre.

Don't use the A55 unless you know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Originally Posted by Sulmac

That Google route uses some distinctly non motorway roads from Dromore.
    Don't use the A55 unless you know it.

If you mean the Western part of the A55 I'd agree, and it isn't much use.

The Eastern part of the A55 is perfectly usable, whether you know it or not, but it goes in the wrong direction.

If you want to judge the traffic check out
    http://www.trafficwatchni.com/site/default.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I make this journey fairly frequently, albeit not with Friday peak traffic.

Belfast, Westlink, M2, Ballymena, A26, B62 from Ballymoney is the only way to do it. Far higher standard of road than cutting off earlier.

Remember that unless specifically signed 60, the limit on any NI DC is 70 so you end up losing lots of time going on SC roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

I'd agree with myob,
    the Westlink to M2 is two sets of lights and while I haven't been in the peak of rush hour, I've never had more than a two light wait getting from the westlink to M2 or M3. The M2 outbound is D5M for a time leaving the city centre.....

Just head out the M2, then Its the A26 around Antrim town and a bit of M2 again around Ballymena, until you get to Coleraine and then onto Portrush.

Just be aware on the Dual carriageway sections north of Belfast particularily, they have median crossings and lads will race out across one carriageway and break hard in the wide median, when making right turns on to the roads.... It's like jaywalkers in Dublin, they know what they're doing and it;ll be grand as long as you don't panic.

MYOB wrote: »
    I make this journey fairly frequently, albeit not with Friday peak traffic.

Belfast, Westlink, M2, Ballymena, A26, B62 from Ballymoney is the only way to do it. Far higher standard of road than cutting off earlier.

Remember that unless specifically signed 60, the limit on any NI DC is 70 so you end up losing lots of time going on SC roads.

Forgot about the fact that NI DCs are 70 mph (that's 112 kph isn't it?), that's all the persuasion I need to go that way!
    I'd agree with myob,
    the Westlink to M2 is two sets of lights and while I haven't been in the peak of rush hour, I've never had more than a two light wait getting from the westlink to M2 or M3. The M2 outbound is D5M for a time leaving the city centre.....

Just head out the M2, then Its the A26 around Antrim town and a bit of M2 again around Ballymena, until you get to Coleraine and then onto Portrush.

Just be aware on the Dual carriageway sections north of Belfast particularily, they have median crossings and lads will race out across one carriageway and break hard in the wide median, when making right turns on to the roads.... It's like jaywalkers in Dublin, they know what they're doing and it;ll be grand as long as you don't panic.

Cheers for the tip. Actually I've realised I probably won't be hitting Belfast until around 6 or 7 pm, so hopefully the worst of the traffic will be over!

The last time I was in the North we hadn't even hit the current millenium, it's that long ago!

Can't believe there is still median crossings on DCs (I think in the Republic pretty much all the median crossings between Limerick and Shannon are gone, and similarly between Carrigtwohill and Midleton) up there, just as well I always stay in the left lane except when overtaking:)!

Any other rules in NI that are different to here, apart from the fact they still use mph speed limits?

Well lads I decided to follow the going via Belfast/M2/A26 approach - and I'm very glad I did.

It's brilliant to be able to travel at 110-120 all the way up until about 10 miles outside of Portrush.

Fair play to our friends in the North for their driving standards too -we in 'the South' are such sh!te drivers compared to them.

The only thing I don't like is getting stuck behind people on R-plates doing only 45 mph but apart from that they are far better drivers than we are!

It is a pleasure to drive on three lane motorways were people stay in the LEFT lane and not the middle lane for starters, and indicators seem to be fitted to all cars up there as well.

It is equally a pleasure to see people travelling at the speed limit and not like people here (usually in Toyota Corollas or Nissan Micras) who drive at 70 kph in everywhere.