Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women: What do they mean

• 06-02-2011 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Curious about something guys maybe some of you have some insight.
    Why do some women blurt out "I have a boyfriend" when you casually start a conversation with them. Not talking about the times when you do actually fancy them. I am talking about those more frequent occurance where you are in fact not interested in them, where they spout those famous lines. Is it some sort of game to appear more attractive and appealing. I am at a loss to explain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭bitter_lemon

women are hard work. do not try and understand them young man ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

Am i allowed to post as a female?:confused:
    When I have ever said this, which i haven't recently,:(, I have only said it cause the man is drunk and could get quite obnoxious that i have "led" him on. Sorry if you wanted a male only opinion

i'm a female and i just posted :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Why do some women blurt out "I have a boyfriend" when you casually start a conversation with them. Not talking about the times when you do actually fancy them. I am talking about those more frequent occurance where you are in fact not interested in them, where they spout those famous lines. Is it some sort of game to appear more attractive and appealing. I am at a loss to explain it.
    Simple as this:

OMG A GUY TALKING TO ME HE MUST WANT SEX

i'm a female and i just posted :rolleyes:
    Sorry, but I saw that the op was looking for guys opinions, so didn't really want to be butting in where i'm not wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

rebel10 wrote: »
    Am i allowed to post as a female?:confused:
    When I have ever said this, which i haven't recently,:(, I have only said it cause the man is drunk and could get quite obnoxious that i have "led" him on. Sorry if you wanted a male only opinion

You are more than welcome to post. Wanted to here opinions from both sides. Posted here because I didn't want juvenile replies like would be found in after hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Maybe they want to make sure you're not chatting them up! I'll admit I have done that in the past and have found lads to walk away awkwardly in the end I usually wait till lads ask me single but sometimes they can just be pushy and I'll just have to say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Id imagine that its an easy get out of jail free card if she thinks you are giving or going to give a come on,ie she doesnt find you attractive and its easier than trying to let you down easy or to placate you by chatting and perhaps giving the idea that she is in fact interested.Its sucky that in alot of cases the defense goes up automatically but what can you do.I certainly wouldnt take it personally anyway.

Sorry, but I saw that the op was looking for guys opinions, so didn't really want to be butting in where i'm not wanted.
    don't be silly - we are always wanted!

its a sad state of affairs when a guy and a girl can't talk without her saying something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

A handy reply is "good for you..so do I...now as I was saying - "...
    as to why it is said in the first place, probably insurance and not to be taken personally.

What happened op?

I know the last time i said it to someone was about a year ago, I was out in galway. This guy was chatting to me for a good hour in a pub. The thing was, I had no interest in chatting to him, because to put it nastily, I was up there only for the night and just wanted fun with the girls. I found he had a devastating sobering effect on me.:o He was a non-drinker, which was fine, but he judged me on how many glasses i had consumed while speaking to him. (not that many by the way.)
    Anyway, i said my goodbyes, only to find a few minutes later he had followed me into the next pub we went to. At this point, he was being a bit sleezy, and seeing as i didn't really owe him any great explanation as to why i wasn't interested, I just told him I had a boyfriend. This didn't stop him at first, trying to convince me that I could have "fun" while in galway!:eek: In the end I just told him the boyfriend was around with his gang too! I know, I should go to hell!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I've never met someone who just bluntly says: "I have a boyfriend"

They obviously bring up their OH in the conversation though. Which is to be expected tbh.

I know my OH, if she felt the guy might of been hitting on her would simply say something like; "Oh you like X, my boyfriend likes X also". If the guy ends the conversation then she was right, if he's just chatting (or trying it on regardless) then he'll stay. Either way, my OH will have made him aware of her situation and how far he's likely to get if he wants to be more than friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Sorry to hear about your experience rebel. I talk to as many guys as girls when I am out. Generally get a bit of decent convo out of most people. I do go out to be social afterall. Just that last night one person said it to me, when I was just chatting to her same as I was to anyone else. Occured to me this morning that when girls say that fairly quickly I am usually not interested. I tend to continue on the conversation but find the whole thing off putting.

