Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

live night sky streamming site

• 07-02-2011 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭

Came across this site and its pretty cool,its astronomers all over the world streamming live footage of the sky on their own channel and theirs loads of channels.their all offline now but earlier this morning i was on looking at footage of a galaxy not sure which one it was but it was edge on.

thaught it might be of interest to some of you.

www.nightskiesnetwork.com

excuse me if this site is well known,its new to me anyway im well pleased:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Interesting - right now, all sites are offline.

Are all sites UK/Europe based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dublin_daveyboy

Interesting - right now, all sites are offline.

Are all sites UK/Europe based?
    As far as i know its worldwide,theres tons of channels to view,different kinds of scopes and apertures.the galaxy i was looking at earlier was through a 14inch scope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Its about 80% American lads, 15% European, 2% Aussie and 3% Others :D

Most are using a Mallincam which is very popular in Astrovideo circles. A Canadian guy called Rock Mallin heavily mods a particular type of CCTV camera turning them into the best Astrovideo camera on the market.(As opposed to Astrophotography cameras which are different beasts)

The cameras are capable of very nice colour images of lots of celestial objects which are delivered to the screen almost live. The camera can stack upto 56 seconds of exposures internally. The results aren't as highres or as sharp as the pictures the astrophotography lads can produce but what the mallincam delivers it delivers in less than a minute(ie, almost live) as opposed to the hours long exposures and even more hours worth of post processing by the astrophotographers.

Its a great site both for the viewer and the broadcasting astronomer. For the viewers, its great because you can do some virtual observing and chat live with loads of fellow amatuers while its daytime here or nighttime cloudy. For the broadcaster its great because Observing can be a solitary pursuit. Its rare that one has family that will want to join you in the cold in the back garden. The Nightskynetwork means you can have a virtual starparty right in your back garden with loads of fellow astronomers from all over the world online to keep you company.

The only thing is, is that with the bulk of the broadcasters being American this means that unless there is a few AUssies broadcasting during our daytime, or Europeans pre-midnight, one will have to wait till after midnight for the first of and bulk of the broadcasters on the east coast of America to start broadcasting when it gets dark there about 7pm.

It can be addictive stuff. Last time I was watching was a while ago now. I was watching the SST channel which is Mike Zammit who makes Starstructure Dobsonian telescopes. He had his mallincam pointed at Jupiter and the views were great. It was great when we saw what we at first thought was a dust mote on the CCD but after consulting planetarium software turned out to be the beginning of a shadow transit by the moon Ganymede. So there was this lad in Ireland(me) using software on his computer to tell someone in America what we were watching with another guy in Mexico or Indonesia confirming. A great nights viewing and chat with fellow astronomers was had, followed by the shock of looking at my watch and realising that although it was 12am his time, it was 5am my time and I was up for work at 7:30am :D

yeah its a pity about the timezones but im a night owl anyway so it doesnt bother me,i was just on some guys channel a min ago think he had his scope on the orion nebula,im dying to see footage of the planets with the large scopes.i think its a great idea to have a site like this for astronomers or people who just want to see.

if anyone is on the site and sees something good post here.

edit:why didnt you post here and tell us about this calibos eh? being greedy:)

yeah its a pity about the timezones but im a night owl anyway so it doesnt bother me,i was just on some guys channel a min ago think he had his scope on the orion nebula,im dying to see footage of the planets with the large scopes.i think its a great idea to have a site like this for astronomers or people who just want to see.

if anyone is on the site and sees something good post here.

edit:why didnt you post here and tell us about this calibos eh? being greedy:)

I guess I am as guilty as anyone for forgetting sometimes that this forum isn't all Chinese Lantern sightings and Shuttle Launch threads :D I lower my head in shame. It just never occured to me for whatever reason :o

Its a pretty cool thing to be looking at some spiral galaxy 50 million lightyears via some guy and his consumer grade scope in his Wisconson backyard surrounded by 2ft of snow......and that the bright white dot you see in one of the spiral arms is a supernova that just happened last week (well 50million years ago + 1 week :D ) Thats where video astronomy is not the same as just going to wikipedia and looking at much better quality pictures of the same
    object. That supernova won't be in the picture until someone updates the image.

