Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Independent Poll :Fianna Fai (Cork- Martin and Mcgrath to get Elected!!!

• 06-02-2011 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

Can you believe the Polls today in the Irish Independent, Martin and Mcgrath are going to be Elected in Cork South Central ?

foresthill wrote: »
    Can you believe the Polls today in the Irish Independent, Martin and Mcgrath are going to be Elected in Cork South Central ?

Ah sure i seen Martin on the news on his campaign in and the warm reception he got from the people on the streets of Cork was sickening. Some people have claimed on this topic that 'The Culchies' are the fault of the parish pump political system but they would want to look some of the goldfish in cork city and as i stated before the dubs were more then happy to return FF last GE in 2007.
    19 TDs out of the 77 seats they got was got in Dublin and that's before we take all the other Irish cities into account

I will say fair play to one guy who challenged him over the burden that has been put on taxpayers, and of course Martin replied as cheeky and as defiant as you like

"We must all pull together"

Meanwhile his cronies ride off into the sunset with their big pensions

Disgusting :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

foresthill wrote: »
    If Cork South Central elect 2 FF TD's the people who vote them in should be ashamed of themselves. Hopefully this is an imaginary poll that is only part of the propaganda machine that the indo are on to get their FF buddies elected!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Hopefully this is an imaginary poll that is only part of the propaganda machine that the indo are on to get their FF buddies elected!

Papers don't run these polls, they outsource them to companies with the staff and the knowledge how to compile them.

Nothing imaginary about them

Papers don't run these polls, they outsource them to companies with the staff and the knowledge how to compile them.

Nothing imaginary about them
    So they tell us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

I vote in Cork South Central and there are a large number of Fianna Fail leeches in that constituency. Pat on the back, good man Michael, FF sheep.

Michael Martin has done F*ck all for the people of that constituency over the years. I will be so ashamed of the Cork South Central should these two be re-elected. The FF sheep will vote for them regardless but they need some unaffiliated people to vote for them to get them in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Who was it who kept voting in Ahern and his 2 brothers? Whatever you say about Lenihan and Biffo, Bertie Ahern is still the guy most responsible for our disaster. And he was already known to be corrupt before the Dubs voted him in again in 2007!

The problem is not in a particular city or in the countryside. The problem is everywhere.

dartbhoy wrote: »
    So they tell us!

Did you even read the article?

Quantam did the poll.
    Did you think a company is going to let it be known they invent figures?
    When they are many other polling companies around

We have a conspiracy theories forum

Quantam did the poll.
    Did you think a company is going to let it be known they invent figures?
    When they are many other polling companies around

We have a conspiracy theories forum
    FFS will you calm down,you'll make yourself stressed:D!

It's the affect ye Corkonians have on others, always riling up everyone ;)

I'll leave you to it

It's the affect ye Corkonians have on others, always riling up everyone ;)

I'll leave you to it
    February 25th will be when the real poll will be decided!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭JabbaTheHut

I suppose it's not too surprising that Martin will get elected. Being the party leader, which may some day be Taoiseach, would make sense to anyone in his constituency. (Wouldn't vote for him myself mind you). Lets face it, some FF's will get elected somewhere in the country so Cork South Central will probably not be on it's own. No matter how I wished the this Election would spell the end of Fianna Fail, it's not going to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Quantam did the poll.

Have a read off what the good people at the Irish polling report have to say about Quantum

Well that article says enough about the reputable polling company Quantum are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Caipin Cach

I still think the Traitors will get theirs on Election day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I would absolutely love to see Martin not get elected.

Unfortunately this is Ireland, where the FF die-hards will be supplemented by those who will forget what he has done and voted on to date in the excitement of the chance of having their own Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I wouldnt have any trust in a poll that puts FG on 42%, and thinks Gilmore will take 20,000 first preferences in the toughest constituency in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The methods used for this poll are totally unreliable. Even the parties ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

It should also be noted that the main headline on the Spindo is "FG on course to govern by itself".

As a matter of interest I checked out the odds on Paddy Power on the likely next government

FG/Lab 1/12
    FG Minority Government 7/1
    FG/FF 16/1
    FG Majority Government 18/1
    FF/FG/Lab 25/1

A clear case of scare mongering by the good people at the Sunday Independent.

(Editor Aengus Fanning is also pictured inside with Micheal Martin)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

As a matter of interest I checked out the odds on Paddy Power on the likely next government

A clear case of scare mongering by the good people at the Sunday Independent.
    Since when are Paddy Power definitive fortune tellers? I won an 18/1 bet with them that Great Endeavour would win at Cheltenham last March, they can and do get it wrong; I think you could find worse ways to lose a few euro by betting* it on a FG overall majority at those rates.

*Gambling causes leprosy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

CoalBucket wrote: »
    Michael Martin has done F*ck all for the people of that constituency over the years.

the type of politics that got us into this mess
    while Martin was abysmal in health, he is a man i'd respect (no mean feet being in FF :rolleyes:) and i hope he can turn FF into a some way useful party for this country (tho id prefer it'd just die off - one center-right party is enough thankyouverymuch)

if two FF TDs get elected in Cork South Central it just goes to showthe people here are muppets :mad: and if we put a sinner in, oh dear :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

I did not vote for him the last time, I had previously to that, but saw him turning into a political zombie like his fellows, I have not changed my mind and I see more and more people who mow agree with me, but it's the actual vote that counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

This could be the worst thing that could have happened FF as it could moblise the anti FF vote. It's kind of like when the local paper in Donegal said that Pat The Cope was in trouble in 2007 and he got in with relative ease as it shook his support to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 foresthill

Lets hope that these two Muppets at least will get a Fright in the election, even though they will probably get Elected.

We will ever Learn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Frustratingly enough Martin's a great leader in that same horrible way Bertie was.

People think "yeah he's a decent lad, someone I could get on with....."

Why oh why did Cowen have to quit. We were so close to the end of Fianna Fail