What happened op?

I know the last time i said it to someone was about a year ago, I was out in galway. This guy was chatting to me for a good hour in a pub. The thing was, I had no interest in chatting to him, because to put it nastily, I was up there only for the night and just wanted fun with the girls. I found he had a devastating sobering effect on me.:o He was a non-drinker, which was fine, but he judged me on how many glasses i had consumed while speaking to him. (not that many by the way.)
    Anyway, i said my goodbyes, only to find a few minutes later he had followed me into the next pub we went to. At this point, he was being a bit sleezy, and seeing as i didn't really owe him any great explanation as to why i wasn't interested, I just told him I had a boyfriend. This didn't stop him at first, trying to convince me that I could have "fun" while in galway!:eek: In the end I just told him the boyfriend was around with his gang too! I know, I should go to hell!:o

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Not straight away, but I have said it before. It goes two ways, if you tell (SOME ;) ) lads you have a boyfriend they get all "Don't flatter yourself love", but if you continue in conversation, it can turn to leading on and ending in "Yeah well you're mingin anyway". Swear to God, true stories!

If I have a boyfriend and am talking to a guy who seems like he's flirting, I'll casually drop the bf into the conversation. If a guy is obviously flirting and I'm not interested I'll probably just find a way to politely excuse myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I rather what the OP said happening to me than someone who knows I fancy her saying "If any fellas come over just say you're my boyfriend." :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Had a women start in an office with us before. The department was 46 guys and she was female number 2. As she was introdueced around to everyone, she pretty much said "Hi, i'm XXX, nice to meet you - I have a boyfriend".

I thought it was quite funny. I wasn't sure if it was just her attitude or it said something about her experience with mens attitude over the years.

If I ever say that it's because I don't want anyone to get any misconceptions and mistake my being polite for flirting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

I can see the merit in them saying it if lads are cracking on to them and not getting the hint. Particularly if a good looking girl ends up in the likes of coppers and gets seiged by drooling farmers "looking for the shift like".

Outside of a nightclub environment, a far more effective way would be to naturally & casually drop in that you have one. "Ah my boy friend is the exact same, he supports etc".

Recently, I did encounter what appears to be a very Irish "Queen B!tch" mentality. Where just because they are female they feel they can wave their obligation to common decency. If I find a girl unattractive who is clocking on to me, I will smile and engage in polite banter and give the hint.

As opposed to the "Eh get away from me" and "Eh not a chance love" type responses that I witnessed just this weekend. One of my mates was at a bar and made a passing comment about service being slow to (an orangutan like) girl beside him. Who then replied with the above response. He replied dumbfounded "...What..?" to which the oompa loompa responded " I've a boyfriend, no chance honey" and then giggled to her cronies. I was right beside him in shock during the entire exchange and nothing sleazey or untoward was said.

Not an isolated event. I worked as a bouncer throught out Dublin city for 4 years and have noticed this on numerous occasions! I have not encountered it anywhere else in the world bar some US Ghetto princesses. Even then its all an act with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Cos it can happen that you end up chatting with a person on a night out and then later on it comes up you have a bf/gf and they get thick with you for wasting thier time and verbally abusive. Not all men are like this but if this happens to a woman enough on a night out she's not going to risk it happening again when a guy starts chatting to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

it usually means:

Go away, your annoying me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

BigDuffman wrote: »
    As opposed to the "Eh get away from me" and "Eh not a chance love" type responses that I witnessed just this weekend. One of my mates was at a bar and made a passing comment about service being slow to (an orangutan like) girl beside him. Who then replied with the above response. He replied dumbfounded "...What..?" to which the oompa loompa responded " I've a boyfriend, no chance honey" and then giggled to her cronies. I was right beside him in shock during the entire exchange and nothing sleazey or untoward was said.

I get why women do it sometimes but instances like the above that I have came across makes me genuinely laugh so I have a bit of craic. Usually I just response jokingly "He must be terribly controlling if he doesn't allow you speak to strangers". :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Partizan

It's so frustrating when that happens. I was in a relationship that ended unexpectedly just before Christmas and after licking my wounds I was determined to get back into the dating scene again.