Of course the odds of you catching something happening live thats more exotic than a satellite crossing the field of view is slim but tell that to Anthony Wesley from Austrailia who has had lightning strike him twice so to speek. In 2009 he was the first to see scars rotate into view on Jupiter after a comet strike. NASA/JPL put some presumably very important imaging work on hold and pointed the fricken Hubble Space Telescope at Jupiter based on this Aussie Amatuer Astronomers observation! Then last year he didn't just happen to be viewing Jupiter when scars rotated into view, he happened to be watching when a bloody comet struck the planet and he witnessed the bright flash of the explosion. Although he was doing planetary imaging this begins as basically the same thing as Astrovideo so he was looking at live video footage of the planet on his monitor via his scope.

WHereas with Astrophotpgraphy one takes long exposure images of celestial objects, with planetary and high quality lunar imaging one takes video footage. As we all know video is really just a series of still images taken rapidy one after the other. The beauty of modern technology and software is that an amatuer can take those 50 frames per second x 3 minutes = nearly 10,000 frames and the software and PC can sift through them and throw away all the frames where the planet is blurred by bad seeing in the atmosphere and keep all the good sharp frames, and then combine all the good sharp frames into one really fabulous picture. The likes of Anthony(Bird)Wesley and others are taking images of Mars Jupiter and Saturn with their small consumer grade scopes now that approach the level of detail of the images taken by the Voyager Probes as they passed right by the planets in the 70's and early 80's. This level of detail has only been surpassed in the last decade or so by Hubble and the Galileo and Cassini probes.

The contribution that can be made by amatuers with amatuer equipment in back gardens to 'Real' Astronomy is greater now than its ever been. For the likes of Anthony and his ilk, their contribution is not that they can deliver better images than the Pro's at the Keck in Hawaii or the controllers of Hubble but that basically these multi billion dollar instruments can only be pointed at one thing at a time. Every single night the vast vast majority of the night sky is not being watched by any Pro telescope or astronomer in the world. But there are hundreds of thousands of amatuers all over the world every night with their scopes pointed in every direction. If you see something special enough and let the pro's know, well you might not just be the first human in the world to spot a given event, you may be the human that made sure a great discovery and scientific opportuinity wasn't missed by the scientists with the 'big guns'.

On a similar note, it blows my mind that a little over 20 years ago we didn't know if ours was the only solar system in the galaxy. 20 years later we now know of the existence of over 500 exoplanets. The cool part is that amatuers are involved in calculating these exoplanets' orbits!! The brightest minds with the biggest scopes didn't know if they existed or not 20 years ago and yet today you have amatuers in their backyards helping them work out orbits!! :D

Its a similar story, in that the pro's have limited time and resources do do all the work themselves. With sensitive consumer grade modern technology, amatuers with amatuer scopes can record the spectral signiture of the exoplanets host stars and time the dips in the brightness curves as the exoplanet crosses in front of the star as it travels in its orbit. With this information the pros can fine tune their calculations about the planets orbits. PLanets 10's and 100's of lightyears away. With the Launch of the exoplanet hunter the Kepler probe the number of discovered exoplanets will rapidly increase meaning the services of amatuers will be called on even more.

......:o:D Sorry, went off on a bit of a tangent there....NightskyNetwork...Its pretty cool :)

I was up really late last night watching a guy called astrogates channel,some views of orion nebula and horse head nebula,i then watched a slide show of all different images hes taken of galaxies,open clusters,globular clusters and loads of other stuff that guy is a a legend,asked a few questions their all very friendly.its a pity there isnt more european channels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TwistsAndTurns

dublin_daveyboy, I have being watching this site for the last week, some of these guys are great. Spent last night watching a guy called Mitch from Canada who was sitting out in -21 deg :eek: trying out a new camera showing some fantastic shots of the surface of the moon through his scope. He was willing to talk and answer any question you had. Fantastic site dublin_daveyboy.

yeah im fairly addicted myself,ive been on that guy mitchs channel some good stuff,theres a few guys with really good views.would be great if there were more europeans on.ive no scope at the min[saving for a nexstar 8se] so its good to sit in a nice warm room and get nice views whilst someone else freezes their arse off,happy days.the views mitch gets of orion are spectacular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭clln

