Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Polsat

• 07-02-2011 10:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭

So herself went out and got a polsat box and the sports package so im happy. Thinkin of puttin another lnb beside our current one for all the english channels. What direction is polsat?? Is it pretty near the same satelite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Premier

Dusty87 wrote: »
    So herself went out and got a polsat box and the sports package so im happy. Thinkin of puttin another lnb beside our current one for all the english channels. What direction is polsat?? Is it pretty near the same satelite?[/QU

Has the dish been installed for polsat @13east? if so what size and type was used, If its not a sky mesh dish then you can put another lnb on it for 28east FTA channels, with a switch

Polsat @ 13east
    sky/Freesat @ 28east :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Thanks satpaul. I have a spare small dish and lnb from lidl. Would this be good enough or would i need somethin like the sky dish? Also if i was to get someone in to do it, any idea how much it would cost? Reason being i cant get rte for some reason off the rte aerial, and previous owners had no problems:confused: get him to look at that too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Premier

Thanks satpaul. I have a spare small dish and lnb from lidl. Would this be good enough or would i need somethin like the sky dish? Also if i was to get someone in to do it, any idea how much it would cost? Reason being i cant get rte for some reason off the rte aerial, and previous owners had no problems:confused: get him to look at that too
    Contact a local Installer in your area, They will help you with pricing etc

Yea, am trying to get a number for 'TV TED'. Not listed for some reason:( just seen your edit. Yes the dish i am using is a sky mesh dish. Twas here when we moved in. Are you saying its not possible to run two lnb's off it?? Thanks paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭tapfit2004

its possible to put more than 1 lnb on a sky dish but in this country reception would be hit and miss.

someone put 5 on one here:

5satsonzone2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

No way that would work here, perhaps in the NW part of mainland europe (France/Belgium/Netherlands)

snaps wrote: »
    No way that would work here, perhaps in the NW part of mainland europe (France/Belgium/Netherlands)

which? Polsat or puttin another lnb on the dish? Cos her mother has polsat in shannon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I imagine he was on about the dish. I have Polsat here too, just the 4 month sub that came with a CAM. Should be dead but it still provides some channels.

A fellow boardsie came over to help me today with it. Here is the problem. Sky dish and lnb. On my recieves box im getting hotbird up to about 75percent. Plug it to the polsat box and nothin. Is the polsat box rejecting the sky lnb or is it somethin smaller in the settings. We came to the conclusion its the polsat box rejecting sky.

Polsat worked happily for me on a Sky minidish.

Feck it. Did it work straight forward enough or was there any settings you needed to change? Checked power outlet from box to lnb and its working perfect so i am lost

I had it working on a Technomate box. If the box is unable to get any kind of signal then I think the problem is with the box. Can you try it on another dish?

Yea tried another dish. No joy. Its funny because it is obviously getting somethin as the time and date changes to the correct time when i plug in the cable. Dose it matter that its not free to air. I actually paid for subscription for a certain lenght of time, then i buy a new card. There is a code i have to enter but it dosn work and 0000 dose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Yea tried another dish. No joy. Its funny because it is obviously getting somethin as the time and date changes to the correct time when i plug in the cable. Dose it matter that its not free to air. I actually paid for subscription for a certain lenght of time, then i buy a new card. There is a code i have to enter but it dosn work and 0000 dose.

Dusty87. Does the box find any channels, or nothing at all.
    Usually when you had polsat subscribed and didn't use it for a while you need to activate your box.
    Give them a call at +48 22 2127 222

But most likely it won't be easy to find anyone who speaks English in there.

As well remember that in their terms and conditions it's stated that this setbox can not be used outside of Poland. Obviously they don't give a ****, as there's plenty of subscribers abroad, but it's against the law, and it's worth to remember about it when chatting to them.

CiniO wrote: »
    Dusty87. Does the box find any channels, or nothing at all.
    Usually when you had polsat subscribed and didn't use it for a while you need to activate your box.
    Give them a call at +48 22 2127 222

But most likely it won't be easy to find anyone who speaks English in there.

As well remember that in their terms and conditions it's stated that this setbox can not be used outside of Poland. Obviously they don't give a ****, as there's plenty of subscribers abroad, but it's against the law, and it's worth to remember about it when chatting to them.

sorry for the late reply. We activated it and had it in her mothers house and just switched boxes. Ours worked grand, so we brought it home, and again same thing. When i plug in the wire from the dish, it gets time and date, but not one channel:( fairly pissed off at this stage, considering she got me the sport and english option thing! Should i ring them again and explain or would the sky lnb be the prob? As i said it changes to the right date and time. And when i plug it into my other box, hotbird reads 75per cent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

A fellow boardsie came over to help me today with it. Here is the problem. Sky dish and lnb. On my recieves box im getting hotbird up to about 75percent. Plug it to the polsat box and nothin. Is the polsat box rejecting the sky lnb or is it somethin smaller in the settings. We came to the conclusion its the polsat box rejecting sky.

Maybe its just me but Im struggling to follow this :confused:

Are you using a DiSEQ multiswitch or plugging the 28East (UK/Ireland) dish straight into the Polsat box

A "Sky Digibox" wont work with any satellite other than 28E (Years ago it could be done until $ky disabled it with a software "upgrade") Im not aware of any similar restrictions on Polsat boxes.