I got shot down twice on the one night 2 weeks ago when I went back home to Waterford. First girl from Limerick, I chatted her up in the smoking area of a bar for a good hour, when she blurted out the 'I got a boyfriend'. As soon as she said that I said fine and walked off.

Girl No. 2 from Cork I bumped into at the bar about 30 minutes later. We chatted until the end of the night, had a great laugh with her, never stopped with the chinwagging. At the end of the night, place closing, her friends call her to go and grab the coat. I asked her, "hey I would like to meet up with you sometime" to which she replied with that famous phrase, "sorry, I have a boyfriend". I was frankly getting pissed off at this stage and she could see that I was about to blow a gasket so she began to be apologetic. "You're a lovely fellah and I would go out with no problem if I was single", to which I replied, "Thanks for wasting my ****ing time" and walked out.

Then during the week, I was in a hospital on a work related matter when I chatted up one of the cleaning ladies in the canteen. Very pretty, 27 y.o. single mum from Lithuania. I asked her out, got her number and went out for drinks with her Saturday night.

What is it with the Irish girls?

Partizan wrote: »
    It's so frustrating when that happens. I was in a relationship that ended unexpectedly just before Christmas and after licking my wounds I was determined to get back into the dating scene again.

I got shot down twice on the one night 2 weeks ago when I went back home to Waterford. First girl from Limerick, I chatted her up in the smoking area of a bar for a good hour, when she blurted out the 'I got a boyfriend'. As soon as she said that I said fine and walked off.

Girl No. 2 from Cork I bumped into at the bar about 30 minutes later. We chatted until the end of the night, had a great laugh with her, never stopped with the chinwagging. At the end of the night, place closing, her friends call her to go and grab the coat. I asked her, "hey I would like to meet up with you sometime" to which she replied with that famous phrase, "sorry, I have a boyfriend". I was frankly getting pissed off at this stage and she could see that I was about to blow a gasket so she began to be apologetic. "You're a lovely fellah and I would go out with no problem if I was single", to which I replied, "Thanks for wasting my ****ing time" and walked out.

Then during the week, I was in a hospital on a work related matter when I chatted up one of the cleaning ladies in the canteen. Very pretty, 27 y.o. single mum from Lithuania. I asked her out, got her number and went out for drinks with her Saturday night.

This is a joke right? :confused:

I'd say the main difference here is that the two Irish girls were in relatiohships and the Lithuanian was single :confused:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

To avoid potential upsets.

bluewolf wrote: »
    This is a joke right? :confused:

No it's not. Why? Did it hit a raw nerve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Why do some women blurt out "I have a boyfriend" when you casually start a conversation with them.
    I would say it's a pre-emptive strike to mention it early so guys like Partizan won't have to be kept guessing.
    First girl from Limerick, I chatted her up in the smoking area of a bar for a good hour
    Girl No. 2 from Cork I bumped into at the bar about 30 minutes later. We chatted until the end of the night

she could see that I was about to blow a gasket so she began to be apologetic. "You're a lovely fellah and I would go out with no problem if I was single", to which I replied, "Thanks for wasting my ****ing time"
    Of course comments like "Thanks for wasting my ****ing time" won't help next time a guy comes up to chat.

Twee. wrote: »
    I'd say the main difference here is that the two Irish girls were in relationships and the Lithuanian was single :confused:

is it too much to ask for a bit of honesty at the start rather than talking to time wasters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe those two girls just wanted a bit of light flirting or just some chat.
    It doesn't mean they'll "go all the way".

It stings though, I've been there too.

biko wrote: »

Of course comments like "Thanks for wasting my ****ing time" won't help next time a guy comes up to chat.

Nope, it was a natural reaction to a time waster. She will learn to be honest with someone next time she attempts to inflate her own ego at the expense of others.

Honesty is the best policy people.

Nope, it was a natural reaction to a time waster. She will learn to be honest with someone next time she attempts to inflate her own ego at the expense of others.