Apart from some great live coverage of the Moon all i have encountered there is Calibos so far !:p

great idea but lucky if anyone is broadcasting! :(

Edit, take it back the Orion Nebula is 'Live' now' Awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

I'm drinking beer watching the live view of ngc 3628 Pretty feckin cool..... or sad, depending on your viewpoint...

clln wrote: »
    Apart from some great live coverage of the Moon all i have encountered there is Calibos so far !:p

great idea but lucky if anyone is broadcasting! :(

Edit, take it back the Orion Nebula is 'Live' now' Awesome!
    theres been a few channels online the past couple of nights.that camera the use is some kit really captures colors well.

murrayp4 wrote: »
    I'm drinking beer watching the live view of ngc 3628 Pretty feckin cool..... or sad, depending on your viewpoint...
    nothing wrong with a bit of drunken astronomy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

Just been watching some lovely work on the Snake Valley link on this site. They are in Australia so there are two benefits. A) they are online during our day if you can't stay up, and B) Views almost live of the southern sky which we can't see from here.

Nice folks to chat with too.

was just looking on the snake valley channel and hes got a globular cluster live,amazing views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TwistsAndTurns

murrayp4 wrote: »

Was up for work for 6 this morning and could'nt stop myself from having a look in while making a coffee. Watched this before I left fecking addicted now :o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭derra

Orion Nebula screenshot from one of the cams on the site with a 16" telescope i think it was.
    The users manage to capture some amazing detail and it is addictive to watch when ya catch them online.
    ?di=512979775495

derra wrote: »
    Orion Nebula screenshot from one of the cams on the site with a 16" telescope i think it was.
    The users manage to capture some amazing detail and it is addictive to watch when ya catch them online.

Hi derra this site has changed for me,i got so many hours free viewing from it,now it looks for full name,address,phone number and email address which i learned the hard way never to give to anyone online.

is it possible it is a phising site or are others experiancing the same ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Hi derra this site has changed for me,i got so many hours free viewing from it,now it looks for full name,address,phone number and email address which i learned the hard way never to give to anyone online.

Yea, same here, disappointing because I don't like giving those details either.
    I tried to sign up using an e-mail address I set up specially and used a phone no I use occasionally for just this kind of thing ;) , but got no notification back, seems a bit odd. :confused:

Thanks for reply Cu, may'be Calibos can help us out about this site.
    he seems to know the site well and his knowlegde about astronomy is terrific!

Last week it was possible to just go to the site and select a channel to view, then it required you to register.
    I just used an email address for those kind of registrations, phone number i used would not be a phone number anywhere in the world, name may as well be Joe Bloggs.
    Other regular users commented on the new channel homepage look.

You can log in without receiving notification using the details you registered with. I registered twice as first time i used a fada and it turned out to be a question mark instead for that particular letter.
    One i received notification and second time i did not, i just logged in straightaway using the new username and password details.

I just set up an email account for it and gave a mobile number and it registered straight away,was just watching the sun live,great stuff can see sun spots.

I never received an email from them and i gave a nonsense phone number.
    did you give a real number?
    i have just tried following the link in post #1 and it is not even offering a log in option!:confused:

i will try google it and start again,i also saw the horsehead nebula last time the link just went straight to the 'live cams', astronomers with good equipment would proably think seeing such things is no big deal.
    to me it was fantastic!:)

yes i gave an old mobile number but didnt put +353 in front of it,it wouldn't accept it when i did for some reason,are you sure theres no log in option?,the option says broadcaster and members sign in.and i got an email a few mins after i signed up.

i saw the horsehead aswell amazing to me too.

,are you sure theres no log in option?

yes i am sure,but may'be i need to clear cookies or check that email did not go to spam,will let you know.
    thanks for reply.

yes i am sure,but may'be i need to clear cookies or check that email did not go to spam,will let you know.
    thanks for reply.

you know on the main page where it has sample images or videos the option is just above the picture of the moon,im sure you'll sort it.