You must be joking :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Quandary

Life would be much simpler if everyone who was single wore a http://www.silverflake.com/news_singlesring.html

:-)

biko wrote: »
    I would say it's a pre-emptive strike to mention it early so guys like Partizan won't have be kept guessing.

No one really wins :rolleyes: . When I genuinely have had a boyfriend, mentioning it has been met with less than warm responses.
    Yet when recently I was talking to a guy, he asked for my number, and I said no. He proceeded to act like a pr!ck all night, whispering to his mates and looking over at me, actually standing on the edge of the dance floor GLARING at me, sniggering at me as I left the venue.

Maybe I should have lied and said I had a boyfriend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Sharrow wrote: »
    Cos it can happen that you end up chatting with a person on a night out and then later on it comes up you have a bf/gf and they get thick with you for wasting thier time and verbally abusive. Not all men are like this but if this happens to a woman enough on a night out she's not going to risk it happening again when a guy starts chatting to her.

Yeah, happened to me before. I got called a twat! :o
    folan wrote: »
    it usually means:

Go away, your annoying me.

Yeah, pretty much.

So with girl number 1 would you have preferred her to chat away to you until the end of the night like girl number 2 and get pissed off then?

So you struck it lucky with girl number 3. Fair play. You need to understand that not every girl you talk to on a night out is single or looking for a date or is in the mood to get chatted up by a fella no matter what nationality they are. It's the luck of the draw/nature of the dating game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

No it's not. Why? Did it hit a raw nerve?

I'd say the problem with your post is that it suggests numerous mildly disturbing points. You seem to think that any girl talking to you in a nightclub/pub automatically is making themselves available for dating. You described two stories where you were chatting and having a nice time with two girls you met on nights out. At what point did conversation automatically mean "Yes I am interested in you". You can go out whilst in a relationship and enjoy talking to new people. Whereas you view such scenarios as "wasting your time". When did having a bit of conversation become time wasting?

Plus anybody is entitled to chat to someone on a night out whilst not having any idea of potential romance in mind. Should we arrange night clubs to be for single people only and that all conversation over a specified timeframe means a future date is accepted? This applies to all guys who think that a girl chatting to them means they are interested in them and to all girls who think any guy trying to crack open conversation wants to jump their bones (and who blurt out "I have a boyfriend" withing 20 seconds of meeting somebody).

I'm a single guy and I can understand the frustration of thinking you have hit it off with someone only to find out the other person (for whatever reason) does not feel the same. But it hardly gives you the freedom to act like the guy mentioned in the above post by Twee though.

As much as I would like to change the law, it is not in fact illegal to not find me attractive or a potential date! Or anybody else for that matter! And since girls probably find themselves in a situation where they are either accepting or turning down an offer of a date more often than guys, they have to say something or give some sort of answer. Any negative response is going to be difficult to hear, no matter what they say. So hearing "I have a boyfriend" is sometimes easier to hear than "I'd rather have a root canal than meet you again!" :pac:

And the Irish girls stuff that some guys say is such a passive aggressive cliché. Some girls will like you. Some won't. Their nationality makes no difference. You have to deal with that.

A time waster? Was her company and the banter ye had that night just a waste?
    So what does a girl have to do?
    (a) "Sorry, I have a boyfriend" = don't flatter yourself love, we were only having a chat, anyway, back to what we were talking about.
    or
    (b)"Sorry, I have a boyfriend" = well thanks for wasting my time ya pr!ck tease!

Is it any wonder that girls can do no right?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

A time waster? Was her company and the banter ye had that night just a waste?
    So what does a girl have to do?
    (a) "Sorry, I have a boyfriend" = don't flatter yourself love, we were only having a chat, anyway, back to what we were talking about.
    or
    (b)"Sorry, I have a boyfriend" = well thanks for wasting my time ya pr!ck tease!

Is it any wonder that girls can do no right?!
    As pointed out above: there are better ways of mentioning the BF in polite conversation, but I also get the point that that's hard to do in a noisy nightclub. So why do you let that happen - let the nightclub dictate how you behave? If you want a civilised adult conversation, you're clearly in the wrong place. If you can't behave like an adult in a nightclub, I suggest you stop going to nightclubs.