All's well that ends well!
    first attempt when the sites front page changed said "thank you,we will be in touch soon"

now it is offering a log in and accepting it!:)

All's well that ends well!
    first attempt when the sites front page changed said "thank you,we will be in touch soon"

now it is offering a log in and accepting it!:)
    good stuff,its funny how just after i posted here about the site they changed it to members only,bit of a conspiracy against the irish going on i reckon:)
    ah sure they can spam the email address all they want i dont use it anyway:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Working for me too now, must just have been a glitch. :D
    By the way, thanks dublin_daveyboy for the "heads up" about the site.

Working for me too now, must just have been a glitch. :D
    thats grand had a feeling it was just a glitch and no problem man its a great little site,just hope they dont start wanting money:eek:,although i would throw them a few squid if it came to it.

I wouldn't worry about spam lads. Its a reputable site run by reputable guys. I think the new log in malarkey is just to put off messers and spammers. I just entered a few zeros for the phone number IIRC.

,just hope they dont start wanting money:eek:,although i would throw them a few squid if it came to it.

Tried the donation tab at the bottom but does'nt seem to bring up a new secure payment window.
    Definitely will throw something towards the site when that is sorted.

derra wrote: »

Tried the donation tab at the bottom but does'nt seem to bring up a new secure payment window.
    Definitely will throw something towards the site when that is sorted.
    ah it would be a crime not to give something especially if its a reputable site as calibos said.ive only seen a fraction of the channels so far so ive a lot of viewing still to do its just catching them online is the problem.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭mickger844posts

Registered yesterday but can't login for some reason. Keeps looping me back to the homepage. Anyone else having problems like this???

I did have that problem so I waited a couple of days and tried again, all ok now.

The applications may be getting vetted manually????

Did you get it sorted?,it seemed to work for me fine anyway.

Rubecula wrote: »
    The applications may be getting vetted manually????

yeah i reckon its done manually,have'nt been on the site ina while anyone see anything decent?

Last night there were some nice galaxies and open clusters on a couple of sites. Unfortunately I only got a few minutes online and I didn't take notes on which sites I visited. They were very good pictures though:)

Rubecula wrote: »
    Last night there were some nice galaxies and open clusters on a couple of sites. Unfortunately I only got a few minutes online and I didn't take notes on which sites I visited. They were very good pictures though:)

Its a site for night owls,there does be 5 or 6 channels live its just a pity its so late.i got a celestron 800 cpc today im in over me head with this thing so its good to be able to ask the pro's questions.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭mickger844posts

Did you get it sorted?,it seemed to work for me fine anyway.

Never did get it working. Registered fine with confirmation emails but when i login it always loops back to the start page.

thats strange maybe you should just start again and set up another account,worth a try.

I had a little problem originally by misspelling my user name. (I have a hyphen in it that I kept forgetting about) Is it possible you missed out or added something to the user name or password?

Its a site for night owls,there does be 5 or 6 channels live its just a pity its so late.i got a celestron 800 cpc today im in over me head with this thing so its good to be able to ask the pro's questions.

Go and register at Cloudynights forums

http://www.cloudynights.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php/Cat/0

Its THE astronomy forum on the internet. There are other great forums like the UK's Stargazerslounge.com and our own Irishastronomy.org is good for communicating with local astronomers and finding out whats going on locally. However US based CN forums is the most popular. Most people seem to have their own local astronomy forum that they frequent and then Cloudynights. So the British lads will post on their on Stargazerslounge and also on Cloudynights. the Aussies will post on their own ICEinSpace forums....and Cloudynights.....a lot of us will post on Irishastronomy.org....and Cloudynights etc etc

The sections you should start off looking at are the beginners section and the Cats and Casses section. This is the forum for SCT type scopes like your CPC800. You'll have answers to your questions within minutes or hours posting over there because its so busy. Spend a few nights reading posts and asking questions over there and you'll be up to speed on your scope in no time.

thanks for that link calibos hours of reading to do on there,ive come across that site many times when searching on google just never looked into it more.a whole forum section for the cpc gps so ill be having a good read into it,great help thanks again

I was observing the sun today and there was 3 absolutely huge sun spots in a triangular shape with about 4 or 5 much smaller ones scattered inside the triangle shape,i could also clearly see them moving across the sun,im standing there thinking holy sh1t im feeling the heat right now off these things,crazy.