Speaking for myself: in a harsh, noisy nightclub environment, an hour is an eternity, and I would not spend that amount of time on someone unless there was the chance of a proper conversation on a later date - say over coffee or dinner. Why else do people go to these places? They are not nice places to be, they are horrid and I usually want to bolt out the door after 1/2 an hour, so my definition of a "time waster" was someone who kept me in there longer than I needed to be. It's years since I last went in one of those places anyway - I quickly gave up on the Irish "dating scene" entirely. :rolleyes:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

bnt wrote: »
    Speaking for myself: in a harsh, noisy nightclub environment, an hour is an eternity, and I would not spend that amount of time on someone unless there was the chance of a proper conversation on a later date - say over coffee or dinner. Why else do people go to these places? They are not nice places to be, they are horrid and I usually want to bolt out the door after 1/2 an hour, so my definition of a "time waster" was someone who kept me in there longer than I needed to be. It's years since I last went in one of those places anyway - I quickly gave up on the Irish "dating scene" entirely. :rolleyes:

Surely your dislike of nightclubs is your problem, not the person who is talking to you? If you do not want to be there, leave. Other people may not feel that way and may enjoy nightclubs. Personally, I'm not a massive fan of them but that doesn't change the issue. If you are in there, you chose to go in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

If you have a boyfriend can you please wear tights, and if you're single don't. It's a foolproof method, we'll stop annoying you and you'll stop whinging about guys groping you and trying to chat you up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 justplainme

I'd say the problem with your post is that it suggests numerous mildly disturbing points. You seem to think that any girl talking to you in a nightclub/pub automatically is making themselves available for dating. You described two stories where you were chatting and having a nice time with two girls you met on nights out. At what point did conversation automatically mean "Yes I am interested in you". You can go out whilst in a relationship and enjoy talking to new people. Whereas you view such scenarios as "wasting your time". When did having a bit of conversation become time wasting?

Plus anybody is entitled to chat to someone on a night out whilst not having any idea of potential romance in mind. Should we arrange night clubs to be for single people only and that all conversation over a specified timeframe means a future date is accepted? This applies to all guys who think that a girl chatting to them means they are interested in them and to all girls who think any guy trying to crack open conversation wants to jump their bones (and who blurt out "I have a boyfriend" withing 20 seconds of meeting somebody).

I'm a single guy and I can understand the frustration of thinking you have hit it off with someone only to find out the other person (for whatever reason) does not feel the same. But it hardly gives you the freedom to act like the guy mentioned in the above post by Twee though.

As much as I would like to change the law, it is not in fact illegal to not find me attractive or a potential date! Or anybody else for that matter! And since girls probably find themselves in a situation where they are either accepting or turning down an offer of a date more often than guys, they have to say something or give some sort of answer. Any negative response is going to be difficult to hear, no matter what they say. So hearing "I have a boyfriend" is sometimes easier to hear than "I'd rather have a root canal than meet you again!" :pac:

And the Irish girls stuff that some guys say is such a passive aggressive cliché. Some girls will like you. Some won't. Their nationality makes no difference. You have to deal with that.

Really well put Parker Kent. I hate the concept that just because you talk to a guy or a guy talks to you that you are chatting them up!! I love heading out and having banter with people. If having a boyfriend means I can't chat to others incase I'm leading them on that sucks! If all you are interested in doing is scoring with the girl why not ask them straight out if they are single & if they are not you won't "waste your time" taking to them :rolleyes:

If you have a boyfriend can you please wear tights, and if you're single don't. It's a foolproof method, we'll stop annoying you and you'll stop whinging about guys groping you and trying to chat you up.
    Oh no!:eek: It's cold these times! What if i'm wearing jeans? Can you imagine the confusion and hysteria?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

"Thanks for wasting my ****ing time" and walked out.

Have to agree with the others here....chill out man!

If your night out is a failure because you haven't scored I'm afraid you have many frustrating nights ahead of you. Chatting to, and having a good time with, nice, pleasant and interesting people - male or female - is part of a good night out and should not be seen a waste of your time. If you didn't find these girls interesting and they were simply 'targets', I'm afraid that says more about you and your attitude rather than the girls.

And has been mentioned, I hope that girl's attitude isn't affected, because it would be a real shame if the next guy who simply says 'hi' gets a short sharp answer because of her recent experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Well I'm a girl and I'd never assume if a guy was talking to me that he was interested and so would never say 'I have a bf' offhand but this has led to some awkward moments where people have assumed the opposite just coz I've not said it.
    Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Simple as this:

I'd have to change this to OMG A GIRL TALKING TO ME, SHE MUST BE INTERESTED.

Then I'd assume other girls who have that kind of awkward scenario happen a lot just get fed up with it and so make it clear from the get-go that they're taken. But if it's in a club situation, definitely girls will just say it to tell you to f off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

It's happened to me once ie: a girl I started talking to just blurted out "I've a boyfriend!" (not even in sync with the conversation tsk tsk). I responded by saying, "So do I". You should try it OP, it makes them feel silly for jumping to conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭smallgarden

id say its for a variety reasons

- not interested in chatting to you,
    - doesnt want to lead you on or seem like a tease.ive heard of guys spending ages talking to a girl and then being annoyed that she had a boyfriend and so was wasting their time
    - wants to show off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Sadly I would have to disagree with this. I have come across a lot of Irish girls with appalling attitudes. Generally through observation rather than personal experience. I have seen guys been ignored after simply saying "hello" and the girl even walking away in disgust!

I have found that if they don't fancy you they don't want to talk to you. I recall picking up this girls jacket off the floor, she looked at me and I can only assume she didn't like what she saw, then she just tutted at me in disgust and turned away.

It think it may be largely a Dublin thing too. I first became aware of this when I was in Donegal, myself a few lads were sitting at a table next to a group of girls. We just got chatting, nobody was making any moves or flirting it was just friendly! They even started the conversation. The thought struck me half way through the night that this would rarely happen in Dublin.

Also, I have noticed that it seems that the foreign girls are much friendlier and more willing to converse assuming your not blind drunk.

Interestingly, I realise as I type this that I know 3 lads who refuse to date Irish girls! Over the top, possibly but an interesting trend.

Fortunately, I think a lot of these women grow out of that attitude once they leave their twenties!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

What people dont seem to acknowledge about the (tired) Irish women Vs foreign women argument is that there are literally millions of Irish women so the likely hood of meeting rude or ignorant ones is a helluva lot higher than meeting a rude or ignorant non national.

I also think the cultural difference plays a big part and that alot of the foreign girls chat out of politeness because they simply arent used to be sleazed on by drunken buffons.

Plus I think the language barrier plays a part.Think about it,if you get chatting to someone that doesnt have english as their first language you are much more likely to speak slower and clearer,avoid slang terms etc.Its a ridiculous stereotype IME.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Simple as this:

90%* of the time, they are right.

*actually 99.999%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I also think the cultural difference plays a big part and that alot of the foreign girls chat out of politeness because they simply arent used to be sleazed on by drunken buffons.

Well now hold on a second. Not all guys who make an effort to strike up a conversation with a women are as you say "sleazed up drunken buffons". I am referring to polite, middle class guys who merely say hello or try to engage in conversation.

And not all foreign girls have the language problems. In fact some of them are far better spoken than some of us.

I can understand women not being interested in drunken louts but the whole "I am too good for everybody in this bar" attitude is horrendous! I actually cringe and feel sorry for some of the guys who work up the courage to say hello to a girl only to be treated like dirt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭annetted

i guess it depends as well where you are having a drink and what time of night it is. we were in sligo on saturday night and everyone was very friendly in the pubs - then we went to this cool late bar on the river called Garavogue and it was a total pick up joint. nobody really wanted to talk there, just cop a feel!

its nice meeting new people and just having a chat. like i was telling a guy about the marriage bureau in Knock and he was totally amazed that such a thing existed! maybe girls who say they have a boyfriend straight off don't want to mislead anybody. girls and guys are fierce complicated.